This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Summary of Public Comments Received on the Challenge substance BNST (CAS No. 68921-45-9) Proposed Risk Management Approach Document for Batch 4

(PDF Version - 38 KB)

Comments on the proposed risk management approach document for Benzenamine, N-phenyl-, Reaction Products with Styrene and 2,4,4-Trimethylpentene (BNST) to be addressed as part of the Chemicals Management Plan Challenge were provided by Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba, Chemtura Corporation, and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. The table contains a condensed version of each comment and a response on non-technical terms.

A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic:

TopicCommentResponse
Proposed risk managementThe Government of Canada should consider extending the manufacture and use of BNST for at least five years to allow for the reformulation of existing product lines that contain BNST. This would enable industry to better absorb and offset any potential impacts due to the reformulation costs and loss of income due to loss of customers. If exemptions for certain uses of BNST are permitted in Canada, it is suggested that the manufacture of BNST be permitted to continue in order to supply those end uses.

Proposed amendments to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 were published in Canada Gazette, Part I on July 23, 2011. These amendments proposed the addition of BNST to the Regulations and would prohibit the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of BNST or products containing it.

The need for a phased approach to implementation has been considered in the development of the proposed Regulations. Environment Canada (EC) intends to allow two-year temporary permitted uses. The manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of BNST or products containing it would temporarily be allowed only for the use of BNST as an additive in vehicle engine oil and as an additive in commercial and industrial lubricants. During the development of the proposed Regulations Environment Canada received information of potential substitutes for BNST. At the end of the two years, permits may be obtained every year for up to three years, if the conditions indicated in the proposed Regulations are met. Therefore, the previous mentioned uses of BNST could be allowed for a maximum of 5 years following the coming into force of the Regulations.

Permitting the manufacture of BNST only for export would not be an option because companies located outside of Canada would not be able to guarantee that their additive packages containing BNST would not be coming into Canada in the form of passenger car motor oil or heavy duty diesel oil.The proposed Regulations do not include an exemption for manufacturing of BNST for export only. The proposed Regulations do prohibit the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of BNST or products containing it, so companies will need to comply with this aspect by ensuring that any passenger car motor oil or heavy duty diesel oil imported and sold in Canada does not contain BNST.
The addition of BNST to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 is supported; however such a prohibition should also include the manufacture and export of BNST.The proposed amendments to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 would prohibit the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of BNST or products containing it. Although export is not directly covered by the proposed Regulations, the prohibition on import and manufacture of BNST or products containing it would result in a control on the export of BNST.
Occupational exposure to BNST and exposure to BNST through leaks, spills and disposal are not addressed.

The scope of screening assessment reports under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) are focused on the potential risks to the general Canadian public. In terms of risk management, again the focus is on protecting the health of the Canadian public at large; however the detailed scientific information with the assessment report is made available to officials at the federal and provincial levels responsible for occupational health and safety and they may subsequently consider additional action with respect to workers.

The proposed Regulations include a prohibition of the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of BNST or products containing it. Once fully implemented, this prohibition would prevent human exposure to BNST in Canada and also prevent releases to the environment from leaks, spills and improper disposals of BNST or products containing it.

It is recommended that the government develop a workplan that focuses on the complete destruction of stockpiles of BNST and add BNST to the Environmental Emergency Regulations, in order to address potential stockpiles of BNST, even if BNST is prohibited.

Once fully implemented, the addition of BNST to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 will mean that this substance and products containing it cannot be manufactured, used, sold, offered for sale or imported.

While stockpiles are not expected beyond the proposed permitted regulatory timelines (maximum of 5 years), any manufacture, use, selling, offer for sale or import of BNST would be considered in violation of the proposed Regulations once the full prohibition is in place for that substance.

BNST was assessed under section 200 of CEPA 1999 and was found to meet the criteria for addition to the Environmental Emergency Regulations. However, Environment Canada does not intend to add BNST to the Environmental Emergency Regulations since the outcome of the proposed Regulations will be that BNST is not longer present in Canadian commerce.

