This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Summary of Public Comments received on the Challenge substance Acrylamide (CAS RN 79-06-1) Proposed Risk Management Approach document for Batch 5

(PDF Version - 43 KB)

Comments on the proposed risk management approach document for acrylamide to be addressed as part of the Chemicals Management Plan Challenge were provided by North American Polyelectrolyte Producers Association, Dow Chemical Canada, Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba, Canadian Environmental Law Association and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. The table contains a condensed version of each comment and a response in non-technical terms.
                             
A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic:

TopicCommentResponse
Risk managementThe risk management approach states that “The Government of Canada will not require risk management activities from industrial facilities using acrylamide…” However, the Government of Canada proposes adding acrylamide to the Environmental Emergency Regulations which is a type of risk management.While this may appear to be contradictory, in that adding acrylamide to the Environmental Emergency Regulations is a form of risk management, this activity is a proactive measure to prevent emergencies that might reasonably occur, including both on-site and off-site consequences, and the associated prevention, preparedness, response and recovery issues. It does not restrict how acrylamide is used by those same industries.
The risk management approach states that one of the criteria set out in section 200 of the Environmental Emergency Regulations has been met. Please disclose this criterion in the risk management discussion.Due to the length of section 200 of the Environmental Emergency Regulations it was not included in its entirety in the risk management approach. A weblink to the Environmental Emergency website was included in the references section.
As an amendment to the Environmental Emergency Regulations is currently in progress, it is suggested acrylamide be added to the list of substances controlled by the Regulation.It is proposed that acrylamide be added to the list of substances under the Environmental Emergency Regulations.
Using the Food and Drugs Act to control acrylamide in food would allow the Government of Canada to avoid placing acrylamide on Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).As acrylamide has met one or more criterion under section 64 of CEPA 1999, it has been added to Schedule 1. This does not preclude risk management actions being taken under acts such as the Food and Drugs Act where appropriate.
An action plan to reduce or prevent residual acrylamide in consumer products and food sources should be developed.
Safe substitutes to polyacrylamide polymers, particularly for the cosmetic industry, should be investigated with full public disclosure.
Risk management for acrylamide will focus on minimizing exposure from foods, which are the greatest source of acrylamide for Canadians. Additional risk management includes the addition of acrylamide to the Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist, which is an administrative tool to communicate to manufacturers and others that certain substances, when used in a cosmetic, may cause injury to the health of the user in contravention of section 16 of theFood and Drugs Act. Given the chemical nature of the substance, the breakdown of polyacrylamide into its monomer is energetically unfavourable and unlikely to occur. As a result, exposure to acrylamide from products containing polyacrylamide, such as cosmetics, is negligible.
Eliminate the use of additives in drinking water that contain acrylamide. Voluntary health-based standards for drinking water should be replaced by a regulation to ensure that acrylamide in drinking water is not permitted.Polyacrylamide resin flocculants play an important role in ensuring safe drinking water. They aid in removing particles that would not be removed by filtration alone. Exposure to residual acrylamide from the use of polyacrylamide resins to treat drinking water is expected to be negligible.
Regardless of the evidence that industrial sources are not the main source of exposure for humans, the Government of Canada should not avoid taking action on industrial sources, since this places the burden on consumers to effectively protect themselves from exposure to acrylamide.

As foods is the most significant source of acrylamide exposure to Canadians, the Government of Canada has chosen the Food and Drugs Act as the most effective means to protect Canadians.

Pursuant to the Environmental Emergency Regulations, the Government of Canada will also require facilities that use greater than 9100 kg to prepare an Environmental Emergencies Plan, which will protect human health and the environment from spills of acrylamide.

The Government of Canada should impose a mandatory requirement on the food industry to eliminate acrylamide in pre-packaged foods within a specified timeframe.

Acrylamide in pre-packaged foods is formed naturally during baking or frying. As a result, it is possible to reduce but not eliminate its production from foods

The Government of Canada is working with both the European Union and the United States to align actions and share information in order to reduce the inadvertent production of acrylamide in foods.

