Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Electricity Generation

The electricity sector is unique among industrial sectors in its very large contribution to emissions associated with nearly all air issues. Electricity generation produces a large share of Canadian nitrogen oxides and sulphur dioxide emissions, which contribute to smog and acid rain and the formation of fine particulate matter. It is the largest uncontrolled industrial source of mercury emissions in Canada. Fossil fuel-fired electric power plants also emit carbon dioxide, which contributes to climate change. In addition, the sector has significant impacts on water and habitat and species. In particular, hydro dams and transmission lines have significant effects on water and biodiversity.

Towers support power lines as they transmit electricity across large expanses of country.Electric utilities in Canada generate most of the nation's total electricity. Facilities used to generate electricity include coal, oil, and natural gas fired power plants, hydro, nuclear and green power (renewable low-impact electricity). Additional generation comes from units at industrial sites which use similar types of fossil fuel-fired combustion equipment and which produce electricity mainly for on-site use. These units may also generate other energy products such as heat or mechanical power in combined heat and power systems.

The provinces and territories determine the particular mix of electricity sources that is appropriate for their region. The regional mix varies widely across the country. The provinces and territories also regulate emissions from the sector. The federal government, which has jurisdiction over transboundary air pollution and toxic releases, considers appropriate actions under federal law when warranted.

With a view to protecting the environment, Environment Canada works with the provinces and territories to take action to reduce the environmental impact of electric power generation sources both domestically and internationally. Environment Canada's preferences for reducing emissions from electric power generation include energy conservation and efficiency, climate policy, energy sources with low air emissions and low environmental impacts, and cleaning up sources with high air emissions, such as coal-fired plants.

Use the following links for information on:

Canada's electricity regulations

Energy and Transportation Regulations

Canada's electricity sector

About Electricity (Natural Resources Canada)
Canadian Electricity Association


Canadian energy forecasts

About the Energy Sector (Natural Resources Canada)
National Energy Board

United States and electricity

United States electricity policies are of significant interest to Canada, and vice versa. For information on U.S. electricity issues and policies, please follow the link for United States Department of Energy and the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

The Canadian and U.S. electricity systems are highly interconnected. For information on the integration of the Canadian and U.S. electricity markets, please follow the link to the Canadian Electricity Association.

Production d'électricité

Le secteur de l'électricité est unique parmi les secteurs industriels à cause de ses émissions qui contribuent largement à la quasi-totalité des problèmes de qualité de l'air. La production d'électricité est à l'origine d'une grande partie des émissions canadiennes d'oxydes d'azote et de dioxyde de soufre, qui contribuent au smog, aux pluies acides et à la formation de particules fines. C'est la plus grande source industrielle non réglementée d'émissions de mercure au Canada. Les centrales électriques émettent aussi du dioxyde de carbone, un gaz qui contribue au changement climatique. En outre, le secteur a des impacts considérables sur les plans d'eau, les habitats et les espèces. Par exemple, les barrages hydroélectriques et les lignes à haute tension ont une influence majeure sur les cours d'eau et la biodiversité. 

Les tours supportent des lignes électriques qui transportent de l'électricité sur de vastes étendues de terrain.Les services publics d'électricité produisent l'essentiel de l'approvisionnement électrique au pays. Les installations qui produisent de l'électricité sont les centrales thermiques au charbon, au mazout et au gaz naturel (énergies renouvelables à faible impact). On produit également de l'électricité dans les sites industriels avec le même genre d'équipement alimenté aux combustibles fossiles, essentiellement pour consommation sur place. Ces unités peuvent également produire d'autres formes d'énergie comme de la chaleur et de l'énergie mécanique dans les systèmes de production combinés énergie-chaleur.

Les provinces et les territoires décident des sources d'électricité qui conviennent le mieux à leur région. L'offre régionale présente des différences marquées d'une région à l'autre du pays. Les provinces et les territoires réglementent également les émissions du secteur. Le gouvernement fédéral, qui est responsable de la pollution atmosphérique transfrontalière et des rejets de produits toxiques, envisage de prendre des mesures appropriées en vertu de la loi fédérale lorsque les circonstances le justifient.

Environnement Canada collabore avec les provinces et les territoires à la prise de mesures visant à réduire l'impact environnemental de la production d'électricité au pays et à l'étranger. Pour réduire les émissions dues à la production d'électricité, Environnement Canada oriente ses efforts sur l'efficacité énergétique et les économies d'énergie, la politique en matière de climat, les sources d'énergie à faibles émissions atmosphériques et à impact environnemental limité et l'épuration des sources produisant beaucoup d'émissions comme les centrales au charbon.

Cliquez sur les liens suivants pour de plus amples renseignements sur:

Règlements canadiens en électricité

Règlements en matière d'énergie et de transport

Le secteur canadien de l'électricité

À propos de l’électricité (Ressources naturelles Canada)
Association canadienne de l'électricité

Les prévisions canadiennes en matière d'énergie

À propos du secteur de l'énergie (Ressources naturelles Canada)
Office national de l'énergie

Les États-Unis et l'électricité

Les politiques américaines en matière d'électricité intéressent particulièrement le Canada, et vice versa. Pour en savoir davantage sur les enjeux et les politiques de l'électricité aux États-Unis, veuillez consulter les sites Web du département de l'Énergie des États-Unis (en anglais) et de l'Agence pour la protection de l'environnement des États-Unis (en anglais).

Les systèmes électriques du Canada et des États-Unis sont fortement interconnectés. Pour en savoir davantage sur l'intégration des marchés canadien et américain de l'électricité, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Association canadienne de l'énergie.