Laboratories and Research Support

Article Title

Soil Toxicology Laboratory

Scientist collecting soil samples for studyThe Soil Toxicology Laboratory within the Biological Assessment and Standardization Section is responsible for the research, development and standardization of biological test methods used to assess the toxicity of substances to terrestrial plants and soil organisms.

Laboratory activities and soil toxicology research support Environment Canada’s commitment to the risk assessment and management of potentially harmful substances to protect Canadians and their environment.

The laboratory, located in the S&T Laboratories in Ottawa, Ontario, provides up-to-date and relevant toxicity and bioaccumulation test methods. Methodology is applied to assess the risk posed by pollutants in soil, and to manage contaminated sites by assessing remedial efforts.

The development of standardized soil test methodsCurrent research and methodology

  • Developing a suite of new standard test methods for Canada’s boreal forest and taiga ecozones. Tests use ecologically-relevant herbaceous and woody upland and wetland plant species, soil organisms like earthworms, collembolan, and mites, and pollutant assessments
  • Soil sampling initiatives from across Canada collect and test representative reference soils to understand species distribution and diversity across a variety of soil types present in boreal and taiga ecozones
  • Prepare and supply data on the toxicity and bioaccumulation potential of medium priority substances under the Chemicals Management Plan. Data informs bioaccumulation model estimates, supports a more comprehensive assessment of selected priority substances, and improves the tools used for the assessment and management of other suspected persistent, bioaccumulative, and inherently toxic (PBiT) chemicals.
  • Studying the potential effects of nanotechnology including evaluating nanomaterials and their impact on terrestrial plants and soil invertebrates, in partnership with the Nanomaterials Research Laboratory

The laboratory supports various Environment Canada programs and regulatory processes and is accredited by the Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation (CALA) to ISO/IEC 17025 for the application of standard soil test methods.

Collaboration

Some soil toxicology research is conducted in partnership with the Soil Biotechnology Laboratory. Recent collaborations have included investigating the pathogenic and toxic potential of new substances on Canada’s Domestic Substance List, including microbial products of biotechnology. Evaluating the fate of these substances in soil throughout toxicity and pathogenicity tests will contribute to the risk assessment of high priority microbial strains.

Current laboratory research funding comes from government programs including the Program for Energy Research and Development (PERD).

Experts in laboratory

Further reading

Date modified:

Laboratoires et soutien à la recherche, science faunique et paysagère

Titre d'article

Laboratoire de toxicologie des sols

Chercheur faisant la collecte d’échantillons de solLe Laboratoire de toxicologie des sols de la Section de l’évaluation biologique et normalisation est responsable de travaux de recherche, de développement et de normalisation de méthodes d’essai biologique destinées à l’évaluation de la toxicité de substances pour les plantes terrestres les organismes du sol.

Les activités du Laboratoire et la recherche en toxicologie des sols contribuent à l’engagement d’Environnement Canada à évaluer les risques posés par des substances potentiellement dangereuses et à gérer ces substances afin de protéger les Canadiens et leur environnement.

Le Laboratoire, implanté dans les Laboratoires de Science et Technologie, à Ottawa (Ontario), fournit des méthodes d’essai pertinentes et à jour pour la toxicité et la bioaccumulation. Une méthodologie est appliquée pour évaluer les risques posés par des polluants du sol et pour gérer des sites contaminés en évaluant les efforts de restauration.

Le développement des méthodes d’essai des sols normaliséesRecherche et méthodologie actuelles

  • Développement d’une série de nouvelles méthodes d’essai normalisées pour la forêt boréale et les écozones de taïga du Canada. Les essais sont réalisés sur des espèces de plantes herbacées, des hautes terres boisées et des marécages, des organismes du sol comme des lombrics, des collemboles et des acariens, pertinents d’un point de vue écologique, ainsi que pour des évaluations de polluants.
  • Dans le cadre d’initiatives d’échantillonnage des sols à travers le Canada, on collecte et on teste des sols de référence représentatifs afin de comprendre la distribution et la diversité des espèces dans une variété de types de sols présents dans les écozones boréales et de la taïga.  
  • Préparation et fourniture de données sur la toxicité et la bioaccumulation potentielles de substances de priorité moyenne dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques. Ces données sont utiles dans les évaluations liées aux modèles de bioaccumulation, aident à faire une évaluation plus exhaustive de substances d’intérêt prioritaire sélectionnées et permettent d’améliorer les outils utilisés pour l’évaluation et la gestion d’autres substances chimiques susceptibles d’être persistantes, bioaccumulables et intrinsèquement toxiques (PBiT).
  • Étude des effets potentiels de la nanotechnologie, y compris l’évaluation des nanomatériaux et de leur impact sur les plantes terrestres et les invertébrés des sols, en partenariat avec le Laboratoire de recherche sur les nanomatériaux.

Le Laboratoire participe à divers programmes et processus réglementaires d’Environnement Canada et est accrédité par la Canadian Association for Laboratory Accreditation (CALA) à la norme ISO/IEC 17025 pour l’application de méthodes d’essai des sols normalisées.

Collaboration

Certains travaux de recherche en toxicologie des sols sont réalisés en partenariat avec le Laboratoire de biotechnologie des sols. Parmi nos collaborations récentes, on retrouve l’étude du potentiel toxique et pathogène de nouvelles substances inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances du Canada, y compris de produits microbiens de la biotechnologie. L’évaluation du devenir de ces substances dans le sol grâce à des essais de toxicité et de pathogénicité contribuera à l’évaluation des risques posés par des souches microbiennes d’intérêt très prioritaire.

Le financement des travaux de recherche actuels provient de programmes du gouvernement, dont le Programme de recherche et de développement énergétiques (PRDE).

Expert travaillant au laboratoire

Autres lectures