Priority Substances Assessment Program

The Second Priority Susbtances List under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1988 (CEPA 1988)

Extract of the Canada Gazette, Part I, published on December 16, 1995


The Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA) authorizes the Ministers of National Health and Welfare and of the Environment to conduct research and collect information on substances that may contaminate the environment and cause adverse effects on human health or the environment. The term "substance" is defined in section 3 of CEPA and can include chemicals, complex mixtures, effluents and emissions. Subsection 12(1) of CEPA states:

"The Ministers shall compile and may amend from time to time a list to be known as the Priority Substances List, and the List shall specify substances in respect of which the Ministers are satisfied priority should be given in assessing whether they are toxic or capable of becoming toxic."

Substances that appeared on the Priority Substances List must be assessed to determine whether they are 'toxic' according to the definition specified in section 11 of the Act, which states, in part:

"... a substance is toxic if it is entering or may enter the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions

a. having or that may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment;
b. constituting or that may constitute a danger to the environment on which human life depends; or
c. constituting or that may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health."

The assessment process includes examining relevant chemical, biological, human health and environmental information. The process can include testing and additional reasearch. Upon completion of the assessment for each substance, a report will be prepared and made available to the public and a summary of the results will be published in the Canada Gazette.

If a substance is found 'toxic', the Ministers may recommend that management strategies be developed to prevent or reduce the potential for harm to the environment or humans. Management strategies, which integrate socio-economic considerations, are developed in consultation with stakeholders and may include voluntary controls, process changes, substitutions, economic measures, regulations, guidelines, codes of practice, or a combination of these measures.

The first Priority Substances List (PSL) was published in the Canada Gazette in February 1989 and contained 44 substances. Assessments were completed by February 1994. Results appeared in the Canada Gazette and in individual assessment reports.

In December 1994, the Ministers of the Environment and Health established an Expert Advisory Panel to recommend a new set of priority substances for assessment under CEPA. The Panel represented a cross-section of scientific and professional expertise and was responsible for establishing a broad consultation network. Panel members were drawn from major stakeholder groups across Canada,including the academic community, health and environmental groups, industry, the federal and provincial/territorial governments and from the international community.

The Panel presented its report (Executive Summary) to the Ministers in November 1995. The Report identifies the 25 recommended substances for the second PSL and the rationale for their selection. The Ministers accepted the 25 substances recommended by the Panel for inclusion on the second Priority Substances List.

The second CEPA Priority Substances List appears below. The substances are listed in alphabetical order. Where applicable, the name of the substance is accompanied by the Chemical Abstract Service Registry Number that uniquely identifies the substance:

From time to time, the Ministers will review the List and publish any amendments in the Canada Gazette. In addition, subsection 12(4) of CEPA allows any person to contribute to this process by writing to the minister of the Environment requesting that a substance be added to the List and stating the reasons for adding the substance. The Minister will respond to such request within 90 days, indicating how the request will be dealt with and the reasons for doing so.

For further information or copies of the Panel's report (Executive Summary), please contact either of the following officials:

Director
Existing Substances Division
Environment Canada
Gatineau, Ouebec
K1A  0H3

Director
Bureau of Chemical Hazards
Environmental Health Centre
Health Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0L2


Note: Although care has been taken to ensure that this extract accurately reflects the Canada Gazette, Part I, published December 16, 1995, readers are advised that, should any inconsistencies be found, the Canada Gazette will prevail.