The development of a guidance document outlining best and safe practices for acrylamide reduction in pre-packaged foods is one of the key elements for eliminating acrylamide in pre-packaged food. This guidance document should be made publicly available, and should be part of a larger strategy to support the reduction of acrylamide in the food industry.A document on the Updates its Risk Management Strategy for Acrylamide in Food is available on Health Canada’s website.
Data from acrylamide monitoring must continue to be available to the public in an understandable format and include a summary of findings. The monitoring results should inform the level of progress made towards the management goals for acrylamide.Health Canada will continue to monitor acrylamide levels in foods on a periodic basis. Results that include plain-language summaries will be published once available on the Health Canada's Acrylamide Monitoring Program website.
The use of the enzyme asparaginase should be evaluated for its safety to the environment and human health. The data regarding the use of the enzyme asparaginase to reduce acrylamide in food should be made available for public comment.

Health Canada undertook public consultation on its intention to permit the use of asparaginase in food processing. In response to the large volume of questions that were received, Health Canada has prepared a document entitled “ Questions and Answers Regarding Health Canada's Proposal to Amend the Food and Drug Regulations to Permit the Use of the Enzyme Asparaginase in Certain Food Products ”.

This document provides responses to the most common questions that were posed during the consultation period, including human health concerns. In addition, it attempts to address the misconceptions and correct the inaccuracies that may have been reported about Health Canada's proposal.

Additionally, ongoing results of Health Canada's Acrylamide Monitoring Program will be made available online.

Advances made in the reduction of acrylamide in pre-packaged food in Canada and in conjunction with other countries should be made available on Health Canada’s website.Health Canada scientists collaborate with the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives. New information relevant to consumers on acrylamide in foods will be published on Health Canada’s website.
The proposed management objectives for acrylamide are not supported because they do not adequately protect human health from exposure to this substance and focus on only emergency situations. The Government of Canada is urged to expand its management objectives to seek to eliminate acrylamide and prevent exposure to from all sources.In addition to preventing exposures to environmental emergency situations, the risk management objective for acrylamide proposes, to the greatest extent possible, that Canadians’ exposure to acrylamide from food sources is kept as low as possible. As acrylamide is naturally produced during the baking and frying process, it cannot be eliminated from food. The Government of Canada has also added acrylamide to the Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist, which is an administrative tool to communicate to manufacturers and others that certain substances, when used in a cosmetic, may cause injury to the health of the user in contravention of section 16 of the Food and Drugs Act. Other sources of acrylamide are deemed to have levels of exposure that do not require risk management.

The addition of acrylamide to the Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist should be as a prohibited substance in cosmetics and personal care products.

 

Acrylamide has been added to the Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist.

Polyacrylamide is listed on the Natural Health Products Ingredients Database as a non-medicinal ingredient, where the concentration of acrylamide in polyacrylamide-containing formulations should not exceed 5 ppm.

It was recommended that the Government of Canada eliminate polyacrylamide, hence acrylamide, from natural health products.

 

The concentrations of residual-free acrylamide in natural health products are negligible.

Polyacrylamide is listed on the Natural Health Products Ingredients Database and the Licensed Natural Health Products Database as a non-medicinal ingredient.

Support was expressed for the addition of acrylamide to the list of chemicals under the Environmental Emergency Regulations. However, it was suggested that the threshold of 9100 kg should be removed to ensure that all facilities using or releasing acrylamide are required to prepare environmental emergency plans regardless of volume thresholds. The environmental emergency plans should also address potential stockpiles of acrylamide.

The threshold for acrylamide was developed after a risk assessment in accordance with the methodology described in the Environment Canada document entitled: “ Rationale for the Development of a List of Regulated Substances under CEPA 1999 section 200 and their Threshold Quantities”.

Environmental emergency plans will be required of any company whose stockpiles trigger the quantity threshold.

The proposed addition of acrylamide to the Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist is appropriate, but polyacrylamide should not be added.

 

Acrylamide has been added to Health Canada’s Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist as referenced by chemical’s Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) registration number (79-06-1), to avoid any confusion with polyacrylamide compounds.
Releases to the environmentThe release and disposal quantities of acrylamide reported to the National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) do not give a complete picture of releases to the environment. Only certain industrial sectors are included in the inventory and the threshold for reporting releases of acrylamide to the NPRI (10 tonnes manufactured, produced or otherwise released) is inappropriate and inadequate to provide information on releases of this substance to the environment. Somewhat different information on environmental releases was obtained under the section 71 notice of CEPA1999, but this information is confidential, so the public has to rely on the NPRI for specific facility information.

