This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Final Screening Assessment for 52 Substances with High Hazard Potential on the Domestic Substances List

Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Numbers

55-18-5, 59-88-1, 60-35-5, 62-50-0, 62-55-5, 66-27-3, 75-25-2, 76-01-7, 78-88-6, 79-00-5, 79-16-3, 94-58-6, 96-09-3, 96-18-4, 100-63-0, 101-61-1, 106-87-6, 110-88-3, 115-28-6, 116-14-3, 122-60-1, 123-39-7, 123-73-9, 131-18-0, 131-52-2, 135-20-6, 136-35-6, 141-90-2, 331-39-5, 492-80-8, 569-61-9, 591-78-6, 593-60-2, 606-20-2, 615-28-1, 823-40-5, 1120-71-4, 1694-09-3, 3296-90-0, 4170-30-3, 10034-93-2, 10046-00-1, 13463-39-3, 13840-56-7, 15545-48-9, 24602-86-6, 25321-14-6, 25376-45-8, 26447-14-3, 39156-41-7, 55290-64-7, 103122-66-3

Environment Canada
Health Canada

May 2013

(PDF Format - 157 KB)

Table of Contents

Introduction

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) requires the Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health to conduct screening assessments of substances that have met the categorization criteria set out in the Act to determine whether these substances present or may present a risk to the environment or human health.

Based on the information obtained through the categorization process, the Ministers identified a number of substances as priorities for further assessment. The 52 substances included in this assessment were identified as priorities because they had been identified as posing a high hazard to human health based on classifications by other national or international agencies for carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, developmental toxicity or reproductive toxicity. Fifteen of the 52 substances were also determined to meet categorization criteria for persistence or bioaccumulation, and inherent toxicity to human or non-human organisms (Environment Canada 2003, 2006), under subsection 73(1) of CEPA 1999.  Categorization results are presented in Appendix A and B.

Screening assessments focus on information critical to determining whether a substance meets the criteria as set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999[1]. Screening assessments examine scientific information and develop conclusions by incorporating a weight-of-evidence approach and precaution.

The Ministers of the Environment and of Health have conducted this screening assessment for these substances. The critical information and considerations upon which the assessment is based are summarized below. Since the publication of the draft assessment report, additional information was received on thiophanate-methyl (CAS Registry No. 23564-05-8), which indicates that is being used in Canada. As a result, this substance has since been removed from the assessment and will be considered for further assessment in the future.

Top of Page

Summary of Information Used as Basis for this Screening Assessment

To establish whether certain substances were currently being manufactured in or imported into Canada, a survey was conducted by issuing a Notice with Respect to Selected Substances Identified as Priority for Action pursuant to paragraphs 71(1)(a) and (b) of CEPA 1999. The Notice was published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on March 4, 2006 (Canada 2006). The 14 substances from that survey being considered in this assessment are listed in Appendix A.

An additional survey was conducted by issuing a Notice with Respect to Certain Inanimate Substances (Chemicals) on the Domestic Substances List pursuant to paragraphs 71(1)(b) of CEPA 1999. The Notice was published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on October 3, 2009 (Canada 2009).  The 38 substances from that survey being considered in this assessment are listed in Appendix B.

In response to these notices, there were no reports of industrial activity (import or manufacture) with respect to these substances in Canada above the reporting threshold of 100 kg for the relevant reporting year. These results indicate that currently these substances are not in use above the specified reporting threshold. Entry characterization consisted of additionally searching for information on releases and sources of the substance in relevant databases, particularly to identify direct exposure potential to the general population (CNS 2010; Canada [1978]; DPD 2010; NHPID 2010; LNHPD 2010; EAFUS 2010; HPD 2010; HSDB c1993-2008). Searches for these substances were conducted up to November 2010, and no information was found on current uses or releases of these substances in Canada. Therefore, the likelihood of exposure to these substances in Canada resulting from commercial activity is low and hence the potential risks to human health or the environment are considered to be low.

Additional information obtained and assessed following categorization indicates a lack of any significant commercial activity for these substances. Consequently, no further collection or analysis of information relevant to the health and/or environmental effects of these substances has been conducted. Therefore, the decisions on human health hazard potential and persistence, bioaccumulation and inherent toxicity properties made during categorization remain unchanged.

