Funded Projects under Round 1

As part of the first round of funding under the renewed and expanded Lake Simcoe/South-eastern Georgian Bay Clean-Up Fund, $8.6 million will support 26 projects that will help restore and protect the health of the Lake Simcoe and South-eastern Georgian Bay.

Lake Simcoe

Project Title: Adopt-a-Stream Crossing Program
Recipient: Regional Municipality of York
Description: The recipient will stabilize and revegetate stream shoreline areas with native plant species and encourage the community to become stewards of those streams. Educating landowners and others through these actions is also a main component of the program.


Project Title: CNSRVS
Recipient: Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority
Description: The recipient will support projects including retrofitting septic systems, tree planting, improving/retrofitting streams and on-line ponds, stormwater management pond retrofits, managing milk house waste, managing manure, livestock restrictions, controlling cropland erosion, enhancing wildlife habitat, and irrigation water management.


Project Title: Community Stream Steward Program: Farmland Stream Stewardship Initiative
Recipient: Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters
Description: The recipient will work to restore, protect and enhance streams, rivers and adjacent lands by engaging and supporting agricultural landowners. Through outreach, property-specific information and advice, and hands-on implementation of restoration projects and agricultural best management practices, individuals will develop community capacity to be long-term stewards of Ontario’s waterways.


Project Title: Eutrophication Risk Assessment and Adaptive Management Implementation in Lake Simcoe: Integration of the Watershed Processes with the Receiving Water Body
Recipient: University of Toronto Scarborough
Description: The recipient will build on recent watershed modelling research for Lake Simcoe. The project will explore important questions about the aquatic ecosystem in the lake such as connections between phosphorus loadings and receiving water impacts, sediment-water column interactions, and plankton community response. The modelling work will also be linked and synthesized with other models to determine management strategies that have considerable social and economic implications.


Project Title: Identification and Enhancement of Critical Nearshore Aquatic Habitats to Support Species Recovery on Lake Simcoe
Recipient: Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
Description: The recipient will aim to restore three to five critical nearshore habitats through wetland enhancement and spawning area creation. Habitat restoration/enhancement will be combined with species recovery initiatives to support the re-establishment of lost habitat and species to the lake, and support overall biodiversity in the watershed.


Project Title: Lake Simcoe and Southeast Georgian Bay Adopt-a-Stream
Recipient: Ontario Streams
Description: This project will allow volunteer groups to “adopt” a section of stream, river, wetland or riparian area to care for over the long term. Groups will identify potential restoration projects at their sites and will be guided through the process of planning and implementing these projects.


Project Title: Maskinonge River Recovery Project (Phase 2)
Recipient: Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority
Description: The Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority will work with landowners within the Maskinonge River sub-watershed to complete restoration and rehabilitation projects that improve the environmental health of the Maskinonge River and Lake Simcoe.


Project Title: Oro-Medonte Best Management Practices – Phase 2
Recipient: Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority 
Description:
A variety of best management practices will be undertaken to reduce non-point source pollution throughout the sub-watersheds. Projects will include septic system upgrades and repairs, establishment of shoreline buffers, reduction of in-stream barriers to fish migration, stream bank erosion control, and agricultural projects to reduce manure, nutrient and bacterial-laden runoff to local watercourses.


Project Title: ReWilding Lake Simcoe: The People and Nature New Stewardship Initiative
Recipient: Ladies of the Lake Conservation Association
Description: The recipient will deliver 24 on-the-ground restoration projects, as well as research on landowners’ attitudes, citizen science and a systematic assessment of the impact of stewardship practices. Research results will yield a unique set of urban/suburban best practices to improve habits.


Project Title: Scanlon Creeks Restoration Project
Recipient: Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority
Description: This two-phase project will restore aquatic habitat in Scanlon Creek. In this first phase, the recipient will be creating final design plans of the creek and adjacent wetland using natural channel design and bioengineering techniques.


Project Title: Septic Repair/Replacement Program
Recipient: Chippewas of Georgina Island First Nation
Description: This project will involve upgrading and/or replacing eight faulty or failing septic systems. It will also involve hosting two to three septic maintenance workshops in collaboration with Health Canada and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.


