Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Policy Framework for Environmental Performance Agreements

Published: June 2001

Policy Framework for Environmental Performance Agreements (PDF; 1.13 MB)

Environmental Performance Agreements allow parties with common objectives to address a particular environmental issue.

In June 2001, the federal Minister of the Environment released Environment Canada's Policy Framework for Environmental Performance Agreements. Since then, Environmental Performance Agreements have been negotiated and developed based on the principles and design criteria outlined in the Policy Framework.


Foreword

Over recent years, industry, environmental non-government organizations and government have demonstrated that they can work together to protect the environment. Environment Canada has entered into a number of partnerships through Memoranda of Understanding and other written agreements that lead to environmental improvements.

Countries around the world are increasingly relying on public/private partnerships and agreements to protect the environment. As a result of experience acquired both in Canada and internationally, there is a growing understanding of the design and conditions required to make such agreements work.

In this policy framework, Environment Canada sets out the design criteria that it believes are essential to make these agreements both effective and credible. Environment Canada is signaling its willingness to engage in Environmental Performance Agreements with industry and other interested stakeholders to protect the environment. The Department looks forward to working with industry, provincial governments and non-government organizations in these new partnerships, which will benefit Canadians and the environment.

In his appearance before the House of Commons Standing Committee on the Environment and Sustainable Development in May 2000, Environment Minister David Anderson stated that Canadians need to harness the forces of competition, innovation and entrepreneurship to make the environment cleaner and safer. This policy framework is an important element of the "new architecture" of environmental management that the Minister discussed with the Committee--an architecture based on partnerships, knowledge and incentives.

As experience is gained in applying this policy framework, this document may be revised from time to time.

Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Politique-cadre relative aux ententes sur la performance

Publié : juin 2001

Politique-cadre relative aux ententes sur la performance environnementale (PDF; 1,06 Mo)

Les ententes sur la performance environnementale permettent aux parties ayant des objectifs communs de régler un problème environnemental déterminé.

En juin 2001, le ministre fédéral de l'Environnement a publié la Politique-cadre relative aux ententes sur la performance environnementale. Depuis ce temps, les ententes sur la performance environnementale sont négociées et élaborées en fonction des principes et des critères théoriques décrits dans la Politique-cadre.


Avant-propos

Au fil des ans, l'industrie, les organisations environnementales non gouvernementales et le gouvernement ont montré qu'ils peuvent conjuguer leurs efforts pour protéger l'environnement. Environnement Canada a conclu plusieurs partenariats par l'entremise de protocoles d'entente et d'autres accords écrits qui entraînent des améliorations de l'environnement.

Les pays du monde entier s'appuient de plus en plus sur des partenariats ou des ententes entre le public et le privé pour protéger l'environnement. Fort de l'expérience acquise au Canada et à l'international, on comprend de mieux en mieux le cheminement et les conditions nécessaires pour faire fonctionner les arrangements de ce genre.

Dans la présente politique-cadre, Environnement Canada énonce les critères théoriques qu'il croit essentiel pour rendre ces ententes efficaces et crédibles. Ainsi, il affiche sa volonté de conclure des ententes sur la performance environnementale avec l'industrie et d'autres intéressés en vue de protéger l'environnement. Il compte collaborer avec l'industrie, les gouvernements provinciaux et les organisations non gouvernementales grâce à ces nouveaux partenariats qui profiteront aux Canadiens et à l'environnement.

Devant le Comité permanent de l'environnement et du développement durable en mai 2000, le ministre de l'Environnement, David Anderson, a déclaré que les Canadiens doivent canaliser les forces de la concurrence, de l'innovation et de l'esprit d'entreprise pour rendre l'environnement plus propre et plus sûr. Cette politique est un volet majeur de la « nouvelle architecture » de la gestion de l'environnement dont il a discuté avec le Comité, une architecture fondée sur les partenariats, le savoir et les incitations.

À la lumière de l'expérience acquise dans l'application de la présente politique-cadre, ce document pourra faire l'objet de révisions éventuelles.

Table des Matières