Economic impactsProhibition of the manufacture of BNST in Canada would have negative economic impacts on the Canadian manufacturers of BNST in terms of risk of job losses, costs, and cost-competitiveness of their remaining products.A Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement that summarizes the socio-economic impact of the proposed regulations was published with the proposed Regulations in Canada Gazette, Part I. Based on the Regulatory Impact Analysis, the Government of Canada is of the view that the impacts on businesses would be manageable, given the existence of potential BNST substitutes and the provision in the proposed Regulations that allow for temporary permitted uses.
Substitutes / alternativesAll possible substitutes for BNST should be identified and assessed for their safety under CEPA 1999. A cumulative assessment should have been done for the diphenylamines in order to consider the additive, cumulative and synergistic impacts of this family of chemicals.Many of the potential substitutes for BNST are on the DSL. These substitutes are proposed to be assessed for environmental and health risks in the next phase of the Chemicals Management Plan. Patented substitutes not on the DSL would be subject to an assessment under the New Substances Notification Regulations.
Other substitute antioxidants manufactured in Canada may not be suitable for the applications in which BNST is used. As a result, there is no guarantee that Canadian industry would be able to replace the lost volume due to the prohibition of BNST with alternative chemicals or substitutes.Information received from industry suggested that there are potential substitutes to BNST that have been identified.
Alternative techniques / technologies

Consideration should be given to the level of wastewater treatment that is required to remove BNST. Wastewater treatment plants should not be considered as adequate in addressing BNST.

The Government of Canada should also identify and promote alternative technologies and/or techniques that prevent the use and release of BNST to the environment.

The proposed addition of BNST to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 would remove BNST from the Canadian market when fully implemented and as a result prevent BNST from entering wastewater systems. For that reason, Environment Canada does not anticipate considering technologies which would remove BNST from wastewater systems or industrial effluents nor technologies to prevent the use and releases of BNST to the environment.
Virtual eliminationThe addition of BNST to the Virtual Elimination list is strongly supported, however further consultation is required on the details of this process (i.e. Level of Quantification).BNST meets the requirements for the implementation of virtual elimination (VE). It will be considered for addition to the VE list. Stakeholders will have the opportunity to comment on the proposed addition of substances to the VE list as part of the consultation process.
Petroleum sectorMeasures under the Petroleum Sector Stream Approach should be considered for BNST.To address risks identified in screening assessments for Schedule 1 substances, a wide variety of risk management options are considered. Considerations in the process of making decisions relating to the protection of the environment and human health include the nature of the environmental or health risks, and social, economic and technical matters. The decision process for BNST identified a prohibition as the most effective approach to address the issues raised in the risk assessment.
InternationalLinkages should be made with international programs in high volume chemicals, such as the European Union’s Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals program (REACH), or the United States Environmental Protection Agency’s (US EPA) High Production Volume (HPV) Chemical program.Substituted diphenylamines, including BNST, are part of the U.S. EPA’s High Production Volume (HPV) Chemical program, which requires sponsoring companies to provide and make public basic hazard information on the chemical. Under the European Union’s Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals substances (REACH) Program, BNST was pre-registered in 2008. By December 1, 2010, manufacturers and importers were required to submit a technical dossier to the European Chemicals Agency containing available information on chemical properties, persistence, bioaccumulation and toxicity. Opportunities to cooperate on risk assessment and risk management of these substances are being pursued with both the EU and the U.S.
Exposure of childrenNo risk management actions are being proposed for BNST that specifically protect children, nor are vulnerable populations considered. The Government of Canada should take actions to protect vulnerable populations, including children, from exposure to BNST; this should be done through a mandatory survey under section 71 of CEPA 1999.BNST did not meet the criteria for
greatest potential for exposure
(GPE) or intermediate potential for exposure (IPE) and was not identified as posing a high hazard to human health based on classifications by other national or international agencies for carcinogenicity, genotoxicity, developmental toxicity or reproductive toxicity. The risk assessment focused principally on information relevant to the evaluation of ecological risks.
MonitoringThe monitoring program for BNST is supported with qualifications that monitoring should not slow down the phase-out process for BNST. The government should ensure that the monitoring program is designed with explicit timeframes, locations, frequencies and environmental media.Environmental monitoring of BNST will provide information on baseline levels and assist in measuring the performance of risk management activities. Work is ongoing to develop analytical methods to detect the components of BNST in wastewater, surface water and sediments.
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Résumé des commentaires publics concernant le document relatif à l'approche de gestion des risques proposée visant le BNST (n° CAS 68921-45-9), substance incluse dans le lot 4 du Défi

