This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Completed Agreements

Performance Summary Report: The 2006 Refractory Ceramic Fibre (RCF) Environmental Performance Agreement

In 2006, a five year Refractory Ceramic Fibre (RCF) Environmental Performance Agreement was negotiated between Environment Canada and the following nine companies from the RCF industry:

  • CFM Majestic,
  • Canadian Ferro Industries,
  • Fibercast Inc.,
  • Gemcast Manufacturing Inc.,
  • Pyrotek Industries Inc.,
  • RHI Canada,
  • Thermal Ceramics,
  • Tremco Canada Division R.P.M. Canada, and
  • Wolf Steel.

Two of these companies, CFM Majestic and RHI Canada had ceased operation by the end of the agreement in 2007 and 2010, respectively.

The Agreement required companies involved in the manufacturing or processing of RCFs to:

  • submit an annual report to Environment Canada including the results of fenceline air monitoring, confirmation of the annual management review of RCF emission controls, and a description of the Product Stewardship Program elements that were adopted; and
  • participate in a verifiable audit process.

The following summarizes the results achieved under the agreement based on the verification audits and the annual reports sent to Environment Canada by participating companies.

Annual report results

Canadian Ferro Industries, Fibercast Inc., Pyrotek Industries Inc., Thermal Ceramics, Tremco Canada Division R.P.M. Canada and Wolf Steel provided annual reports throughout the life of the agreement. Gemcast Manufacturing Inc. provided reports in 2007 and 2009.  RHI Canada provided one report in 2007.

a) Air monitoring program

Annual fenceline ambient air monitoring was to be carried out from 2006 to 2010 by participating companies under the agreement to ensure that the maximum allowable fenceline concentration of RCFs in ambient air is not exceeded.

Fenceline monitoring for all participating companies has consistently shown levels of airborne RCF significantly below the maximum allowable fenceline ambient air concentration of 0.05 fibres/cc. Gemcast Manufacturing Inc. and RHI Canada each conducted only one year of monitoring, with results showing no detectable levels of airborne RCF. All other participating companies submitted annual reports as outlined in the agreement.

b) Maintenance and inspection of pollution control equipment

All participating companies have procedures to ensure that pollution control equipment is routinely maintained and inspected (weekly, monthly or at least every four months) and repaired in a timely manner, and that records of inspection and maintenance are kept for at least 5 years.

c) Product stewardship programs

Each participating company has a Stewardship Program in place, which includes, but is not limited to:

  • the use of engineering controls;
  • handling practice modifications and personal protective equipment for the purpose of controlling exposure to airborne RCF; and
  • education of employees and promotion of guidance materials to customers on RCF stewardship.

Furthermore, all operating companies have decreased or eliminated the use of RCF in some products, opting for non-toxic substitutes (e.g. soluble fibres).

Verification audit results

In order to ensure the terms required under the agreement were satisfied, verification audits were conducted from June 2010 to December 2010 by Environment Canada personnel from the Ontario, Quebec, and National Capital Regions.

The verification team visited all operating participating companies and reviewed the following:

  • documentation on procedures, equipment maintenance, management review and company product stewardship programs;
  • equipment located inside and outside of the facility building;
  • workspaces including the use of protective measures by employees; and
  • information related to RCF emissions testing.

Verifiers determined that all facilities satisfied the requirements related to maintenance and inspections of pollution control equipment and the product stewardship program.

Conclusion

Based on the results of the verification audits and annual reports submitted to Environment Canada over the lifetime of the Agreement, six companies fully conformed with the terms of the agreement, and were able to maintain RCF levels in ambient air that were significantly below the maximum allowable concentration of 0.05 fibre/cc. Two companies met these objectives for the year they monitored. However they failed to provide all annual reports as required under the agreement. The audit of these two companies verified that they satisfied the other requirements of the agreement.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Ententes complétées

Rapport sommaire de rendement : Entente sur la performance environnementale de 2006 concernant la fibre de céramique réfractaire (FCR)

En 2006, une entente de cinq années sur la performance environnementale concernant la fibre de céramique réfractaire a été négociée entre Environnement Canada et les neuf entreprises suivantes de l’industrie des FCR :

  • CFM Majestic;
  • Canadian Ferro Industries,;
  • Fibercast Inc.;
  • Gemcast Manufacturing Inc.;
  • Pyrotek Industries Inc.;
  • RHI Canada;
  • Thermal Ceramics;
  • Tremco Canada Division de R.P.M. Canada; et
  • Wolf Steel.

Deux de ces entreprises, CFM Majestic et RHI Canada ont arrêté respectivement en 2007 et en 2010 leurs opérations, avant la fin de l’Entente.

