Consultations

Perfluorinated Carboxylic Acids and their Precursors in Perfluorochemical Products Sold in Canada

Full text of Proposed Agreement (HTML) (PDF; 100 KB)

Environment Canada and Health Canada are pleased to provide the proposed “Environmental Performance Agreement Respecting Perfluorinated Carboxylic Acids (PFCAs) and their Precursors in Perfluorochemical Products Sold in Canada” for comment.

PFCAs and their precursors are used as fluoropolymer processing aids; as water and grease repellents for material such as paper, fabric, leather and carpets; sizing agents for packaging and paper products; and levelling agents in coatings.

PFCAs including perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) are present in the Canadian environment. Although the current environmental concentrations of PFCAs are low, concern arises from the evidence indicating a rapid upward trend in the levels observed in the environment. Available evidence also indicates that PFCAs are environmentally persistent and the long chain PFCAs bioaccumulate.

In June 2006, Environment Canada and Health Canada published an Action Plan for the Assessment and Management of Perfluorinated Carboxylic Acids and their Precursors in the Canada Gazette. The Action Plan states that the Government would seek action from industry to significantly reduce residual PFCA precursors that are present in certain substances already in Canadian commerce and that the Government would work with stakeholders to establish details for this action, including timelines and reduction targets. The proposed agreement has been developed to meet this commitment.

As a result of the proposed agreement, participating companies would voluntarily commit to:

  • Reducing by 95% the product content levels of residual PFOA, long chain PFCAs and their precursors in their perfluorochemical products sold in Canada by December 31, 2010;
  • Working towards eliminating the remaining 5% of these substances in the products by 2015; and
  • Report annually to Environment Canada information on the residual and non-residual (i.e., active ingredient) content of their perfluorochemical products sold in Canada.

Through the proposed agreement, industry is taking early action on long chain PFCAs, PFOA and their precursors before regulatory assessments for these substances are completed. Once completed, the assessments will guide any additional risk management actions that may be needed.

Environment Canada invites your comments on this proposed agreement. Please forward your comments to EPA_EPE@ec.gc.ca by March 31, 2009.

For more information, please contact Ms. Susan Fraser at:

Susan Fraser
Chemicals Management Division
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Blvd., 17th Floor
Gatineau, QC   K1A 0H3
Tel: 819-994-7752

Consultations

La présence d'acides perfluorocarboxyliques et de leurs précurseurs dans les produits chimiques perfluorés vendus au Canada

Texte intégrale de l'entente (HTML) (PDF; 108 Ko)

Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont le plaisir de présenter la proposition d’« Entente sur la performance environnementale concernant la présence d‘acides perfluorocarboxyliques (APFC) et de leurs précurseurs dans les produits chimiques perfluorés vendus au Canada » aux fins de commentaires.

Les APFC et leurs précurseurs sont utilisés comme adjuvants de fabrication des polymères fluorés, comme agents hydrofuges et imperméables aux graisses pour les matériaux comme le papier, le tissu, le cuir et les tapis, comme solutions de collage pour les produits d’emballage et de papier, et comme agents fluidifiants pour les revêtements.

Les APFC, y compris l’acide perfluorooctanoïque (APFO), sont présents dans l’environnement canadien. Même si les concentrations actuelles d’APFC dans l’environnement sont faibles, leur augmentation rapide est préoccupante. Les preuves à cet effet indiquent également que les APFC sont persistants dans l’environnement et qu’il y a bioaccumulation des APFC à longue chaîne.

En juin 2006, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont publié un Plan d’action pour l’évaluation et la gestion des acides perfluorocarboxyliques et de leurs précurseurs dans la Gazette du Canada. Selon le plan, le gouvernement demanderait à l’industrie de prendre des mesures afin de réduire sensiblement les précurseurs d’APFC résiduels qui sont présents dans certaines substances déjà utilisées dans le commerce au Canada et il collaborerait avec les intervenants pour établir les détails de ces mesures, y compris l’échéancier et les objectifs de réduction. L’entente proposée a été élaborée afin de respecter cet engagement.

Aux termes de l’entente proposée, les entreprises participantes s’engageraient volontairement :

  • à réduire de 95 % la teneur en APFO résiduels, en APFC à longue chaîne et leurs précurseurs dans leurs produits chimiques perfluorés vendus au Canada, d’ici le 31 décembre 2010;
  • à s’employer à éliminer les 5 % de ces substances qui restent dans les produits avant 2015;
  • à fournir chaque année à Environnement Canada des renseignements sur la teneur résiduelle et non résiduelle (c.-à-d. les ingrédients actifs) de leurs produits chimiques perfluorés vendus au Canada.

Dans le cadre de l’entente proposée, l’industrie prend rapidement des mesures au sujet des APFC à longue chaîne, des APFO et de leurs précurseurs avant qu’on ne termine les évaluations réglementaires de ces substances. Une fois terminées, ces évaluations serviront à orienter toute mesure de gestion des risques supplémentaire qui pourrait être nécessaire.

Environnement Canada vous invite à formuler vos commentaires au sujet de cette entente proposé. Veuillez les faire parvenir à EPA_EPE@ec.gc.ca, au plus tard le 31 mars 2009.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Mme Susan Fraser à l’adresse suivante :

Susan Fraser
Division de la gestion des substances chimiques
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph, 17e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Tél. : 819-994-7752