Renewable Fuels Regulations

The Renewable Fuels Regulations, published on September 1, 2010 in the Canada Gazette, Part II, require fuel producers and importers to have an average renewable content of at least 5% based on the volume of gasoline that they produce or import commencing December 15, 2010. The Regulations include provisions that govern the creation of compliance units, allow trading of these units among participants and also require recordkeeping and reporting to ensure compliance.

The Regulations also require fuel producers and importers of diesel fuel and heating distillate oil to have an average annual renewable fuel content equal to at least 2% of the volume of diesel fuel and heating distillate oil that they produce and import commencing July 1, 2011. The Regulations Amending the Renewable Fuels Regulations (2013) introduced a national exclusion of heating distillate oil volumes for space heating purposes as of January 1, 2013.

These Regulations are one pillar of the Government’s broader Renewable Fuels Strategy. The Strategy’s two regulatory requirements combined with provincial regulations will ensure a total volume of renewable fuel that will reduce annual greenhouse gas emissions by an estimated four megatonnes by 2012 – about the equivalent of taking one million vehicles off the road.

Regulations

Compliance Promotion Information

Compliance Unit Account Books

Under section 31 of the Renewable Fuels Regulations, primary suppliers and elective participants in the trading system are required to make a compliance unit account book of their monthly transactions of compliance units. The compliance unit account book, for a compliance period, must contain monthly records for:

  • each facility (blending and production) and province of import for each type of creation of compliance units;
  • each province of export for each cancellation of compliance units;
  • each person with who you traded or receive in hade compliance units; and
  • company-wide for each type of transaction of compliance units (carry forward, carry back, cancellations, "distillate-to-gasoline" assignment).

Environment Canada has developed templates for the Gasoline Compliance Unit Account Book and the Distillate Compliance Unit Account Book in Microsoft Excel format. Note that the form and formats of the compliance unit account books are not being specified by the Minister for the purposes of subsection 31(5) of the Regulations, and accordingly, their use is optional.  For a copy of the account books or for more information, please contact Environment Canada at:  fuels-carburants@ec.gc.ca.

List of Registrants under the Renewable Fuels Regulations

References - Volume Measurement

The Regulations include references to:

  • Standards and methods which are cited in the American Petroleum Institute's Manual of Petroleum Measurement Standards. This manual is available from the American Petroleum Institute at: www.api.org/standards
  • The Weights and Measures Act and the regulations made under that Act. The Act and it's regulations are available from the Department of Justice at: laws.justice.gc.ca/eng/W-6/index.html

Question and Answers on the Renewable Fuels Regulations

Fact Sheets

Updated as of June 2012:

Key Questions

Further Information

  • News Release (December 2012 announcement of the national exemption of heating distillate oil for space heating purposes)
  • News Release (June 2011 announcement of the start date for the biodiesel requirement)
  • News Release (September 2010 publication of the Renewable Fuels Regulations)

Contact Information

For further information and to receive email notifications of updates to material posted on this webpage and changes regarding Environment Canada’s actions on fuels, please contact us at: fuels-carburants@ec.gc.ca

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Règlement sur les carburants renouvelables

Le Règlement sur les carburants renouvelables, publié le 1er septembre 2010, dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, exige que les producteurs et importateurs de carburants aient une teneur moyenne de 5% de carburant renouvelable dans l'essence qu'ils produisent ou importent, et ce, à partir du 15 décembre 2010. Le Règlement comprend des dispositions qui régissent la mise sur pied d’unités de conformité et qui permettent aux participants d’échanger ces unités. Il exige également la tenue de dossiers et la production de rapports aux fins de conformité.

Le Règlement renferme également des dispositions exhaustives qui exigent que les producteurs et importateurs de diesel et de mazout de chauffage aient une teneur moyenne annuelle en carburant renouvelable équivalant à au moins 2 % du volume de carburant diesel et de mazout de chauffage qu’ils produisent et importent depuis le 1er juillet 2011. Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les carburants renouvelables (2013) introduit une exemption nationale pour le mazout de chauffage utilisé pour le chauffage des locaux depuis le 1er janvier 2013.

Ce Règlement constitue un des piliers de la stratégie globale du gouvernement sur les carburants renouvelables. Lorsqu'elles seront pleinement en application, ces exigences réglementaires, conjuguées avec la réglementation des provinces, réduiront les gaz à effet de serre (GES) jusqu'à quatre mégatonnes par année (ce qui équivaut à retirer presque un million de véhicules de la circulation).

Règlements

Renseignements sur la promotion de la conformité

Livres des unités de conformité

En vertu de l'article 31 du Règlement sur les carburants renouvelables, les fournisseurs principaux et les participants volontaires au mécanisme d'échange doivent tenir un livre des unités de conformité de leurs transactions mensuelles des unités de conformité. Le livre des unités de conformité, pour une période de conformité, doit contenir les données mensuelles pour :

  • chaque installation (mélange et production) et chaque province d'importation de chaque type d'unités de conformité créées;
  • chaque province d'exportation pour chaque unité de conformité annulée;
  • chaque personne avec qui ils ont échangé ou de qui ils ont reçu des unités de conformité;
  • chaque type d'unités de conformité échangées à l'échelle de l'entreprise (report prospectif, report rétrospectif, annulation, affectations de distillat à essence).

Environnement Canada a développé des modèles en format Microsoft Excel pour le registre d’unités de conformité visant l'essence et pour le registre d’unités de conformité visant le distillat. Il est à noter que la forme et les formats des registres d’unités de conformité ne sont pas exigés par le Ministre en vertu du paragraphe 31(5) du Règlement et, par conséquent, leur utilisation est facultative.  Pour obtenir une copie des registres ou pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Environnement Canada à l'adresse fuels-carburants@ec.gc.ca

Liste des personnes enregistrées sous le Règlement sur les carburants renouvelables

Références - mesure du volume

Le Règlement inclut des références à :

  • Des standards et méthodes citées dans le Manual of Petroleum Measurement Standards de l’American Petroleum Institute.  Ce manuel est disponible en anglais seulement sur le site web de l’American Petroleum Institute à l’adresse suivante : www.api.org/standards.
  • La Loi sur les poids et mesures et ses règlements associés. La loi ainsi que ses règlements associés sont disponibles sur le site du ministère de la Justice à l’adresse suivante : laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/W-6/index.html.

Questions et réponses sur le Règlement sur les carburants renouvelables

Fiches d'information

Révision en date du juin 2012:

Questions clés

Renseignements additionnels

  • Communiqué (annonce de l'exemption nationale pour le mazout de chauffage utilisé pour le chauffage des locaux, décembre 2012)
  • Communiqué (annonce de la date d'entrée en vigueur de l'exigence de biodiesel, juin 2011)
  • Communiqué (publication du Règlement sur les carburants renouvelables, septembre 2010)

Contact

Pour de plus amples renseignements ainsi que pour être informé par courriel des mises à jour de l’information présente dans cette page Web et sur les mesures prises par Environnement Canada en matière de carburants, veuillez communiquer avec nous à l'adresse suivante : fuels-carburants@ec.gc.ca.