Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Renewable Energy

Renewable energy is derived from naturally regenerating energy resources such as the sun, wind, water, biomass, and heat from the Earth’s interior. The key characteristic of renewable energy resources is that they are replenished naturally or through sustainable management practices such that it is not depleted at current levels of consumption.  Thus, the world cannot run out of renewable energy.

Renewable resources can be used to produce electricity, provide heating and cooling for buildings, for industrial process heat, or to provide mechanical power for grinding or water-pumping. Some technologies can be used for cogeneration of heat and power.

In addition, renewable energy resources can be used to produce liquid bio-fuels such as ethanol or bio-diesel, both of which can be utilized as mobile or stationary fuels. Water electrolysis technologies are being used to generate hydrogen from renewable power, for use as a mobile (i.e., transportation) or stationary fuel through fuel cells or direct combustion. 

For additional information on specific renewable energy technologies consult the Renewable Energy Information and Awareness Program (Natural Resources Canada). You may also be interested in learning about Federal actions to promote renewable energy in Canada.

How Does Renewable Energy Contribute to Cleaner Air?

Not only does renewable energy have little or no greenhouse gas emissions, but also other air pollutant emissions which cause smog, acid-rain or hazardous air pollution are zero for most forms of renewable energy.   When low-emitting forms of renewable energy are used to replace fossil-fuel energy, reductions in air pollution occur and cleaner air is the result.

Those forms of renewable energy based on combustion of biomass do cause some air pollution that contributes to smog, but not to acid-rain.  However, geothermal energy from geological sources can release sulphur dioxide which will contribute to acid rain.   As for fossil fuels, pollution control technologies can be used to reduce these emissions.

What Are Other Environmental Impacts of Renewable Energy?

Renewable energy still has other effects on the environment, such as the disturbance of land and eco-systems in hydro reservoirs or because of variable streamflow downstream of dams; the water effluent from processing of biomass or renewable fuels; ambient air pollution coming from wood smoke when heating with wood; waste ash from biomass combustion; and the impacts on land from intensive agricultural operations for bioenergy.  Furthermore, in the full life cycle of renewable energy, the construction of renewable energy production facilities often involves the use of fossil-fuels, which themselves have significant impacts. Given that all forms of energy production have some level of environmental impact, ultimately a compromise must be reached between energy development needs and environmental stewardship.  The concept of sustainable development can be a valuable tool in guiding new project development and mitigating any potential impacts on the environment. 

What is the Current Status of Renewable Energy in Canada?

Renewable energy provides some 1900 petajoules of Canada’s primary energy supply, or about 16.5%.  While this means that Canada is a world leader in renewable energy compared to the OECD average of 6.1% and the U.S.’s 5.2%, most of our energy still comes from fossil fuels. 

These figures don’t include the energy from the sun received passively through windows, for example, which can provide considerable heating in Canada’s cold winters.  Note also that wood-heating is the fourth largest source of home heating, after natural gas, oil and electricity.

Conventional hydro power provides about two-thirds of Canada’s renewable energy and about 60% of Canada’s electricity.  Note that electricity itself represents only about 20% of Canada’s energy usage, with transportation, industrial energy use (e.g. metal smelting or car manufacturing)  and non-electric forms of heating and cooling making up the rest.

Énergie renouvelable

L'énergie renouvelable provient de ressources énergétiques qui se régénèrent naturellement, comme le soleil, le vent, l'eau, la biomasse et la chaleur qui se dégage de la Terre. Les ressources énergétiques renouvelables se caractérisent principalement par le fait qu'elles se reconstituent naturellement ou par des pratiques de gestion durable, de façon à ne pas s'épuiser aux niveaux actuels de consommation. On ne peut donc pas manquer de ressources renouvelables.

Les ressources renouvelables peuvent être employées pour la production d'électricité, le chauffage et la climatisation des bâtiments, la production de chaleur pour des procédés industriels, ou la création d'énergie mécanique pour broyer des déchets ou pomper de l'eau. Certaines technologies peuvent s'appliquer à la cogénération d'énergie thermique et d'électricité.

