Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Laboratories and Research Support

Article Title

Soil Biotechnology Laboratory

Technologist analysing samples in Soil Biotechnology LaboratoryThe Soil Biotechnology Laboratory within the Biological Assessment and Standardization Section is responsible for biological test method development in soil microbial research.

Located in the S&T Laboratories in Ottawa, Ontario, research and findings from the laboratory are used to make decisions regarding the best approach to protect Canadians and their environment from risks some substances, and combinations of substances, may pose.

The laboratory is a Containment Level 2 facility for research involving risk group 2 pathogens.

Current research and methodology

  • Development of measurement endpoints for soil microbial toxicity
  • Optimization and validation of test methodologies for the characterization of microbial products containing microbial consortia or blends
  • Development of DNA microarrays for the detection of terrestrial soil pathogens using genetic fingerprints unique to the microbial species
  • Assessment of genomic techniques including DNA microarrays and multiplex polymerase chain reaction to detect microbial species of concern to Environment Canada
  • Assessing new technologies to enhance DNA extraction efficiency from soils

A recent project involved amplified fragment length polymorphism (AFLP)-derived, strain-specific genetic fingerprints to assess the persistence of high priority Domestic Substance List microbial strains in soil microcosms. This data can be used to inform the regulatory process managing the New Substance Notification Regulations, and further protect Canadians against harmful microbial substances that have the potential for ending up in the environment. These methods are being developed into a guidance document for use in other government and commercial laboratories.

Some methods used include:

  • polymerase chain reaction (PCR)
  • quantitative PCR (qPCR)
  • gel electrophoresis
  • denaturant gradient gel electrophoresis (DGGE)
  • microfluidic gel electrophoresis
  • single and multi-well spectrophotometry
  • multi-well fluorescence spectrophotometry
  • phase contrast, differential interference contrast (DIC), epifluoresence and bright field microscopy
  • segmented flow analyzer

Collaboration

Technologist working in the Soil Biotechnology LaboratoryLaboratory activities are often organized in collaboration with the Soil Toxicology Laboratory which assesses effects of individual substances and contaminant mixtures on species of plants, earthworms, and invertebrates in soil. In combination with the microbial and soil community perspective, this partnership allows for a more holistic assessment of the soil environment and leads to more comprehensive recommendations for decision making.

Collaborative research includes:

  • Assessment of the effects of Domestic Substance List microbial species to single species tests
  • Development and standardization of new toxicity test methodologies and guidance for assessment and remediation of impacts from hydrocarbon and brine contamination on boreal forest, taiga and northern soils using ecologically-relevant organisms

Current laboratory research funding comes from government programs including the Strategic Technology Applications of Genomics for the Environment (STAGE), Canadian Regulatory Systems for Biotechnology (CRSB), and the Program for Energy Research and Development (PERD).

Experts in laboratory

Further reading

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Laboratoires et soutien à la recherche, science faunique et paysagère

Titre d'article

Laboratoire de biotechnologie des sols

Technicienne analysant des échantillons au LaboratoireLe Laboratoire de biotechnologie des sols de la Section de l’évaluation biologique et normalisation est responsable du développement des méthodes d’essai biologique pour les travaux de recherche sur l’activité microbienne des sols.

Le laboratoire est situé dans les Laboratoires de science et technologie, à Ottawa (Ontario), les travaux de recherche et les résultats du laboratoire sont utilisés pour prendre des décisions au sujet de l’approche la plus appropriée à suivre pour protéger les Canadiens et leur environnement contre les risques que peuvent poser certaines substances ou combinaisons de substances.

Le laboratoire est une installation de niveau de confinement 2 et on y effectue des travaux de recherche concernant des pathogènes du groupe de risque 2.

Recherche et méthodologie actuelles

  • Développement de paramètres de mesure pour la toxicité microbienne des sols
  • Optimisation et validation de méthodes d’essai pour la caractérisation des produits microbiens contenant des mélanges ou des consortiums microbiens
  • Développement de micro-réseaux à ADN pour la détection de pathogènes terrestres des sols au moyen d’empreintes génétiques uniques aux espèces microbiennes
  • Évaluation de techniques génomiques basées sur des micro-réseaux à ADN et la réaction en chaîne de la polymérase multiplex pour détecter des espèces microbiennes intéressant Environnement Canada
  • Évaluation de nouvelles technologies pour améliorer l’efficacité d’extraction de l’ADN des sols

Un projet récent avait trait à des empreintes génétiques spécifiques d’une souche et dérivées de polymorphisme de longueur de fragments amplifiés (AFLP) pour évaluer la persistance de souches microbiennes d’intérêt très prioritaire de la Liste intérieure des substances dans des microcosmes du sol. Ces données peuvent être utilisées pour la gestion du processus réglementaire ayant trait au Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles, et pour mieux protéger les Canadiens contre des substances microbiennes dangereuses pouvant se retrouver dans l’environnement. Ces méthodes sont développées sous forme de document d’orientation pour les autres laboratoires commerciaux ou gouvernementaux.

Parmi les méthodes utilisées, on retrouve :

  • Réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (PCR)
  • PCR quantitative (qPCR)
  • Électrophorèse sur gel
  • Électrophorèse en gradient de gel dénaturant (DGGE)
  • Électrophorèse sur gel microfluidique
  • Spectrophotométrie pour plaques à un ou plusieurs puits
  • Spectrophotométrie de fluorescence pour plaques à plusieurs puits
  • Microscopie à contraste de phase, à contraste interférentiel différentiel (DIC), à épifluoresence et sur fond clair
  • Analyseur à débit segmenté

Collaboration

Technicienne travaillant au Laboratoire de biotechnologie des solsLes activités du Laboratoire sont souvent organisées en collaboration avec le Laboratoire de toxicologie des sols qui évalue les effets de substances individuelles et de mélanges de contaminants sur des espèces de plantes, de lombrics et d’invertébrés dans les sols. Associé avec la perspective de la communauté microbienne et du sol, ce partenariat permet une évaluation plus holistique de l’environnement du sol et conduit à des recommandations plus exhaustives pour la prise de décisions.

Parmi les travaux de recherche réalisés dans le cadre de collaboration, on retrouve :

  • Évaluation des effets des espèces microbiennes de la Liste intérieure des substances sur les essais d’espèces simples
  • Développement et normalisation de nouvelles méthodes d’essai sur la toxicité et conseils pour l’évaluation des impacts de la contamination par des hydrocarbures ou de l’eau hypersaline sur la forêt boréale, la taïga et les sols du Nord et leur restauration au moyen d’organismes pertinents d’un point de vue écologique.

Le financement actuel des travaux de recherche du Laboratoire provient de programmes gouvernementaux, notamment l’Application stratégique des technologies génomiques dans le domaine de l’environnement (ASTGE), le Système de réglementation canadien pour les produits de biotechnologie (SRCB), et le Programme de recherche et développement énergétiques (PRDE).

Expert travaillant au Laboratoire

Autres lectures