South-eastern Georgian Bay

Project Title: Assessing Nutrient Status and Distribution of Algal Growth Along a Gradient of Cottage Development in 10 Sheltered Embayments of Eastern Georgian Bay
Recipient: McMaster University
Description: The recipient will analyze and evaluate 10 separate shoreline embayments in the region to better understand the factors contributing to recurring episodes of nuisance algae blooms. The work will allow for the eventual development of a model for shoreline development that municipal governments can reference as they consider measures to lower phosphorus loading from human activities in embayment areas.


Project Title: Coastal Wetland Invasive Species Removal in South-eastern Georgian Bay
Recipient: Georgian Bay Forever
Description: The recipient will involve the community in an educational and hands-on project that will identify, monitor, log and track the process of eradicating infestations of Phragmites, an invasive species, from wetlands using best practices. Teaching the community to identify the invasive plant and how to take action to minimize impacts on the native plants will establish a culture of stewardship. Geographic Information Systems mapping in the defined area will also be conducted.


Project Title: Enhanced Water Quality Testing Program
Recipient: Bayfield Nares Islanders’ Association
Description: The recipient will engage cottage association members in a water monitoring program that measures phosphorus concentrations in two inlets of Georgian Bay. The project also involves raising awareness among participants and others about how phosphorus and nutrients impact water quality.  


Project Title: Green Ribbon Champion: Engaging Community Coastal Stewardship
Recipient: Lake Huron Centre for Coastal Conservation
Description: This project offers opportunities for residents to engage in stewardship activities that improve water quality, reduce phosphorus loads and improve biodiversity. Through a series of workshops, local residents prepare stewardship plans for their property and become trained to implement dune restoration on their own waterfront. Successful restorations are awarded with “Green Ribbon Champion” recognition.


Project Title: Honey Harbour Love Your Lake Shoreline Stewardship Project
Recipient: The District Municipality of Muskoka
Description: The recipient will develop a stewardship program that will empower shoreline property owners to take positive environmental action to protect south-eastern Georgian Bay. This project will engage the public to assess the health of the Honey Harbour area by identifying community needs, creating lasting partnerships to ensure sustainability and ongoing knowledge transfer, and training members of community groups to continue the program beyond the life of the funding.


Project Title: Improving Tools for Phosphorus-based Management of Harmful Algal Blooms and Related Water Quality Conditions in Eastern Georgian Bay
Recipient: The University of Waterloo
Description: The recipient will develop improved and innovative methods for monitoring phytoplankton variations. This will include responses to phosphorus management, and building improved models for prediction and management of harmful algal blooms in the study area. The improved methods and models will be tested against the new observations.


Project Title: Land Use Effects on Nutrient and Algae in the Middle and Lower Nottawasaga River and the Minesing Wetland
Recipient: McMaster University 
Description: The recipient will conduct a study of changes in nutrients (phosphorus and nitrogen) and algae during low water levels in the middle and lower Nottawasaga River. This work will fill in data gaps identified by the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority. The work is also required to calculate a phosphorus budget for the Nottawasaga watershed.


Project Title: Low Impact Development Modelling Tool Implementation and Training
Recipient: Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority
Description: The recipient will develop an approach for the control of phosphorus in new development areas, develop a phosphorus budget model and manual, and conduct a one-day training workshop to present the importance of low impact development.


Project Title: Sandford Fleming Drive Industrial Park Stormwater Management Facility Retrofit
Recipient: Town of Collingwood
Description: The recipient will complete an innovative retrofit at the stormwater management facility in Collingwood. This retrofit was developed as a collaborative project to reduce discharges of sediment and nutrients from the industrial park into Georgian Bay. 


Project Title: Townline Creek 2013 Assessment Report
Recipient: Blue Mountain Watershed Trust Foundation
Description: The recipient will monitor two streams to identify potential pollution sources and to track changes in stream conditions over time.


Project Title: Wasaga Beach Stewardship and Community Outreach Project
Recipient: Wasaga Beach Provincial Park
Description: This project includes the protection and restoration of beaches and dune structures through stewardship activities. Stewardship projects include dune restoration and shoreline stabilization, invasive species monitoring and control, and shoreline clean-ups.


