Policy on the Use of Significant New Activity Provisions of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

(PDF Format - 32 KB)

Table of Contents

1. Purpose and Application

This document describes Environment Canada (EC) and Health Canada's (HC) operational policy for applying the significant new activity (SNAc) provisions of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).

This policy applies to all uses of the Significant New Activity Provisions (SNAc) provisions for:

This policy applies to all types of substances covered by CEPA 1999, including chemicals, polymers and living organisms.

Top of Page

2. Context

The SNAc provisions trigger an obligation for industry to notify and the government to assess, information about a substance when a proponent proposes to use the substance in a significant new activity. The provisions are used to assess the risks associated with the proposed new activity before the new activity is undertaken. The Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health assess the information provided by the notifier and other information available to them to determine whether the substance, if used in the proposed new activity, could pose a risk to the environment or human health, and if so, whether new or additional risk management is required.

Top of Page

3. Operating Principles

3.1 When a Significant New Activity Provisions (SNAcs) should be considered for use

The decision to use a SNAc is risk-based. The SNAc provisions will be considered for use where there is reasonable suspicion that new activities with respect to a substance may result in new or increased  risks to the environment or human health. That suspicion could be based on factors such as the specific properties of the substance, the function of the substance, the presence of the substance in markets in other jurisdictions, etc.

SNAcs are more permissive than some other instruments as they implicitly signal that some new uses of the substance may be acceptable. Where there is suspicion that no new activity would be acceptable, other instruments – such as conditions (for new substances) or prohibitions – may be used.

For new substances: a SNAc will be considered when there is suspicion that activities other than those that were the subject of the new substance notification may pose risk.

For DSL substances that have not been added or recommended for Schedule 1: a SNAc will be considered when:

For DSL substances that are on, or have been proposed for addition to Schedule 1: a SNAc will be considered:

Top of Page

3.2 Design of a Significant New Activity Provisions (SNAc) Notice or Order

Identification of activities subject to notification

A significant new activity can include one that has not been conducted with the substance in the past or an existing one with a different quantity or in different circumstances that could affect the exposure pattern of the substance. As such, the key factor in determining whether the activity is significantly new is whether the activity may result in a significant change in exposure.

The SNAc Notice or Order will define the significant new activity either inclusively by describing those activities that will require notification or exclusively by describing those activities that will not require notification. In either case, the SNAc will be written as specifically as possible so as to target only those potential activities that are suspected of posing risk to the environment or human health.

Notification thresholds may be described in the SNAc Notice or Order requiring notification before reaching a certain quantity, concentration or volume. Where annual quantity thresholds are used in defining a significant new activity, they will be derived in a manner relevant to possible new activities of interest, and will take into consideration relevant thresholds used under data gathering initiatives such as CEPA section 71 notices and the New Substances Notification Regulations (NSNR).

Identification of the information to be submitted

The information requirements set out in the SNAc Notice or Order will be selected to address relevant areas of uncertainty identified during the original assessment. These may include information about inherent properties of the substance (e.g. physical- chemical properties, environmental fate, toxicity, etc.) and information related to its presence in the environment (e.g., uses, releases, processing, handling and disposal procedures).

When information requirements need to be more general, they will reflect those of the notification schedules of the NSNR (Chemicals and Polymers) or the NSNR (Organisms). In these cases, the SNAc Notice or Order will either use the relevant wording from these schedules or refer to the relevant items of the schedule.

Identification of the assessment period

The SNAc Notice or Order must specify the assessment period, which is the period of time within which EC and HC will complete the assessment. It should reflect the expected complexity of the Significant New Activity Notice (SNAN) assessment. For new substances and DSL substances not on Schedule 1, an assessment period of 90 days (120 for organisms) is typically specified in the SNAc Notice or Order. For Schedule 1 substances, the typical assessment period specified is 180 days.

Top of Page

3.3 Assessing information submitted based on a SNAc

The scope of each SNAN assessment will be determined by the information provided in the notification and by whatever other information is available to the Ministers.

A SNAN assessment will normally focus on the anticipated exposure resulting from the new activity. In addition, if the information submitted warrants it, the SNAN assessment may also re-visit prior assessment conclusions about the substance itself.

The Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health assess the information provided in the SNAN to determine:

For new substances or existing substances not on Schedule 1: the conclusion of an assessment of a SNAN can be that the substance is:

For existing substances already on Schedule 1: the conclusion of an assessment of a significant new activity can be that the new activity is:

Top of Page

3.4 Action that will be taken after risk assessment

If the assessment determines that the substance is not toxic as a result of the significant new activity, or if the significant new activity is not expected to increase or change the risk, the notifier would be enabled to undertake the notified activity upon completion of the assessment period, and be informed as such. The Minister may either modify or rescind the Significant New Activity Notice or Order to reflect this decision. The Minister will endeavour to publish any amendment to a SNAc within 180 days from the end of the assessment period.

If the assessment determines that the substance is toxic or capable of becoming toxic, or if the proposed significant new activity is expected to increase the risk to human health or the environment, the Minister of the Environment will inform the notifier of this decision and proposed next steps to manage the risks identified prior to the end of the assessment period specified in the SNAc Notice or the Order.

