Federal Policy and Legislation

In this Section:


Introduction

When it comes to water governance in Canada, the federal government has jurisdiction related to fisheries, navigation, federal lands, and international relations, including responsibilities related to the management of boundary waters shared with the United States, including relations with the International Joint Commission. It also has significant responsibilities for agriculture, health and the environment, and plays a significant role supporting aquatic research and technology, and ensuring national policies and standards are in place on environmental and health-related issues.

To fully understand the federal government's role in water management in Canada, it is important to first understand the interests and mandates of the departments involved in program delivery. Within the federal government, over 20 departments and agencies have unique responsibilities for fresh water. As all levels of government hold key policy and regulatory levers which apply to water management, a central challenge is to ensure that these levers are developed and used collaboratively.

Environment Canada works closely with other federal departments to develop a more strategic approach to addressing nationally significant freshwater issues.


Water Legislation

Legislation administered by Environment Canada in its water-related activities include:

Other important federal legislation includes:

Canada Water Act Annual Reports

Under the provisions of the Canada Water Act, Section 38 requires that a report on operations under the Act be laid before Parliament as soon as possible after the end of each fiscal year. The annual reports on operations under the Canada Water Act for the following fiscal years are available on this site:

International River Improvements Act Annual Reports

Under the provisions of the International River Improvements Act, Section 10 requires that a report on operations under the Act be laid before Parliament as soon as practicable after the end of each calendar year. The annual reports on operations under the International River Improvements Act for the following calendar years are available on this site:

Annual reports for fiscal years beginning 1995-1996 are available in the Departmental Performance Reports (DPR) available on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat Website.


Water Regulations

Regulations are rules of conduct which the governor-in-council or minister is empowered to make to facilitate the carrying out of an Act of Parliament. Regulations exist under some federal water-related legislation (e.g., Fisheries Act, International River Improvements Act), but not others (e.g., Canada Water Act).

Water quality regulations

Ideally, polluting contaminants should be prevented from entering the water. At the most, in some circumstances, they can be allowed only in low concentrations. All provinces and territories in Canada have pollution control regulations. In deciding which substances to control, and to determine their concentrations and how they may enter the environment, a number of questions have to be asked, including:

  • what are the sources, amounts and effects of various substances?
  • what happens to them and what do they do after they have entered the water? do they change? to what?
  • where do the substances end up?
  • can they be prevented from reaching the water body or removed by treatment?

An example of a substance successfully regulated to reduce pollution is the phosphate found in laundry detergents. The Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA) regulates many of the substances that have a deleterious effect on the environment.

See also Water Qualitysection


Water Policy

Canada is among the countries leading the global environmental effort toward sustainable development. As the world enters the 21st century we stand at a crucial turning point with respect to the health of our planet, and in particular, to the quality and distribution of its water. Water, which for millions of years supported multiple uses by all life forms, has in the past few decades experienced increasing pressures. We have reached the point where its ability to continue to provide support for expanding economic and social needs is seriously being questioned.

Recognizing the need for better environmental management, the federal government passed the Canada Water Act in 1970 and created the Department of the Environment in 1971, entrusting the Inland Waters Directorate with providing national leadership for freshwater management. Under the Constitution Act (1867), the provinces are "owners" of the water resources and have wide responsibilities in their day-to-day management. The federal government has certain specific responsibilities relating to water, such as fisheries and navigation, as well as exercising certain overall responsibilities such as the conduct of external affairs.

While providing national leadership to ensure that Canada's freshwater management is in the national interest, Environment Canada also actively promotes a partnership approach among the various levels of government and private sector interests that contribute to and benefit from the wise management and sustainable use of the resource.

All of these interests were extensively consulted during the 1984/85 Inquiry on Federal Water Policy, which conducted Canada-wide hearings toward the development of a federal water policy. Guided by the findings of the Inquiry, the government released its Federal Water Policy in 1987, which has since given focus to the water-related activities of all federal departments and which will continue to provide a framework for action in the coming years as it evolves in the light of new issues and concerns.

Federal Water Policy

The Federal Water Policy, the first of its kind in Canada, the policy was formulated after several years of intensive consultation, both within and outside the government. It addresses the management of water resources, balancing water uses with the requirements of the many interrelationships within the ecosystem.

The policy takes into account the needs of all Canadians in its overall objective:

  • to encourage the use of freshwater in an efficient and equitable manner consistent with the social, economic and environmental needs of present and future generations.

