Substance Risk Evaluation for Determining Environmental Emergency Planning under the Environmental Emergency Regulations Set under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999)

Nitric acid
(CAS No. 7697-37-2)

Risk Evaluation Conclusion:

  • Threshold Quantity of 3 tonnes (minimum concentration 0.1% and pH ≤ 2) due to corrosiveness
  • Is a candidate for the Environmental Emergency Regulations

1.0 Introduction

The Environmental Emergency Regulations, developed under Part 8 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, CEPA), 1999 (Government of Canada, 2011) establishes a list of substances for which fixed facilities must notify Environment Canada that they store or use the substance on-site, by providing notices to Environment Canada, reporting when the substance is released into the environment, and developing an environmental emergency plan (E2 plan) for each substance stored or used at a fixed facility at or above specified threshold quantities. 

To determine if a substance is a candidate to be added to the Environmental Emergency Regulations, Environment Canada has developed a risk evaluation methodology based on the following hazard categories:

  • Physical: flammable and combustible or oxidizing substances, or those having a potential to cause vapour cloud explosion or pool fires.
  • Human Health: substances that are toxic by inhalation, are carcinogenic, or are corrosive.
  • Environmental Health: substances that are: corrosive, persistent, bioaccumulative, or aquatically toxic.

For more information on the methodology for setting threshold quantities in the Environmental Emergency Regulations, please refer to Summary of Risk Evaluation Framework for Determining Quantity Thresholds and Concentrations for Substances under the Environmental Emergency Regulations.

Nitric acid (CAS No. 7697-37-2) was selected for risk evaluation because it is a substance that meets the criteria for corrosive substances as defined by OECD (OECD, 2001) that, if spilled, could be immediately harmful to humans and/or the environment.

Following the risk evaluation, Environment Canada recommends that this substance be proposed for addition to Schedule 1 of the Environmental Emergency Regulations at a threshold quantity of 3 tonnes at a minimum concentration of 0.1% and at a pH ≤ 2.

2.0 Summary of the Risk Evaluation

2.1 Physical Hazard: Flammable, Combustible or Oxidizing Substances

Because nitric acid does not have an identified flash point (no flash point data were available during the data gathering process) and has a boiling point of 106.8°C, this substance does not have the possibility of a vapour cloud explosion.

Therefore, no threshold is set for this substance as a result of its potential for explosivity or combustibility.

2.2 Physical Hazard: Potential for Pool Fires

Nitric acid is not capable of causing a pool fire.

2.3 Human Health Hazard: Inhalation Toxicity

Because nitric acid has a vapour pressure greater than 10 mmHg (1.33 kPa) at 25°C (Perry’s, 2008), the substance has sufficient volatility to constitute an inhalation danger. Considering an Acute Exposure Guideline Level (AEGL) of 30 ppm (AEGL, 2013) the threshold quantity for this substance is determined to be 6.8 tonnes for the inhalation toxicity, which is exactly what the current threshold states.

2.4 Human Health Hazard: Carcinogenicity

Because nitric acid is not classified in any group of International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC, 2014) or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (2005), and because the substance does not have a half-life longer than five years in any medium, no threshold is set for the carcinogenicity of this substance.

2.5 Human and Environmental Health Hazard: Corrosive Substances

The substance has a measured pH equal to or less than 2, therefore a threshold of 3 tonnes is set for this substance.

2.6 Environmental Health Hazard: Persistent, Bioaccumulative, or Aquatically Toxic

Lethal concentration

This methodology was not used because pH ≤ 2 or pH ≥ 11.5 are considered corrosive to aquatic life.

Persistence

Nitric acid is classified as being practically non-persistent in water according to our risk evaluation methodology (Environment Canada, 2015).

Bioaccumulation

Nitric acid is practically non-bioaccumulative according to our risk evaluation methodology (Environment Canada, 2015).

