Prevention

Preventing environmental emergencies means taking action to reduce or eliminate the environmental risks associated with natural and human-induced disasters.

Even under the best of conditions, emergency response and recovery can only be partially effective. Prevention of environmental emergencies is the responsibility of governments, industries and individuals and  can be more cost effective when compared to response and recovery.

In Canada, environmental emergency prevention is a partnership between government and the private sector. Canadian law supports the principle of polluter responsibility – which means industry must be accountable for taking adequate preventive actions and for ensuring that effective response plans are in place. The Government of Canada has the job of protecting the public interest.

Environment Canada has the mandate under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) to provide guidance to prevent emergencies for fixed facilities that manufacture, store, use or dispose of toxic or other hazardous materials. To do this, the Environmental Emergencies Program develops regulations and promotes their compliance by providing advice and tools to regulatees and other stakeholders on risk assessment, process safety management guidance, and environmental emergency response planning.

The Environmental Emergencies Program also provides expert advice during the environmental assessment process of large development projects to improve mitigation measures that prevent accidents from occurring, and improve emergency response plans so that effective and timely actions can be taken when accidents occur.

The Environmental Emergencies Program works with our international partners such as the Organization for Economic Co-operation (OECD), the Arctic Council (AC), and with foreign governments such as China to advance and share our knowledge.

Prévention

Prévenir les urgences environnementales signifie prendre des mesures pour réduire ou éliminer les risques environnementaux associés aux catastrophes naturelles ou causées par l’homme.

Même dans les meilleures conditions, il arrive que les mesures d’intervention et de rétablissement ne soient que partiellement efficaces. La prévention des urgences environnementales est la responsabilité des gouvernements, des industries et des citoyens et est moins coûteuse comparativement aux interventions et aux restaurations.

Au Canada, le gouvernement et le secteur privé s’occupent en partenariat de la prévention des urgences environnementales. Les lois canadiennes appliquent le principe de la responsabilité du pollueur – qui signifie que l’industrie est tenue de prendre des mesures de prévention adéquates et de s’assurer qu’elle dispose de plans d’intervention efficaces. Le gouvernement du Canada est chargé de protéger l’intérêt du public.

En vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) (LCPE (1999)), Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a le mandat de donner des conseils concernant la prévention des accidents aux installations fixes qui fabriquent, entreposent, utilisent ou éliminent des substances toxiques ou d’autres matières dangereuses. À cette fin, le Programme des urgences environnementales élabore des règlements et veille activement à leur respect en fournissant les conseils et les outils nécessaires aux parties réglementées et aux autres parties prenantes sur l’évaluation des risques, mais aussi des orientations sur la gestion de la sécurité opérationnelle et la planification des interventions en cas d’urgence environnementale.

Le Programme des urgences environnementales offre également des conseils éclairés pendant le processus d’évaluation environnementale des grands projets de développement pour renforcer les mesures d’atténuation visant à prévenir les accidents et à améliorer les plans d’intervention d’urgence afin d’agir rapidement et efficacement en cas d’accident.

Le Programme des urgences environnementales travaille en étroite collaboration avec nos partenaires internationaux, comme l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OECD), le Conseil de l’Arctique (CA) et avec les gouvernements étrangers, dont la Chine, afin d’élargir et de partager ses connaissances.

Date de modification :