Top of Page

Conclusion

Based on available information, and until new information is received indicating that these 52 substances are entering, or may enter the environment, from commercial activity or from other sources, it is concluded that they do not meet any of the criteria as set out in section 64 of CEPA 1999.

As substances listed on the DSL, import and manufacture of these substances in Canada are not currently subject to notification under subsection 81(1). Given their potential high hazard for human health, there is concern that new activities for the above substances which have not been identified or assessed under CEPA, 1999 could lead to the substances meeting the criteria set out in section 64 of CEPA, 1999. Therefore, the Domestic Substances List will be amended, under subsection 87(3) of the Act, to indicate that the above substances  be subject to the Significant New Activity provisions specified under subsection 81(3) of the Act, to ensure that any new manufacture, import or use of any of these substances in quantities  greater than 100 kg/year is notified and will undergo ecological and human health risk assessments as specified in section 83 of the Act, prior to the substance being considered for introduction into Canada.

Top of Page

References

Canada. [1978]. Food and Drug Regulations, C.R.C., c. 870, s. B.16.100.

Canada. 1999. Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. S.C., 1999, c. 33, Canada Gazette, Part III. Vol. 22, No. 3.

Canada. 2000. Canadian Environmental Protection Act: Persistence and Bioaccumulation Regulations, P.C. 2000-348, 23 March, 2000, SOR/2000-107, Canada Gazette, Part II, Vol. 134, No. 7.

Canada, Dept. of the Environment, Dept. of Health. 2006. Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Notice with respect to selected substances identified as priority for action. Canada Gazette, Part I, Vol. 140, No. 9.

Canada, Dept. of the Environment, Dept. of Health. 2009. Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Notice with respect to certain inanimate substances (chemicals) on the Domestic Substances List. Canada Gazette, Part I, Vol. 143, No. 40.

[CNS] Cosmetic Notification System [proprietary database]. 2010. Ottawa (ON): Health Canada. [cited 2010 October]

[DPD] Drug Products Database Online Query [database on the Internet]. 2010. Ottawa (ON): Therapeutic Products Directorate, Health Canada. [cited 2010 November].

[EAFUS] Everything Added to Food in the United States [Internet]. 2010. U.S. Food and Drug Administration; [cited 2010 June].

Environment Canada. 2006. CEPA DSL Categorization Overview and Results [CD-ROM]. Gatineau (QC): Environment Canada, Existing Substances Division. Available on request.

[ESIS] European Chemical Substances Information System [database on the Internet]. c1995-2010. European Chemicals Bureau (ECB). [cited 2010 October].

Health Canada.  Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality - Supporting Documentation, Part 1 – Approach to Derivation of Drinking Water Guidelines, February 1995, Appendix A.

[HPD]. Household Products Database [database on the internet]. 2010. U.S. Department of Health & Human Services; [cited 2010 June].

[HSDB] Hazardous Substances Data Bank [database on the internet]. c1993-2008. United States National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health; [cited 2010 June].

[IARC] International Agency for Research on Cancer. 2010. IARC Monographs on the Evaluation of Carcinogenic Risks to Humans. [cited 2010 October].

[LNHPD] Licensed Natural Health Products Database [database on the internet]. 2010. Health Canada, Government of Canada; [Accessed 2010-09-20,21].

[NHPID] Natural Health Products Ingredients Database [database on the internet]. 2010. Health Canada, Government of Canada; [Accessed 2010-09-20,21].
 
[NTP]. National Toxicology Program Reports on Carcinogens. 2010. US Department of Health and Human Services. [cited 2010 October].

[PMRA]. Pest Management Regulatory Agency, Product Information Search [database on the internet]. 2010. Health Canada, Government of Canada; [cited 2010 November].

U.S. EPA. Risk Assessment Guidelines of 1986.  EPA/600/8-87/045, August 1987, Office of Health and Environmental Assessment, US EPA, Washington DC.

U.S. EPA. Guidelines for Carcinogen Risk Assessment (2005). U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Washington, DC, EPA/630/P-03/001F, 2005.

