Quarterly Climate Impacts and Outlook, Great Lakes Region, September 2015

Great Lakes Significant Events - for June–August 2015

PDF(1.4MB)

A map of the Great Lakes displaying key highlights from the significant events section

Figure 1

A map of the Great Lakes displaying key highlights from the significant events section. The highlights are as follows: All of the Great Lakes ended the summer with above average water levels. The levels were also higher than this time last year and the highest since the 1990s. A storm event on August 2 brought severe weather to the Great Lakes basin, including gale force winds across the lakes, large hail and tornadoes. June 2015 was the wettest June on record since 1895 for Illinois, Indiana and Ohio. It was also the wettest June on record for Windsor, Ontario.

Even though the basin-wide summer averages for temperature and precipitation were near normal, the Great Lakes basin experienced a range of weather during summer 2015. A wet and cool June was followed by a drier July and sporadic waves of hot and humid weather in July and August. June 2015 was the wettest June on record since 1895 for Illinois, Indiana, and Ohio, the second wettest for Pennsylvania, and third wettest for New York. In Ontario, Windsor recorded its wettest June on record, while Toronto and Kingston recorded their second wettest June.

Water supplies in June for the Lake Erie basin reached a record high and a near record high for the Lake Ontario basin. As a result, lakes Erie and Ontario experienced record water level rises of 28 cm (11 in) and 33 cm (13 in), respectively, in June. This is significant since it is possible for both lakes to begin their seasonal declines in June. Overall, the generally wetter-than-normal conditions, particularly in June, resulted in the water levels on all Great Lakes ending the summer above average, higher than last year and the highest since the 1990s.

A strong storm system moved over the Great Lakes basin on August 2, causing a barrage of severe weather including hail, high winds, heavy rainfall and tornadoes. High winds blew across the Great Lakes, including numerous gale force wind gusts over 61 kmph (38 mph) and also some storm force wind gusts over 87 kmph (54 mph). Despite the high winds, there were no accompanying high waves or seiches on the lakes. This event also produced the largest outbreak of severe storms in Ontario this summer, including four tornadoes, two of which were EF2 tornadoes in the small southwestern Ontario communities of Teviotdale and Lebanon. On the U.S. side, there were several large hail reports in Wisconsin, Michigan, Minnesota and Illinois, one of which was of softball-sized hail (10.8 cm, 4.25 in) in Clear Lake, Michigan.

Regional Climate Overview - for June–August 2015

Great Lakes Water Levels

Despite a dry July, the Superior and Michigan-Huron basins experienced normal to wet conditions in June and August. As a result, Lake Superior ended the quarter 16 cm (6.3 in) above average and the highest for this time of year since 1996, and Lake Michigan-Huron finished the quarter 18 cm (7.1 in) above average and the highest this time of year since 1998. With the Lake Erie basin wetter than normal in June and July but dry in August, Lake Erie water levels at the end of August were 33 cm (13 in) above average, 23 cm (9.1 in) higher than last year and the highest since 1998. The Lake Ontario basin was wetter than normal this summer, which led to Lake Ontario at the end of the quarter 19 cm (7.5 in) above average and the highest this time of year since 1992.

Precipitation

FIGURE 2- map of great lakes, see long desciption

Figure 2

Map of the Great Lakes showing precipitation as the percent of normal for June 2015. Shades of brown show that the northwest sector of the Great Lakes basin received less than normal precipitations. Areas of the south and southeast basin received as much as 200% of normal precipitations.

The Great Lakes basin received 128% of average June precipitation. The Erie and Ontario basins were very wet at 194% of average and 180%, respectively. All lake basins had near-to below-average precipitation in July, with the overall basin seeing 81% of average. In August, all lake basins except Erie had near-average precipitation, with the entire basin seeing 103% of average. The overall basin received 104% of normal summer precipitation, with near-to above-normal precipitation in the individual lake basins. June 2015 shown to display greatest anomalies. Precip. normals based on 1981--2010.

