Lightning Safety

Lightning strikes homes.
Photo: © Kyle Fougere, Environment Canada

Each year lightning kills approximately 10 Canadians and injures approximately 100 to 150 others. So, how do you keep yourself and your family safe when lightning strikes? Read the tips and information below and stay safe!

The first and most important thing to remember is that if you can hear thunder, you are within striking distance of lightning. Take shelter immediately, preferably in a house or all-metal automobile (not convertible top). If caught outside far from a safe shelter, stay away from tall objects, such as trees, poles, wires and fences. Take shelter in a low lying area.

Once indoors, stay away from electrical appliances and equipment, doors, windows, fireplaces, and anything else that will conduct electricity, such as sinks, tubs and showers. Avoid using a telephone that is connected to a landline or touching devices that are plugged in for charging.

If you are in your car during lightning, do not park under tall objects that could topple, and do not get out if there are downed power lines nearby. If you are caught outside, don’t stand near tall objects or anything made of metal, and avoid open water.

If caught on the water in a small boat with no cabin during thunder and lightning, quickly get to shore. Boats with cabins offer a safer environment, but it’s still not ideal.

Remember, there is no safe place outdoors during a thunderstorm. Once in a safe location, remain there for 30 minutes after the last rumble of thunder is heard before resuming your outdoor activities.

People who have been struck by lightning do not carry an electrical charge and can be safely handled, but victims may be suffering from burns or shock and should receive medical attention immediately. If you come across someone who has been struck, call for medical assistance immediately and, if breathing has stopped, administer mouth-to-mouth or cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR).

Additional precautions to take during a lightning storm

When Thunder Roars, Go Indoors. Be Weather Wise

© Thinkstock.ca, 2014

If caught outdoors:

  • Avoid putting yourself above the surrounding landscape. Seek shelter in low-lying areas such as valleys, ditches and depressions but be aware of flooding.
  • Stay away from water. Don't go boating or swimming if a storm threatens, and get to land as quickly as possible if you are already on the water. Lightning can strike the water and travel a substantial distance from its point of contact.
  • Stay away from objects that conduct electricity, such as tractors, golf carts, golf clubs, metal fences, motorcycles, lawnmowers and bicycles.
  • Avoid being the highest point in an open area. Swinging a golf club, or holding an umbrella or fishing rod can make you the tallest object and a target for lightning.
  • You are safe inside a car during lightning, but be aware of downed power lines which may be touching your car. You are safe inside the car, but you may receive a shock if you step outside.
  • In a forest, seek shelter in a low-lying area under a thick growth of small trees or bushes.
  • Keep alert for flash floods, sometimes caused by heavy rainfall, if seeking shelter in a ditch or low-lying area.

Indoor Precautions:

  • Before the storm hits, disconnect electrical appliances including computers, radios and television sets. Do not touch them during the storm.
  • Don't go outside unless absolutely necessary.
  • Keep as many walls as possible between you and the outside. Stay away from windows.
  • Use battery operated or cordless devices only. The electrical current from the lightning strike will travel through wires and cords using the path of least resistance. Electrical current will follow metal pipes and wires until it reaches the ground (or you, if you are connected through them).
  • Working on a plugged in computer, or holding a phone or other devices when they're charging are unsafe practices that should be avoided during lightning storms. Cordless telephones are safe; however you could hear a very loud noise on the phone. This would be consistent with your house or somewhere nearby being struck by lightning.
  • Delay taking a shower, doing laundry, or washing the dishes by hand during a thunderstorm because water is an electrical conductor. If lightning strikes your house or nearby, the lightning charge may travel through the pipes and you could be hurt.

Information on this page was a compilation of various sources mentioned below.

Date modified:

Mesures de sécurité en cas de foudre

La foudre frappe maisons. Photo: Kyle Fougere

Chaque année la foudre tue environ 10 Canadiens et environ 100 à 150 autres subissent des blessures. Alors, quelles mesures prenez-vous pour vous protéger et protéger les membres de votre famille contre la foudre? Nous vous invitons à lire les conseils et les renseignements qui suivent pour bien vous préparer.

Vous devez d’abord et avant tout vous souvenir que si vous entendez le tonnerre, c’est que la foudre s’abat très près de l’endroit où vous êtes. Mettez-vous immédiatement à l’abri, de préférence dans une maison ou dans une automobile à toit rigide (non décapotable). Si vous êtes surpris à l’extérieur, loin d’un abri sécuritaire, restez à l’écart de tout objet élevé, comme les arbres, les poteaux, les fils et les clôtures. Choisissez plutôt un abri en contrebas.

