Beaufort Regional Coastal Sensitivity Atlas

PDF version – 59.87 MB

Abstract

Environment Canada and other federal agencies have important roles in terms of environmental emergency prevention, preparedness and response. In the face of increasing economic opportunities in Canada’s northern regions, the need to improve our state of preparedness for oil spill-related emergencies, in particular, is critical. This version of the Beaufort Regional Coastal Sensitivity Atlas is an update of the information provided in the Arctic Environmental Sensitivity Atlas System (AESAS) (2004) and presents an overview of resources that are vulnerable to oil spills. It includes baseline coastal information such as shoreline form, substrate and vegetation type, which is required for operational prioritization and coordination of on-site spill response activities (i.e., SCAT: Shoreline Cleanup and Assessment Technique), as well as sensitive biological resources and sensitive human use resources from both scientific and traditional knowledge sources. The study area includes the coastal area that extends along the mainland from the Yukon/Alaska border at 141°W east through the Mackenzie Delta to the Northwest Territories/Nunavut border at 120°W. The area also includes the entire coast of Banks Island to the north of the mainland, and the East and Middle Channels of the Mackenzie River north of Inuvik.

Acknowledgements

Funding for this atlas was provided by:

  • The Environmental Studies Resesarch Fund administered by Natural Resources Canada
  • Environment Canada’s Landscape Science and Technology Division
  • Environment Canada’s Environmental Emergencies Division

Many thanks to the following communities and organizations whose hospitality, support, and knowledge made this project possible:

  • Communities of  Inuvik, Tuktoyaktuk, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Ulukhaktok and Aklavik
  • Hunters and Trappers Committees
  • Geological Survey of Canada (Steven Solomon, Nicole Couture, Gavin Manson and Dustin Whalen)
  • Canadian Helicopters (pilot: Brian Healy)
  • Aklak Air (fuel delivery)

Data was kindly provided by:

  • Natural Resources Canada (basemap information)
  • SL Ross Environmental Research Ltd. (Ken Trudel)
  • Canadian Wildlife Service (Environment Canada)
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada
  • Joint Secretariat, Inuvialuit Settlement Region (special thanks to Norm Snow for all your support)
  • Prince of Wales Northern  Heritage  Centre, Government of  the Northwest Territories

The eSPACE project (funded by the Canadian Space Agency (GRIP)) and the Atlas were managed by:

  • Jason Duffe, Environment Canada
  • Sonia Laforest, Environment Canada

Field work to support the creation of the shoreline classification was carried out by the following Environment Canada staff:

  • Anne-Marie Demers
  • Valerie Wynja
  • Mélanie Lacelle
  • Sarah Banks
  • Blair Kennedy
  • Jean-Francois Aublet
  • Lyndon Brinkworth

Preparation of data and maps, including digital cartography and technical support, was provided by the following Environment Canada staff:

  • Valerie Wynja
  • Tom Giles
  • Matt Giles
  • Jon Pasher
  • Mike Khoury
  • Andy Murray
  • Bhavana Chaudhary
  • Huili Wang
  • Lisa Koponen

Project Background

The primary objective of this atlas is to provide a synthesis of environmental information relevant to the planning and implementation of oil-spill countermeasures in coastal areas of the Beaufort Sea. This atlas is intended to be used as a link between the environmental characteristics of the region and the practical considerations of providing an effective response to marine oil spills. The atlas is not meant to be a comprehensive oil-spill manual.

In 2009, Environment Canada’s Landscape Science Division and Environmental Emergencies Division initiated a project focused on providing a priori baseline coastal information for the Canadian Arctic in order to support a range of coastal planning activities, including oil-spill response and cleanup efforts. This project, known as "eSPACE" (emergency Spatial Pre-SCAT for Arctic Coastal Ecosystems; SCAT: Shoreline Cleanup and Assessment Technique), carried out detailed shoreline mapping for the Beaufort region along with various other arctic study areas, and developed shoreline characteristic mapping methods based on satellite imagery including Radarsat-2 data. The shoreline type database included in this atlas was collected and generated through the eSPACE project.

Coastal sensitivity mapping is an important step in oil-spill preparedness, response and cleanup efforts, and maps are an essential tool to assist responders during an incident, as they allow priority protection and cleanup sites to be identified and allow responders to plan the best-suited response strategy. In general, sensitive shorelines and ecosystems, protected areas, high biodiversity areas, critical habitats, endangered species, and key natural resources are considered especially sensitive to oil spills because they are of environmental, economic or cultural importance, at risk of coming in contact with spilled oil, and likely to be affected once oiled (Michel, Christopherson and Whiple, 1994).