Temperature

Air Temperature

Figure 3

Figure 3

Map of the Great Lakes showing the temperature departures from normal in degrees Celsius for June--August 2015. Light and dark blue shades show that the northern shore of most Great Lakes basin experienced temperatures up to 3°C (5,4°F) below normal.

June temperatures ranged from near normal to 3°C (5.4°F) below normal. In July, most of the region experienced temperatures ranging from near normal to 2°C (3.6°F) below normal. However, the western Lake Superior basin was warmer. August temperatures ranged from 2°C (3.6°F) below normal on the southern side of the basin to 2°C (3.6°F) above normal on the northern side of the basin. Overall, summer temperatures ranged from near normal to 2°C (3.6°F) below normal. Summer 2015 is the seventh season in a row with below-normal temperatures over the basin.

Water Temperature

Great Lakes water temperatures during summer were 0.5°C to 4.7°C (0.9°F to 8.5°F) below the long-term average (1995-2014), with the exception of a few areas. Air temperature normals based on 1981-2010.

Regional Impacts - for June--August 2015

High Water Level Impacts

Above-average water levels on the Great Lakes can bring a mix of negative and positive impacts. The higher water levels reduced the size of beaches around the Great Lakes, increased the risk of shoreline flooding and erosion, and encroached on the property of beachfront owners. On the other hand, the higher water levels may benefit the shipping industry, recreational boating and hydropower generation.

Water Quality

As predicted, the Lake Erie harmful algal bloom is large this year, rivaling the size of the largest bloom in 2011. Heavy rains in June increased river flow, and as a result, the Lake Erie bloom developed farther east than it typically does, closer to the Lake Erie islands. By August, the bloom was predominantly in the western Lake Erie basin but extended into the central basin. The algal bloom in Lake Erie was confirmed to be toxic cyanobacteria, resulting in beach advisories this summer. Fortunately, as of September, the toxins from the bloom have not impacted drinking water supplies like last year. Lake St. Clair (located between Lake Huron and Lake Erie) also experienced a large harmful algal bloom this summer.

Agriculture

The wet conditions in June resulted in limited ability to do fieldwork in June and early July. The June rain also flooded many fields in the areas surrounding the Great Lakes basin, which led to delayed planting, or in some cases, the inability to plant in some locations this year. In addition, persistent wet conditions led to earlier-than-normal crop disease development. After the wet start to the summer, the Great Lakes basin did experience more favourable conditions for crop growth in July and August.

Storm Damage

Damage from the August 2 storm included over 50 000 customers without power in southwestern Ontario and a number of damaged trees, homes and downed power lines. On July 13, a microburst associated with a severe thunderstorm caused significant damage to docks and boats at a marina near Morrisburg in eastern Ontario. Heavy rainfall associated with this storm also created flooding issues along the south shore of Lake Ontario and in Ohio.

Regional Outlook - for October–December 2015

Lake Level Outlook

FIGURE 4

Figure 4

Map of the Great-Lake showing forecasted water level ranges for the winter of 2015-2016. Water level values are listed in Table 1.

Table 1: Forecast for Fall 2015 Water Levels (compared to the long-term average)

LakeForecasted high compared to the long-term average in centimetresForecasted low compared to the long-term average in centimetresForecasted high compared to the long-term average in inchesForecasted low compared to the long-term average in inches
Superior+26 cm above-2 cm below+10.2 in above-0.8 in below
Huron-Michigan+35 cm above+3 cm above+13.8 in above+1.2 in above
Erie+47 cm above+3 cm above+18.5 in above+1.2 in above
Ontario+20 cm above-14 cm below+7.9 in above-5.5 in below

During autumn months, water levels are typically in their seasonal decline as over-lake evaporation increases and water supplies generally decrease. Current projections from October to December show above-average water levels for lakes Superior, Michigan-Huron and Erie unless exceedingly dry conditions are experienced. Lake Ontario is projected to be near average this fall unless exceedingly wet or dry conditions are experienced. Potential range for water levels for Oct-Dec. 2015 compared with the 1918-2014 average.