De plus, les ressources d'énergie renouvelable peuvent être employées pour produire des biocarburants liquides comme l'éthanol ou le biodiesel, pouvant tous deux servir de carburant dans des applications mobiles ou stationnaires. Les technologies d'électrolyse de l'eau servent à produire de l'hydrogène à partir de l'énergie renouvelable, pour des applications mobiles (transports) ou stationnaires alimentées par pile à combustible ou combustion directe.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur des technologies particulières d'énergie renouvelable, veuillez consulter le Programme d'information et d'éducation en matière d'énergies renouvelables (Ressources naturelles Canada). Nous vous invitons également à vous renseigner sur les mesures fédérales de promotion de l'énergie renouvelable au Canada.

Comment l'énergie renouvelable favorise-t-elle l'air pur?

Non seulement l'énergie renouvelable produit-elle peu d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre, sinon pas du tout, mais aussi la plupart des formes de cette énergie n'émettent aucun des polluants atmosphériques qui causent le smog, les pluies acides ou les polluants atmosphériques dangereux. Lorsque que l'on remplace des combustibles fossiles par des énergies renouvelables à faibles émissions, la pollution atmosphérique s'en trouve réduite, pour un air plus pur.

Les formes d'énergie renouvelable reposant sur la combustion de biomasse comportent effectivement une certaine pollution atmosphérique qui contribue au smog, mais non aux pluies acides. Toutefois l'énergie géothermique provenant de sources géologiques peut libérer du dioxyde de soufre, qui contribue aux pluies acides. Pour ce qui est des combustibles fossiles, des techniques antipollution peuvent permettre de réduire ces émissions.

Quelles sont les autres incidences environnementales de l'énergie renouvelable?

L'énergie renouvelable a d'autres conséquences pour l'environnement, par exemple la perturbation des terres et des écosystèmes dans les réservoirs hydroélectriques, ou la variation des débits d'eau en aval des barrages; les effluents d'eau du traitement de la biomasse ou des combustibles renouvelables; les déchets de cendre de la combustion de la biomasse; et l'impact sur les terres des cultures intensives pour la bioénergie. De plus, dans le cycle de vie complet de l'énergie renouvelable, la construction d'installations de production d'énergie renouvelable fait souvent appel à des combustibles fossiles, qui ont des incidences considérables. Comme toutes les formes de production énergétique ont une certaine incidence environnementale, il faut au bout du compte en arriver à un compromis entre les besoins d'aménagement énergétique et la gérance de l'environnement. Le principe du développement durable peut s'appliquer utilement à l'encadrement de nouveaux projets pour atténuer d'éventuelles incidences sur l'environnement.

Quelle est la situation actuelle de l'énergie renouvelable au Canada?

L'énergie renouvelable compte pour environ 1 900 petajoules de l'approvisionnement en énergie primaire du Canada, soit environ 16,5p.100. Le Canada est donc un chef de file mondial en matière d'énergie renouvelable, celle-ci comptant pour une moyenne de 6,1p.100 des approvisionnements dans les pays de l'OCDE et de 5,2p.100 de ceux des É.-U., mais il reste que la plus grande partie de notre énergie provient des combustibles fossiles.

Ces statistiques ne tiennent pas compte de l'énergie solaire acquise passivement, par exemple par les fenêtres, pour un apport considérable au chauffage pendant les froids hivers canadiens. Il faut également signaler que le chauffage au bois représente la quatrième source en importance du chauffage résidentiel, après le gaz naturel, le mazout et l'électricité.

L'hydroélectricité classique fournit environ les deux tiers de l'énergie renouvelable du Canada, et quelque 60p.100 de son électricité. L'électricité elle-même ne représente qu'environ 20p.100 de la consommation énergétique du Canada, le reste étant attribuable aux transports, à la consommation industrielle (p.ex., fonderies, fabrication d'automobiles) et à des formes de chauffage et de climatisation autres qu'électriques.

Date de modification :