2.7 Assigned Threshold

Following the risk evaluation methodology developed under section 200 of CEPA 1999, the categories (flammability, combustibility, oxidizers, inhalation toxicity, aquatic toxicity, carcinogenicity, corrosiveness, pool fires) having the lowest scientific threshold will be compared against other risk management considerations. For example, the threshold will be compared to other provincial and federal legislation or voluntary programs that may already provide adequate management of the risk from an environmental emergency. Proposed thresholds may also be modified based on policy and other considerations as assessed during the public consultation period. For more information regarding the determination of thresholds, please refer to the Implementation Guidelines for the Environmental Emergency Regulations 2011 (Environment Canada, 2011).

Other Considerations

Before the preliminary consultations, the corrosives were set at 0.22 tonnes. After preliminary consultation, the proposed threshold for strong acids and bases has been increased to 3 tonnes with a concentration set at 0.1%.  The new proposed threshold is set to 3 tonnes for the following reasons:

  • The concentration at 0.1% will result in a pH ≤ 2 or pH ≥ 11.5 for strong bases or acids.
  • The new threshold has been harmonized with the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations (TDG) for their Emergency Response Assistance Plan (ERAP) index of 3,000 liters or approximately 3 tonnes (Transport Canada, 2008).
  • According to the National Enforcement and Emergencies Management Information System and Intelligence System (NEMISIS) database, hydrochloric acid and sulphuric acid were both on record as having a “moderate” impact on air, land and fresh water after a spill of 3 tonnes. One spill of sulfuric acid was identified as having a “major” impact at 4.5 tonnes.

A “moderate” classification in NEMISIS has some of the following characteristics: there is a risk to endangered or threatened species or their habitat, or a significant life threatening risk to other wildlife; the incident causes significant disruption of public services or property damage and community health is or will be threatened; impacts of the incident on the environment are significant (e.g. fish kill) or not easily identifiable (e.g. requires further investigation).

This quantity for spills of 3 tonnes in NEMISIS is also the same as the quantity recommended by TDG for their ERAP for sulphuric acid, nitric acid, hydrobromic acid and perchloric acid (Environment Canada, 2015).

  • The proposed threshold at 3 tonnes has been extended for bases as well.

Findings

A proposed threshold of 3 tonnes with a minimum concentration of 0.1% and at a pH of ≤ 2 is assigned for nitric acid based on its assessed corrosiveness. The threshold quantity and its respective concentration will not be finalized until after public consultation.

3.0 Conclusion

Information concerning the quantities of nitric acid (CAS No. 7697-37-2) in use in Canada indicates that the substance exists in commerce. Following the risk evaluation of nitric acid and taking into consideration the quantities in use in Canada, Environment Canada recommends that this substance be proposed for addition to Schedule 1 of the Environmental Emergency Regulations under CEPA 1999 at a threshold quantity of 3 tonnes at a minimum concentration of 0.1% and at a pH of ≤ 2.

When doing the emergency planning of a substance, it is important to take into consideration not only the most stringent assigned threshold quantity, but all of the other higher-threshold quantities that are noted in association with this substance. Another notable threshold of concern also determined for this substance is: 6.8 tonnes for inhalation at 80% concentration.

Even if the quantity of a substance in use is below the threshold quantity indicated in the Environmental Emergency Regulations, Environment Canada recommends that emergency planning be applied to this substance in order to minimize, or prevent, any impacts on humans or the environment in the event of a release of the substance.

4.0 References

AEGL (Acute Exposure Guideline Levels). 2013. Nitric Acid. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Environment Canada. 2011. Implementation Guidelines for the Environmental Emergency Regulations 2011.

Environment Canada. 2015. Summary of Risk Evaluation Framework for Determining Quantity Thresholds and Concentrations for Substances under the Environmental Emergency Regulations set under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Environment Canada.

Government of Canada. 2011. Environmental Emergency Regulations, Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. Environment Canada. Registered on December 8, 2011.

IARC (International Agency for Research on Cancer). 2014. IARC Monographs Database on Cancer Risks to Humans. International Agency for Research on Cancer, World Health Organization.

OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). 2001. Environmental Directorate, Joint Meeting of the Chemicals Committee and the Working Party on Chemicals, Pesticides and Biotechnology, ENV/JM/MONO(2001)6.

Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, 8th Edition, McGraw-Hill, 2008.

U.S. EPA (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency). 2005. Guidelines for Carcinogen Risk Assessment. EPA/630/P-03/001F. Risk Assessment Forum. Washington (DC).

5.0 Further Reading

Ketcheson K, Shrives J. 2010. Comparison of Threshold Quantities for Substances with Final AEGL-2 and IDLH Values under CEPA’s Environmental Emergency Regulations. In: Proceedings of the Thirty-third Arctic and Marine Oilspill Program Technical Seminar on Environmental Contamination and Response. Environment Canada: Ottawa (ON). pp. 843-861.

U.S. EPA (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency). 1994. List of Regulated Toxic and Flammable Substances and Thresholds for Accidental Release Prevention. Federal Register, 59(20). Document Number 94-1556. 31. Washington (DC).

Current as of June 21st, 2016

Date modified:

Évaluation du risque d'une substance visant à déterminer un plan d'urgence environnementale aux termes du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales pris en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]

Acide nitrique
(No CAS 7697-37-2)

Conclusion de l'évaluation du risque

  • Quantité seuil de 3 tonnes (concentration minimale de 0,1% et à pH ≤ 2) en raison d'une corrosivité
  • Est une substance candidate devant être ajoutée au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales

1.0 Introduction

Le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, créé en vertu de la partie 8 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (gouvernement du Canada, 2011), dresse une liste des substances pour lesquelles les installations fixes doivent aviser Environnement Canada du fait qu'elles les entreposent ou les utilisent sur les lieux, et ce, en transmettant des avis au Ministère qui précisent le moment où la substance est rejetée dans l'environnement et en établissant un plan d'urgence environnementale (plan UE) pour chaque substance entreposée ou utilisée dans une installation fixe qui atteint ou dépasse la quantité seuil précisée.

Pour déterminer si une substance devrait faire l'objet d'un ajout au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, Environnement Canada a élaboré une méthode d'évaluation du risque en se fondant sur les catégories de danger suivantes :

  • Physique : substances inflammables et combustibles ou comburantes, ou celles pouvant causer une explosion de nuages de vapeur ou des feux en nappe.
  • Santé humaine : substances dont l'inhalation est toxique, substances cancérogènes ou corrosives.
  • Santé environnementale : substances corrosives, persistantes, bioaccumulables ou toxiques pour le milieu aquatique.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la méthode d'établissement des quantités seuils dans le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, consultez le Résumé du cadre d'évaluation des risques pour la détermination des seuils de quantité et les concentrations pour les substances conformément au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales.

L’acide nitrique (No CAS 7697-37-2) fera l'objet d'une évaluation du risque, car il s'agit d'une substance conforme aux critères pour les substances corrosives comme le définit l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE, 2001) pouvant avoir un effet nocif immédiat sur les humains ou l'environnement dans le cas d'un déversement.

À la suite de l'évaluation du risque, Environnement Canada recommande que cette substance soit ajoutée à l'annexe 1 du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales à une quantité seuil de 3 tonnes à une concentration minimale de 0,1% et à un pH ≤ 2.

2.0 Résumé de l'évaluation du risque

2.1 Danger physique : inflammabilité et combustibilité ou comburants

Étant donné que l’acide nitrique ne possède pas de point éclair précis (aucune donnée sur le point éclair n'était disponible pendant le processus de collecte de renseignements) et présente un point d'ébullition de 106.8°C, cette substance ne peut pas provoquer une explosion de nuages de vapeur.

Par conséquent, aucune quantité seuil n'est établie pour cette substance en raison de son potentiel d'inflammabilité ou de combustibilité.

2.2 Danger physique : potentiel de feux en nappe

L’acide nitrique n'est pas en mesure de provoquer un feu en nappe.