Temperature & Precipitation Outlook

Environment Canada (EC) and the Climate Prediction Center (CPC) are forecasting a greater chance for above-normal temperatures across the Great Lakes basin for October-December 2015. The CPC is forecasting greater chances for below-normal precipitation across much of the U.S. Great Lakes basin, while EC indicates there is no clear signal at this time whether precipitation will be below, near, or above normal for October-December. Since spring 2015, the equatorial Pacific Ocean has been experiencing warmer-than-average sea surface temperatures, meaning that El Niño is occurring. The seasonal forecast for October-December 2015 is reflecting the fact that El Niño has a greater than 95% chance of continuing through winter 2015-2016, according to the CPC. Based on previous years, El Niño winters tend to be warmer than normal in the Great Lakes basin, with drier than normal conditions in the eastern basin, less snow than usual, and reduced ice cover on the lakes.

The current outlooks can be found through the Climate Prediction Center and Environment Canada.

Great Lakes Region Partners

Environment Canada

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Midwestern Regional Climate Center

Northeast Regional Climate Center

Great Lakes Region State Climatologists

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

National Operational Hydrologic Remote Sensing Center

Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory

NOAA Great Lakes Sea Grant Network

North Central River Forecast Center

Ohio River Forecast Center

Climate Prediction Center

Office for Coastal Management

Great Lakes Integrated Sciences & Assessments

US Army Corps of Engineers, Detroit District

National Integrated Drought Information System

Contact Information

Contact for NOAA:
Molly Woloszyn: mollyw@illinois.edu
Samantha Borisoff: samantha.borisoff@cornell.edu
Contact for Environment Canada:
greatlakes-grandslacs@ec.gc.ca
enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

Bulletin trimestriel des impacts liés au climat et aperçu saisonnier Région des Grands Lacs, Septembre 2015

Événements météorologiques majeurs – Période de juin à août 2015

PDF(1.4Mo)

FIGURE 1

Figure 1

Une carte des Grands Lacs qui montre les points saillants de la section sur les événements majeurs. Voici ces points saillants : À la fin de l’été, les niveaux d’eau de tous les Grands Lacs étaient supérieurs à la moyenne, laquelle était plus élevée qu’à la même période l’an dernier, et la plus élevée depuis les années 1990. Le 2 août, une tempête a causé des conditions météorologiques violentes sur le bassin des Grands Lacs, y compris des rafales de force coup de vent, de la grosse grêle et des tornades. Le mois de juin 2015, est le mois de juin le plus humide à avoir été enregistré en Illinois, en Indiana et en Ohio depuis 1895. Il s’est aussi agi du mois de juin le plus humide à ne jamais avoir été enregistré à Windsor, en Ontario.

Même si les moyennes estivales de températures et de précipitations étaient presque normales à l’échelle du bassin des Grands Lacs, un grand éventail de conditions météorologiques y a été observé au cours de l’été 2015. En effet, juin a été frais et humide et juillet un peu plus sec, avec des vagues de chaleur et d’humidité ici et là en juillet et en août. Le mois de juin a été enregistré comme ayant été le plus humide depuis 1895 en Illinois, en Indiana et en Ohio. Il a aussi été le deuxième et troisième mois de juin le plus humide en Pennsylvanie et à New York, respectivement, pour la même période de référence. En Ontario, Windsor a connu son mois de juin le plus humide jamais enregistré et, à Toronto et à Kingston, il s’agissait du deuxième mois de juin le plus humide jamais enregistré.

En juin, les apports en eau ont atteint un niveau record dans le bassin du Lac Érié et presque un niveau record dans le bassin du Lac Ontario. Par conséquent, des hausses records des niveaux d’eau de 28 cm (11 po) et de 33 cm (13 po) ont été enregistrées dans les lacs Érié et Ontario, respectivement. Cela n’est pas négligeable, étant donné que la baisse saisonnière des niveaux d’eau de ces deux lacs peut débuter en juin. Les conditions plus humides que la normale, particulièrement en juin, ont fait en sorte que la moyenne des niveaux d’eau a été supérieure à la normale estivale dans tous les Grands Lacs, c’est-à-dire plus élevée que l’année dernière, et la plus élevée depuis les années 1990.

