This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Completed Agreements

Environmental Performance Agreement Respecting the Use of Tin Stabilizers in the Vinyl Industry

Full Text of Agreement (PDF; 24 KB)

Annex 1: Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada (PDF; 352 KB)
Annex 2: Participating Facility Commitment Form (PDF; 14 KB)

Responses to Comments Received on the Proposed Agreement

Progress Report for 2013


Purpose of Agreement

The purpose of the Environmental Performance Agreement Respecting the Use of Tin Stabilizers in the Vinyl Industry (the Agreement) is to prevent the release of mono- and di-organotin tin stabilizers to the environment, in quantities or concentrations above an acceptable level, through the full implementation of the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada (PDF; 352 KB) by all vinyl compounding facilities using tin stabilizers in Canada. This Guideline was prepared by the Vinyl Council of Canada (VCC), the Tin Stabilizers Association (TSA), and tin stabilizer industrial users. The objective of the Guideline is to prevent the release of tin stabilizers to the environment by ensuring that these substances and their packaging materials are handled, stored, used and disposed of in a responsible manner. As stipulated in section 5.3 of the Agreement, annual progress reports are to be published on Environment Canada's (EC) website.

Targets

As of March 2013, there were 33 signatories to the Agreement using tin stabilizers. It must be noted that there have been new signatories to the Agreement as well as some facility closures. The verification program to confirm that the Guideline is being implemented was conducted at each participating facility during the five-year period (March 10, 2008, to March 9, 2013). Corrective action plans were agreed upon for any deficiencies that were identified when the final site visit report was issued.

Reports

The companies were required to present their annual reports to the VCC by completing the Annual Report on Compliance with the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada by June 30 of each year. The VCC was to provide EC with a consolidated Annual Compliance Report referencing the status of compliance by September 30 of each year. EC was to publish on its website a yearly progress report on the site verifications. This is the fifth and last yearly progress report. The progress reports for 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 are also available.

Results

Update for March 10, 2012, to March 9, 2013, Verification Period:

A team consisting of a representative from the VCC and an EC official undertook the verifications following which, site visit reports were prepared by the VCC with the concurrence of EC.

The following summarizes the verifications that were made during the verification period of March 10, 2012, to March 9, 2013, and during this period, seven site verifications were conducted in order to determine the Guideline implementation status of the facilities.

  • April 11, 2012 (Plastmo Ltd located in Brampton, Ontario): The verifiers found two areas for improvement as per the implementation of the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada. Following the verification period, confirmation was provided that the two areas for improvement were addressed before the final report was submitted; therefore, no corrective action plan was required.
  • April 12, 2012 (KP Building Products located in Acton, Ontario): The verifiers found five areas for improvement as per the implementation of the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada. Following the verification period, confirmation was provided that the five areas for improvement were addressed before the final report was submitted; therefore, no corrective action plan was required.
  • May 9, 2012 (IPEX located in Scarborough, Ontario): The verifiers found no areas for improvement as per the implementation of the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada; therefore, no corrective action plan was required.
  • May 10, 2012 (Clariant Masterbatches Division located in Toronto, Ontario): The verifiers found six areas for improvement as per the implementation of the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada. Following the verification period, confirmation was provided that the six areas for improvement were addressed before the final report was submitted; therefore, no corrective action plan was required.
  • June 20, 2012 (IPEX located in Saint Laurent, Quebec): The verifiers found one area for improvement as per the implementation of the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada. Following the verification period, confirmation was provided that the one area for improvement was addressed before the final report was submitted; therefore, no corrective action plan was required.
  • August 28, 2012 (Window City Industries Inc. located in Vaughan, Ontario): The verifiers found five areas for improvement as per the implementation of the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada. Following the verification period, confirmation was provided that the five areas for improvement were addressed before the final report was submitted; therefore, no corrective action plan was required.
  • October 3, 2012 (IPEX located in Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce, Quebec): The verifiers found no areas for improvement as per the implementation of the Guideline for the Environmental Management of Tin Stabilizers in Canada; therefore, no corrective action plan was required.