Oil spills in the Canadian Arctic present many potential problems for local communities, oil-spill responders, regulatory authorities and hydrocarbon industrial operators. The Canadian Arctic shoreline spans more than 162,000 km (DFO, 2013a) and makes up almost three quarters (71%) of the total Canadian coastline. The Beaufort coastline alone comprises more than 7,500 km, which is an enormous area to manage and protect. With expanding industrial activity in the area, including oil exploration and development, mineral development and marine transportation, the potential for spilled oil and other pollutants is increasing significantly. Higher maritime risk is associated with exploration projects in this region in terms of the potential risk of collisions and getting stuck in the ice, even more so with increased traffic from adventurer vessels, research vessels and ships traversing the Northwest Passage (NOAA, 2013). It is also expected that maritime supply traffic, which will navigate through the Mackenzie River Delta and Beaufort Sea, will increase over the next few years. In addition, the harsh climate, lack of services and infrastructure, and high costs make spill response operations a challenge.

This atlas is intended to be used for planning and implementing oil-spill countermeasures during ice-free conditions in coastal areas of the Beaufort Sea. The area is typically covered in sea ice during eight or nine months of the year, and open water season occurs from June through early October (Phillips et al., 2007). There is no opportunity for fresh oil to reach the shoreline from a marine spill while the ocean is frozen; therefore, the information in this atlas is valid during the open water season only.

The Beaufort Regional Coastal Sensitivity Atlas was developed to meet the needs of industry, government and local community groups for a document related to offshore oil field development in the Beaufort Sea (AESAS, 2004). This current version of the atlas is an update of the information provided in the Arctic Environmental Sensitivity Atlas System (AESAS), which was last released in 2004.

This atlas presents comprehensive baseline spatial coastal information, which is required for informed decision making and integrated coastal and ocean management. The information is presented in a concise, graphic form with important supporting text, in order to satisfy a wide variety of perceived user groups, including government scientists, Canadian Coast Guard and industry response teams, policy directors, regulatory agencies, Beaufort Sea community organizations, and land use planners. The environmental and socio-economic information of the Beaufort’s coastal zone can be used for many applications, including informing emergency preparedness, habitat management, environmental assessments and ecosystem conservation. Information contained in the atlas should be supplemented by local knowledge and real-time information in the event of a spill.

The atlas has been updated with the newest and best available information. In cases where no new data were available, data from the 2004 atlas and other sources have been used. Note: This atlas is by no means intended to be an exhaustive biological resource atlas for the region.

Oil-spill cleanup methods are introduced in this atlas. These are intended for use in the decision process as an aid to the selection of appropriate, practical and feasible oil-spill response strategies and techniques. Each oil spill is unique and should be assessed as such. The oil-spill cleanup section is not a technical manual. Technical experts should be consulted to advise on the application of strategies and techniques for local environmental conditions and for the specific type of oil that is spilled.

Formats and Data Presentation

This atlas has been produced in two different formats to maximize accessibility to users in varying situations.

  • A large-format hard-copy printed atlas displaying a series of coastal sensitivity maps and general geographic information for the Beaufort region. This product is also available as a digital PDF document.
  • An offline and mobile geospatial digital atlas that is available on a USB stick and allows users full access to shoreline videography and geo-tagged photos, along with biological data and local traditional knowledge for the region.

The printed atlas is a large-format product that provides users with large maps. The digital atlas contains the same information and has the added capacity to turn information on and off as required.

The printed atlas is organized in the following manner. The Introduction has been organized to present an overview of the Beaufort region. A series of maps describes the geography, physiography, bathymetry, coastal processes, physical oceanography and human use in the region. Following this, information on the development of the shoreline classification and the Shoreline Cleanup and Assessment Technique (SCAT) is presented. This section of the atlas includes information on the coastal zones that is of interest in shoreline cleanup, the collection of video and ground data, and the classification of the shoreline type. The processes used for collecting data and the development of an Environmental Sensitivity Index (ESI) are described, including how the shoreline type classification was converted into the ESI.

Information on available response options used during cleanup and a brief overview of appropriate cleanup techniques for each physical shoreline type are presented along with a description of how oil behaves when it contacts different substrates.