2.3 Danger pour la santé humaine : toxicité par inhalation

Étant donné que l’acide nitrique possède une pression de vapeur supérieure à 10 mm Hg (1.33 kPa) à une température de 25°C (Perry’s, 2008), la volatilité de la substance est suffisante pour représenter un danger par inhalation. Avec une concentration des limites d'exposition aiguë recommandées (AEGL) de 30 ppm (AEGL, 2013), la quantité seuil pour cette substance devrait être de 6,8 tonnes pour la toxicité par inhalation, ce qui représente exactement ce que la quantité seuil actuelle spécifie.

2.4 Danger pour la santé humaine : cancérogénicité

Étant donné que l’acide nitrique n'est pas classé dans un groupe du Centre international de recherche sur le cancer et de l'U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, et puisque la substance n'a pas une demi-vie supérieure à cinq ans dans tout milieu, aucun seuil est fixé pour la cancérogénicité de cette substance.

2.5 Danger pour la santé humaine et l'environnement : substances corrosives

La substance a un pH mesuré égal ou inférieur à 2, alors le seuil de 3 tonnes est établi.

2.6 Danger pour la santé environnementale : substances persistantes, bioaccumulables ou toxiques pour le milieu aquatique

Concentration létale

Cette méthode n'a pas été utilisée car le pH égal ou inférieur à 2, ou égal ou supérieur à 11,5 est considéré comme étant corrosif pour la vie des organismes aquatiques.

Persistance

L’acide nitrique est classé comme étant une substance pratiquement non persistante dans l'eau selon notre méthode d'évaluation du risque (Environnement Canada, 2015).

Bioaccumulation

L’acide nitrique est considéré comme étant pratiquement non bioaccumulable selon notre méthode d'évaluation du risque (Environnement Canada, 2015).

2.7 Seuil attribué

Suivant la méthode d'évaluation du risque élaborée en vertu de l'article 200 de la LCPE (1999), les catégories (inflammabilité, combustibilité, comburants, toxicité par inhalation, toxicité en milieu aquatique, cancérogénicité, corrosivité, feux en nappe) présentant le seuil scientifique le plus faible seront comparées à d'autres facteurs de la gestion du risque. Par exemple, le seuil sera comparé à d'autres lois provinciales et fédérales ou initiatives bénévoles offrant déjà une gestion adéquate du risque découlant d'une urgence environnementale. Les seuils proposés pourraient aussi faire l'objet de modifications selon les politiques et d'autres facteurs. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant la détermination des seuils, se référer aux Lignes directrices pour la mise en application du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales 2011 (Environnement Canada, 2011).

Autres considérations

À la lumière des commentaires reçus, le seuil de quantité minimale proposé pour les acides forts et bases fortes a été révisé à 3 tonnes avec une concentration fixée à 0,1 %. Le nouveau seuil de quantité minimale proposé est fixé à 3 tonnes en prenant en considération les raisons suivantes :

  • La concentration à 0,1 % produira une substance ayant un pH égal ou inférieur à 2 ou égal ou supérieur à 11,5.
  • Le nouveau seuil de quantité minimale a été harmonisé avec le Règlement sur les transports des marchandises dangereuses (RTMD) pour leur Plan d'intervention d'urgence (PIU) conformément à l'indice de 3000 litres ou environ 3 tonnes (Transport Canada, 2008).
  • Selon le Système national de renseignements sur l’application de la loi reliée à l’environnement (NEMISIS), l’acide chlorhydrique et l’acide sulphurique ont été enregistrés comme ayant une incidence « modérée » sur l’air, la terre et l’eau douce après un déversement de 3 tonnes. Un déversement d’acide sulphurique a été identifié comme ayant une incidence « majeure » pour un déversement de 4,5 tonnes.

Un classement « modéré » dans NEMISIS possède quelques-unes des caractéristiques suivantes : il existe un risque pour les espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées et leurs habitats, ou un risque de danger de mort important pour les autres espèces animales; l’incident entraîne une perturbation importante des services publics ou des dommages matériels et la santé dans les communautés est ou sera menacée; les incidences de l’incident sur l’environnement sont importantes (p. ex. morts de poisson) ou sont difficilement identifiables (p. ex., nécessite une enquête approfondie).