Top of Page

Appendix A: Categorization Criteria

Appendix A: Categorization results for 14 substances determined to be no longer in commercial use in Canada above the specified reporting threshold from the Notice with Respect to Selected Substances Identified as Priority for Action pursuant to paragraphs 71(1)(a) and (b) of CEPA 1999, published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on March 4, 2006 (Canada 2006)
CAS RN[1]DSL NameClassified for Carcino-genicity[2]Classified for Develop-mental Toxicity[2]Classified for Genotoxicity[2]Classified for Reproductive Toxicity[2]PersistentBioaccumulativeInherently Toxic to aquatic organismsMeets s.73 criteria[3]
55-18-5Ethanamine, N-ethyl-N-nitroso-X       
62-50-0Methanesulfonic acid, ethyl esterX       
66-27-3Methanesulfonic acid, methyl esterX       
79-16-3Acetamide, N-methyl- X      
94-58-61,3-Benzodioxole, 5-propyl-X       
115-28-6Bicyclo[2.2.1]hept-5-ene-2,3-dicarboxylic acid, 1,4,5,6,7,7-hexachloro-X   X  X
123-39-7Formamide, N-methyl- X      
123-73-92-Butenal, (E)-X X     
331-39-52-Propenoic acid, 3-(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)-X       
593-60-2Ethene, bromo-X       
615-28-11,2-Benzenediamine, dihydrochlorideX X     
25376-45-81,3-Benzenediamine, ar-methyl-X       
39156-41-71,3-Benzenediamine, 4-methoxy-, sulfate (1:1)X X     
55290-64-71,4-Dithiin, 2,3-dihydro-5,6-dimethyl-, 1,1,4,4-tetraoxideX       
[1] CAS RN – Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number
[2] For more information on the criteria used to determine substance classifications, see Appendix C.
[3] Persistent or bioaccumulative and inherently toxic to human beings (based on carcinogenicity) or to non-human organisms (based on inherent toxicity to aquatic organisms).

Top of Page

Appendix B: Categorization Criteria

Appendix B: Categorization results for 38 substances determined to be no longer in commercial use in Canada above the reporting threshold from the Notice with Respect to Certain Inanimate Substances (Chemicals) on the Domestic Substances List pursuant to paragraphs 71(1)(b) of CEPA 1999, published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on October 3, 2009 (Canada 2009).
CAS RN[1]DSL NameClassified for Carcino-genicity[2]Classified for Develop-mental Toxicity[2]Classified for Geno-toxicity[2]Classified for Repro-ductive Toxicity[2]PersistentBioaccu-mulativeInherently Toxic to aquatic organismsMeets section 73 criteria[3]
59-88-1Hydrazine, phenyl-, monohydrochlorideX X     
60-35-5AcetamideX       
62-55-5EthanethioamideX       
75-25-2Methane, tribromo-X   X  X
76-01-7Ethane, pentachloro-X   X  X
78-88-61-Propene, 2,3-dichloro-  X     
79-00-5Ethane, 1,1,2-trichloro-X[4]   X   
96-09-3Oxirane, phenyl-X   X  X
96-18-4Propane, 1,2,3-trichloro-X  XX  X
100-63-0Hydrazine, phenyl-X X     
101-61-1Benzenamine, 4,4’-methylenebis[N,N-dimethyl-X   X XX
106-87-67-Oxabicyclo[4.1.0]heptane, 3-oxiranyl-X       
110-88-31,3,5-Trioxane X      
116-14-3Ethene, tetrafluoro-X   X  X
122-60-1Oxirane, (phenoxymethyl)-X X     
131-18-01,2-Benzenedicarboxylic acid, dipentyl ester X X  X 
131-52-2Phenol, pentachloro-, sodium saltX   X XX
135-20-6Benzenamine, N-hydroxy-N-nitroso-, ammonium saltX       
136-35-61-Triazene, 1,3-diphenyl-X       
141-90-24(1H)-Pyrimidinone, 2,3-dihydro-2-thioxo-X       
492-80-8Benzenamine, 4,4’-carbonimidoylbis[N,N-dimethyl-X     X 
569-61-9Benzenamine, 4-[(4-aminophenyl)(4-imino-2,5-cyclohexadien-1-ylidene)methyl]-, monohydrochlorideX       
591-78-62-Hexanone   X    
606-20-2Benzene, 2-methyl-1,3-dinitro-XXXXX  X
823-40-51,3-Benzenediamine, 2-methyl-X X     
1120-71-41,2-Oxathiolane, 2,2-dioxideX       
1694-09-3Benzenemethanaminium, N-[4-[[4-(dimethylamino)phenyl][4-[ethyl[(3-sulfophenyl)methyl]amino]phenyl]methylene]-2,5-cyclohexadien-1-ylidene]-N-ethyl-3-sulfo-, hydroxide, inner salt, sodium saltX   X  X
3296-90-01,3-Propanediol, 2,2-bis(bromomethyl)-X   X  X
4170-30-32-Butenal  X     
10034-93-2Hydrazine, sulfate (1:1)X   X XX
10046-00-1Hydroxylamine, sulfate (1:1) (salt)X   X XX
13463-39-3Nickel carbonyl (Ni(CO)4), (T-4)-XX  X XX
13840-56-7Boric acid (H3BO3), sodium salt X XX   
15545-48-9Urea, N’-(3-chloro-4-methylphenyl)-N,N-dimethyl-XX    X 
24602-86-6Morpholine, 2,6-dimethyl-4-tridecyl-XXXX XXX
25321-14-6Benzene, methyldinitro-X XXX  X 
26447-14-3Oxirane, [(methylphenoxy)methyl]-X XX     
103122-66-3Carbamic acid, [(2-methylpropoxy)thioxomethyl]-, ethyl esterX X     
[1] CAS RN – Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number
[2] For more information on the criteria used to determine substance classifications, see Appendix C.
[3] Persistent or bioaccumulative and inherently toxic to human beings (based on carcinogenicity) or to non-human organisms (based on inherent toxicity to aquatic organisms).
[4] Identified after completion of categorization in 2006.

