Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Acid Rain

In this Section:


Introduction

Acid rain refers to rainwater that, having been contaminated with chemicals introduced into the atmosphere through industrial and automobile emissions, has had its acidity increased beyond that of clean rainwater. Acidity is measured on a pH scale. For example, vinegar, an acid, has a pH of 3, and lemon juice, another acid, has a pH of 2. It is generally accepted that rain with a pH less than 5.3 is acidic. 

Image - The pH scale

Emissions of sulphur and nitrogen oxides from a variety of sources enter the atmosphere everyday. While in the atmosphere, these compounds combine with atmospheric water to form acids. The most common acids formed in this manner are sulphuric acid and nitric acid. When mixed with rain, these acids fall as wet deposition (acid rain). In the absence of rain, the particulate matter slowly settles to the ground as dry deposition. Together, wet and dry deposition of acidic substances is known as acid precipitation.


The Long-Range Transport of Airborne Pollutants

On a daily basis, human activities -- industrial, agricultural and residential -- cause vast quantities of natural and synthetic chemicals to be emitted into the atmosphere. Once released, the substances are dispersed throughout the globe by air currents that know no boundaries -- provincial or international. This phenomenon is known as the long-range transboundary air pollution (LRTAP).

Over time, these emissions expose human beings, wildlife and resources to diverse quantities and mixtures of air pollutants. The resulting harm is difficult to evaluate, since it occurs over varying time frames and over vast areas having differing degrees of sensitivity. The reversibility of the damage is not yet well understood.

Some of the chemicals in the atmosphere are rendered harmless through exposure to sunlight, but others are extremely persistent, surviving and circulating around the earth for as long as months or years. They reach our water systems through dry or wet deposition.

Acid rain, one of the most publicized LRTAP phenomena, originated with emissions from coal-fired generators, non-ferrous metal smelters, petroleum refineries, iron and steel mills, pulp and paper mills, and from motor vehicle exhaust. The released sulphur dioxide and nitrogen oxides are converted to sulphuric and nitric acids in the atmosphere. These acids return to earth through wet sulphate and/or nitrate deposition (including rain, snow and fog).

Acid rain and the aquatic environment The illustration shows that sulphur dioxide and nitrogen oxides produced by factories and vehicle exhaust are carried into the atmosphere. They either fall to the earth as dry deposition or through the process of oxidation and hydrolysis produce sulphuric and nitric acids. These acids either descend to earth as local wet deposition or form into acid clouds, which can travel 1500 kilometres from the source before descending to earth. These acids then enter the aquatic environment through runoff or leaching.

In Canada, the major sources of sulphur dioxide emissions are non-ferrous metal smelters, followed by coal-fired generators. Motor vehicles and, to a lesser extent, coal-fired generators, are the major sources of nitrogen oxides. About half the wet sulphate deposition in eastern Canada is estimated to come from the United States, while about ten percent of the deposition in the northeastern United States comes from Canada.

The damage caused by acid rain deposition occurs in environments that cannot tolerate acidification. Many species of fish, insects, aquatic plants and bacteria develop reproduction difficulties. Some even die. The decline in the population of any of these aquatic organisms affects the food chain. Dwindling populations of insects and small aquatic plants and animals are especially serious because the entire food chain is affected.


How Acid Rain Affects Water Quality

The effects of acid deposition on water quality, although complicated and variable, have been well documented. Impacts from these acidic compounds in the atmosphere can occur directly, by deposition on the water surface, or indirectly, by contact with one or more components of the terrestrial ecosystem before reaching any aquatic system. The interactions of acid deposition with the terrestrial ecosystem, including vegetation, soil, and bedrock, result in chemical alterations of the waters draining these watersheds, eventually altering conditions in the lakes downstream.

The extent of chemical alteration resulting from acidic deposition depends largely on the type and quantity of the soils and the nature of the bedrock material in the watershed, as well as on the amount and duration of the precipitation. Watersheds with soils and bedrock containing substantial quantities of carbonate-containing materials, such as limestone and calcite, are less affected by acidic deposition because of the high acid-neutralizing capacity derived from the dissolution of this carbonate material. Thousands of lakes in Canada, however, lie on the Precambrian Shield. This vast expanse of bedrock possesses few limestone-type materials and, consequently, has only a limited ability to neutralize acidic deposition. Consequently, lakes and rivers in these areas generally show acidification effects, including decreasing pH levels and increasing concentrations of sulphate and certain metals such as aluminum and manganese.

The map below shows the potential of soils and bedrock to reduce the acidity of acid rain. Red shaded areas, almost half of Canada's area, are most sensitive to the effects of acid rain.

The potential of soils and bedrock to reduce the acidity of atmospheric deposition in Canada

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Pluie acide

Dans cette section :


Introduction

La « pluie acide » est de l'eau de pluie contaminée par les substances chimiques que les industries et les automobiles libèrent dans l'atmosphère. Le degré d'acidité de cette eau est supérieur à celui de l'eau de pluie naturelle, et on l'établit d'après l'échelle des pH. Par exemple, le pH du vinaigre, qualifié d'acide, est de 3, tandis que celui du jus de citron, un autre acide, est de 2. En règle générale, on qualifie d'acide l'eau de pluie dont le pH est inférieur à 5,3. 