The NPRI is meant to capture the major release sources and smaller users (<10 tonnes) are not included as they are considered minor. Food producers (e.g. bakeries and potato chip fryers) also release acrylamide to the air in their vented steam however they are not users of acrylamide; rather, the acrylamide is produced unintentionally in the cooking process.

Results generally indicate that there is a widespread microbial ability to degrade acrylamide and the substance is considered to not persist in the aquatic environment which is the primary environmental compartment to which it is likely released. Based on the empirical and modelled data, acrylamide does not meet the persistence criteria in air, water, soil and sediment.

Releases

There is no consideration to how the many products containing acrylamide will be disposed of, to releases from industrial processes such as ore extraction and crude production and to treatment of wastewater. This is particularly an issue for communities where resource extraction is dominant in their regions, such as the Arctic, and where communities lack treatment facilities.

Pollution prevention strategies should be given consideration, including the implementation of substitutes.

The Government of Canada considers a wide variety of risk management options, including waste disposal of a substance. However, when exposure risks are low, the Government of Canada develops risk management to control the primary source(s) of exposure to protect the environment and human health. In the case of acrylamide, exposure to the general population from waste sources is negligible.
AlternativesThe Government of Canada should expand its efforts to identify alternatives to acrylamide. A process to determine the safety of all appropriate substitutes for polyacrylamide (in effect, acrylamide) should be undertaken under CEPA before the substitutes are used as replacements.Due to its chemical nature, the breakdown of polyacrylamide into its monomer is energetically unfavourable and unlikely to occur. As a result, exposure to acrylamide from products containing polyacrylamide is negligible, and therefore, substitutes for polyacrylamide were not considered.

Vulnerable Populations

 

 

Exposure estimates did not include vulnerable populations, but relate to general populations. These estimates have not taken into account that vulnerable populations, whether due to diet, cultural foods and/ or products, may have greater exposure levels than the general population. Because of the presence of acrylamide in commonly eaten fried foods and other food items, the likelihood of exposure may be quite variable for many diverse populations.Challenge screening assessment reports are based on considerations of the available data. The various conservative exposure scenarios used are considered to be protective of vulnerable populations in Canada. However, if information is available which suggests that a specific sub-population would be particularly vulnerable, this information would be considered in the assessment.
Young children may have a greater susceptibility to acrylamide due to a larger intake than other age groups. There was no further information on children’s exposure other than to general population data based on age. Also, no data on acrylamide in breast milk has been identified in Canada.Health Canada considers the conservative exposure estimates of Canadian children as represented in Appendix 2 of the screening assessment report for acrylamide as sufficient to represent the intakes for vulnerable populations.
According to international studies, acrylamide in breast milk ranges from non-detectable levels to extremely low.
Potential adverse effects on pregnant women need to be addressed. Food advisories must account for this diversity.Canada’s Food Guide advises Canadians to consume fried foods in moderation. Fried foods high in starch (such as potatoes) contain the highest concentrations of acrylamide. The Government of Canada has an advisory guide on what Canadians can do to reduce exposure to acrylamide (Acrylamide - What you can do to reduce exposure)
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Résumé des commentaires publics concernant le document relatif à l'approche de gestion des risques proposée visant l'acrylamide (n° CAS 79-06-1), substance incluse dans le lot 5 du Défi

(Version PDF - 50 Ko)

Les commentaires sur le document sur les approches de gestion des risques proposées pour l'acrylamide, qui seront abordés dans le cadre du Défi du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques, provenaient de North American Polyelectrolyte, de Dow Chemical Canada, de Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba, de l'Association canadienne du droit de l'environnement et d'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. Le tableau présente une version synthétisée de chaque commentaire et une réponse de nature non technique.