(Version PDF - 42 Ko)

Les commentaires sur l'approche de gestion des risques proposée pour le Dianiline, produits de réaction avec le styrène et le 2,4, 4-triméthylpentène (BNST), qui seront abordés dans le cadre du Défi du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques, ont été fournis par Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba, Chemtura Corporation, et Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. Le tableau présente une version synthétisée de chaque commentaire et une réponse de nature non technique.

Vous trouverez aux présentes un résumé des réponses et des commentaires reçus, structuré selon les sujets suivants :

SujetCommentaireRéponse
Gestion des risques proposéeLe gouvernement du Canada doit envisager de prolonger la fabrication et l'utilisation du BNST d'au moins cinq ans pour permettre la reformulation des gammes de produits existantes qui contiennent du BNST. Cette prolongation permettrait à l'industrie de mieux absorber et compenser les répercussions potentielles en raison des coûts liés à la reformulation et à la perte de revenus causée par la perte de clients. Si des exemptions de certaines utilisations du BNST sont autorisées au Canada, on suggère l'autorisation de la fabrication du BNST afin de pourvoir à ces utilisations finales.

Les modifications proposées au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) ont été publiées dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 23 juillet 2011. Ces modifications proposaient l'ajout du BNST au Règlement et interdisaient la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l'importation de BNST ou de produits qui en contiennent.

La nécessité relative à une approche par étapes à l'égard de la mise en œuvre a été prise en considération dans l'élaboration du projet de règlement. Environnement Canada a l'intention de permettre des utilisations autorisées temporaires de deux ans. La fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l'importation de BNST ou de produits qui en contiennent seraient temporairement autorisées uniquement pour l'utilisation du BNST comme additif dans les huiles pour moteurs de véhicules ou en tant qu'additif dans les lubrifiants commerciaux et industriels. Au cours du développement du projet de règlement, Environnement Canada a été avisé de substituts potentiels pour le BNST. Au terme des deux ans, au besoin, des permis peuvent être obtenus chaque année jusqu'à concurrence de trois ans si les conditions indiquées dans le projet de règlement sont respectées. Pour ces motifs, les utilisations de BNST mentionnées précédemment pourraient être autorisées pour  une période maximale de cinq ans après l'entrée en vigueur du règlement.

L'autorisation de fabrication du BNST pour l'exportation seulement ne sera pas une option, car les entreprises situées en dehors du Canada ne seront pas en mesure de garantir que leurs préformulations d'additifs contenant du BNST n'entreront pas au Canada sous la forme d'huiles pour moteurs de véhicules à passagers ou de carburant diesel pour véhicules lourds.Le projet de règlement ne comprend pas d'exemption pour la fabrication du BNST destiné à l'exportation seulement. Le projet de règlement interdit la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l'importation de BNST ou de produits qui en contiennent, donc les entreprises devront respecter cet aspect en s'assurant que les huiles pour moteurs de véhicules à passagers ou les carburants diesel pour véhicules lourds importés et vendus au Canada ne contiennent pas de BNST.
L'ajout du BNST au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) est appuyé; toutefois, ladite interdiction comprendra également la fabrication et l'exportation du BNST.Les modifications proposées au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) interdiront la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l'importation du BNST ou des produits qui en contiennent. Bien que le projet de règlement ne couvre pas directement les exportations, l’interdiction de fabriquer et d’importer le BNST ou les produits le contenant résulterait en un contrôle de l’exportation de BNST.
L'exposition au BNST en milieu de travail et l'exposition au BNST par les fuites, les déversements et l'élimination ne seront pas prises en compte.