Top of Page

3.5 Stakeholder input

Consultations on SNAc Notices and Orders provide potentially affected stakeholders with the opportunity to inform SNAc development and to be apprised of coming into force dates.

For new substances: the person responsible for the new substance notification is given an opportunity to comment on draft SNAc text and is informed when the SNAc Notice is published in Canada Gazette, Part 1.

For existing substances not meeting the CEPA definition of “toxic”: typically, the government will signal its intent to use the SNAc provisions in the draft and/or final screening assessment report publication. The comment period following the publication of the Notice of Intent to apply the SNAc provisions gives stakeholders an opportunity to comment.

For existing substances meeting the CEPA definition of “toxic”: stakeholders will have opportunities to provide input during the public comment periods following publication of the Risk Management Scope document, the Risk Management Approach document, and the Notice of Intent to apply the SNAc provisions.


Date modified:

Politique sur l'application des dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

(Format PDF - 35 Ko)

Table des matières

1. Objectif et champ d'application

Le présent document décrit la politique opérationnelle d'Environnement Canada et de Santé Canada sur l'application des dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].

La présente politique s'applique à toute application des dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités pour:

La présente politique s'applique à tous les types  de substances visés par la LCPE (1999), y compris les produits chimiques, les polymères et les organismes vivants.

Haut de la page

2. Contexte

Les dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités obligent l'industrie à donner un avis et le gouvernement à évaluer les renseignements sur une substance lorsqu'un promoteur propose d'utiliser cette substance dans le cadre d'une nouvelle activité. On applique ces dispositions pour évaluer les risques associés à la nouvelle activité proposée avant de l'entreprendre. Le ministre de l'Environnement et le ministre de la Santé évaluent les renseignements fournis par le déclarant et les autres renseignements à leur disposition afin de déterminer si, utilisée dans la nouvelle activité proposée, la substance présente un risque pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine, et, si tel est le cas, si des mesures nouvelles ou supplémentaires de gestion des risques sont nécessaires.

Haut de la page

3. Principes de fonctionnement

3.1 Quand doit-on envisager d'appliquer les dispositions relatives aux Nouvelles activités?

La décision d'utiliser une nouvelle activité est fondée sur les risques. On doit envisager l'application des dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités lorsqu'il y a raison de croire que les nouvelles activités et l'usage de la substance visée peuvent entraîner ou accroître des risques pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine. Ces soupçons peuvent être fondés sur divers facteurs, tels que les propriétés de la substance, sa fonction ou encore sa présence sur les marchés d'autres compétences, etc.

Les nouvelles activités sont plus souples que certains autres instruments, car elles indiquent implicitement que certaines nouvelles utilisations de la substance peuvent être acceptables. Lorsqu'il y a raison de croire qu'aucune nouvelle activité n'est acceptable, on peut employer d'autres instruments, comme la mise en place de conditions (pour les nouvelles substances) ou d'une interdiction.

Pour les substances nouvelles, il faut envisager d'utiliser une nouvelle activité lorsqu'il y a raison de croire que des activités autres que celles prévues dans la déclaration de substances nouvelles présenteraient un risque.

Pour les substances de la Liste intérieure des substances qui n'ont pas été ajoutées à l'annexe 1 ou dont l'ajout n'a pas été recommandé, il faut envisager d'utiliser une nouvelle activité dans les cas suivants :

Pour les substances de la Liste intérieure des substances qui ont été ajoutées à l'annexe 1 ou dont l'ajout a été proposé, il faut envisager d'utiliser une nouvelle activité dans les cas suivants :

Haut de la page

3.2 Conception d'un avis ou d'un décret de Nouvelle activité

Définition des activités qui doivent être déclarées

Une nouvelle activité peut être une activité qui n'a pas été menée avec la substance dans le passé ou une activité courante impliquant des quantités ou circonstances différentes, susceptibles d'avoir une incidence sur le profil d'exposition de la substance. À ce titre, le facteur clé pour déterminer si une activité est une nouvelle activité est de déterminer si cette activité peut donner lieu à une modification importante de l'exposition.

L'avis ou le décret de nouvelle activité définit la nouvelle activité inclusivement en décrivant les activités qui devront être modifiées ou exclusivement en décrivant les activités qui n'auront pas besoin d'être modifiées. Dans les deux cas, il faut formuler la nouvelle activité de manière aussi précise que possible afin de ne cibler que les activités éventuelles soupçonnées de poser un risque pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine.

Il est possible de décrire dans un avis ou un décret de nouvelle activité des seuils de quantité, de concentration ou de volume qui déclencheraient une notification avant d'être atteints. Lorsqu'on fixe des seuils de quantité annuels dans une nouvelle activité, on doit définir ces seuils de façon pertinente à de nouvelles activités d'intérêt éventuelles et prendre en considération les seuils appartenant à d'autres initiatives de collecte de données comme celles formulées dans les avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE (1999) et dans le Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (RRSN).