Update for March 10, 2008, to March 9, 2012, Verification Period:

During this verification period, 26 facilities were verified, all of which have fully implemented the Guideline. There is no facility requiring follow-up activities for this period of time.

Next Steps

The Agreement expired on March 9, 2013. Throughout the duration of the Agreement, site verifications were conducted at each of the 33 facilities subject to the Agreement, all of which have fully implemented the Guideline, thereby requiring no follow-up activities.

EC and the VCC are currently discussing options on how to ensure continued application of the Guideline by all vinyl compounding facilities using tin stabilizers in Canada.

Contact

Plastics Unit
Chemical Production Division
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Blvd., 11th Floor
Gatineau, QC  K1A 0H3
Email: pgpc-cmp.dppc-cpd@ec.gc.ca

Background

In 2004, the VCC and TSA introduced a voluntary tin stabilizer handling guideline to prevent the release of tin stabilizers to the environment by ensuring that these substances and their packaging materials are handled, stored, used and disposed of in a responsible manner. On November 18, 2005, EC proposed developing an Environmental Performance Agreement with the VCC and TSA to ensure full industry adherence with the Guideline.

On April 23, 2007, EC published a Draft Follow-up to the 1993 Ecological Risk Assessment of Organotin Substances on Canada's Domestic Substances List. The draft assessment report concluded that the actions implemented by the vinyl industry have reduced the potential for releases of mono- and di-organotins to levels that are not of concern to the environment. These actions are codified in the Guideline prepared and implemented by the VCC and TSA. On August 8, 2009, the final Follow-up to the 1993 Ecological Risk Assessment of Organotin Substances on Canada's Domestic Substances List concluded that mono- and di-organotins do not meet the criteria set out in section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and are therefore concluded to be not toxic.

EC worked with industry between 2006 and 2008 to establish an Environmental Performance Agreement. The purpose of the Agreement was to prevent the release of tin stabilizers to the environment in quantities or concentrations above an acceptable level.

Response to Comments

The draft Environmental Performance Agreement was posted on EC's Environmental Performance Agreements website for a 60-day public consultation period, which ended on June 22, 2007. The only comments received pertained to general questions of clarification (PDF; 17 KB). As a result, no revisions were made to the draft Agreement.

The Agreement was signed by representatives from Environment Canada, the Vinyl Council of Canada and the Tin Stabilizers Association on March 10, 2008.

Date modified:

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Ententes complétées

Entente sur la performance environnementale concernant l'utilisation de stabilisants à base d'étain dans l'industrie du vinyle

Texte intégral de l'entente (PDF; 25 Ko)

Annexe 1 : « Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada » (PDF; 104 Ko)
Annexe 2 : Formulaire d'engagement pour les installations participantes (PDF; 14 Ko)

Réponses aux commentaires reçus sur l'entente proposée


Rapport d'étape pour l'année 2013 (Lien au Rapport de statut le plus récent)


L'objectif de l'entente

Le but de l'Entente sur la performance environnementale concernant l'utilisation de stabilisants à base d'étain dans l'industrie du vinyle (l'« Entente ») est d'empêcher le rejet de stabilisants à base de monoorganoétain et de diorganoétain dans l'environnement en quantité ou en concentration dépassant un niveau acceptable, par la pleine mise en œuvre de la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada (PDF; 104 Ko) pour toutes les installations de mélangeage de vinyle utilisant ces stabilisants au Canada. Cette ligne directrice a été élaborée conjointement par le Conseil du vinyle du Canada (CVC), la Tin Stabilizers Association (TSA) et les utilisateurs industriels des stabilisants à base d'étain. Son objectif consiste à prévenir le rejet de stabilisants à base d'étain dans l'environnement en s'assurant que ces substances et leurs matériaux d'emballage soient manipulés, entreposés, utilisés et éliminés de manière responsable. Comme l'indique la section 5.3 de l'Entente, un rapport d'étape annuel doit être publié sur le site Internet d'Environnement Canada (EC).