Le 2 août, un fort système de tempête s’est déplacé au-dessus du bassin des Grands Lacs, causant une succession de mauvaises conditions météorologiques, comme de la grêle, des vents violents, des pluies abondantes et des tornades. Des vents violents ont soufflé sur les Grands Lacs, y compris de nombreuses rafales de force coup de vent de plus de 61 km/h (38 mi/h) et un certain nombre de rafales de force tempête de plus de 87 km/h (54 mi/h). Malgré ces forts vents, il n’y a pas eu de vagues fortes ni de seiches sur les lacs. Ce système a également généré les tempêtes les plus violentes de l’été en Ontario, y compris quatre tornades. De ce nombre, deux tornades EF2 se sont abattues sur les petites collectivités de Teviotdale et Lebanon, dans le sud de la province. Aux États‑Unis, plusieurs chutes de grosse grêle ont été signalées au Wisconsin, au Michigan, au Minnesota et en Illinois, dont une chute de grêlons de la taille d’une balle de softball (10,8 cm [4,25 po]) à Clear Lake, au Michigan.

Vue d’ensemble du climat régional - juin à août 2015

Niveaux d’eau des Grands Lacs

Malgré un mois de juillet sec, on a observé des conditions normales à humides dans les bassins du lac Supérieur et des lacs Michigan et Huron en juin et en août. Ainsi, à la fin du trimestre, le niveau d’eau du lac Supérieur était 16 cm (6,3 po) au-dessus de la moyenne et le plus élevé pour cette période de l’année depuis 1996. Le niveau d’eau des lacs Michigan et Huron, quant à lui, a terminé le trimestre 18 cm (7,1 po) au-dessus de la moyenne, soit le niveau le plus élevé depuis 1998. Dans le bassin du lac Érié, les mois de juin et de juillet ont été plus humides qu’à la normale, mais le mois d’août a été sec. Par conséquent, à la fin du mois d’août, le niveau d’eau de ce lac était 33 cm (13 po) au-dessus de la moyenne, soit 23 cm (9,1 po) de plus que l’an dernier et le niveau le plus élevé depuis 1998. Dans le bassin du lac Ontario, les conditions ont été plus humides qu’à la normale pendant l’été, de telle sorte que le niveau d’eau du lac Ontario à la fin du trimestre était 19 cm (7,5 po) au-dessus de la moyenne et le plus élevé pour cette période de l’année depuis 1992. Les statistiques sur les niveaux d’eau se fondent sur les données de 1918 à 2014.

Précipitation

FIGURE 2

Figure 2

Une carte des Grands Lacs montrant la différence, en pourcentage entre les précipitations de mars 2015 par rapport à la normale calculée en fonction des données de 1981 à 2010 en pourcentage. Les régions en brun clair et foncé montrent que la portion nord-ouest du basin a reçus moins que les précipitations normales. Certaines zones du sud et sud-est ont reçu jusqu’à 200% des précipitations normales.

Dans l’ensemble, les Grands Lacs ont reçu 128 % des précipitations moyennes pour juin. Les lacs Érié et Ontario ont reçu respectivement 194 % et 180 % des précipitations moyennes pour ce mois. En juillet, les précipitations ont été près de la normale ou inférieure à la normale dans les différents bassins, le total étant de 81 % des précipitations moyennes pour l’ensemble du bassin. En août, les précipitations ont été près de la moyenne dans tous les bassins, sauf dans celui du lac Érié, la moyenne pour l’ensemble du bassin étant de 103 %. Pendant l’été, l’ensemble du bassin a reçu 104 % des précipitations normales, les précipitations ayant été près de la moyenne ou supérieure à celle-ci dans les bassins de chaque lac. Les anomalies les plus importantes ont été relevées au cours du mois de juin. Les valeurs normales des précipitations sont basées sur les données de 1981 à 2010.