To manage Canada's water resources, the federal government has defined two main goals:

  • to protect and enhance the quality of the water resource; and,
  • to promote the wise and efficient management and use of water.

The policy stresses that government action is not enough. Canadians at large must become aware of the true value of water in their daily lives and use it wisely. We cannot afford to continue undervaluing and therefore wasting our water resources.

The federal government uses five strategies to reach its stated goals. The five strategies are broad courses of action which define a supportive, yet flexible, role for the federal government, one that enables the various federal agencies, other levels of government, and industry, to respond to their particular circumstances and challenges. This approach is compatible with the federal structure and the realities of a large and diverse country.


Water Management in the Federal House

While the federal government has jurisdictional responsibility for water in certain areas such as navigation, fisheries and boundary waters, and shares responsibilities with the provinces in other areas such as agriculture and health, it is also responsible for managing water in its own "federal house". The federal house includes federal lands (e.g., National Parks), federal facilities (e.g., office buildings, labs, penitentiaries, and military bases), First Nation reserves, as well as Nunavut and the Northwest Territories.

Federal lands and facilities

The federal government is the largest land owner in Canada. It owns or leases more than 25 000 properties across Canada with a total land area of over 30 million hectares. These lands include such things as national parks, experimental farms and wildlife areas. In addition, there are approximately 240 million hectares of federal crown land in Nunavut and the Northwest Territories.

The federal government owns over 30 million square meters of floor area in more than 46 000 buildings across the country. The buildings vary widely in size from very small structures such as border crossing stations to large complexes such as military bases. They also serve many functions from office buildings to warehouses to labs and penitentiaries. Some facilities have no water services, while others are large users of water.

As part of its obligation to greening government operations, the federal government is committed to using water efficiently and managing its wastewater appropriately. For more information on these activities, visit the following web sites:

Health Canada works with other departments to make sure all federal government employees have access to safe drinking water in their workplaces.

Nunavut and the Northwest Territories

The federal crown has ownership of the water resources in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. The Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) has a mandate to manage those water resources.

Visit INAC's Web site to learn more about water management in Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

First Nation reserves

The management of potable drinking water and wastewater on First Nation reserves is a shared responsibility between First Nations and the federal government. Programs and services for providing clean, safe and secure water on reserves are provided through First Nation band councils, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and Health Canada (HC), including an advisory role to INAC by Environment Canada (EC). Details on the various roles and responsibilities can be found on INAC's Website

Infrastructure Canada programs also provide funding for water infrastructure in First Nations communities.

For more details on Health Canada's activities under the First Nations Water Management Strategy visit the "First Nations, Inuit and Aboriginal Health" page on their Website.

La législation et les politiques fédérales

Dans cette section :


Introduction

En ce qui concerne la gouvernance de l'eau au Canada, la compétence fédérale, dans ce domaine, s'étend aux pêches, à la navigation, aux terres fédérales et aux relations internationales, y compris les responsabilités relatives à la gestion des eaux limitrophes que nous partageons avec les États-Unis ainsi que les relations avec la Commission mixte internationale. Le gouvernement fédéral possède également des responsabilités étendues en ce qui concerne l'agriculture, la santé et l'environnement. Il joue un rôle important non seulement afin d'appuyer la recherche et les technologies aquatiques, mais aussi afin d'assurer la mise en place de politiques et de normes canadiennes en matière d'environnement et de santé.

Pour bien comprendre le rôle du gouvernement fédéral en ce qui concerne la gestion de l'eau au Canada, il est important de tout d'abord comprendre les intérêts et les mandats des ministères participant à la prestation des programmes. Au sein du gouvernement fédéral, plus de 20 ministères et organismes possèdent des responsabilités exceptionnelles dans le domaine de l'eau douce. Puisque tous les niveaux de gouvernements détiennent des leviers essentiels en matière de gestion et de politiques reliées à l'eau, un défi fondamental consiste à veiller à ce que ces leviers soient créés et utilisés en collaboration.

Environnement Canada travaille de près avec d'autres ministères fédéraux afin de mettre au point une approche plus stratégique concernant les questions importantes qui touchent à l'eau douce.


