Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Wildlife S&T Publications


Peer-reviewed Work

Wildlife and landscape researchers contribute to many areas of scientific study and are recognized as experts, often at continental or global levels, in their respective fields. Their contributions to science have led to recognition of Environment Canada as a top national and international producer of environmental knowledge.

(Citations are updated quarterly in March, June, September and December.)

To access the peer-reviewed work and citations of a particular researcher or expertise, please visit the Wildlife Expert or Research pages.


Biological Test Method Series

Image of Biological Test Method Series publication

Method development experts work with staff from regional, provincial, and private-sector laboratories to develop, validate and standardize toxicology test methods required for Environment Canada programs. Since 1990, 21 standardized toxicity test methods and six supporting guidance documents have been published and distributed to a national and international audience. Most of the published methods focus on the testing of:

  • industrial effluents
  • surface waters (freshwater and marine)
  • sediments (freshwater and marine)
  • soils

Biological Test Method Series

 


Ecological Monitoring Protocols

Working with its partners - formerly under the Ecological Monitoring and Assessment Network- Environment Canada endorses standard protocols and develops them in areas where either consolidation is required, or no work has been done. The development of protocols is done through consultation with scientists, researchers and experts.

Monitoring protocols allow for standardization in study design, sampling procedures, sample and data analysis, and reporting methods. This ensures that information gathered in Canada is useful for issues analysis and ecological understanding at the local, national and international scale.

 

 


Assessments and Reports

Learn about key wildlife and landscape science assessments supported or coordinated by Environment Canada.

 


Tools and Resources

Find tools and resources related to wildlife and landscape science at Environment Canada. Examples include establishing a plot based ecological monitoring program, study design, data analysis, data management and communicating results to key target audiences

 


Wildlife and Landscape Science News

Image of Wildlife and Landscape Science e-newsletter

This e-news is a quarterly update for scientists, practitioners, managers, policy makers and others working to understand, conserve and manage Canada’s wildlife and habitats.

Read Wildlife and Landscape Science News.

 


EnviroZine

Read articles originally published in EnviroZine, Environment Canada's on-line newsmagazine featuring news, activities and actions taken by Canadians to help improve our environment.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Publications en sciences et technologie de la faune


Travaux évalués par des pairs

Les chercheurs spécialistes de la faune et du paysage contribuent à de nombreux domaines d’études scientifiques et sont reconnus comme étant des experts, souvent aux niveaux continental ou mondial, de leurs domaines respectifs. Leurs contributions à la science ont permis la reconnaissance d’Environnement Canada comme l’un des principaux producteurs nationaux et internationaux de connaissances sur l’environnement.

(Les citations sont mises à jour quatre fois par année : en mars, juin, septembre et décembre.)

Pour accéder aux travaux évalués par des pairs et aux citations d’un chercheur ou d’un expert en particulier, veuillez consulter les pages sur les experts de la faune ou sur la recherche.


Série des méthodes d’essai biologique

Une publication de la série des méthodes d’essai biologique

Les experts de l’élaboration de méthodes travaillent avec le personnel des laboratoires régionaux, provinciaux et du secteur privé afin d’élaborer, de valider et de normaliser les méthodes d’essai toxicologique requises pour les programmes d’Environnement Canada. Depuis 1990, 21 méthodes d’essai de toxicité normalisées et six documents d’orientation d’accompagnement ont été publiés et distribués à un public national et international. La plupart des méthodes d’essai publiées sont axées sur :

  • les effluents industriels
  • les eaux de surface (eau douce et eau de mer)
  • les sédiments (eau douce et eau de mer)
  • les sols

Cliquez ici pour accéder à la série des méthodes d’essai biologique


Protocoles de surveillance écologique

En travaillant avec ses partenaires, anciennement dans le cadre du Réseau d’évaluation et de surveillance écologiques, Environnement Canada adopte des protocoles normalisés et les développe dans des domaines à consolider, ou là où aucun travail n’a été fait. L’élaboration de protocoles s’effectue au moyen de consultations avec des scientifiques, des chercheurs et des experts.

Les protocoles de surveillance permettent la normalisation de la conception des études, des procédures de prélèvement d’échantillons, de l’analyse des échantillons et des données et des méthodes de production de rapports. Ceci assure que les renseignements réunis au Canada sont utiles pour analyser les problèmes et comprendre l’écologie à l’échelle locale, nationale et internationale.

 


Évaluations et rapports

Renseignez-vous sur les principaux rapports et évaluations écologiques appuyés par EC.

 


Outils et ressources

Trouvez des résumés de réunions, des guides et d’autres outils pour vous aider dans diverses activités concernant la surveillance écologique, dont : l’établissement d’un programme de surveillance écologique par parcelle, la création d’un modèle d’étude, l’exécution d’analyses de données, la gestion des données et la communication et la surveillance des résultats pour des publics clés cibles.

 


Nouvelles de la science faunique et paysagère

Nouvelles de science de la faunique et paysagère

Ce bulletin électronique trimestriel renseigne les scientifiques, les spécialistes, les gestionnaires, les décideurs et d’autres sur l’actualité concernant la conservation et la gestion de la faune et son habitat au Canada.

Lire les Nouvelles de la science faunique et paysagère


EnviroZine

Lisez des articles initialement publiés dans EnviroZine, la revue d’information en ligne d’Environnement Canada contenant des nouvelles, des activités et des mesures prises par les Canadiens pour aider à améliorer l’environnement.