Température

Température de l’air

FIGURE 3

Figure 3

Carte des Grands Lacs indiquant les écarts de température (en degrés Celsius) pour mai 2015. Les régions en bleu et en bleu foncé correspondent aux endroits, principalement la rive nord des Grands Lacs, où la température étaient jusqu’à 3 °C (5.4 °F) au-dessous de la normale.

En juin, les températures se sont situées entre des températures presque normales et des températures de 3 °C (5,4 °F) sous la normale. En juillet, les températures se sont situées entre des températures presque normales et des températures de 2 °C (3,6 °F) inférieures à la normale dans presque toute la région. Toutefois, il a fait plus chaud dans la partie ouest du bassin du lac Supérieur. En août, les températures ont varié entre des températures de 2 °C (3,6 °F) sous la normale dans la partie sud du bassin à des températures de 2 °C (3,6 °F) au‑dessus de la normale dans la partie nord du bassin. Dans l’ensemble, les températures estivales se sont situées entre des températures presque normales et des températures de 2 °C (3,6 °F) sous la normale. L’été 2015 est la 7e saison de suite à présenter des températures inférieures à la normale dans l’ensemble du bassin.

Température de l’eau

Au cours de l’été, les températures de l’eau des Grands Lacs se sont situées de 0,5 °C à 4,7 °C (de 0,9 °F à 8,5 °F) au-dessous de la moyenne à long terme (1995-2014), sauf à quelques endroits. Les valeurs normales de la température de l’air et de l’eau sont basées sur les données de 1981 à 2010.

Impacts régionaux- juin à août 2015

Impacts des niveaux d’eau élevés

Les niveaux d’eau supérieurs à la moyenne dans les Grands Lacs s’accompagnent d’un mélange de répercussions positives et négatives. En effet, les niveaux d’eau élevés réduisent la taille des plages qui bordent les Grands Lacs, ce qui accroît le risque d’inondation et d’érosion du rivage, en plus de causer un empiètement sur les terrains des propriétaires riverains. À l’opposé, les niveaux d’eau élevés peuvent être avantageux pour l’industrie du transport, la navigation de plaisance et la production d’hydroélectricité.

Qualité de l’eau

Tel qu’il avait été prévu, la prolifération d’algues nuisibles a été très marquée dans le lac Érié cette année, rivalisant avec la prolifération la plus importante enregistrée en 2011. Les fortes pluies du mois de juin ont fait augmenter le débit dans le cours d’eau, faisant en sorte que la prolifération s’est étendue plus à l’est que d’habitude, à proximité des îles du lac Érié. En août, on retrouvait principalement les algues dans la partie ouest du bassin du lac Érié, mais la prolifération a atteint la partie centrale du bassin. Il a été confirmé que la prolifération d’algues avait entraîné une accumulation de cyanobactéries toxiques dans le lac Érié, ce qui a nécessité la diffusion d’avis de contamination des plages. Heureusement, en date de septembre 2015, les toxines libérées par les algues n’ont pas eu d’effets sur les réserves d’eau potable comme l’année dernière. Une importante prolifération d’algues nuisibles a aussi été observée dans le lac Sainte-Claire (situé entre les lacs Huron et Érié).

Agriculture

Les conditions humides du mois de juin ont limité la possibilité de travailler sur le terrain en juin et en juillet. De plus, les pluies de juin ont inondé de nombreux champs dans les régions à proximité du bassin des Grands Lacs, ce qui a retardé l’ensemencement ou, dans certains cas, empêché l’ensemencement à certains endroits cette année. De plus, en raison de ces conditions humides persistantes, les maladies des cultures sont apparues plus tôt qu’à la normale cette année. Au cours des mois de juillet et d’août, des conditions plus favorables à la croissance des cultures ont été observées

.

Impacts du temps violent

En raison de la tempête du 2 août, plus de 50 000 clients ont été privés d’électricité dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario, un grand nombre d’arbres et de résidences ont été endommagés et des lignes électriques se sont affaissées. Le 13 juillet, une microrafale associée à un orage violent a causé d’importants dommages à des quais et à des navires dans une marina située non loin de Morrisburg, dans l’est de l’Ontario. Les fortes pluies associées à cette tempête ont aussi provoqué des inondations sur la rive sud du lac Ontario et en Ohio.