L'Entente demande aux entreprises participant à la fabrication ou à la transformation des FCRs de :

  • envoyer un rapport annuel à Environnement Canada y compris les résultats  de la surveillance aux limites de la propriété, la confirmation de l'examen annuel de gestion des contrôles des émissions de FCR et la  description des éléments adoptés par le Programme d'intendance de produits; et
  • participer à un processus crédible de vérification de l'Entente.

Voici un résumé de la performance dans le cadre de l'Entente, laquelle repose sur les vérifications et les rapports annuels soumis à Environnement Canada par les entreprises participantes.

Résultats des rapports annuels

Canadian Ferro Industries, Fibercast Inc., Pyrotek Industries Inc., Thermal Ceramics, Tremco Canada Division R.P.M. Canada et Wolf Steel ont fourni des rapports annuels tout au long de la vie de l’Entente. Gemcast Manufacturing Inc.  a fourni des rapports annuels en 2007 et 2009.  RHI Canada a fourni un seul rapport en 2007.

a) Programme de surveillance des émissions atmosphériques

La surveillance de l'air ambiant aux limites de la propriété a été effectuée de 2006 à 2010 par les entreprises participantes dans le cadre de l'Entente pour faire en sorte que la concentration maximale permise de fibre de céramique réfractaire dans l'air ambiant aux limites de la propriété ne soit pas dépassée.

La surveillance annuelle effectuée par toutes les entreprises participantes aux limites de la propriété a constamment montré des niveaux de FCR dans l'air nettement inférieurs à la concentration maximale permise dans l'air ambiant aux limites de la propriété, soit 0,05 fibre/cc. Gemcast Manufacturing Inc. et  RHI Canada ont chacun mené une seule année de surveillance sans aucune trace détectable de RCF dans l’air. Toutes les autres entreprises participantes ont envoyé des rapports annuels tel que décrit dans l’Entente.

b) Entretien et inspection de l'équipement de lutte antipollution

Toutes les entreprises participantes ont établi des procédures permettant de veiller à ce que l'équipement de lutte antipollution soit régulièrement entretenu, inspecté (hebdomadairement, mensuellement ou au moins tous les quatre mois) et réparé en temps opportun, tout en veillant à ce que les dossiers d'inspection et d'entretien soient conservés pendant au moins cinq ans.

c) Programmes d'intendance de produits 

Chaque entreprise participante a un Programme d'intendance de produits en place, qui comprend, sans toutefois s'y limiter :

  • à l'utilisation de mesures d'ingénierie;
  • aux modifications apportées aux pratiques de manutention et à l’équipement de protection individuel pour limiter l'exposition à la fibre de céramique réfractaire en suspension dans l'air;
  • à la formation des employés et la promotion de documents d'orientation sur l'intendance de la fibre de céramique réfractaire auprès des clients.

De plus, toutes les entreprises participantes ont réduit ou ont cessé d'utiliser le FCR dans certains produits et optent pour des substituts non toxiques (p. ex. les fibres solubles).

Résultats des vérifications :

Afin de s’assurer que les dispositions exigées par l’Entente soient respectées, des vérifications ont été effectuées de juin 2010 à décembre 2010 par le  personnel d'Environnement Canada des régions de l'Ontario, du Québec et de la Région de la  capitale nationale.

L'équipe de vérification a visité toutes les entreprises participantes et elle a vérifié les éléments suivants :

  • la documentation concernant les procédures, l’entretien de l'équipement, l'examen de la gestion et les programmes d'intendance de produits de l'entreprise;
  • l'équipement situé à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de l'immeuble;
  • les espaces de travail, y compris l’utilisation de mesures de protection par les employés;
  • les renseignements concernant les essais de contrôle des émissions de la fibre de céramique réfractaire.

Les vérificateurs ont rapportés que toutes les entreprises participantes se sont conformées aux exigences relatives à l’entretien et à l’inspection de l'équipement de lutte antipollution et aux programmes d'intendance de produits.

Conclusion 

D'après les résultats des vérifications et  des rapports annuels soumis à Environnement Canada tout au long de la durée de l’Entente, six entreprises se sont pleinement conformées aux exigences de l’Entente et ont réussi à maintenir la présence de FCR dans l'air ambiant à des niveaux bien en dessous de la concentration maximale permise, soit 0,05 fibre/cc. Deux entreprises ont atteintes les objectifs seulement pour l’année de surveillance. Cependant ils n’ont pas réussi à fournir toutes les rapports annuels requis en vertu de l’Entente. La vérification de ces deux entreprises a prouvé qu’elles ont répondu aux autres exigences de l’Entente.  

Date de modification :