Les cibles

En mars 2013, 33 signataires à l'Entente utilisaient des stabilisants à base d'étain. Il faut noter qu'il y a eu de nouveaux signataires à l'Entente ainsi que des fermetures de certaines installations. Le programme de vérification, afin de confirmer que la ligne directrice est mise en œuvre, a été appliqué à chaque installation participante pendant la période prévue de cinq ans (du 10 mars 2008 au 9 mars 2013). Des plans de mesures correctives ont été convenus pour toutes les lacunes identifiées au moment de la remise du rapport final de visite des sites.

Les rapports

Les entreprises devaient présenter leurs rapports annuels au CVC en remplissant le Rapport annuel sur la conformité avec la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada le 30 juin de chaque année. Le CVC devait fournir à EC avant le 30 septembre de chaque année, un rapport de conformité annuel fusionné qui fait référence à l'état de la conformité. EC devait publier sur son site Internet un rapport d'étape annuel sur les vérifications sur place. Le présent rapport est le cinquième et dernier rapport d'étape annuel. Les rapports d'étape pour les années 2009, 2010, 2011 et 2012 sont aussi disponibles.

Les résultats

Mise à jour pour la période de vérification du 10 mars 2012 au 9 mars 2013 :

Une équipe composée d'un représentant du CVC et un fonctionnaire d'EC a effectué les vérifications et par la suite, des rapports de visite des sites ont été préparés par le CVC avec l'accord d'EC.

Ce qui suit résume les vérifications qui ont été faites pendant la période de vérification du 10 mars 2012 au 9 mars 2013. Pendant cette période, sept vérifications sur place ont été menées afin de déterminer l'état d'exécution de la ligne directrice par les installations.

  • Le 11 avril 2012 (Plastmo Ltd située à Brampton, en Ontario) : Les vérificateurs ont relevé deux éléments nécessitant des améliorations en ce qui concerne la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada. Après la période de vérification, la compagnie a confirmé que les deux éléments nécessitant des améliorations ont été corrigés avant la présentation du rapport final. Par conséquent, aucun plan de mesures correctives n'a été nécessaire.
  • Le 12 avril 2012 (KP Building Products située à Acton, en Ontario) : Les vérificateurs ont relevé cinq éléments nécessitant des améliorations en ce qui concerne la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada. Après la période de vérification, la compagnie a confirmé que les cinq éléments nécessitant des améliorations ont été corrigés avant la présentation du rapport final. Par conséquent, aucun plan de mesures correctives n'a été nécessaire.
  • Le 9 mai 2012 (IPEX située à Scarborough, en Ontario) : Les vérificateurs n'ont relevé aucun élément nécessitant des améliorations en ce qui concerne la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada. Par conséquent, aucun plan de mesures correctives n'a été nécessaire.
  • Le 10 mai 2012 (Clariant Masterbatches Division située à Toronto, en Ontario) : Les vérificateurs ont relevé six éléments nécessitant des améliorations en ce qui concerne la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada. Après la période de vérification, la compagnie a confirmé que les six éléments nécessitant des améliorations ont été corrigés avant la présentation du rapport final. Par conséquent, aucun plan de mesures correctives n'a été nécessaire.
  • Le 20 juin 2012 (IPEX située à Saint-Laurent, au Québec) : Les vérificateurs ont relevé un élément nécessitant des améliorations en ce qui concerne la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada. Après la période de vérification, la compagnie a confirmé que l'élément nécessitant des améliorations a été corrigé avant la présentation du rapport final. Par conséquent, aucun plan de mesures correctives n'a été nécessaire.
  • Le 28 août 2012 (Window City Industries Inc. située à Vaughan, en Ontario) : Les vérificateurs ont relevé cinq éléments nécessitant des améliorations en ce qui concerne la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada. Après la période de vérification, la compagnie a confirmé que les cinq éléments nécessitant des améliorations ont été corrigés avant la présentation du rapport final. Par conséquent, aucun plan de mesures correctives n'a été nécessaire.
  • Le 3 octobre 2012 (IPEX située à Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce, au Québec) : Les vérificateurs n'ont relevé aucun élément nécessitant des améliorations en ce qui concerne la Ligne directrice pour la gestion environnementale des stabilisants à base d'étain au Canada. Par conséquent, aucun plan de mesures correctives n'a été nécessaire.