Lake Simcoe/South-eastern Georgian Bay

Project Title: Agricultural Landscape Locations of Implemented Nutrient Management Planning
Recipient: Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Description: The recipient will be developing and providing a geomatics (site-specific mapping) service to farmers who will be developing and implementing management strategies and plans aimed at reducing phosphorus and nitrogen inputs to the waters of the region. Farmers may also voluntarily contribute information about their specific farming practices to the project to further advance the understanding of their activities on water quality.


Project Title: Evaluation of On-farm Wastewater Treatment Technologies to Decrease Phosphorus Contribution to Surface Water
Recipient: Holland Marsh Growers Association
Description: The recipient will characterize and quantify horticultural wastewater discharge from a variety of on-farm agricultural operations across the entire range of the Lake Simcoe and south-eastern Georgian Bay watersheds. Innovative and alternative treatment technologies and management approaches will be selected, demonstrated and evaluated for their ability to reduce point source phosphorus discharge from horticultural operations. 


Project Title: EnvironMerit: Strengthening Agricultural Riparian Systems
Recipient: Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association
Description: The recipient will target areas with known water quality issues within the watersheds. Best management practices will be supported through this project, with a focus on shoreline restoration, livestock fencing, improved stream crossings, alternative livestock watering systems, erosion control projects and wetland enhancements.


Project Title: Lake Simcoe-Georgian Bay Wetland Collaborative
Recipient: Ducks Unlimited Canada
Description: This project will reduce phosphorus input through the restoration and enhancement of wetlands and their associated uplands across the watersheds. Ten wetland conservation sites will be completed, including the restoration of drained wetlands and the enhancement of degraded habitats through implementation of best management practices that will reduce erosion and nutrient inputs.


Date modified:

Projets financés de la 1ere ronde

Dans le cadre de la premiere ronde de financement du Fonds d’assainissement du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à consentir 8.6 millions de dollars à 26 projets axés sur l’environnement qui visent à améliorer la santé écologique des bassins versants du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne.

Lac Simcoe

Titre du projet : Programme d’adoption d’un cours d’eau traversé par un passage
Bénéficiaire : Municipalité régionale de York
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit stabiliser et revégétaliser les berges d’un cours d’eau au moyen de plantes indigènes et inciter la collectivité à devenir intendante de ce cours d’eau. Une des composantes importantes du programme consiste à informer les propriétaires fonciers et les autres citoyens dans le cadre de ces activités.


Titre du projet : Conservation, réduction des nutriments, réaménagement durable, solutions novatrices et amélioration des installations septiques riveraines (CNSRVS)
Bénéficiaire : Office de protection de la région du lac Simcoe
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit appuyer des projets de mise à niveau des installations septiques, de plantation d’arbres, d’amélioration et de réaménagement des cours d’eau et des étangs artificiels, de réaménagement des bassins de gestion des eaux pluviales, de gestion des déchets de laiterie, de gestion du fumier, de restriction du bétail, de lutte contre l’érosion des terres cultivées, d’amélioration des milieux fauniques et de gestion des eaux d’irrigation.


Titre du projet : Programme d’intendance communautaire des cours d’eau : initiative d’intendance des cours d’eau adjacents à des terres agricoles
Bénéficiaire : Fédération des chasseurs et pêcheurs de l’Ontario
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit restaurer, protéger et mettre en valeur les cours d’eau, les rivières et les terres adjacentes à des terres agricoles, en mobilisant et en appuyant les propriétaires de ces terres. Il doit réaliser des activités de sensibilisation, fournir des informations et des conseils adaptés à chaque propriété et participer à la mise en œuvre des projets de restauration et des pratiques de gestion exemplaires en agriculture, en vue de renforcer la capacité de la collectivité à s’occuper à long terme de l’intendance des cours d’eau de l’Ontario.


Titre du projet : Évaluation des risques d’eutrophisation et mise en œuvre de mesures de gestion adaptative au lac Simcoe : intégration des processus du bassin hydrographique au modèle du plan d’eau récepteur
Bénéficiaire : Université de Toronto à Scarborough
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit s’appuyer sur les récentes recherches de modélisation du bassin hydrographique du lac Simcoe. Le projet vise à étudier les questions importantes touchant les écosystèmes aquatiques du lac, comme les liens entre les charges en phosphore et les eaux réceptrices, les interactions entre les sédiments et la colonne d’eau ainsi que la réaction de la communauté planctonique. Les travaux de modélisation seront aussi liés et synthétisés avec d’autres modèles, pour que les stratégies de gestion ayant des répercussions sociales et économiques considérables puissent être ciblées.