Ce seuil de quantité minimale pour les rejets de 3 tonnes dans NEMISIS est également semblable au seuil de quantité minimale recommandé par le RTMD pour leurs PIU pour l’acide sulfurique, l'acide nitrique, l'acide bromhydrique et l'acide perchlorique.

  • Le seuil de quantité minimale proposé à 3 tonnes a été élargi également pour les bases.

Constatations

Un seuil proposé de 3 tonnes à une concentration minimale de 0,1% et à un pH ≤ 2 est établi pour l’acide nitrique en fonction de sa corrosivité. La quantité seuil et sa concentration respective seront uniquement mises au point une fois que la consultation publique aura eu lieu.

3.0 Conclusion

Des renseignements sur les quantités l’acide nitrique (No CAS 7697-37-2) utilisées au Canada révèlent que la substance est commercialisée. À la suite de l'évaluation du risque, et compte tenu des facteurs stratégiques l’acide nitrique et des quantités utilisées au Canada, Environnement Canada recommande que cette substance soit ajoutée à l'annexe 1 du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales en vertu de la LCPE (1999) à une quantité seuil de 3 tonnes à une concentration minimale de 0,1% et à un pH ≤ 2. 

Au moment d'établir le plan d'urgence d'une substance, il est important de tenir compte non seulement de la quantité seuil attribuée la plus rigoureuse, mais aussi de toutes les autres quantités seuils plus élevées en lien avec cette substance. Voici d'autres seuils préoccupants importants pour cette substance: 6,8 tonnes pour la toxicité par inhalation à une concentration de 80%.

Même si la quantité d'une substance utilisée est inférieure au seuil indiqué dans le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, Environnement Canada recommande que le plan d'urgence soit appliqué à cette substance afin de réduire au minimum ou de prévenir toute répercussion sur les humains ou l'environnement en cas de rejet de la substance.

4.0 Références

AEGL (Acute Exposure Guideline Levels). 2013. Nitric Acid. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

CIRC (Centre international de recherche sur le cancer). 2014. Monographies du CIRC sur l’Évaluation des Risques de Cancérogénicité pour l’Homme. International Agency for Research on Cancer, World Health Organization.

Environnement Canada. 2011. Lignes directrices pour la mise en application du Règlement sur les urgences environnementales 2011.

Environnement Canada. 2015. Résumé du cadre d'évaluation des risques pour la détermination des seuils de quantité et les concentrations pour les substances conformément au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales établi en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] Environnement Canada.

Gouvernement du Canada. 2011. Règlement sur les urgences environnementales, Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999). Environnement Canada. Enregistré le 8 décembre 2011.

OCDE (Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques). 2001. Direction de l'environnement, réunion conjointe du Chemicals Committee et du Working Party on Chemicals, Pesticides and Biotechnology, ENV/JM/MONO(2001)6.

Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, 8th Edition, McGraw-Hill, 2008.

U.S. EPA (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency). 2005. Guidelines for Carcinogen Risk Assessment. EPA/630/P-03/001F. Risk Assessment Forum. Washington (DC).

5.0 Lectures complémentaires

Ketcheson, K, Shrives, J. 2010. Comparison of Threshold Quantities for Substances with Final AEGL-2 and IDLH Values under CEPA's Environmental Emergency Regulations. In: Proceedings of the Thirty-third Arctic and Marine Oilspill Program Technical Seminar on Environmental Contamination and Response. Ottawa (Ont.) : Environnement Canada. p. 843-861.

U.S. EPA (Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis). 1994. List of Regulated Toxic and Flammable Substances and Thresholds for Accidental Release Prevention. Federal Register 59(20). Document Number 94-1556. 31. Washington (DC).

À jour en date du 21 juin 2016

Date de modification :