Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Priority Substances Assessment Program


What is Priority Substances Assessment Program (PSAP)?

Assessing the Ecological Risks of Priority Substances Under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act.

Background

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA) requires the Ministers of the Environment and of Health to establish a Priority Substances List (PSL), that identifies substances to be assessed on a priority basis to determine whether they pose a significant risk to the health of Canadians or to the environment. Assessments of substances placed on the PSL are the shared responsibility of Environment Canada and Health Canada. Assessments of the first 44 substances placed on the PSL were completed by February 1994. Following the recommendations of a multi-stakeholder Expert Advisory Panel, 25 substances were added to the PSL, (Extract of the Canada Gazette, Part I, published on December 16, 1995).

The assessment and management of priority substances occurs in two distinct phases. Scientists must first determine whether a substance is “toxic” as defined under Section 64 of CEPA. Under CEPA, a substance is defined as “toxic” if it enters or may enter the environment in amounts or under conditions that may pose a risk to human health, the environment or its biological diversity, or to the environment that supports life. Thus "toxic" in the context of CEPA is a function of both the inherent properties of a substance and of the amounts, concentrations, or nature of entry of the substance in the Canadian environment.

For substances determined to be “toxic”, management options are identified and implemented, in consultation with stakeholders to reduce or eliminate the risks the substances pose to human health or the environment.

The main objective of the Priority Substances Assessment Program is to ensure that accurate and scientifically valid assessments of the Second Priority Substance List (PSL2) substances are completed within the time constraints of the Act. To accomplish this, a process for conducting ecological risk assessments has been developed that will:

  • enhance openness and transparency, by inviting scientific and technical experts from academia, government, environmental groups and industry to contribute to the risk assessment and by informing other interested groups of major decisions during the assessment phase;
  • increase the knowledge base, by engaging the required expertise, and conducting research and monitoring when needed to complete the assessment; and
  • improve efficiency, by sharing responsibility with others and by involving risk managers to minimize duplication of effort for assessment and risk management purposes.

Ecological Risk Assessment Process

The phases of the ecological risk assessment process described below were developed through experience gained in assessing and managing the first PSL substances and through consultations with interested parties.

A "Lead" for each substance has been chosen within Environment Canada who will be responsible for delivery of the ecological risk assessment.

Representatives from other federal government departments and other agencies, will serve as a "Contact Group" to identify their departments' interests in specific substances, names of experts who may wish to contribute to the assessment and relevant information available in their departments. They will also provide feedback at critical steps.

With the assistance of other government departments, environmental non-governmental organizations, industry, academia and other sources, the Lead will establish an "Environmental Resource Group", a group of scientific and technical experts will actively contribute to the assessment. While members may come from any sector, membership will be determined by Environment Canada and limited to those who have the required expertise and commitment to contribute to the assessment process within the timeframe required.

A "Liaison Group" is being established for groups or individuals who would like to receive updates on the progress of the assessments, but may not have time or expertise to participate in a more involved fashion. This website is one of the key mechanisms for communicating the program to this group (PSL2 Updates).

Problem formulation is the first stage in the assessment; its purpose is to establish the goals and focus of the assessment, and to identify any essential data gaps. The problem formulation will be completed by Environment Canada with help from the Environmental Resource Group, Health Canada. Results of the problem formulation will be broadly communicated on this website (PSL2 Updates).

Where data deemed essential to complete the assessment are identified, a strategy to obtain the required information will be developed. The authorities under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act will be used to obtain required existing or new information if voluntary or other means are not suitable.

The draft ecological risk assessment will be reviewed by the Environmental Resource Group, other government departments and by targeted experts. A public scrutiny stage near the end of the assessment process will allow anyone with an interest in the assessment, who has not been part of the process, to provide supporting or conflicting scientific evidence before the department makes its recommendations to the Ministers of the Environment and of Health. (Public Comment Period for Draft Assessment Reports)

As required by section 77 of CEPA, Environment Canada and Health Canada will jointly publish an Assessment report including the conclusion with respect to CEPA "toxic", and a Canada Gazette Notice summarizing the report and announcing the Ministers' intentions. In addition, several documents, such as fact sheets and scientific journal articles, will be published or made available electronically.

For more information about the CEPA Priority Substances Assessment Program please contact:

Existing Substances Division
Science and Risk Assessment Directorate
Environment Canada
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H3
Email: existing.substances.existantes@ec.gc.ca

Environmental Substances Division
Environmental Health Directorate
Health Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L2
Email: ExSD@hc-sc.gc.ca

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Programme d'évaluation des substance d'intérêt prioritaire


Qu'est-ce que le Programme d'évaluation des substance d'intérêt prioritaire (PESIP)?

L'évaluation des dangers pour l'écologie associés aux substances d'intérêt prioritaire en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement.

Contexte

En vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE), les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé doivent dresser une Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP) qui donne les substances à évaluer de toute urgence pour déterminer si elles présentent un grave danger pour la santé des Canadiens ou l'environnement. L'évaluation de ces substances incombe conjointement à Environnement Canada et à Santé Canada. Les évaluations des 44 premières substances de la LSIP ont été terminée en février 1994. Par suite des recommandations d'un comité consultatif expert, groupant de nombreux intervenants, 25 substances ont été ajoutées à la LSIP, (Extrait de la Gazette du Canada publié le 16 décembre 1995).