A detailed series of shoreline sensitivity maps, which include sensitivity rankings, shoreline species and resource use (human use), makes up the bulk of the atlas. This series of maps presents the Beaufort coast at a mapping scale of 1:100,000; the Mackenzie Delta is displayed at a larger scale (1:50,000) to properly show the detail in this region.

Date modified:

Atlas des zones côtières sensibles de la région de Beaufort

(PDF), 60,56 Mo

Resumé

Environnement Canada et d’autres organismes fédéraux ont un rôle important à jouer en termes de prévention, de préparation, et de réponse lors d’urgences environnementales. Face à l’augmentation des possibilités économiques dans les régions nordiques du Canada, la nécessité d’améliorer notre état de préparation aux situations d’urgence liées à des déversements d’hydrocarbures en particulier, est critique. Cette version de l’Atlas des zones côtières sensibles de la région de Beaufort est une mise à jour des informations fournies dans l’Atlas de sensibilité environnementale de l’Arctique (AESAS, 2004) et donne un aperçu des ressources qui sont vulnérables aux déversements d’hydrocarbures. L’Atlas comprend des informations côtières de base telles que : le type de rivage, le substrat, et le type de végétation qui est nécessaire pour établir les priorités opérationnelles et la coordination des activités d’intervention lors de déversements (c’est-à-dire TERR, Technique d’évaluation et de restauration des rives), ainsi que les ressources biologiques sensibles et les ressources socio-économique sensibles provenant à la fois de connaissances scientifiques et traditionnelles. La zone d’étude comprend la zone côtière qui s’étend le long de la partie continentale de la frontière Yukon / Alaska à 141 °O, à travers le delta du Mackenzie jusqu’à la frontière des Territoires du Nord-Ouest/ Nunavut à 120 °O. La zone comprend également toute la côte de l’île Banks au nord des terres, et les canaux ’East’ et ’Middle’ du fleuve Mackenzie au nord d’Inuvik.

Remerciements

Cet atlas a été réalisé grâce à la contribution financière des partenaires suivants :

  • Les Fonds pour l’étude de l’environnement gérés par Ressources naturelles Canada
  • La Division des sciences et de la technologie du paysage d’Environnement Canada
  • La Division des urgences environnementales d’Environnement Canada

Un grand merci aux collectivités et aux organisations suivantes dont l’hospitalité, le soutien, et leurs connaissances ont rendu ce projet possible :

  • Les collectivités d’Inuvik, de Tuktoyaktuk, de Paulatuk, de Sachs Harbour, d’Ulukhaktok et d’Aklavik
  • Les comités de chasseurs et de trappeurs
  • La Commission géologique du Canada (Steven Solomon, Nicole Couture, Gavin Manson et Dustin Whalen)
  • Canadian Helicopters (pilote: Brian Healy)
  • Aklak Air (livraison de carburant)

Les données ont été généreusement fournies par :

  • Ressources naturelles Canada (données cartographiques de base)
  • Service canadien de la faune (Environnement Canada)
  • Pêches et Océans Canada
  • SL Ross Environmental Research Ltd. (Ken Trudel)
  • Joint Secretariat – Inuvialuit Settlement Region (Nous remercions tout particulièrement Norm Snow pour votre appui.)
  • Centre du patrimoine septentrional du Prince de Galles, gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest


Le projet eSPACE (financé par L’Agence spatiale canadienne (IGOT)) et l’atlas ont été gérés par :

  • Jason Duffe, Environnement Canada
  • Sonia Laforest, Environnement Canada

Le travail sur le terrain pour appuyer la création de la classification du littoral a été mené par le personnel d’Environnement Canada suivant :

  • Anne-Marie Demers
  • Valerie Wynja
  • Mélanie Lacelle
  • Sarah Banks
  • Blair Kennedy
  • Jean-Francois Aublet
  • Lyndon Brinkworth

Les données et les cartes (y compris la cartographie numérique et l’aide technique) ont été fournies par le personnel d’Environnement Canada suivant :

  • Valerie Wynja
  • Tom Giles
  • Matt Giles
  • Jon Pasher
  • Mike Khoury
  • Andy Murray
  • Bhavana Chaudhary
  • Huili Wang
  • Lisa Koponen

Contexte du projet

Le principal objectif de cet atlas est de fournir une synthèse de l’information en matière d’environnement liée à la planification et à la mise en œuvre de mesures de prévention des déversements de pétrole dans les zones côtières de la mer de Beaufort. Cet atlas vise à établir un lien entre les caractéristiques environnementales de la région et les considérations d’ordre pratique qui sous-tendent une réponse efficace en cas de déversement de pétrole en mer. Il ne se veut pas un manuel exhaustif relatif aux déversements de pétrole.