Une fois à l’intérieur, tenez-vous loin des appareils électriques, des portes, des fenêtres, des foyers et de tout ce qui peut être un conducteur d’électricité, comme les éviers, les baignoires et les douches. Évitez d’utiliser un téléphone relié à une ligne terrestre.

Si vous êtes dans votre véhicule lorsque la foudre éclate, ne le stationnez pas sous des objets élevés qui pourraient s’écrouler ou se renverser, et n’en sortez pas si des lignes électriques sont tombées. Si vous vous faites surprendre à l’extérieur, restez à l’écart des objets élevés ou en métal, et évitez les zones d’eau libre.

Si vous êtes surpris par le tonnerre et la foudre dans une petite embarcation sans cabine, dirigez-vous rapidement vers la rive. Les bateaux qui ont une cabine constituent un abri sécuritaire, mais ce n’est pas le meilleur endroit pour autant.

N’oubliez pas qu’il n’y a aucun abri sécuritaire à l’extérieur pendant un orage. Une fois que vous vous serez mis à l’abri, demeurez-y 30 minutes après le dernier grondement de tonnerre avant de reprendre vos activités à l’extérieur.

Une personne frappée par la foudre ne porte aucune charge électrique on peut donc la toucher sans risque. Cependant, elle peut souffrir de brûlures ou être en état de choc et devrait recevoir des soins médicaux le plus rapidement possible. Si une personne a été touchée par la foudre, vous devez appeler les services d’urgence immédiatement et, si elle ne respire plus, vous devez pratiquer la respiration artificielle ou la réanimation cardio-pulmonaire (RCP).

Autres précautions à prendre en cas d’orage

Quand le tonnere gronde, Rentrez Vite!  Soyez-meteologigue
© Thinkstockphotos.ca, 2014

Si vous êtes surpris par la foudre à l’extérieur :

  • Évitez de vous retrouver dans les endroit plus élevé que les environs. Cherchez un abri dans une dépression de terrain comme une vallée, un fossé ou un creux, mais prenez garde aux inondations.
  • Restez loin de l’eau. Ne partez pas en bateau, n’allez pas nager si un orage est imminent et retournez le plus vite possible vers la rive si vous êtes sur l’eau. La foudre peut frapper l'eau et parcourir une distance importante à partir de son point de contact.
  • Tenez-vous à l’écart des objets qui sont des conducteurs d’électricité, comme les tracteurs, les voiturettes de golf, les bâtons de golf, les clôtures métalliques, les motocyclettes, les tondeuses à gazon et les bicyclettes.
  • Évitez d’être ce qui est le plus élevé dans un espace découvert. Si vous tenez un bâton de golf, une canne à pêche ou un parapluie, vous pouvez devenir ce qui est le plus élevé et donc devenir une cible pour la foudre.
  • Vous êtes en sécurité à l'intérieur d’une voiture, mais méfiez-vous des lignes électriques qui sont tombées et qui pourraient toucher votre voiture. Vous êtes en sécurité à l'intérieur, de la voiture, mais vous pourriez recevoir un choc électrique si vous en sortez.
  • En forêt, abritez-vous sous une végétation dense formée de petits arbres ou de buissons.
  • Faites attention aux crues soudaines que causent parfois de fortes pluies lorsque vous cherchez à vous abriter dans un fossé ou dans une dépression de terrain.

Mesures à prendre à l’intérieur :

  • Avant l’orage, débranchez les appareils électriques, y compris les radios et les téléviseurs. Ne les touchez pas pendant l’orage.
  • Évitez de sortir, sauf si c’est absolument nécessaire.
  • Gardez autant de murs que possible entre vous et l’extérieur.
  • Ne vous servez ni de matériel électrique ni du téléphone. Le courant électrique produit là où la foudre tombe, voyagera par les fils et les cordons électriques, et, si vous utilisez votretéléphone, vous pourriez être atteint. Utilisez seulement des appareils à piles. Les téléphones sans fil sont sécuritaires, mais vous pourriez toutefois entendre dans le téléphone un bruit très fort comme un choc. Ce serait le cas si la foudre s’était abattue sur votre maison ou à proximité

Les renseignements contenus dans cette page proviennent des sources suivantes :