Définition des renseignements qui doivent être envoyés

Il convient de choisir les exigences en matière de renseignements établies dans l'avis ou le décret de nouvelle activité de manière à aborder les domaines d'incertitude pertinents relevés au cours de l'évaluation initiale. Cela peut comprendre des renseignements sur les propriétés intrinsèques de la substance (p. ex. propriétés physico-chimiques, devenir dans l'environnement et toxicité) et des renseignements sur la présence de la substance dans l'environnement (p. ex. utilisations, rejets, traitement, procédures de manipulation et d'élimination).

Lorsque les exigences en matière de renseignements doivent être plus générales, elles doivent refléter celles dans les annexes de déclaration du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (substances chimiques et polymères) ou du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (organismes). Dans ces cas, l'avis ou le décret de nouvelle activité doit employer une formulation semblable à celle dans les annexes ou se reporter aux articles pertinents dans ces annexes.

Définition de la période d'évaluation

L'avis ou le décret de nouvelle activité doit préciser la période d'évaluation, c'est-à-dire la période durant laquelle Environnement Canada et Santé Canada doivent réaliser l'évaluation. Cette période doit tenir compte de la complexité de l'évaluation par suite d'un avis de nouvelle activité. Pour les substances nouvelles et les substances de la Liste intérieure des substances qui ne sont pas inscrites à l'annexe 1, la période d'évaluation indiquée dans l'avis ou le décret de nouvelle activité est habituellement de 90 jours (120 jours pour les organismes). Pour les substances inscrites à l'annexe 1, la période d'évaluation indiquée est habituellement de 180 jours.

Haut de la page

3.3 Évaluer les nouveaux renseignements envoyés fondés sur une Nouvelle activité

La portée de chaque évaluation par suite d'un avis de nouvelle activité dépend des renseignements fournis dans la notification et de tous autres renseignements dont disposent les ministres.

Une évaluation par suite d'un avis de nouvelle activité se penche habituellement sur l'exposition prévue découlant de la nouvelle activité. En outre, si les renseignements fournis le justifient, l'évaluation par suite d'un avis de nouvelle activité peut donner lieu à un réexamen des conclusions d'une évaluation antérieure sur la substance en question.

Le ministre de l'Environnement et le ministre de la Santé évaluent les renseignements fournis dans l'avis de nouvelle activité pour :

Pour les substances nouvelles ou les substances existantes qui ne sont pas inscrites à l'annexe 1, on peut tirer les conclusions suivantes d'une évaluation par suite d'un avis de nouvelle activité :

Pour les substances existantes qui sont déjà inscrites à l'annexe 1, on peut tirer les conclusions suivantes d'une évaluation par suite d'un avis de nouvelle activité :

Haut de la page

3.4 Mesures à prendre après l'évaluation des risques

Si, au cours de l'évaluation, on détermine que la substance n'est pas toxique ni ne peut le devenir dans le cadre de la nouvelle activité, ou que la nouvelle activité ne devrait pas augmenter ou changer le risque, le déclarant sera permis d’entreprendre l'activité déclarée dès la fin de la période d'évaluation et le déclarant devra  en être informé. Le ministre peut ensuite modifier ou annuler l'avis ou le décret de nouvelle activité pour refléter cette décision. Le ministre s'efforcera de publier toute modification apportée à une nouvelle activité sur la Liste intérieure des substances dans les 180 jours suivant la fin de la période d'évaluation.

Si, au cours de l'évaluation, on détermine que la substance est effectivement ou potentiellement toxique, ou si la nouvelle activité proposée devait augmenter le  risque pour la santé humaine ou l'environnement, le ministre de l'Environnement doit informer le déclarant de cette décision et des prochaines étapes proposées en vue de gérer les risques déterminés avant la fin de la période d'évaluation précisée dans l'avis ou le décret de nouvelle activité.

Haut de la page

3.5 Commentaires des intervenants

Les consultations sur les avis ou décrets de nouvelles activités donnent la possibilité aux intervenants qui pourraient être touchés de contribuer à l'élaboration des nouvelles activités et d'être avisés des dates d'entrée en vigueur.

En ce qui concerne les nouvelles substances : la personne responsable de la déclaration de substance nouvelle a la possibilité de commenter l'ébauche du texte sur la nouvelle activité et est informée de la date de publication de l'avis de nouvelle activité dans la Partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada.

En ce qui concerne les substances existantes qui ne répondent pas à la définition de « substance toxique » énoncée dans la LCPE : en règle générale, le gouvernement signalera son intention d'utiliser les dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités dans l'ébauche ou la version finale du rapport d'évaluation préalable. La période de commentaires suivant la publication de l'avis d'intention d'appliquer les dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités donne aux intervenants la possibilité de faire des commentaires.

En ce qui concerne les substances existantes qui répondent à la définition de « substance toxique » énoncée dans la LCPE : les intervenants auront la possibilité de fournir des commentaires durant les périodes de commentaires du public suivant la publication du document sur la portée de la gestion des risques, du document proposant une approche de gestion des risques et de l'avis d'intention d'appliquer les dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités.


Date de modification :