Titre du projet : Délimitation et mise en valeur des milieux aquatiques littoraux essentiels au rétablissement des espèces du lac Simcoe
Bénéficiaire : Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit restaurer trois à cinq milieux littoraux essentiels, en mettant en valeur les milieux humides et en créant des aires de reproduction. La restauration et la mise en valeur des milieux doivent être combinées à des activités de rétablissement des espèces, pour appuyer le rétablissement des milieux détruits, des espèces disparues du lac et de la biodiversité générale du bassin hydrographique.


Titre du projet : Adoptez un cours d’eau – Lac Simcoe et sud-est de la baie Georgienne
Bénéficiaire : Ontario Streams
Description : Le projet vise à permettre à des groupes de bénévoles « d’adopter » et de prendre soin à long terme d’une section d’un cours d’eau, d’une rivière, d’un milieu humide ou d’une zone riveraine. Les groupes doivent déterminer les projets de restauration potentiels visant leurs sites, puis ils recevront des conseils sur le processus de planification et de mise en œuvre de leur projet.


Titre du projet : Projet de rétablissement de la rivière Maskinongé (phase 2)
Bénéficiaire : Office de protection de la région du lac Simcoe
Description : Dans le cadre de ce projet, l’Office de protection de la région du lac Simcoe collaborera avec des propriétaires fonciers du sous-bassin hydrographique de la rivière Maskinongé, en vue de terminer les projets de restauration et de remise en état destinés à améliorer la santé environnementale de la rivière Maskinongé et du lac Simcoe.


Titre du projet : Pratiques de gestion exemplaires pour Oro-Medonte – Phase 2
Bénéficiaire : Office de protection de la région du lac Simcoe 
Description :
Diverses pratiques de gestion exemplaires seront mises en application en vue de réduire la pollution diffuse dans l’ensemble des sous-bassins hydrographiques. Les projets comprennent l’amélioration et la réparation des installations septiques, la création de zones tampons riveraines, la réduction des barrières entravant la migration des poissons, la lutte contre l’érosion des berges ainsi que la réduction du ruissellement de fumier, de nutriments et de bactéries de sources agricoles dans les cours d’eau locaux.


Titre du projet : Remise à l’état naturel du lac Simcoe : nouvelle initiative d’intendance pour les humains et la nature
Bénéficiaire : Association pour la conservation Ladies of the Lake
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit réaliser 24 projets de restauration sur le terrain, mener une recherche sur l’attitude des propriétaires fonciers et la science citoyenne et évaluer de façon systématique les répercussions des pratiques d’intendance. Les résultats de la recherche constitueront un ensemble unique de pratiques exemplaires de la ville et de la banlieue et permettront une amélioration des habitudes.


Titre du projet : Projet de restauration du ruisseau Scanlon
Bénéficiaire : Office de protection de la région du lac Simcoe
Description : Ce projet en deux phases a pour but la restauration des milieux aquatiques du ruisseau Scanlon. Dans le cadre de la première phase, le bénéficiaire doit créer des plans d’aménagement définitifs pour le ruisseau et les milieux humides adjacents, en se fondant sur le tracé naturel des chenaux et les techniques de bio­ingénierie.


Titre du projet : Programme de réparation et de remplacement des installations septiques
Bénéficiaire : Première Nation des Chippewas de l’île Georgina
Description : Ce projet vise à améliorer ou à remplacer huit installations septiques défectueuses ou défaillantes. Il comprend aussi la tenue de deux ou trois ateliers sur l’entretien des installations septiques, en collaboration avec Santé Canada et le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario.


