Summary of Public Comments received on the Challenge substance for the 3 Monoazo Solvent Dyes; Solvent Red 1 (CAS 1229-55-6), Solvent Orange 7 (CAS 3118-97-6) and Solvent Red 3 (CAS 6535-42-8) Draft Screening Assessment Report for Batch 6


(PDF Version - 17 KB)

Comments on the draft screening assessment report for the 3 Monoazo Solvent Dyes to be addressed as part of the Chemicals Management Plan Challenge were provided by Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba and Canadian Environmental Law Association.

A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic:

  • Risk Assessment
Summary table
TopicCommentResponse
Risk AssessmentThere is an over reliance on a limited number of analogues in the assessments of bioaccumulation and inherent toxicity of 13 pigments and dyes in Batch 6.Due to the lack of experimental data for the subject chemicals in Batch 6, the available empirical data for analogues (including Disperse Orange 30 and Disperse Blue 79), were used for the assessment of 3 monoazo solvent dyes to fill the data gaps. Expert judgment has been applied when using analogue data for predicting the environmental fate and ecological effects of the subject chemicals.

Back to top

Date modified:

Résumé des commentaires du public reçus sur l'ébauche du rapport d'évaluation préalable visant la gamme des trois colorants monoazoïques; le Solvent Red 1 (no CAS 1229-55-6), le Solvent Orange 7 (no CAS 3118-97-6) et le Solvent Red 3 (no CAS 6535-42-8) inclus dans le sixième lot du Défi


(Version PDF - 17 Ko)

Les commentaires sur le rapport provisoire d'évaluation préalable pour la gamme des trois colorants monoazoïques, qui doivent être abordés dans le cadre du Défi du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques, provenaient de Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba et de l'Association canadienne du droit de l'environnement.

Vous trouverez aux présentes un résumé des réponses et des commentaires reçus, structuré selon les sujets suivants :

  • Évaluation du risque
Tableau résumé
SujetCommentaireRéponse
Évaluation du risqueOn attribue une trop grande importance à un nombre limité d'analogues lors des évaluations de la bioaccumulation et de la toxicité intrinsèque de 13 pigments et teintures du sixième lot.En raison du manque de données expérimentales sur les substances du sixième lot, et afin de combler ces lacunes, les données empiriques disponibles pour les analogues (y compris le Disperse Orange 30 et le Disperse Blue 79) ont été utilisées dans l'évaluation de la gamme des trois colorants monoazoïques. Des avis d'experts ont été appliqués au moment d'utiliser les données déduites à partir d'analogues pour la prévision du devenir dans l'environnement et des effets écologiques des substances chimiques.

Haut de page

Date de modification :