Mise à jour pour la période de vérification du 10 mars 2008 au 9 mars 2012 :

Au cours de cette période de vérification, 26 installations ont été vérifiées et toutes avaient entièrement mis en œuvre la ligne directrice. Pour cette période, aucun suivi n'a été nécessaire pour ces installations.

Les prochaines étapes

L'Entente est expirée depuis le 9 mars 2013. Pendant la durée totale de l'Entente, des vérifications sur place ont été effectuées aux 33 installations soumises à  l'Entente. Toutes ces installations ont appliqué intégralement la ligne directrice, et par conséquent, il n'y a aucun suivi nécessaire.

EC et le CVC discutent présentement des options pour assurer que la ligne directrice continue d'être appliquée par toutes les installations de mélangeage de vinyle utilisant des stabilisants à base d'étain.

Personne-ressource

Unité des plastiques
Division de la production des produits chimiques
Environnement Canada
351, boul. Saint-Joseph, 11e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Courriel : pgpc-cmp.dppc-cpd@ec.gc.ca

Le contexte

En 2004, le CVC et la TSA ont présenté une ligne directrice, à participation volontaire, sur la manipulation des stabilisants à base d'étain afin d'en prévenir le rejet dans l'environnement grâce à la mise en place de mesures permettant d'assurer que ces substances et leurs matériaux d'emballage soient manipulés, entreposés, utilisés et éliminés de manière responsable. Le 18 novembre 2005, EC a proposé d'élaborer une entente sur la performance environnementale, en collaboration avec le CVC et la TSA, pour faire en sorte que l'industrie applique entièrement cette ligne directrice.

Le 23 avril 2007, EC a publié un rapport intitulé Ébauche du suivi de l'évaluation de 1993 du risque écologique des substances organostanniques inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances du Canada. Les conclusions du rapport indiquent que les mesures prises par l'industrie du vinyle ont permis de réduire les rejets potentiels de monoorganoétain et de diorganoétain à des niveaux qui ne sont pas préoccupants pour l'environnement. Ces mesures sont codifiées dans une ligne directrice préparée et mise en œuvre par le CVC et la TSA. Le rapport final intitulé Suivi de l'évaluation de 1993 du risque écologique des substances organostanniques inscrites sur la Liste intérieure du Canada publié le 8 août 2009 conclut que les monoorganoétains et les diorganoétains ne satisfont pas aux critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et que, pour cette raison, ils ne sont pas toxiques.

De 2006 à 2008, EC a fait équipe avec le CVC et la TSA pour élaborer l'Entente, dont le but était d'empêcher le rejet de stabilisants à base d'étain dans l'environnement en quantité ou en concentration dépassant un niveau acceptable.

Réponses aux commentaires

Le projet de l'Entente a été affiché sur le site Internet des ententes sur la performance environnementale d'EC pour une période de consultation publique de 60 jours, qui a pris fin le 22 juin 2007. Les seuls commentaires reçus concernaient des questions générales de clarification (PDF; 19 Ko). En conséquence, aucune révision n'a été apportée au projet de l'Entente.

L'Entente a été signée le 10 mars 2008 par des représentants d'Environnement Canada, du Conseil du vinyle du Canada et de la Tin Stabilizers Association.