En 2009, la Division des sciences et de la technologie du paysage et la Division des urgences environnementales d’Environnement Canada ont lancé un projet visant à fournir des renseignements de base sur le littoral arctique canadien, dans le but d’appuyer un éventail d’activités de planification côtière, y compris les mesures d’intervention en cas de déversement de pétrole et les activités de nettoyage. Ce projet, connu sous le nom de «eSPACE» (emergency Spatial Pre-SCAT for Arctic Coastal Ecosystems; SCAT, acronyme anglais pour « Shoreline Cleanup and Assessment Technique ») a permis non seulement de réaliser une cartographie détaillée du littoral pour la région de la mer de Beaufort et diverses autres zones d’étude arctiques, mais aussi de mettre au point des méthodes de cartographie des caractéristiques du littoral d’après des images satellites (notamment les données du satellite RADARSAT-2). La base de données des types de littoral incluse dans cet atlas a été rassemblée et générée dans le cadre du projet eSPACE.

La cartographie des côtes sensibles sur le plan environnemental représente une étape importante dans les efforts de préparation, d’intervention et de nettoyage encas de déversement de pétrole. Les cartes ainsi créées sont un outil essentiel pour aider les intervenants lors d’un incident, étant donné qu’elles aident à repérer les sites à protéger et à nettoyer en priorité tout en permettant aux intervenants de planifier la stratégie d’intervention la mieux adaptée. En général, on considère que les littoraux et les écosystèmes sensibles, les zones protégées, les zones de forte biodiversité, les habitats essentiels, les espèces en voie de disparition et les ressources naturelles clés sont particulièrement sensibles aux déversements de pétrole, car ils sont importants sur le plan environnemental, économique ou culturel, ils risquent d’entrer en contact avec du pétrole déversé et ils sont susceptibles d’être altérés une fois recouverts de pétrole (Michel, Christopherson et Whiple, 1994).

Les déversements de pétrole dans l’Arctique canadien présentent de nombreux problèmes potentiels pour les collectivités locales, les intervenants en cas de déversement de pétrole, les autorités réglementaires et les exploitants industriels d’hydrocarbures. Le littoral arctique canadien s’étend sur plus de 162 000 km (Pêches et Océans Canada, 2013a) et représente près des trois quarts (71 %) du littoral canadien. Le littoral de la mer de Beaufort couvre à lui seul plus de 7 500 km, ce qui est une zone énorme à gérer et à protéger. Avec l’expansion de l’activité industrielle dans la région (y compris l’exploration et l’exploitation pétrolières, l’exploitation minière et le transport maritime), la possibilité d’un déversement de pétrole et d’autres polluants augmente de façon importante. Les projets d’exploration dans cette région comprennent des risques maritimes plus élevés (notamment le risque de collisions et le risque derester coincé dans la glace), d’autant plus qu’on observe une augmentation de la circulation des navires de tourisme d’aventure, des navires de recherche et des navires traversant le passage du Nord-Ouest (NOAA, 2013). On s’attend également à ce que la circulation maritime liée à l’approvisionnement, qui passera par le delta du fleuve Mackenzie et la mer de Beaufort, augmente au cours des prochaines années. En outre, la rigueur du climat, le manque de services et d’infrastructures et les coûts élevés rendent difficile la mise en œuvre de mesures d’intervention en cas de déversement.

Cet atlas devrait être utilisé aux fins de planification et de mise en œuvre de mesures de prévention des déversements de pétrole dans les régions côtières de la mer de Beaufort, dans des conditions sans glace. Cette zone est généralement recouverte de glace de mer pendant huit ou neuf mois par an, et la saison des eaux libres s’étale de juin à début octobre (Phillips et al., 2007). Dans la mesure où il n’y a aucune possibilité que le brut frais déversé en mer atteigne le littoral alors que l’océan est gelé, les renseignements de cet atlas ne sont valables que pour la saison des eaux libres.

L’Atlas régional de sensibilité des zones côtières de la mer de Beaufort a été créé pour offrir à l’industrie, aux gouvernements et aux groupes communautaires locaux un document traitant sur la mise en valeur de champs pétroliers dans la mer de Beaufort (AESAS, 2004). La version actuelle de l’atlas est une mise à jour des renseignements fournis dans l’Arctic Environmental Sensitivity Atlas System (système atlas de la sensibilité environnementale dans l’Arctique; AESAS), dont la dernière parution date de 2004.