L'échelle du pH

Les émissions d'oxydes de soufre et d'azote de diverses sources pénètrent quotidiennement dans l'atmosphère à l'état de substances capables de produire des acides. Pendant leur séjour dans l'atmosphère, ces composés se combinent à l'eau qui s'y trouve pour former des acides dont les principaux ainsi constitués sont l'acide sulfurique et l'acide nitrique. Ces acides tombent sous forme de dépôt humide (pluie acide) lorsqu'ils sont mélangés à la pluie. En l'absence de pluie, les particules retombent lentement sur le sol sous forme de dépôt sec. Regroupés, les dépôts secs et humides provenant de substances acides sont connus comme les précipitations acides.


Le transport à grande distance des polluants atmosphériques

Tous les jours, les activités humaines, qu'elles soient industrielles, agricoles ou résidentielles, ont pour résultat le rejet dans l'atmosphère de grandes quantités de produits chimiques naturels et synthétiques. Une fois rejetées, ces substances sont dispersées dans le monde entier grâce à des courants d'air qui ne s'arrêtent pas aux frontières provinciales ou internationales. Ce phénomène est connu sous le nom de pollution atmosphérique transfrontalière à longue distance.

Avec le temps, ces émissions ont pour effet d'exposer les êtres humains, la faune et les ressources à diverses quantités et à différents mélanges de polluants atmosphériques. Les dommages qui s'ensuivent sont difficiles à évaluer puisqu'ils se produisent sur différentes périodes de temps et dans de vastes régions dont le degré de vulnérabilité diffère. On ne comprend pas bien encore le caractère réversible de ce phénomène.

Certains produits chimiques présents dans l'atmosphère deviennent inoffensifs sous l'action du rayonnement solaire, mais d'autres sont extrêmement persistants; ils survivent et circulent autour de la Terre pendant des mois et même des années. Lorsqu'ils se déposent sous forme sèche ou humide, ils pén trent dans nos réseaux hydrographiques.

Les pluies acides, l'un des phénomènes de la pollution atmosphérique transfrontalière à longue distance, dont on a le plus parlé, sont dues aux émissions des centrales au charbon, des fonderies de non-ferreux, des raffineries de pétrole, des usines sidérurgiques, des fabriques de pâtes et papiers ainsi que des véhicules automobiles. Le dioxyde de soufre et les oxydes d'azote qui se dégagent sont transformés en acides sulfurique et nitrique dans l'atmosphère. Ces acides retombent sur la terre et forment des dépôts humides de sulfates ou de nitrates (sous forme de pluie, de neige et de brouillard).

Les pluies acides et le milieu aquatique

Au Canada, les principales sources d'émission de dioxyde de soufre sont les fonderies de non-ferreux, suivies des centrales au charbon. Les véhicules automobiles et, dans une moindre mesure, les centrales au charbon sont les sources les plus importantes d'émission d'oxydes d'azote. On estime qu'environ la moitié des dépôts humides de sulfates dans l'est du Canada proviennent des États-Unis et qu'environ 10 % des dépôts dans le nord-est des États-Unis ont leur origine au Canada.

Les dommages causés par les pluies acides se produisent dans des milieux qui ne peuvent pas tolérer l'acidification. De nombreuses espèces de poissons, d'insectes, de plantes aquatiques et de bactéries se reproduisent difficilement. Il arrive même que plusieurs meurent. La diminution de population pour l'un ou l'autre de ces types d'organismes aquatiques a un effet sur la chaîne alimentaire. La réduction des populations d'insectes, de petites plantes aquatiques et de petits animaux est particulièrement grave, car toute la chaîne alimentaire est touchée.


Comment les dépôts acides modifient la qualité de l'eau

Les effets aussi complexes que variables des dépôts acides sur la qualité de l'eau ont fait l'objet d'une documentation abondante. Les composés acides qui polluent l'atmosphère peuvent avoir des incidences directes sur la qualité de l'eau quand ils se déposent à sa surface, par exemple, ou avoir des incidences indirectes lorsqu'ils passent par un ou plusieurs éléments de l'écosystème terrestre avant de parvenir au système aquatique. L'interaction des dépôts acides avec l'écosystème terrestre, à savoir la végétation, les sols et le substrat rocheux, modifie la composition chimique des eaux drainées par le bassin, et l'état des lacs en aval peut finir par en subir le contrecoup.

Le degré d'altération chimique attribuable aux dépôts acides dépend en grande partie de la composition et de la répartition des sols ainsi que de la nature du substrat rocheux dans le bassin hydrographique, de même que de l'ampleur et de la durée des précipitations. Les bassins dont le sol ou le substrat rocheux renferment beaucoup de carbonates, par exemple de la chaux et de la calcite, seront moins touchés par les dépôts acides, car la dissolution des carbonates neutralisera l'acide. Toutefois, les milliers de lacs qui parsèment le Bouclier canadien, vestige de l'ère précambrienne, reposent sur une vaste étendue rocheuse relativement pauvre en matériaux calcaires et qui, par conséquent, neutralise mal les dépôts acides. Les lacs et les cours d'eau de cette région présentent donc habituellement des signes d'acidification (diminution du pH, hausse de la concentration des sulfates et de certains métaux comme l'aluminium et le manganèse).

La carte ci-dessous indique le potentiel des sols et de la roche en place à réduire l'acidité des dépositions atmosphériques. Les zones de couleur rouge, soit presque la moitié du territoire, sont plus sensibles aux effets de ces pluies.

Le potentiel des sols et de la roche en place à réduire l’acidité des dépositions atmosphériques au Canada