Top of Page

Appendix C: Criteria Used for Obtaining Results From the Simple Hazard Tool

Carcinogenicity is determined by one or more of the following criteria:

European Community (ESIS c1995-2010)

Health Canada (Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality) (Health Canada 1995)

International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC 2010)

National Toxicology Program (NTP 2010)

United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) 1986 Carcinogenicity Guidelines (U.S. EPA 1987)

US EPA 2003 Carcinogenicity Guidelines (U.S. EPA 2003)

Developmental Toxicity is determined by one of the following criteria:

European Community (ESIS c1995-2010)

Genotoxicity is determined by one of the following criteria:

European Community (ESIS c1995-2010)

Reproductive Toxicity is determined by one of the following criteria:

European Community (ESIS c1995-2010)


Footnote

[1] A determination of whether one or more of the criteria of section 64 are met is based upon an assessment of potential risks to the environment and/or to human health associated with exposures in the general environment. For humans, this includes, but is not limited to, exposures from ambient and indoor air, drinking water, foodstuffs, and the use of consumer products. A conclusion under CEPA 1999 is not relevant to, nor does it preclude, an assessment against the hazard criteria specified in the Controlled Products Regulations, which is part of regulatory framework for the Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System [WHMIS] for products intended for workplace use. Similarly, a conclusion based on the criteria contained in section 64 of CEPA 1999 does not preclude actions being taken under other sections of CEPA 1999 or other Acts.
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Évaluation préalable de 52 substances de la Liste intérieure jugées particulièrement dangereuses

Numéros de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service

55-18-5, 59-88-1, 60-35-5, 62-50-0, 62-55-5, 66-27-3, 75-25-2, 76-01-7, 78-88-6, 79-00-5, 79-16-3, 94-58-6, 96-09-3, 96-18-4, 100-63-0, 101-61-1, 106-87-6, 110-88-3, 115-28-6, 116-14-3, 122-60-1, 123-39-7, 123-73-9, 131-18-0, 131-52-2, 135-20-6, 136-35-6, 141-90-2, 331-39-5, 492-80-8, 569-61-9, 591-78-6, 593-60-2, 606-20-2, 615-28-1, 823-40-5, 1120-71-4, 1694-09-3, 3296-90-0, 4170-30-3, 10034-93-2, 10046-00-1, 13463-39-3, 13840-56-7, 15545-48-9, 24602-86-6, 25321-14-6, 25376-45-8, 26447-14-3, 39156-41-7, 55290-64-7, 103122-66-3

Environnement Canada
Santé Canada

Mai 2010

(Format PDF - 188 Ko)

Table des matières

Introduction

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement [LCPE (1999)] exige que les ministres de l’Environnement et de la Santé procèdent à une évaluation préalable des substances qui répondent aux critères de la catégorisation énoncés dans la Loi afin de déterminer si elles présentent ou sont susceptibles de présenter un risque pour l’environnement ou la santé humaine.