Sud-est de la baie Georgienne

Titre du projet : Évaluation de l’état des nutriments et de la répartition des proliférations d’algues le long d’un gradient de construction de chalets, dans 10 échancrures abritées de l’est de la baie Georgienne
Bénéficiaire : Université McMaster
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit examiner et évaluer les berges de 10 échancrures distinctes dans la région, pour permettre une meilleure compréhension des facteurs associés aux proliférations d’algues nuisibles récurrentes. Ce travail permettra la création éventuelle d’un modèle pour l’aménagement des rives qui pourra servir de référence aux administrations municipales, pour le choix des mesures de réduction des charges de phosphore associées aux activités humaines dans les régions avoisinant les échancrures.


Titre du projet : Élimination des espèces envahissantes dans les milieux humides côtiers dans le sud-est de la baie Georgienne
Bénéficiaire : Georgian Bay Forever
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit demander la participation de la collectivité à un projet éducatif et pratique visant à déterminer, surveiller, consigner et suivre le processus d’élimination du roseau commun, espèce envahissante, dans les milieux humides, au moyen des pratiques exemplaires. Le projet vise à enseigner à la collectivité à identifier cette espèce envahissante et à l’éliminer d’une manière ayant le moins de répercussions possible sur les espèces indigènes, pour ainsi établir une culture d’intendance. En outre, il faut effectuer la cartographie par les systèmes d’information géographique de la zone ciblée.


Titre du projet : Programme amélioré d’analyse de la qualité de l’eau
Bénéficiaire : Association Bayfield Nares Islanders
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit solliciter la participation des membres des associations de propriétaires de chalet à un programme de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau visant à mesurer les concentrations de phosphore dans 2 anses de la baie Georgienne. Le projet vise aussi à sensibiliser les participants et les autres citoyens aux effets du phosphore et des nutriments sur la qualité de l’eau.  


Titre du projet : Champion en environnement : favoriser l’intendance dans les collectivités côtières
Bénéficiaire : Lake Huron Centre for Coastal Conservation
Description : Le projet vise à permettre aux résidents de participer à des activités d’intendance aux fins d’amélioration de la qualité de l’eau, de réduction des charges de phosphore et d’amélioration de la biodiversité. Dans le cadre d’une série d’ateliers, les résidents de la région vont préparer des plans d’intendance pour leur propriété et recevoir de la formation sur la restauration des dunes de leur propre secteur de rive. Les citoyens ayant mené à bien leur projet de restauration se verront décerner le titre de « champion en environnement ».


Titre du projet : Projet d’intendance riveraine de Honey Harbour « Aime ton lac » Bénéficiaire : Municipalité de district de Muskoka
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit élaborer un programme d’intendance visant à donner les moyens aux propriétaires riverains de prendre des mesures positives pour l’environnement en vue de protéger le sud-est de la baie Georgienne. Ce projet vise à faire participer la population à l’évaluation de la santé de la région de Honey Harbour, en cernant les besoins de la collectivité, en créant des partenariats durables permettant le transfert continu des connaissances et en formant les membres de groupes communautaires pour qu’ils puissent poursuivre le programme après la fin du financement.


Titre du projet : Amélioration des outils fondés sur les concentrations de phosphore pour la gestion des proliférations d’algues nuisibles et des problèmes connexes de qualité de l’eau dans l’est de la baie Georgienne
Bénéficiaire : Université de Waterloo 
Description :
Le bénéficiaire doit mettre au point des méthodes améliorées et novatrices permettant de faire le suivi des variations des concentrations de phytoplancton. Il doit notamment étudier les effets de la gestion du phosphore et élaborer des modèles améliorés pour la prédiction et la gestion des proliférations d’algues nuisibles dans la région visée par l’étude. Les résultats des méthodes et modèles améliorés seront comparés avec les nouvelles observations.


Titre du projet : Effets de l’utilisation des terres sur les concentrations de nutriments et d’algues dans les portions médiane et inférieure de la rivière Nottawasaga et les marais de Minesing
Bénéficiaire : Université McMaster
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit réaliser une étude sur les changements touchant les concentrations de nutriments (phosphore et azote) et d’algues durant les baisses du niveau d’eau dans les portions médiane et inférieure de la rivière Nottawasaga. Ce projet permettra de recueillir les données manquantes pour l’Office de protection de la nature de la vallée de la Nottawasaga. Le bénéficiaire doit aussi calculer le bilan du phosphore pour le bassin hydrographique de la Nottawasaga.


