Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Wastewater Management

Wastewater effluents are the largest source of pollution by volume to surface water in Canada. Wastewater effluents may contain many pollutants and substances of concern including grit, debris, suspended solids, disease-causing pathogens, decaying organic wastes, nutrients and hundreds of chemicals.

Wastewater is a term typically used to describe liquid wastes from two types of sources. The first source, sanitary sewage, is generated from homes, businesses, institutions and industries. The second source, stormwater, is generated from rain or melting snow that drains off rooftops, lawns, parking lots, roads and other urban surfaces. Wastewater is collected by sewer systems and in most cases is treated before being released to the environment.

There are two types of wastewater collection systems;

  1. a combined sewer, and
  2. a separate sewer system.

Combined sewer systems combine both the sanitary sewage and stormwater collection. During periods of heavy precipitation, overflows caused by overloading the combined sewer collection system may result in a direct discharge of raw sewage into surface waters. On the other hand, separate sewers have isolated the sanitary sewage collection from that of stormwater collection.

Below is a simplified schematic showing how pollutants enter the wastewater collection and treatment system from various sources to their eventual release to the environment.

Click the image to enlarge.

Generic wastewater system

In Canada, most wastewater systems are owned and operated by municipalities. Much of the Canadian population is served by wastewater collection and treatment systems; however, wastewater receives various levels of treatment to remove pollutants prior to discharge, ranging from no treatment to very sophisticated, thorough treatment. As a result, wastewater quality and the amount of pollutants released to the environment vary across Canada.

In Canada, all levels of government share the responsibility for managing the collection, treatment and release of wastewater effluent. The Government of Canada is responsible for managing the risks posed by substances listed under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).

The Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations are now in force. The Government of Canada worked with the provinces, territories and engaged municipalities, Aboriginal communities and organizations and other interested parties to establish the country’s first national standards for wastewater treatment. The Regulations are established under the Fisheries Act and include mandatory minimum effluent quality standards that can be achieved through secondary wastewater treatment.

divider

Gestion des eaux usées

Les effluents d'eaux usées sont la plus importante source, en volume, de pollution des eaux de surface au Canada. Les effluents d'eaux usées contiennent beaucoup de polluants et de substances préoccupantes, notamment des poussières grossières, des débris, des solides en suspension, des pathogènes, des déchets organiques en décomposition, des éléments nutritifs et des centaines de produits chimiques.

Le terme « eaux usées » sert habituellement à décrire des déchets liquides qui proviennent de deux sources. Les eaux domestiques constituent la première source et proviennent des habitations, des entreprises, des établissements et des industries. La seconde source, les eaux de ruissellement, provient de la pluie ou de la neige fondante qui s'écoule des toits et ruisselle sur les pelouses, les aires de stationnement, les routes et autres surfaces urbaines. Les eaux usées sont évacuées par des réseaux d'égout et dans la plupart des cas sont traitées avant d'être rejetées dans l’environnement.

Les systèmes de collecte des eaux usées sont habituellement conçus de deux différentes façons :

  1. réseau d'égout unitaire et
  2. réseau séparatif.

Les réseaux d'égout unitaire combinent la collecte des eaux domestiques et des eaux de ruissellement. D'une part, les périodes de fortes précipitations, le trop-plein dû à la surcharge du réseau d'égout unitaire peut entraîner le déversement direct d'eaux d'égout brutes dans les eaux de surface. D'autre part, les réseaux séparatifs séparent la collecte des eaux domestiques de celle des eaux de ruissellement.

Au Canada, les municipalités détiennent et exploitent la plupart des systèmes d’égout. Une grande partie de la population canadienne est desservie par des systèmes de collecte et de traitement des eaux usées. Cependant, ces eaux sont soumises à un ou plusieurs traitements visant à retirer les polluants avant leur évacuation. Dans les localités desservies, le traitement peut être sommaire ou très poussé. Dès lors, la qualité des eaux usées et la quantité de polluants rejetés dans l'environnement varient d'un endroit à l'autre à travers le pays.

Au Canada, tous les ordres de gouvernement partagent la responsabilité de la gestion de la collecte, du traitement et du rejet des effluents d’eaux usées. Il incombe au gouvernement fédéral de gérer les risques que présentent les substances figurant dans la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)[LCPE (1999)].

Le Règlement sur les effluents des systèmes d’assainissement des eaux usées est maintenant en vigueur. Le gouvernement du Canada a travaillé avec les provinces et les territoires à l’élaboration des premières normes nationales visant le traitement des eaux usées et a invité les municipalités, les communautés et organisations autochtones et d’autres parties intéressées à y prendre part. Le Règlement a été établi en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches et comporte des normes minimales obligatoires sur la qualité des effluents qui peuvent être atteintes au moyen d’un traitement secondaire des eaux usées.

Date de modification :