En se fondant sur l’information obtenue dans le cadre de la catégorisation, les ministres ont jugé qu’un certain nombre de substances devaient faire l’objet d’une évaluation plus poussée. Les 52 substances dont il est question dans cette évaluation furent jugées prioritaires parce que ces substances ont été jugées particulièrement dangereuses pour la santé humaine, compte tenu des classifications établies par d’autres organismes nationaux ou internationaux concernant leur cancérogénicité, leur génotoxicité ou leur toxicité pour le développement ou la reproduction. Il a également été établi que 15 de ces 52 substances répondent aux critères de catégorisation quant à leur persistance ou à leur bioaccumulation et quant à leur toxicité intrinsèque pour les humains ou d’autres organismes (Environnement Canada 2003, 2006), conformément au paragraphe 73(1) de la LCPE (1999). Les résultats de la catégorisation sont présentés aux annexes A et B.

Les évaluations préalables effectuées aux termes de la LCPE (1999) mettent l’accent sur les renseignements jugés essentiels pour déterminer si une substance répond aux critères au sens de l’article 64 de la Loi[1]. Les évaluations préalables visent à examiner les renseignements scientifiques et à tirer des conclusions fondées sur la méthode du poids de la preuve et le principe de prudence.

Les ministres de l’Environnement et de la Santé ont procédé à l’évaluation préalable de ces 53 substances. Un sommaire des principales données et considérations sur lesquelles se fonde leur évaluation est présenté ci-dessous. Suite à la publication de l’ébauche de l’évaluation préalable, de l’information supplémentaire a été reçue concernant la substance thiophanate-méthyl (no de registre CAS 23564-05-8), indiquant qu’elle est utilisée au Canada. Conséquemment, cette substance a été retirée de l’évaluation et sera considérée dans une autre évaluation dans le futur.

Haut de la page

Sommaire des données utilisées comme fondement à l’évaluation préalable

Pour déterminer si certaines des substances concernées étaient fabriquées, utilisées ou importées au Canada, une enquête a été menée par émission d’un Avis concernant certaines substances considérées comme priorités pour suivi en application des alinéas 71(1)a) et b) de la LCPE (1999). L’avis a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 4 mars 2006 (Canada, 2006). Les 14 substances visées par cette enquête qui font l’objet de cette évaluation préalable sont énumérées à l’annexe A.

Une autre enquête a été menée par l’intermédiaire d’un Avis concernant certaines substances inanimées (chimiques) inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances tel que prévu à l’alinéa 71(1)b) de la LCPE (1999). L’avis a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 3 octobre 2009 (Canada, 2009). Les 38 substances visées par cette enquête qui font l’objet de cette évaluation préalable sont énumérées à l’annexe B.

Aucune activité industrielle en sol canadien (importation ou fabrication) relative à des quantités de ces substances dépassant le seuil de déclaration de 100 kg n’a été déclarée en réponse à ces avis, pour l’année de déclaration visée. Ces résultats indiquent que, à l’heure actuelle, ces substances ne sont pas utilisées en quantités supérieures au seuil de déclaration fixé. La caractérisation de la pénétration dans l’environnement a consisté à interroger des bases de données pertinentes pour y trouver de l’information sur les rejets et les sources des substances, en particulier pour déterminer quelle était l’exposition directe possible de la population générale (CNS 2010; Canada [1978]; DPD 2010; NHPID 2010; LNHPD 2010; EAFUS 2010; HPD 2010; HSDB c1993-2008). Les recherches sur ces substances ont été effectuées jusqu’en novembre 2010, et aucune information n’a été trouvée quant aux utilisations ou aux rejets actuels de ces substances au Canada. Par conséquent, la probabilité d’exposition à ces substances au Canada découlant de l’activité commerciale est faible, et en ce sens les risques pour la santé humaine ou l’environnement sont considérés faibles.

Les informations additionnelles obtenues et évaluées à la suite de la catégorisation indiquent l’absence d’une quelconque activité commerciale d’envergure mettant en jeu ces substances. Par conséquent, il n’y a pas eu d’autre collecte ou d'analyse d’informations qui ont été effectuées relativement aux effets de ces substances sur la santé et/ou l’environnement. Ainsi, les décisions concernant le danger possible pour la santé humaine ainsi que les propriétés de persistance, de bioaccumulation et de toxicité intrinsèque prises lors de la catégorisation demeurent inchangées.