Date modified:

Programme d'évaluation des substance d'intérêt prioritaire

Deuxième liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire dans le cadre de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1988 [LCPE (1988)]

Extrait de la Gazette du Canada publié le 16 décembre 1995


La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE) autorise les ministres de la Santé nationale et du Bien-être social et de l'Environnement à faire des recherches et à recueillir des renseignements sur une large gamme de substances qui risquent de contaminer l'environnement et d'avoir des effets nocifs sur ce dernier ou sur la santé. Le terme « substance » est défini à l'article 3 de la Loi et peut englober les matières chimiques, les mélanges complexes, les effluents et les émissions. En vertu du paragraphe 12(1) de la Loi :

« Les ministres établissent et modifient, au besoin, la liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire qui énumère les substances pour lesquelles ils jugent prioritaire de déterminer si elles sont effectivement ou potentiellement toxiques. »

La toxicité éventuelle des substances de la liste prioritaire à évaluer est définie comme suit à l'article 11

« [...] est toxique toute substance qui pénètre ou peut pénétrer dans l'environnement en une quantité ou une concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à:

a. avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement;
b. mettre en danger l'environnement essentiel pour la vie humaine;
c. constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaine. »

Le processus d'évaluation englobe l'examen de l'information pertinente relative à la chimie, la biologie, l'environnement et la santé humaine. Ce processus peut également comprendre des tests et des recherches additionnelles. Une fois l'évaluation d'une substance fait, un rapport sera préparé puis rendu public, et un résumé en sera donné dans la Gazette du Canada.

Si une substance se révèle toxique, les ministres pourront recommander l'élaboration de stratégies de gestion pour empêcher ou réduire les risques de danger pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine. Ces stratégies de gestion, qui tiennent compte de considération socio-économiques, seront élaboréesen consultation avec les intervenants et pourront prévoir des limitations volontaires, des modifications des procédés, des produits de remplacement, des mesures économiques, des règlements, desdirectives, des codes de pratiques, ou une combinaison de ces mesures.

La première liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire, qui a été publiée dans la Gazette du Canada en février 1989, contenait une série de 44 substances. Les évaluations pour l'ensemble des substances ont été terminées en février 1994. Les conclusions ont été publiées dans la Gazette du Canada et dans des rapports d'évaluation individuels.

En décembre 1994, les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé nationale et du Bien-être social ont mis sur pied une Commission consultative dont le but était de recommander qu'une deuxième série de substances d'intérêt prioritaire fasse l'objet d'une évaluation en vertu de la Loi. La Commission formait un échantillon représentatif de l'expertise scientifique et professionnelle et était également chargéede mettre sur pied un vaste réseau de consultations par lequel elle recevait des conseils. Les membres de cette Commission ont été choisis parmi les principaux groupes d'intervenants du Canada, notamment le milieu universitaire, les groupes de protection de la santé et de l'environnement, l'industrie, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que la communauté internationale.

La Commission a présenté son rapport (résumé) aux ministres en novembre 1995. On y définit les 25 substances recommandées pour la deuxième liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire et fournit une explication à l'appui. Les ministres ont accepté que les 25 substances recommandées par la Commission fassent partie de la deuxième liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire.

La deuxième liste des substances d'Intérêt prioritaire de la LCPE est reproduite ci- dessous. Les substances sont énumérées en ordre alphabétique avec, lorsque c'est possible, leur numéro unique d'enregistrement du Chemical Abstracts Service.

De temps à autre, les ministres réviseront la Liste et en publieront les modifications dans la Gazette du Canada. En outre, le paragraphe 12(4) de la LCPE prévoit que tout particulier peut intervenir dans le processus en écrivant au ministre de l'Environnement pour lui demander, motifs à l'appui d'ajouter une substance à la Liste. Le Ministre répondra à la demande dans les 90 jours suivant sa présentation en informant le demandeur de la suite qu'il y donnera et en motivant sa décision.

Pour de plus amples informations ou pour une copie du rapport (résumé), veuillez contacter l'une ou l'autre des personnes suivantes :

Directeur
Division des substances existantes
Environnement Canada
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3

Directeur
Bureau des dangers des produits chimiques,
Centre d'hygiène du milieu,
Santé Canada
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0L2


Note : Même si toute l'attention a été portée pour retranscrire le texte de l'extrait de la Gazette du Canada tel que publié le 16 décembre 1995, les lecteurs sont avertis que si pour toute différence trouvée, le texte de laGazette du Canada prévaut.