Titre du projet : Mise en œuvre d’un outil de modélisation sur l’aménagement à faible impact et formation connexe
Bénéficiaire : Office de protection de la nature de la vallée de Nottawasaga
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit élaborer une approche pour la gestion du phosphore dans les nouvelles zones d’aménagement, créer un modèle de bilan du phosphore et un manuel connexe et donner un atelier d’une journée sur l’importance de l’aménagement à faible impact.


Titre du projet : Modernisation de l’installation de gestion des eaux pluviales du parc industriel de l’avenue Sandford Fleming
Bénéficiaire : Ville de Collingwood
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit réaliser des travaux de modernisation novateurs de l’installation de gestion des eaux pluviales de Collingwood. Les mesures de modernisation ont été élaborées dans le cadre d’un projet de collaboration visant à réduire le rejet de sédiments et de nutriments du parc industriel dans la baie Georgienne. 


Titre du projet : Rapport d’évaluation de 2013 du ruisseau Townline
Bénéficiaire : Fondation Blue Mountain Watershed Trust
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit effectuer la surveillance de deux cours d’eau pour déterminer les sources potentielles de pollution et suivre les changements touchant l’état de ces cours d’eau au fil du temps.


Titre du projet : Projet d’intendance et de sensibilisation communautaire axé sur la plage de Wasaga
Bénéficiaire : Parc provincial de Wasaga Beach
Description : Ce projet comprend des activités d’intendance visant à protéger et à restaurer les plages et la structure des dunes. Parmi les activités, on compte la restauration des dunes et la stabilisation des berges, la surveillance et la gestion des espèces envahissantes ainsi que le nettoyage des berges.


Lac Simcoe et sud-est de la baie Georgienne

Titre du projet : Cartographie des paysages agricoles où des mesures de gestion des nutriments sont planifiées ou appliquées
Bénéficiaire : Ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l’Ontario
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit mettre au point et fournir des services de géomatique (cartographie de sites précis) aux producteurs agricoles qui vont élaborer et mettre en œuvre des stratégies et des plans de gestion visant à réduire le rejet de phosphore et d’azote dans les cours d’eau de la région. De plus, sur une base volontaire, les producteurs pourront fournir des renseignements sur leurs pratiques agricoles, pour permettre de mieux comprendre l’effet de leurs activités sur la qualité de l’eau.


Titre du projet : Évaluation de technologies de traitement des eaux usées à la ferme pour la réduction de l’apport de phosphore aux eaux de surface
Bénéficiaire : Holland Marsh Growers Association
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit caractériser et quantifier les rejets d’eaux usées agricoles associés à diverses activités agricoles, dans l’ensemble des bassins hydrographiques du lac Simcoe et du sud-est de la baie Georgienne. Certaines technologies de traitement et approches de gestion novatrices et nouvelles seront sélectionnées et éprouvées, puis on évaluera leur capacité de réduire les sources ponctuelles de rejet de phosphore associées aux activités agricoles. 


Titre du projet : Enviromérite : amélioration des systèmes agricoles riverains
Bénéficiaire : Association pour l’amélioration des sols et récoltes de l’Ontario
Description : Le bénéficiaire doit cibler les régions du bassin hydrographique où des problèmes de qualité de l’eau ont été signalés. Des mesures de gestion exemplaires seront appuyées dans le cadre du projet, notamment la restauration des berges, la construction de clôtures pour le bétail, l’amélioration des traverses de cours d’eau, la mise en place de nouveaux systèmes d’abreuvement des animaux d’élevage, la gestion de l’érosion et la mise en valeur des milieux humides.


Titre du projet : Projet de collaboration visant le lac Simcoe et la baie Georgienne
Bénéficiaire : Canards Illimités Canada
Description : Ce projet vise à restaurer et à mettre en valeur les milieux humides et les milieux secs qui leur sont associés, en vue de réduite les rejets de phosphore dans l’ensemble des bassins hydrographiques visés. Dix sites de conservation feront l’objet de mesures de restauration des milieux humides asséchés et de mise en valeur des milieux dégradés; ces mesures reposeront sur la mise en œuvre de pratiques exemplaires permettant de réduire l’érosion et les rejets de nutriments.


Date de modification :