Haut de la page

Conclusion

D’après les renseignements disponibles, et tant que l’on ne disposera pas de nouvelles données indiquant que les 52 substances visées ici pénètrent ou peuvent pénétrer dans l’environnement à cause d’une activité commerciale ou en provenance d’autres sources, il y est conclu que ces 52 substances ne répondent à aucun des critères définis à l’article 64 de la LCPE (1999).

Comme ces substances figurent sur la Liste intérieure, il n’est pas obligatoire, à l’heure actuelle, de déclarer leur importation ou leur fabrication au Canada conformément au paragraphe 81(1). Compte tenu du potentiel de risque élevé que représentent ces 52 substances pour la santé humaine, il y a une préoccupation sur la possibilité que de nouvelles activités, qui n’ont pas été identifiées ou évaluées en vertu de la LCPE (1999), relatives aux substances ci-dessus puissent faire en sorte qu’elles répondent aux critères de l’article 64 de la LCPE (1999). Par conséquent, la Liste intérieure des substances est modifiée, en vertu du paragraphe 87(3) de la LCPE (1999), pour indiquer que les substances ci-dessus sont assujetties aux dispositions relatives aux nouvelles activités prévues par le paragraphe 81(3) de la LCPE (1999), cela afin de s’assurer que toute nouvelle activité de fabrication, d’importation ou d’utilisation de l’une ou l’autre de ces substances en quantité supérieure à 100 kg/année soit déclarée et fasse l’objet d’une évaluation des risques pour la santé humaine et pour l’environnement, conformément à l’article 83 de la LCPE (1999), avant que l’introduction de la substance au Canada soit autorisée.

Haut de la page

Références

[ARLA] Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire. Recherche d’information sur les produits [base de données Internet]. 2010. Santé Canada, gouvernement du Canada; [consultée en novembre 2010].

[BDIPSN] Base de données d'ingrédients de produits de santé naturels [base de données Internet]. 2010. Santé Canada, gouvernement du Canada; [consultée les 20 et 21 septembre 2010].

[BDPP] Base de données des produits pharmaceutiques [base de données Internet]. 2010. Ottawa (ON) : Direction des produits thérapeutiques, Santé Canada. [Consulté en novembre 2010].

[BDPSNH] Base de données des produits de santé naturels homologués [base de données Internet]. 2010. Santé Canada, gouvernement du Canada; [consultée les 20 et 21 septembre 2010].

Canada. Ministère de l’Environnement. Ministère de la Santé. 2006. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) : Avis concernant certaines substances considérées comme priorités pour suivi. Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 140, no 9.

Canada. Ministère de l’Environnement. Ministère de la Santé. 2009. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) : Avis concernant certaines substances inanimées (chimiques) inscrites sur la Liste intérieure. Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 143, no 40.

Canada. 1978. Règlement sur les aliments et drogues, C.R.C., ch. 870, art. B.16.100.

Canada. 1999. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999. S.C., 1999, ch. 33, Gazette du Canada, Partie III, vol. 22, no 3.

Canada. 2000. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) : Règlement sur la persistance et la bioaccumulation, C.P. 2000-348, 23 mars, 2000, DORS/2000-107, Gazette du Canada, Partie II, vol. 134, no 7.

[CIRC] Centre international de recherche sur le Cancer. 2010. Monographies du CIRC sur l’évaluation des risques de cancérogénicité pour l’Homme. [Consulté en octobre 2010].

[EAFUS] Everything Added to Food in the United States [Internet]. 2010. U.S. Food and Drug Administration; [consulté en juin 2010].

Environnement Canada. 2006. Catégorisation de la LIS sous la LCPE : Aperçu et résultats [CD-ROM]. Gatineau (Qc) : Environnement Canada, Division des substances existantes. Disponible sur demande.

[ESIS] European Chemical Substances Information System [base de données Internet]. c1995-2010. European Chemicals Bureau (ECB). [Consulté en octobre 2010].

[HPD] Household Products Database [base de données Internet]. 2010. U.S. Department of Health & Human Services; [consulté en juin 2010].

[HSDB] Hazardous Substances Data Bank [base de données Internet]. c1993-2008. United States National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health; [consulté en juin 2010].

[NTP] National Toxicology Program Reports on Carcinogens. 2010. US Department of Health and Human Services. [Consulté en octobre 2010].