Vous trouverez aux présentes un résumé des réponses et des commentaires reçus, structuré selon les sujets suivants :

SujetCommentaireRéponse
Gestion des risquesSelon l'approche de gestion des risques : « Le gouvernement du Canada n'entend pas imposer d'exigences en matière de gestion des risques aux installations industrielles qui utilisent de l'acrylamide... ». Cependant, le gouvernement du Canada propose d'ajouter l'acrylamide au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, qui est un type de gestion des risques.Même si cela semble contradictoire, du fait que l'ajout de l'acrylamide au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales est une forme de gestion des risques, cette activité constitue une mesure proactive de prévention des urgences pouvant raisonnablement se produire, y compris les conséquences sur le site et hors site, et la prévention, la préparation, les interventions et les problèmes de rétablissement connexes. Cela ne limite pas la manière dont l'acrylamide est utilisée par ces mêmes industries.
L'approche de gestion des risques mentionne que l'un des critères établis à l'article 200 du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales a été respecté. Veuillez expliquer ce critère dans le cadre de la discussion sur la gestion des risques.En raison de la longueur de l'article 200 du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, ce dernier n'a pas été inclus dans sa totalité à l'approche de gestion des risques. Un lien vers le site Web des Urgences environnementales a été ajouté aux références.
Dans la mesure où une modification du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales est en cours, on suggère d'ajouter l'acrylamide à la liste des substances visées par ceRèglement.Il est proposé que l'acrylamide soit ajouté à la liste des substances en vertu du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales.
Le recours à la Loi sur les aliments et drogues pour contrôler la présence d'acrylamide dans les aliments permettrait d'ajouter l'acrylamide à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 [LCPE (1999)].L'acrylamide ayant respecté un critère ou plus en vertu de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999), il a été ajouté à l'annexe 1. Cela n'exclut pas de prendre des mesures de gestion des risques en vertu de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues, au besoin.
Un plan d'action visant à réduire ou à empêcher la présence d'acrylamide résiduel dans les produits de consommation et les sources de nourriture devrait être élaboré.
Des substituts sécuritaires du polyacrylamide, notamment pour l'industrie des cosmétiques, devraient faire l'objet d'une enquête entièrement rendue publique.
La gestion des risques pour l'acrylamide sera axée sur la réduction au minimum de l'exposition par les aliments, qui constituent la source d'acrylamide la plus importante pour les Canadiens. La gestion des risques additionnelle prévoit l'ajout de l'acrylamide à la Liste critique des ingrédients dont l'utilisation est restreinte ou interdite dans les cosmétiques (« liste critique »), outil administratif visant à aviser les fabricants et autres que certaines substances, lorsqu'elles sont utilisées dans les cosmétiques, peuvent nuire à la santé des utilisateurs et contreviennent alors à l'article 16 de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Compte tenu de la nature chimique de cette substance, la décomposition du polyacrylamide en son monomère n'est pas souhaitable sur le plan énergétique et a peu de chances de se produire. Par conséquent, l'exposition à l'acrylamide par des produits contenant du polyacrylamide, comme les cosmétiques, est négligeable.
Élimination de l'utilisation d'additifs dans l'eau potable contenant de l'acrylamide. Les normes de santé facultatives relatives à l'eau potable devraient être remplacées par un règlement, afin d'assurer que la présence d'acrylamide dans l'eau potable n'est pas autorisée.La résine de polyacrylamide utilisée comme floculant contribue considérablement à garantir une eau potable saine. Elle permet d'éliminer les particules qui ne le seraient pas par simple filtration. L’exposition à l'acrylamide résiduel par l'utilisation de résines de polyacrylamide visant à traiter l'eau potable devrait être négligeable.
Quelles que soient les preuves attestant que les sources industrielles ne sont pas la principale source d'exposition des humains, le gouvernement du Canada devrait éviter de prendre des mesures relatives aux sources industrielles, car cela fait peser sur les consommateurs le fardeau de la protection efficace contre l'exposition à l'acrylamide.

Dans la mesure où les aliments sont la source la plus importante d'exposition des Canadiens à l'acrylamide, le gouvernement du Canada a désigné la Loi sur les aliments et drogues comme le meilleur moyen de protection des Canadiens.

En vertu du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, le gouvernement du Canada exigera que les installations qui utilisent plus de 9 100 kg d'acrylamide élaborent un plan d'urgences environnementales visant à protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement contre les rejets de cette substance.