Cet atlas comprend des renseignements spatiaux exhaustifs de base sur les littoraux, qui sont nécessaires pour prendre des décisions éclairées et gérer de façon intégrée les littoraux et les océans. L’information est présentée de façon concise sous forme de graphique accompagné d’un texte explicatif important, afin de satisfaire une grande diversité de groupes d’utilisateurs perçus (comme les scientifiques du gouvernement, les équipes d’intervention de la Garde côtière canadienne et de l’industrie, les directeurs de politiques, les organismes de réglementation, les organismes communautaires de la mer de Beaufort et les planificateurs de l’utilisation des terres). Les renseignements environnementaux et socioéconomiques sur la zone côtière de la mer de Beaufort peuvent être utilisés pour de nombreuses applications, y compris pour la préparation en cas d’urgence, la gestion de l’habitat, les évaluations environnementales et la conservation des écosystèmes. Les renseignements contenus dans l’atlas devraient être complétés par des connaissances locales et des informations en temps réel en cas de déversement.

L’atlas a été mis à jour avec les meilleurs renseignements alors disponibles. Lorsqu’aucune nouvelle donnée n’était disponible, on a utilisé les données provenant de l’atlas de 2004 et d’autres sources. Remarque : Cet atlas n’est en aucun cas destiné à être un atlas exhaustif des ressources biologiques de la région.

Des méthodes de nettoyage des déversements de pétrole sont présentées dans cet atlas. Dans le cadre d’un processus décisionnel, elles sont censées aider à choisir des stratégies et des techniques d’intervention en cas de déversement de pétrole qui soient appropriées, pratiques et réalisables. Chaque déversement de pétrole est unique et doit être évalué en conséquence. La section relative au nettoyage des déversements de pétrole n’est pas un manuel technique. Il faut consulter des experts techniques pour obtenir un avis sur la mise en œuvre de stratégies et de techniques adaptées aux conditions environnementales locales et au type de pétrole déversé.

Formats et présentation des données

Cet atlas a été réalisé en deux formats différents afin d’optimiser l’accessibilité pour les utilisateurs dans diverses situations.

  • Un atlas grand format imprimé sur papier présente une série de cartes de sensibilité des côtes ainsi que des renseignements géographiques généraux sur la région de la mer de Beaufort. Ce produit est également disponible en tant que document numérique au format PDF.
  • Un atlas géospatial numérique, mobile et hors ligne, est disponible sur une clé USB. Il offre aux utilisateurs un accès complet à des photos géomarquées et à des vidéos du littoral, ainsi qu’à des données biologiques et à des connaissances traditionnelles locales sur la région.

L’atlas imprimé est un produit grand format qui offre aux utilisateurs de grandes cartes. L’atlas numérique contient les mêmes renseignements, mais permet d’activer ou de désactiver l’affichage des renseignements selon les besoins.

L’atlas imprimé est organisé de la façon suivante : L’introduction a été organisée de façon à donner un aperçu de la région de la mer de Beaufort. Une série de cartes décrivent la géographie, la géographie physique, la bathymétrie, les processus côtiers, l’océanographie physique et la présence humaine dans la région. Ces cartes sont suivies de renseignements sur l’élaboration de la classification du littoral et la technique d’évaluation et de restauration des rives (TERR). Cette section de l’atlas comprend des renseignements sur les zones côtières d’intérêt pour le nettoyage du littoral, la collecte de données vidéo et de terrain et la classification du type de littoral. Les procédés utilisés pour recueillir des données et élaborer l’indice de sensibilité environnementale (ISE) y sont décrits (notamment la façon dont la classification du type de littoral a été convertie dans l’ISE).

Les interventions possibles lors du nettoyage, ainsi qu’une vue générale des techniques appropriées de nettoyage pour chaque type physique de littoral, sont présentées avec une description de la façon dont le pétrole se comporte lorsqu’il entre en contact avec différents substrats.

L’essentiel de l’atlas est constitué d’une série détaillée de cartes des litoraux sensibles, qui comprennent le classement de la sensibilité, les espèces du littoral et l’utilisation des ressources (par l’homme). Cette série de cartes présente la côte de la mer de Beaufort à l’échelle cartographique de 1:100,000 ainsi que le delta du Mackenzie à une plus grande échelle (1:50,000) pour illustrer fidèlement les caractéristiques de cette région.

Date de modification :