Santé Canada. Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada : documentation à l'appui, Partie 1 – Approches pour l'établissement des recommandations concernant l'eau potable, février 1995, annexe A.

[SDC] Système de déclaration des cosmétiques [base de données exclusive]. 2010. Ottawa (ON) : Santé Canada. [Consulté en octobre 2010].

U.S. EPA. Risk Assessment Guidelines of 1986. EPA/600/8-87/045, août 1987, Office of Health and Environmental Assessment, US EPA, Washington DC.

U.S. EPA. Guidelines for Carcinogen Risk Assessment (2005). U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Washington, DC, EPA/630/P-03/001F, 2005.

Haut de la page

Annexe A : Critères de catégorisation

Annexe A : Résultats de la catégorisation des 14 substances dont on a déterminé qu’elles ne sont plus utilisées dans le commerce au Canada en quantité supérieure au seuil de déclaration, cela d’après les réponses à l’Avis concernant certaines substances considérées comme priorités pour suivi publié, conformément aux alinéas 71(1)a) et b) de la LCPE (1999), dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 4 mars 2006 (Canada, 2006)
no de registre du CAS[1]Nom sur la LISSubstance jugée cancé-
rogène[2]
Substance jugée toxique pour le développement[2]Substance jugée géno-toxique[2]Substance jugée comme toxique pour la reproduction[2]Persis-tanteBioaccum-ulableIntrinsèque-
ment toxique pour les organismes aquatiques
Répond aux critères de l’art. 73[3]
55-18-5DiéthylnitrosamineX       
62-50-0Méthanesulfonate d’éthyleX       
66-27-3Méthanesulfonate de méthyleX       
79-16-3N-Méthylacétamide X      
94-58-65-propyl-1,3-benzodioxoleX       
115-28-6Acide 1,4,5,6,7,7-hexachloro-8,9,10-trinorborn-5-ène-2,3-dicarboxyliqueX   X  X
123-39-7N-Méthylformamide X      
123-73-9CrotonaldéhydeX X     
331-39-5Acide 3,4-dihydroxycinnamiqueX       
593-60-2BromoéthylèneX       
615-28-1o-Phenylenediamine, dichlorhydrateX X     
25376-45-8DiaminotoluèneX       
39156-41-7Sulfate de 4-méthoxy-m-phénylènediammoniumX X     
55290-64-71,1,4,4-tétraoxyde de 2,3-dihydro-5,6-diméthyl-1,4-dithiinneX       
[1] no de registre du CAS – Numéro de registre du Chemical Abstracts
[2] Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les critères utilisés pour la classification des substances, voir l’annexe C.
[3] Persistant ou bioaccumulable et intrinsèquement toxique aux humains (basé sur la cancérogénicité) ou aux autres organismes (basé sur la toxicité intrinsèque pour les organismes aquatiques).