Le gouvernement du Canada devrait imposer une exigence obligatoire à l'industrie alimentaire, contraignant cette dernière à éliminer l'acrylamide des aliments préemballés dans un délai déterminé.

L'acrylamide présent dans les aliments préemballés se forme naturellement durant la cuisson ou la friture. Par conséquent, nous pouvons limiter la production d'acrylamide et non l'éliminer des aliments.

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille en collaboration avec l'Union européenne et les États-Unis pour aligner les mesures prises et partager l'information afin de réduire la production accidentelle d'acrylamide dans les aliments.

L'élaboration d'un document d'orientation décrivant les meilleures pratiques et les pratiques sécuritaires relatives à la réduction de la présence d'acrylamide dans les aliments préemballés est l'un des éléments de l'élimination de l'acrylamide de ces derniers. Ce document d'orientation devrait être mis à la disposition du public et devrait faire partie d'une stratégie plus vaste de soutien à la réduction de la présence d'acrylamide dans l'industrie alimentaire.Un document sur la mise à jour de la stratégie de gestion du risque relatif à la présence d'acrylamide dans les aliments est disponible sur le site Web de Santé Canada.
Les données issues de la surveillance de l'acrylamide doivent toujours être à la disposition du public, dans un format compréhensible, et inclure un résumé des résultats. Les résultats de la surveillance doivent donner des renseignements sur l'avancée des progrès effectués en direction des objectifs de gestion concernant l'acrylamide.Toutefois, Santé Canada continuera à surveiller les concentrations d'acrylamide dans les aliments, de façon périodique. Les résultats incluant des résumés en langage clair seront publiés, lorsqu’ils seront disponibles, sur le site web du Programme de surveillance de l'acrylamide de Santé Canada.
L'innocuité de l'utilisation de l'enzyme asparaginase pour l'environnement et la santé humaine devrait être évaluée. Les données sur l'utilisation de l'enzyme asparaginase pour réduire la présence de l'acrylamide dans les aliments devraient être disponibles aux fins de commentaires du public.

Santé Canada a organisé une consultation publique concernant son intention d'autoriser l'utilisation d'asparaginase dans la transformation des aliments. En réponse à un grand nombre de questions reçues, Santé Canada a élaboré un document intitulé : « Questions et réponses sur la proposition de Santé Canada visant à modifier le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues afin de permettre l'utilisation de l'enzyme asparaginase dans certains produits alimentaires ».

Ce document apporte des réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées pendant la période de consultation, notamment les préoccupations relatives à la santé humaine. De plus, il tente de répondre aux idées erronées et de corriger les inexactitudes qui peuvent avoir été véhiculées au sujet de la proposition de Santé Canada.

Par ailleurs, les résultats en cours du Programme de surveillance de l'acrylamide de Santé Canada seront publiés en ligne.

Les progrès en faveur de la réduction de la présence d'acrylamide dans les aliments préemballés au Canada et conjointement avec d'autres pays devraient être publiés sur le site Web de Santé Canada.Les scientifiques de Santé Canada collaborent avec le Comité mixte Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture /Organisation mondiale de la Santé d’experts des additifs alimentaires. Tout nouveau renseignement sur la présence d'acrylamide dans les aliments pertinents pour les consommateurs sera publié sur le site Web de Santé Canada.
Nous n'appuyons pas les objectifs de gestion proposés concernant l'acrylamide, car ils ne protègent pas correctement la santé humaine contre l'exposition à cette substance et sont uniquement axés sur les situations d'urgence. Nous demandons au gouvernement du Canada d'étendre ses objectifs de gestion, afin de chercher à éliminer l'acrylamide et d'empêcher l'exposition à cette substance par d'autres sources.En plus de la prévention des expositions en raison de situations d'urgence environnementale, l'objectif de gestion des risques relatifs à l'acrylamide propose de réduire l'exposition des Canadiens à l'acrylamide par leur alimentation autant que possible. L'acrylamide se formant naturellement pendant la cuisson au four ou la friture, cette substance ne peut être éliminée des aliments. Le gouvernement du Canada a également ajouté l'acrylamide à la Liste critique des ingrédients dont l'utilisation est restreinte ou interdite dans les cosmétiques (« liste critique »), outil administratif visant à aviser les fabricants et autres que certaines substances, lorsqu'elles sont utilisées dans les cosmétiques, peuvent nuire à la santé des utilisateurs et contreviennent alors à l'article 16 de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Les autres sources d'acrylamide sont réputées ne pas constituer de niveaux d'exposition nécessitant une gestion des risques.