La portée des rapports d'évaluation préalable en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 [LCPE (1999)] est axée sur les risques potentiels pour le grand public au Canada. En termes de gestion des risques, une fois encore l'objectif est de protéger la santé de l'ensemble du public canadien; cependant, l'information scientifique détaillée qui accompagne le rapport d'évaluation est mise à la disposition des représentants officiels à l'échelle fédérale et provinciale chargés de la santé et de la sécurité au travail; par la suite, ceux-ci pourront envisager d'autres mesures en ce qui concerne les travailleurs.

Le projet de règlement comprend une interdiction relative à la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l'importation du BNST ou de produits qui en contiennent. Une fois qu'elle aura été pleinement mise en œuvre, cette interdiction préviendrait l’exposition humaine au BNST au Canada et préviendrait aussi les rejets dans l’environnement dus aux fuites, aux déversements accidentels et à l’élimination inappropriée du BNST ou des produits le contenant.

Il est recommandé que le gouvernement mette au point un plan de travail qui sera axé sur la destruction totale des stocks de BNST et qu'il ajoute cette substance au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, dans le but de s'occuper des stocks de BNST potentiels, même si cette substance est interdite.

Une fois que l'ajout du BNST au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) aura été pleinement mis en œuvre, cette substance et les produits qui en contiennent ne pourront pas être fabriqués, utilisés, vendus, mis en vente ou importés.

Même si les stocks ne devraient pas dépasser les délais réglementaires autorisés qui sont proposés (cinq ans maximum), la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l'importation de BNST sera considérée comme une infraction au projet de règlement dès que l'interdiction totale sera en place pour cette substance.
Le BNST a fait l'objet d'une évaluation en vertu de l'article 200 de la LCPE (1999), et il s'est avéré qu'il répondait aux critères d'inscription au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales. Toutefois, Environnement Canada ne prévoit pas ajouter le BNST au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, car le résultat du projet de règlement sera la suppression de la commercialisation du BNST au Canada.

Répercussions économiquesL'interdiction de la fabrication de BNST au Canada aura des répercussions économiques négatives sur les fabricants canadiens de BNST en termes de perte d'emplois, de coûts et de compétitivité des coûts de leurs produits restants.Un résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation qui récapitule les répercussions socioéconomiques du projet de règlement a été publié avec le projet de règlement dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. D'après l'analyse d'impact de la réglementation, le gouvernement du Canada est d'avis que les répercussions sur les entreprises seront gérables, en raison de l'existence de substituts potentiels du BNST et de la disposition du projet de règlement qui permet des utilisations autorisées temporaires.

Substituts / produits de remplacement

 

Tous les substituts possibles pour le BNST devront être déterminés et évalués relativement à leur sécurité en vertu de la LCPE (1999). Une évaluation des effets cumulatifs devra avoir été réalisée pour les diphénylamines afin de prendre en considération les effets additifs, cumulatifs et synergiques de cette famille de substances chimiques.Bon nombre des produits de remplacement pour le BNST figurent sur la Liste intérieure des substances (LIS). La phase suivante du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques propose l'évaluation de ces produits afin de déterminer les risques pour l'environnement et la santé. Les substituts brevetés qui ne figurent pas sur la LIS feront l'objet d'une évaluation en vertu du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles.
D'autres antioxydants de remplacement fabriqués au Canada ne conviennent peut-être pas aux applications dans lesquelles on utilise du BNST. Par conséquent, il n'existe aucune garantie selon laquelle l'industrie canadienne sera en mesure de remplacer le volume perdu causé par l'interdiction du BNST par d'autres substances chimiques ou produits de remplacement.L'information reçue de la part de l'industrie semblait indiquer qu'on a trouvé des substituts potentiels au BNST.
Techniques et technologies de remplacement

Il convient de prendre en considération le niveau de traitement des eaux usées qui est requis pour éliminer le BNST. Il ne faut pas considérer que les usines de traitement des eaux usées sont adéquates pour prendre en charge le BNST.

Le gouvernement du Canada devra également définir et favoriser des technologies et des techniques de remplacement qui empêcheront l'utilisation et le rejet de BNST dans l'environnement.

