Preparedness

Being prepared for an emergency is critical to mounting a quick and effective response that will help minimize impacts on the health of people, and the environment.

Environment Canada works in partnership with other levels of government, industry and communities to:


Sensitivity Mapping

In identifying potential risks, it is important to know about the environment where a spill might occur. Environment Canada prepares sensitivity maps with up-to-date information on environmentally sensitive areas, and on seasonal considerations affecting key physical, biological and cultural resources. The Department works in partnership with other federal and provincial resource agencies, the oil industry and international agencies involved in similar efforts.


Contingency Planning

Under the Emergency Management Act 2007, all federal ministers have statutory responsibility to ensure that each federal department, agency or Crown Corporation has an emergency preparedness plan to deal with civil emergencies related to the Ministers' area of accountability.

Environment Canada's National Environmental Emergencies Contingency Plan (NEECP), identifies a variety of environmental hazards and defines the scope and framework within which Environment Canada operates to ensure appropriate response to any environmental hazard or emergency.

It also describes the actions the Department takes when environmental emergencies occur and contains information on the measures Environment Canada implements in a variety of emergencies with adverse environmental impacts. The document includes details on the national emergency reporting network and the procedural safety guidelines for department staff while dealing with environmental emergencies.

Environment Canada is also party to numerous bilateral and multi-lateral arrangements with the federal departments as well as with the United States and other countries to provide mutual aid and assistance, if required:


Training for Emergencies

Training is crucial to the success of any emergency preparedness plan. It ensures that staff involved in prevention, preparedness and response and recovery work have the skills to perform tasks safely and effectively. Training also helps team members from various organizations and levels of government learn how to work well together. At the regional level, where environmental emergencies officers can face significant hazards in the course of their work, training is particularly important.

Environment Canada's training program is aimed primarily at its staff, but some is also provided externally.


Exercises

Regular, well-planned exercises are the most effective and efficient way of achieving a significant and measurable improvement in an organization's emergency response capability and preparedness level.

Regular exercises allow response personnel to meet and work together while practicing and improving their individual and collective response skills, techniques and capabilities. Engaging in regular exercises also helps validate or prove the operational effectiveness of emergency response planning, facilities, equipment and procedures. Following an exercise, players can better identify 'gaps' or deficiencies in overall response management procedures, and take the necessary corrective measures.

Préparation

Il est essentiel de se préparer à une urgence environnementale afin de pouvoir mettre sur pied des mesures d’intervention rapides et efficaces qui aideront à réduire les répercussions sur la santé des gens et de l’environnement.

Environnement Canada travaille en partenariat avec d’autres ordres de gouvernement, l’industrie et les communautés en vue :


Cartographie des zones vulnérables

Lors de la détermination des risques possibles, il est important de connaître l’environnement qui pourrait être touché par un déversement. Environnement Canada prépare des cartes des zones vulnérables qui contiennent de l’information à jour sur les zones vulnérables écologiquement et sur les éléments saisonniers qui ont une incidence sur les principales ressources physiques, biologiques et culturelles. Le Ministère travaille en partenariat avec d’autres organismes fédéraux et provinciaux, l’industrie du pétrole et les organismes internationaux qui oeuvrent dans ce domaine.


Planification d’urgence

En vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences 2007, tous les ministres fédéraux sont tenus de s’assurer que chaque ministère, organisme ou société d’État du gouvernement fédéral dispose d’un plan d’intervention pour les urgences civiles associées à leur secteur de responsabilité.

Le Plan national d’intervention en cas d’urgence environnementale (PNIUE) recense divers dangers environnementaux et définit la portée et le cadre des activités qu’Environnement Canada exerce pour s’assurer que l’on intervient de façon adéquate en cas d’urgence ou de danger environnemental.

Il décrit également les mesures que prend le Ministère en cas d’urgence environnementale, particulièrement lors d’événements ayant des effets néfastes sur l’environnement. Le document traite du réseau national de notification et de rapport ainsi que des lignes directrices sur les procédures de sécurité que doit suivre le personnel du ministère affecté aux urgences environnementales.

Environnement Canada est également signataire, avec d’autres ministères fédéraux ainsi qu’avec les États-Unis et d’autres pays, d’un bon nombre d’ententes bilatérales et multilatérales où les parties conviennent de s’apporter, au besoin, une aide et une assistance mutuelles :


Urgences environnementales - Formation

La formation est essentielle à la réussite de tout plan d’urgence. Elle permet de s’assurer que les employés participant aux travaux de prévention, de préparation et d’intervention ont les compétences nécessaires pour exécuter leurs tâches de façon sécuritaire et efficace. La formation aide également les membres des équipes des divers organismes et ordres de gouvernement à apprendre à bien travailler ensemble. La formation est particulièrement importante dans les régions, où les agents d’intervention d’urgence peuvent faire face à des dangers importants dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.

Le programme de formation d’Environnement Canada s’adresse principalement à ses employés, mais certains cours sont offerts à l’externe.


Exercices

Des exercices réguliers et bien planifiés constituent le moyen le plus efficace d’améliorer de façon importante et mesurable la capacité d’intervention et le niveau de préparation.

On permet ainsi aux employés d’intervention de se rencontrer et de travailler ensemble tout en pratiquant et en améliorant leurs compétences, leurs techniques et leurs capacités individuelles et collectives. La participation à des exercices réguliers aide également à valider ou à prouver l’efficacité opérationnelle des plans, des installations, de l’équipement et des procédures d’intervention. Par la suite, les intervenants peuvent mieux déterminer les lacunes ou les faiblesses des procédures générales de gestion des interventions, et apporter les correctifs nécessaires.