L'acrylamide devrait être ajouté à la Liste critique des ingrédients dont l'utilisation est restreinte ou interdite dans les cosmétiques en tant que substance interdite dans les cosmétiques et les produits de soin personnels.

 

L'acrylamide a été ajouté à la Liste critique des ingrédients dont l'utilisation est restreinte ou interdite dans les cosmétiques.

Le polyacrylamide figure dans la Base de données sur les ingrédients des produits de santé naturels en tant qu’ingrédient non médicinal dont la concentration dans les formulations contenant du polyacrylamide ne devrait pas dépasser 5 ppm.

On a recommandé au gouvernement du Canada d'éliminer le polyacrylamide, et donc l'acrylamide, des produits de santé naturels.

 

Les concentrations résiduelles d'acrylamide libre dans les produits de santé naturels sont négligeables.

Le polyacrylamide est inscrit dans la Base de données sur les ingrédients des produits de santé naturels et dans la Base de données sur les produits de santé naturels homologués en tant qu'ingrédient non médicinal.

L'ajout de l'acrylamide à la liste des substances en vertu duRèglement sur les urgences environnementales a été appuyé. On a toutefois suggéré de supprimer le seuil de 9 100 kg afin d'assurer que toutes les installations utilisant ou rejetant de l'acrylamide soient tenues d'élaborer des plans d'urgence environnementale sans tenir compte d'éventuels seuils de volume. Les plans d'urgence environnementale devraient également traiter des stocks d'acrylamide potentiels.

Le seuil relatif à l'acrylamide a été établi après une évaluation des risques, conformément à la méthodologie décrite dans le document d'Environnement Canada intitulé : « Exposé raisonné concernant la préparation d'une liste de substances réglementées en vertu de l'article 200 de la LCPE (1999), et la détermination de leurs quantités seuils ».

Toutes les entreprises dont les stocks dépasseront la quantité seuil requise seront tenues d'élaborer un plan d'urgence environnementale.

La proposition d'ajout de l'acrylamide à la Liste critique des ingrédients dont l'utilisation est restreinte ou interdite dans les cosmétiques est appropriée, mais le polyacrylamide ne devrait pas y être ajouté.

 

L'acrylamide a été ajoutée à la Liste critique des ingrédients dont l'utilisation est restreinte ou interdite dans les cosmétiques de Santé Canada, comme référencé par le numéro de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service (79-06-1), pour éviter toute confusion avec des composés polyacrylamide.
Rejets dans l'environnementLes quantités de rejet et d'élimination d'acrylamide déclarées dans l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) n'offrent pas un aperçu complet des rejets dans l'environnement. Seuls certains secteurs industriels figurent sur l'Inventaire et le seuil de déclaration des rejets d'acrylamide à l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (10 tonnes de substance fabriquée, produite ou rejetée d'une autre manière) est inapproprié et ne permet pas de fournir des renseignements sur les rejets de cette substance dans l'environnement. Des renseignements différents sur les rejets environnementaux ont été obtenus grâce à l'avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE (1999), mais ils sont confidentiels. Le public doit donc se fier à l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants pour obtenir des renseignements précis sur les installations.

L'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants a pour but de saisir les principales sources de rejets et les plus petits utilisateurs (moins de 10 tonnes) n'y sont pas inclus car ils sont considérés comme mineurs. Les producteurs d'aliments (p. ex. boulangeries et fabricants de patates frites) rejettent aussi de l'acrylamide dans les vapeurs dues à la ventilation, et donc dans l'air, mais ne sont toutefois pas des utilisateurs d'acrylamide. Cette substance est plutôt produite de manière involontaire pendant le processus de cuisson.