La proposition relative à l'ajout du BNST au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) éliminera le BNST du marché canadien une fois qu'il aura été pleinement mis en œuvre; par conséquent, cette élimination empêchera le BNST de pénétrer dans les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées. Pour cette raison, Environnement Canada ne prévoit pas l'étude des technologies visant l'élimination du BNST des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées ou des effluents industriels ni celle des technologies visant à empêcher l'utilisation et les rejets de BNST dans l'environnement.
Quasi-éliminationL'inscription du BNST sur la liste de quasi-élimination est fortement encouragée, mais d'autres consultations sont requises au sujet des détails de ce processus (c'est-à-dire le niveau de quantification).Le BNST satisfait aux exigences relatives à la mise en œuvre de la quasi-élimination. On envisagera de l'inscrire sur la liste de quasi-élimination. Les intervenants auront la possibilité de s'exprimer concernant la proposition d'inscription des substances à cette liste dans le cadre du processus de consultation.
Secteur pétrolierIl faut envisager de prendre des mesures pour le BNST dans le cadre de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier.Pour dissiper les risques définis dans les évaluations préalables pour les substances figurant à l'annexe 1, on prend en considération une vaste plage d'options de gestion des risques. Les points à considérer dans le processus de prise de décision liés à la protection de l'environnement et de la santé humaine comprennent la nature des risques pour l'environnement ou la santé et des questions d'ordre social, économique et technique. Le processus décisionnel pour le BNST a déterminé qu'une interdiction était l'approche la plus efficace pour résoudre les problèmes soulevés dans l'évaluation des risques.
Scène internationaleDes liens doivent être établis avec des programmes internationaux dans les substances chimiques produites en grandes quantités, par exemple le programme Registration, Evaluation, Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH) de l’Union européenne ou le programme de substances chimiques produites en grandes quantités (HPV) de l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis.Les diphénylamines de substitution, y compris le BNST, font également partie du programme de substances chimiques produites en grandes quantités (HPV) de l' l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis, ce qui oblige les entreprises responsables à fournir et à publier les renseignements de base sur les dangers de ces substances chimiques. En 2008, le BNST a été préenregistré dans le cadre du programme REACH (Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals substances) de l'Union européenne. Depuis le 1er décembre 2010, les fabricants et les importateurs sont tenus de soumettre un dossier technique à l'Agence européenne des produits chimiques afin de présenter les renseignements sur les propriétés chimiques, la persistance, la bioaccumulation et la toxicité des substances chimiques. Les possibilités de coopération relatives à l'évaluation et la gestion des risques de ces substances sont menées à bien avec l'Union européenne et les États-Unis.
Exposition des enfantsLes mesures de gestion des risques relatives au BNST ne proposent aucune mesure qui protégerait précisément les enfants ou les populations vulnérables. Le gouvernement du Canada doit prendre des mesures pour protéger les populations vulnérables, y compris les enfants, contre l'exposition au BNST; ces mesures devront être réalisées par l'entremise d'une enquête obligatoire en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE (1999).Le BNST ne répondait pas aux critères de classification du
plus fort risque d'exposition (PFRE) ou du risque d'exposition intermédiaire (REI) et il n'a pas été jugé particulièrement dangereux pour la santé humaine, compte tenu des classifications qui ont été établies par d'autres organismes nationaux ou internationaux concernant sa cancérogénicité, sa génotoxicité ou sa toxicité pour le développement ou la reproduction.
La présente évaluation des risques est axée principalement sur les renseignements utiles à l'évaluation des risques écologiques.
SurveillanceLe programme de surveillance du BNST est appuyé par la réserve selon laquelle la surveillance ne devra pas ralentir le processus d'élimination progressive du BNST. Le gouvernement doit s'assurer que le programme de surveillance est conçu avec des délais, des lieux, des fréquences et des milieux environnementaux explicites.La surveillance environnementale du BNST fournira de l'information au sujet des niveaux de référence et elle permettra de mesurer le rendement des activités de gestion des risques. Des travaux sont en cours pour l'élaboration de méthodes analytiques visant à détecter les composantes de BNST dans les eaux usées, les eaux de surface et les sédiments.
Date de modification :