Haut de la page

Annexe B : Critères de catégorisation

Annexe B : Résultats de la catégorisation des 38 substances dont on a déterminé qu’elles ne sont plus utilisées dans le commerce au Canada en quantité supérieure au seuil de déclaration, cela d’après les réponses à l’Avis concernant certaines substances inanimées (chimiques) inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances publié, conformément à l’alinéa 71(1)b) de la LCPE (1999), dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 3 octobre 2009 (Canada, 2006)
no de registre du CAS[1]Nom sur la LISSubstance jugée cancérogène[2]Substance jugée toxique pour le développement[2]Substance jugée génotoxique[2]Substance jugée comme toxique pour la reproduction[2]Persis-tanteBioac-cumu-ableIntrin-
sèque-
ment toxique pour les orga-
nismes aqua-
tiques
Répond aux critères de l’art. 73[3]
59-88-1Chlorure de phénylhydraziniumX X     
60-35-5AcétamideX       
62-55-5ThioacétamideX       
75-25-2BromoformeX   X  X
76-01-7PentachloroéthaneX   X  X
78-88-62,3-dichloropropène  X     
79-00-51,1,2-TrichloroéthaneX[4]   X   
96-09-3(Époxyéthyl)benzèneX   X  X
96-18-41,2,3-TrichloropropaneX  XX  X
100-63-0PhénylhydrazineX X     
101-61-1N,N,N’,N’-tétraméthyl-4,4’-méthylènedianilineX   X XX
106-87-67-oxa-3-oxiranylbicyclo[4.1.0]heptaneX       
110-88-31,3,5-trioxane X      
116-14-3TétrafluoroéthylèneX   X  X
122-60-1Oxyde de 2,3-epoxypropyle et de phenyleX X     
131-18-0Phtalate de dipentyle X X  X 
131-52-2Pentachlorophénolate de sodiumX   X XX
135-20-6N-Nitroso-N-phénylhydroxylamine, sel d'ammoniumX       
136-35-6DiazoaminobenzèneX       
141-90-22-ThiouracileX       
492-80-84,4'-carbonimidoylbis[N,N-diméthylaniline]X     X 
569-61-94,4’-(4-iminocyclohexa-2, 5-diénylidèneméthylène)
dianiline, chlorhydrate
X       
591-78-6Hexan-2-one   X    
606-20-22,6-DinitrotoluèneXXXXX  X
823-40-52-Méthyl-m-phénylènediamineX X     
1120-71-41,3-PropanesultoneX       
1694-09-3[4-[[4-(Diméthylamino)
phényl][4-[éthyl(3-sulfonatobenzyl)
amino]phényl]
méthylène]cyclohexa-2,5-dién-1-ylidène](éthyl)(3-sulfonatobenzyl)ammonium, sel de sodium.
X   X  X
3296-90-02,2-Bis(bromométhyl)propane-1,3-diolX   X  X
4170-30-3Crotonaldéhyde  X     
10034-93-2Sulfate d’hydrazinium (2+)X   X XX
10046-00-1Hydrogénosulfate d’hydroxylammoniumX   X XX
13463-39-3TétracarbonylnickelXX  X XX
13840-56-7Acide orthoborique, sel de sodium X XX   
15545-48-9ChlorotoluronXX    X 
24602-86-6TridemorpheXXXX XXX
25321-14-6DinitrotoluèneX XXX  X 
26447-14-3[(Tolyloxy)méthyl]oxirane  XX   X 
103122-66-3(Isobutoxythiocarbonyl)
carbamate d’éthyle
X X     
[1] no de registre du CAS – Numéro de registre du Chemical Abstracts
[2] Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les critères utilisés pour la classification des substances, voir l’annexe C.
[3] Persistant ou bioaccumulable et intrinsèquement toxique aux humains (basé sur la cancérogénicité) ou aux autres organismes (basé sur la toxicité intrinsèque pour les organismes aquatiques).
[4] Identifié après la catégorisation de 2006.

Haut de la page

Annexe C : Critères employés pour obtenir les résultats avec l’outil simple de détermination du risque

La cancérogénicité est établie en fonction des critères suivants :

Union européenne (ESIS c1995-2010)

Santé Canada (Recommandations pour la qualité de l’eau potable au Canada) (Santé Canada, 1995)

Centre international de recherche sur le cancer (IARC 2010)

National Toxicology Program (NTP 2010)

United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) 1986 Carcinogenicity Guidelines (U.S. EPA 1987)

US EPA 2003 Carcinogenicity Guidelines (U.S. EPA 2003)

La toxicité pour le développement est établie en fonction des critères suivants :

Union européenne (ESIS c1995-2010)

La génotoxicité est établie en fonction des critères suivants :

Union européenne (ESIS c1995-2010)

La toxicité pour la reproduction est établie en fonction des critères suivants :

Union européenne (ESIS c1995-2010)


Note de bas de page

[1] La détermination de la conformité à l’un ou plusieurs des critères énoncés à l’article 64 est basée sur une évaluation des risques potentiels pour l’environnement ou la santé humaine associés aux expositions dans l’environnement en général. Pour les humains, cela comprend, sans toutefois s’y limiter, les expositions par l’air ambiant et intérieur, l’eau potable, les produits alimentaires et l’utilisation de produits de consommation. Une conclusion établie en vertu de la LCPE (1999) n’a rien à voir avec une évaluation par rapport aux critères de risque définis dans le Règlement sur les produits contrôlés (qu’elle n’empêche toutefois pas non plus), qui fait partie d’un cadre réglementaire pour le Système d’information sur les matières dangereuses au travail (SIMDUT) pour les produits destinés à être utilisés au travail. De la même manière, la conclusion qui s’inspire des critères contenus dans l’article 64 de la LCPE (1999) n’empêche pas de prendre des mesures en vertu d’autres articles de la LCPE ou d’autres lois.
Date de modification :