Les résultats reflètent généralement une forte capacité des microorganismes à décomposer l'acrylamide, et cette substance est considérée comme non persistante dans le milieu aquatique, principal milieu récepteur dans lequel elle peut être rejetée. D'après les données empiriques et modélisées, l'acrylamide ne répond pas aux critères de la persistance dans l'air, l'eau, le sol et les sédiments.

Rejets

On ne tient pas compte de la manière dont les nombreux produits contenant de l'acrylamide seront éliminés, dans les rejets provenant de processus industriels comme l'extraction de minerai et la production brute, et le traitement des eaux usées. Il s'agit d'un enjeu particulier pour les communautés où l'extraction des ressources domine les régions, comme l'Arctique, et où les collectivités manquent d'installations de traitement.

Les stratégies de prévention de la pollution, notamment la mise en place de solutions de substitution, devraient être prises en considération.

Le gouvernement du Canada étudie une grande variété d'options de gestion des risques, y compris l'élimination des déchets d'une substance. Cependant, lorsque les risques d'exposition sont faibles, le gouvernement du Canada élabore une gestion des risques visant à contrôler les principales sources d'exposition pour protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine. Concernant l'acrylamide, l'exposition de la population en général par des sources de déchets est négligeable.
Solutions de rechangeLe gouvernement du Canada devrait redoubler d'efforts pour trouver des solutions de rechange à l'acrylamide. Un processus de détermination de la sécurité de toutes les solutions de rechange au polyacrylamide (en réalité, l'acrylamide) adaptées devrait être établi en vertu de la LCPE, avant que les solutions de rechange ne remplacent cette substance.En raison de la nature chimique de cette substance, la décomposition du polyacrylamide en son monomère n'est pas souhaitable sur le plan énergétique et a peu de chances de se produire. Par conséquent, l'exposition à l'acrylamide par des produits contenant du polyacrylamide est négligeable et les solutions de rechange au polyacrylamide n'ont pas été prises en considération.
Populations vulnérablesLes estimations de l'exposition n'ont pas pris en compte les populations vulnérables, mais elles sont liées aux populations en général. Ces estimations n'ont pas tenu compte du fait que les populations vulnérables, en raison de leur régime alimentaire, des habitudes alimentaires ou des produits culturels, peuvent subir des niveaux d'exposition plus élevés que la population en général. En raison de la présence d'acrylamide dans les aliments frits fréquemment consommés et dans d'autres aliments, la probabilité d'exposition peut varier selon les nombreuses différentes populations.Les rapports d'évaluation préalable du Défi sont fondés sur l'examen des données disponibles. Les divers scénarios prudents d'exposition sont jugés protecteurs pour les populations vulnérables au Canada. Toutefois, si des renseignements disponibles laissent entendre qu'une sous-population spécifique serait particulièrement vulnérable, ces renseignements seraient alors considérés dans l'évaluation.
Les jeunes enfants peuvent être plus susceptibles d'être exposés à l'acrylamide en raison d'une absorption plus importante que les autres groupes d'âge. Aucun renseignement supplémentaire sur l'exposition des enfants n'était disponible, hormis les données fondées sur l'âge relatives à la population en général. De plus, aucune donnée sur la présence d'acrylamide dans le lait maternel n'a été relevée au Canada.

Santé Canada considère que les estimations prudentes sur l'exposition des enfants canadiens représentées dans l'annexe 2 du rapport d'évaluation préalable concernant l'acrylamide suffisent à représenter les absorptions des populations vulnérables.

Selon des études internationales, les concentrations d'acrylamide dans le lait maternel varient entre non détectables et extrêmement faibles.

Les effets nocifs potentiels sur les femmes enceintes doivent être traités. Les avis sur les aliments doivent tenir compte de cette diversité.Le Guide alimentaire canadien conseille aux Canadiens de consommer des aliments frits avec modération. Les aliments frits riches en amidon (comme les patates) contiennent les concentrations d'acrylamide les plus élevées. Le gouvernement du Canada propose un guide consultatif sur les mesures que peuvent prendre les Canadiens pour réduire leur exposition à l'acrylamide (Acrylamide - Comment réduire l'exposition).
Date de modification :