L'évaluation et la gestion des substance d'intérêt prioritaire comprennent deux étapes distinctes. Premièrement, les scientifiques doivent déterminer si une substance est « toxique » aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE. Selon cette loi, une substance est toxique si elle disséminée dans l'environnement, ou peut l'être, dans des quantités ou des conditions susceptibles de présenter un danger pour la santé humaine, l'environnement ou la diversité biologique ou l'environnement dont dépend la vie. Ainsi, la toxicité est fonction à la fois des propriétés d'une substance et des quantités, concentration ou caractéristiques de dissémination de la substance dans l'environnement.

Dans le cas des substances dont la toxicité a été déterminée, des options de gestion sont trouvées et appliquées de concert avec les intervenants de façon à réduire ou à éliminer les dangers pour la santé humaine et l'environnement.

Le principal objectif du Programme d'évaluation des substances d'intérêt prioritaire est de faire en sorte que des évaluations scientifiquement valides et exactes des substances de la Deuxième liste de substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP2) soient effectuées. Pour ce faire, un processus d'évaluation des dangers pour l'écologie a été mis au point:

  • il mettra de l'avant l'ouverture et la transparence, en invitant des experts techniques et scientifiques des universités, des gouvernements, de groupes écologistes et de l'industrie à contribuer aux évaluations et en informant d'autres groupes intéressés des principales décisions prises au cours de ces évaluations;
  • il accroîtra les connaissances, en retenant les services des experts requis et en assurant la recherche et le contrôle nécessaires;
  • il améliorera l'efficacité, en partageant la responsabilité avec d'autres et en faisant en sorte que les gestionnaires responsables minimisent le chevauchement des efforts d'évaluation et de gestion des risques.

Processus d'évaluation des dangers pour l'écologie

Les étapes du processus d'évaluation des dangers pour l'écologie décrites ci-dessous découlent de l'expérience acquise dans l'évaluation et la gestion des premières substance de la LSIP et de consultations avec les parties intéressées.

Un «Responsable» de chaque substance a été choisi à Environnement Canada; il se chargera de l'évaluation du danger pour l'écologie.

Des représentants d'autres ministères fédéraux et d'autres organismes formeront un «Groupe de contact» pour faire état des intérêts de leurs organisations envers des substances particulières, nommer des experts qui peuvent désirer participer à l'évaluation et fournir l'information dont ils disposent. Aux étapes critiques, ils assureront une rétroaction.

Avec l'aide d'autres ministères, d'organisations environnementales non gouvernementales, de l'industrie, des universités et autres, le Responsable établira un «Groupe-ressource» d'experts scientifiques et techniques qui contribuera activement à l'évaluation. Bien que les membres puissent provenir de n'importe quel secteur, ils seront choisis par Environnement Canada et limités à ceux qui ont les connaissances requises et sont disposés à contribuer au processus d'évaluation dans les délais requis.

Un «Groupe de liaison» est créé pour les groupes ou particuliers qui voudraient être informés des progrès des évaluations, mais qui n'ont pas le temps ou les connaissances pour faire partie du Groupe-ressource. Ce site est l'un des mécanismes clés pour communiquer le programme à ce groupe (Mises à jour - LISP 2).

L'énoncé du problème est la première étape de l'évaluation. Il a pour but d'établir les objectifs et l'orientation de l'évaluation, et de déterminer toute lacune dans les données essentielles. Cet énoncé sera revu par le Groupe-ressource, Santé Canada et Environnement Canada. Les résultats de l'examen de l'énoncé feront l'objet d'une vaste diffusion sur ce site (Mises à jour - LISP 2).

Lorsque les données jugées essentielles à l'évaluation auront été déterminées, on préparera une stratégie permettant d'obtenir l'information requise. Les pouvoirs que confère la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement seront utilisés pour obtenir l'information existante ou nouvelle requise, si la communication volontaire ou d'autres moyens sont impossibles.

L'ébauche de l'évaluation des dangers pour l'écologie sera examinée par le Groupe-ressource, d'autres ministères et des experts choisis. Une étape d'examen public vers la fin de l'évaluation permettra à quiconque s'y intéresse, qui n'a pas fait partie du processus, d'apporter des données scientifiques pour ou contre les conclusions, avant que le Ministère ne fasse ses recommandations aux ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé. (Période prévue pour les commentaires publics)

Comme le prévoit l'article 77 de la LCPE, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada publieront ensemble un rapport d'évaluation comprenant les conclusions sur la toxicité comme définie dans la LCPE et un avis dans la Gazette du Canada résumant ce rapport et annonçant les intentions des ministres. De plus, quelques documents, comme des fiches d'information et des articles de journaux scientifiques seront publiés ou rendus disponibles par des voies électroniques.

Pour de plus amples informations au sujet du Programme d'évaluation des substances d'intérêt prioritaire, veuillez vous adresser aux organisations suivantes:

Division des substances existantes
Direction générale de la Science et l'Évaluation des risques
Environnement Canada
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Couriel : existing.substances.existantes@ec.gc.ca

Division des substance environnementales
Direction de l'hygiène du milieu
Santé Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L2
Couriel : ExSD@hc-sc.gc.ca