Aperçu régional - octobre à décembre 2015

Aperçu des niveaux d’eau

FIGURE 4

Figure 4

Carte des Grands-Lacs montrant les fourchettes de niveaux d’eau prévues pour l’hiver 2015-2016. Ce valeurs de niveaux d’eau apparaissent dans le Tableau 1.

Tableau 1 : Prévision des niveaux d’eau à l’automne 2015 (par rapport à la moyenne à long terme)

LacMaximum prévu par rapport à la moyenne à long terme en centimètresMinimum prévu par rapport à la moyenne à long terme en centimètresMaximum prévu par rapport à la moyenne à long terme en poucesMinimum prévu par rapport à la moyenne à long terme en pouces
Supérieur+26 cm au-dessus-2 cm sous+10,2 po. au-dessus-0,8 po. sous
Huron-Michigan+35 cm au-dessus+3 cm au-dessus+13,8 po. au-dessus+1,2 po. au-dessus
Erie+47 cm au-dessus+3 cm au-dessus+18,5 po. au-dessus+1,2 po. au-dessus
Ontario+20 cm au-dessus-14 cm sous+7.9 po. au-dessus-5,5 po. sous

Au cours des mois d’automne, les niveaux d’eau sont habituellement en baisse saisonnière, car l’évaporation au-dessus des lacs augmente et les apports en eau diminuent. Les prévisions actuelles pour la période d’octobre à décembre montrent des niveaux d’eau supérieurs à la moyenne pour les lacs Supérieur, Michigan-Huron et Érié, à moins qu’il y ait des conditions de sécheresse extrême. Le niveau du lac Ontario est censé être près de la moyenne cet automne, à moins de conditions extrêmement humides ou sèches.

Aperçu des températures et des précipitations

Environnement Canada (EC) et le Climate Prediction Center (CPC) prévoient une forte probabilité de températures au-dessus de la normale dans le bassin des Grands Lacs d’octobre à décembre 2015. De plus, le CPC prévoit une plus grande probabilité de précipitations sous la normale dans la portion américaine du bassin des Grands Lacs, sauf dans le secteur ouest du lac Supérieur. De son côté, EC précise qu’à l’heure actuelle, rien n’indique clairement que les précipitations seront en dessous, proche ou au-dessus de la normale d’octobre à décembre. Depuis le printemps 2015, les températures à la surface de la mer dans la région équatoriale de l’océan Pacifique ont été plus élevées qu’à la normale, ce qui indique la présence du courant El Niño. Les prévisions saisonnières pour octobre à décembre tiennent compte du fait que la possibilité qu’El Niño se poursuive pendant l’hiver 2015-2016 s’élève à 95 %, selon le CPC. À la lumière des années passées, les hivers où le courant El Niño est présent ont tendance à être plus chauds qu’à la normale dans le bassin, avec des conditions plus sèches qu’à la normale dans l’est du bassin, moins de neige qu’à l’habitude et une diminution du couvert de glace sur les lacs. Les aperçus à jour peuvent être obtenus auprès du Climate Prediction Center et d’Environnement Canada.

Partenaires région des Grands Lacs


Environnement Canada


Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada


Midwestern Regional Climate Center


Northeast Regional Climate Center


Great Lakes Region State Climatologists


National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration


National Operational Hydrologic Remote Sensing Center


Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory


NOAA Great Lakes Sea Grant Network


North Central River Forecast Center


Ohio River Forecast Center


Climate Prediction Center


Great Lakes Integrated Sciences & Assessments


US Army Corps of Engineers, Detroit District


National Integrated Drought Information System


Great Lakes Water Level Dashboard

Information

Contacts pour la NOAA :
Molly Woloszyn : mollyw@illinois.edu
Samantha Borisoff : samantha.borisoff@cornell.edu
Contacts pour Environnement Canada :
greatlakes-grandslacs@ec.gc.ca
enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :