Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Atlantic Ocean Watershed

Map of outline of Canada's Atlantic Ocean watershed.The Atlantic Ocean watershed spreads over all eastern Canada and covers an area of 1.6 million km2.  It is dominated by the Great Lakes, namely Lakes Superior, Erie, Huron, Michigan and Ontario, and the St. Lawrence River, and includes the lakes and the rivers from the Atlantic coast such as the Churchill River (in Labrador) and the Saint John River (in New Brunswick).

Great Lakes

The Great Lakes are a vast shared resource containing a significant portion of the world's freshwater. They are fundamental to the well-being of many Canadians and Americans, as well as sustaining a rich variety of plants and animals. The Great Lakes provide the foundation for billions of dollars in economic activity, and they are a direct source of drinking water for millions of Canadians.

Lake Simcoe

St. Lawrence River

The St. Lawrence River harbours a complex ecosystem whose physical properties vary from upstream to downstream. It includes lakes and freshwater reaches, a long estuary, and a gulf with marine features. The area is home to richly diverse habitats and an equally rich diversity of flora and fauna.

St. Croix River

The St. Croix River watershed covers an area of 1,649 square miles (4,271 km2) along the Canada and United States border between New Brunswick and Maine. The 110-mile (185 km) St. Croix River serves as a natural boundary between Canada and the United States. Because of its strategic location, the river has played a unique role in the history of Maritime Canada and the U.S. and remains important for these reasons today (CHRS 2007).

Saint John River

The Saint John River, which has a rich history of colonization, commercial development, forestry, agriculture, and fishing, is the largest river basin in the Maritimes at 55,100 km2. It’s headwaters originate in both the province of Quebec and the state of Maine and flows 673 km southeast through New Brunswick before reaching the Bay of Fundy.

Churchill River

The Churchill River, the largest river within the Atlantic provinces, drains an area nearly 80,000 km2 with an average discharge of 1,740 m3/sec. The Churchill is an important socio-economic resource as the site for Canada’s second largest hydroelectric facility, Churchill Falls, and assessments are currently underway for adding new hydroelectric facilities further downstream.

Bassin versant de l'océan Atlantique

Carte du contour du bassin versant de l’océan Atlantique du Canada.Le bassin versant de l'océan Atlantique s’étend sur tout l’est du Canada et couvre une superficie de 1,6 million de km2. Il est dominé par le réseau hydrographique des Grands Lacs, incluant les lacs Supérieur, Érié, Huron, Michigan et Ontario ainsi que le fleuve Saint-Laurent. L’ensemble des lacs et rivières des côtes de l’Atlantique, incluant les bassins du fleuve Churchill (au Labrador) et de la rivière Saint John (au Nouveau-Brunswick), fait partie également de ce bassin.

Grands Lacs

Les Grands Lacs sont une vaste ressource partagée qui englobe une grande portion de la quantité totale d’eau douce sur la planète. Ils sont essentiels au bien-être de beaucoup de Canadiens et d’Américains, en plus de permettre à une riche variété de plantes et d’animaux de se développer. Les Grands Lacs fournissent la base sur laquelle reposent des échanges commerciaux de plusieurs milliards de dollars et ils sont une source directe d’eau potable pour des millions de Canadiens.

Lac Simcoe

Fleuve Saint-Laurent

L’écosystème du Saint-Laurent est complexe et ses propriétés physiques changent d’amont en aval. On retrouve des lacs et des tronçons fluviaux, un long estuaire et un golfe aux caractéristiques marines, une diversité d’habitats ainsi qu’une faune et une flore tout aussi diversifiées.

Rivière Sainte-Croix

Le bassin versant de la rivière Sainte-Croix couvre 4 271 km2 le long de la frontière canado-américaine entre le Nouveau Brunswick et le Maine. D'une longueur de 185 km, la rivière Sainte-Croix fait office de frontière naturelle entre le Canada et les États-Unis. À cause de son emplacement stratégique, la rivière a joué un rôle unique dans l'histoire du Canada et des États-Unis.

Fleuve Saint-Jean

Le fleuve Saint Jean, qui a un riche historique de colonisation, développement commercial, foresterie, agriculture, et pêche, est le plus grand bassin fluvial des Maritimes à 55 100km2. Ses cours d’eau supérieurs ont leurs origines dans la province du Québec et dans l’état du Maine et traverse le Nouveau-Brunswick vers le sud-ouest sur près de 673 km avant de se déverser dans la Baie de Fundy.

Fleuve Churchill

Le fleuve Churchill, la plus grande rivière des provinces de l’Atlantique, draine une superficie de près de 80,000 km2 avec un débit moyen de 1,740 m3/sec. Le Churchill constitue une importante ressource socio-économique en tant que site de la seconde plus grande installation hydroélectrique au Canada, Churchill Falls, et des évaluations sont présentement en cours afin d’ajouter de nouvelles installations hydroélectriques plus loin en aval.

 

Date de modification :