Site Selection

The Turkey Lakes Watershed (TLW) is 1 of 5 hydrologically "calibrated" basins in eastern Canada that were originally devoted to process-oriented research into "acid rain" effects. They were selected to cover a wide range of climatic and hydrological conditions, deposition magnitudes, and terrain characteristics. The TLW represents moderately sensitive terrain receiving elevated but not maximum levels of acidic deposition. It is located on the Canadian Shield in the Algoma District of central Ontario, approximately 50 km north of Sault Ste. Marie. The TLW is an undisturbed, completely forested basin (mixed hardwoods), 10.5 km2 in area, that contains a chain of 4 lakes (5 distinct lake basins) which ultimately drain into Lake Superior via the Batchawana River. For an Ontario setting, the basin has high relief (~300 m) and receives high levels of precipitation (ca. 1200 mm.yr-1). Between 1982 and 1996, annual bulk deposition of SO4 ranged from 21 to 36 kg.ha-1. More detailed information is provided in the Site Information section.

Map of Turkey Lakes Watershed Basin

Long Description

Location map of the Turkey Lakes Watershed showing the watershed boundary, the chain of four, named lakes within it, the inter-connecting stream that links the lakes and eventually exits the watershed to the northwest, and the headwater streams within the watershed. The map also has an index map showing the location relative to the Great Lakes, i.e., just north of Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario.

Basin View from Southeast (i.e. Looking Northwest)Basin View from Northwest (i.e. Looking Southeast)

Long Description

Three-dimensional representations of the Turkey Lakes Watershed in which the variation in elevation is depicted by a 21-step colour gradation from green, corresponding to the lowest elevation (240 m above mean sea level) to yellow, corresponding to the highest elevation (640 m above mean sea level). There are two basin views, one from the southeast and one from the northwest. The watershed's drainage pattern is particularly apparent in the three-dimensional maps.

Date modified:

Sélection du site d’étude

Le Bassin des Lacs Turkey (BLT) est l'un des cinq bassins hydrologiquement « calibrés » de l'est du Canada initialement destinés à étudier les processus des pluies acides. Ces bassins avaient été choisis en raison de la grande diversité des conditions climatiques et hydrologiques qui les caractérisent, de l'ampleur des dépositions et de certaines caractéristiques topographiques. Le BLT présente un terrain modérément sensible reçevant des concentrations élevées (mais non maximales) de dépositions acides. Il est situé dans le Bouclier canadien, dans le district d'Algoma, au centre de l'Ontario, à environ 50 km au nord de Sault Ste. Marie. Le BLT est un bassin non perturbé et entièrement forestier (forêt mixte). Il mesure 10,5 km2 et contient un réseau de quatre lacs (cinq bassins de lacs distincts). Ces lacs se jettent dans le lac Supérieur par la rivière Batchawana. Comparativement aux autres bassins ontariens, le BLT a un haut relief (~300 m) et reçoit beaucoup de précipitations (environ 1 200 mm.an-1). De 1982 à 1996, le dépôt global annuel de SO4 a varié de 21 à 36 kg.ha-1. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez la section Information sur le site.

Carte de l'etude du bassin

Description longue

La carte du bassin des lacs Turkey (BLT) montre les frontières du bassin, la chaîne de quatre lacs identifiés à l’intérieur, le courant qui relie les lacs et qui ensuite quitte le bassin vers le nord-ouest, et les courants en amont au sein du bassin. La carte comporte également une carte index indiquant la zone des Grands Lacs, c.-à-d. juste au nord de Sault Ste. Marie, en Ontario.

Carte de Bassin vu du Sud-est (i.e. en regardant vers le nord-ouest)Carte de Bassin vu du Nord-ouest (i.e. en regardant vers le sud-est)

Description longue

Des représentations du BLT en trois dimensions dans lesquelles la différence d’altitude est matérialisée grâce à une échelle de 21 couleurs allant du vert, correspondant à l’altitude la plus basse (240 m au-dessus du niveau moyen de la mer), au jaune, correspondant à l’altitude la plus élevée(640 m au-dessus du niveau moyen de la mer). Il y a deux vues du bassin, l’une du sud-est, l’autre du nord-ouest. La configuration du réseau hydrologique du bassin est particulièrement visible sur les cartes en trois dimensions.

Date de modification :