Lois sur les ressources en eau

Dans le cadre de ses activités concernant l'eau, Environnement Canada peut s'appuyer sur de nombreuses lois, notamment :

D'autres lois fédérales importantes incluent les suivantes :

Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada – Rapports annuels

En vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada, l'article 38 stipule qu'un rapport des activités entreprises conformément à la Loi doit être déposé devant le Parlement le plus tôt possible après la fin de chaque exercice financier. Les rapports annuels sur les réalisations au titre de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada pour les exercices suivants sont accessibles sur ce site :

Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l'amélioration des cours d'eau internationaux – Rapports annuels

En vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l'amélioration des cours d'eau internationaux, l'article 10 stipule qu'un rapport des activités entreprises conformément à la Loi doit être déposé devant le Parlement le plus tôt possible après la fin de chaque année civile. Les rapports annuels sur les réalisations au titre de la Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l'amélioration des cours d'eau internationaux pour les années suivantes sont accessibles sur ce site :

Les rapports annuels à partir des années fiscales 1995-1996 sont présentés dans les Rapports ministériels sur le rendement (RMR) qui sont disponibles sur le site web du Secrétariat du conseil du trésor du Canada.


Réglementation en matière d'eau

Les règlements sont en quelque sorte des règles de conduite que le gouverneur en conseil ou le ministre est autorisé à imposer pour faciliter la mise en oeuvre d'une loi du Parlement. Les règlements existent en vertu de certaines lois fédérales relatives à l'eau (p. ex. la Loi sur les pêches, la Loi sur les ouvrages destinés à l'amélioration des cours d'eau internationaux), mais non d'autres (p. ex. la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada).

Réglements sur la qualité de l'eau

Idéalement, on devrait empêcher les contaminants qui polluent de pénétrer dans l'eau. Tout au plus, leur rejet en faibles concentrations seulement peut être permis dans certaines circonstances. Dans la totalité des provinces et des territoires du Canada, il existe des règlements antipollution. Lorsqu'il s'agit de décider des substances à contrôler, de déterminer leur concentration et la façon dont elles peuvent entrer en contact avec l'environnement, il faut se poser plusieurs questions, à savoir :

  • Quelles sont les sources, la quantité et les effets des diverses substances?
  • Qu'est-ce qui arrive à ces substances et que font-elles après avoir pénétré dans l'eau? Se transforment-elles? En quoi?
  • Où les substances finissent-elles par se retrouver?
  • Peut-on les empêcher de pénétrer dans les masses d'eau ou les éliminer au moyen d'un traitement?

Les phosphates contenus dans les détergents à lessive constituent un exemple d'une substance dont la réglementation a eu pour résultat de réduire la pollution. La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement permet de réglementer beaucoup plus de substances qui ont des répercussions néfastes sur l'environnement.

Voir aussi la section sur la qualité de l'eau


Politiques concernant l'eau

Le Canada est un des chefs de file internationaux pour l'accomplissement de projets environnementaux visant le développement durable de ses ressources. Au seuil du 21e siècle, nous sommes à un point tournant crucial en ce qui concerne l'état de notre planète et, en particulier, la qualité et la répartition des ressources en eau. L'eau, qui a été utilisée de multiples façons pendant des millions d'années par toutes les formes de vie, subit depuis quelques décennies des pressions de plus en plus fortes. Nous avons atteint le point où sa capacité de continuer à soutenir des besoins économiques et sociaux croissants est sérieusement mise en question.

Conscient du besoin d'une meilleure gestion de l'environnement, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada en 1970 et a créé le ministère de l'Environnement en 1971, chargeant la Direction générale des eaux intérieures d'assurer un leadership national en ce qui concerne la gestion des eaux douces. En vertu de la Loi constitutionnelle (1867), les provinces sont « propriétaires » des ressources en eau et, par conséquent, il leur incombe de les gérer au quotidien. Quant au gouvernement fédéral, ses responsabilités précises en matière de ressources en eau concernent surtout la pêche et la navigation. De même, il assume certaines responsabilités d'ensemble, en ce qui a trait notamment aux affaires étrangères.

Tout en offrant un leadership national qui garantit que la gestion des eaux douces sera assurée dans l'intérêt national, Environnement Canada encourage aussi une approche axée sur le partenariat entre les différents paliers de gouvernement et des intervenants du secteur privé qui appuient la gestion prudente et l'utilisation durable des ressources, et qui en tirent profit.

Tous ces intervenants ont été amplement consultés dans le cadre de l'Enquête sur la politique fédérale relative aux eaux qui a été menée en 1984-1985 et a donné lieu à des audiences pancanadiennes sur la politique fédérale en matière d'eau. Guidé par ce que l'enquête a permis de découvrir, le gouvernement a publié en 1987 sa Politique fédérale relative aux eaux, qui traite essentiellement des activités hydriques de tous les ministères fédéraux. Elle continuera à servir de cadre pour tous les programmes à venir, au fur et à mesure qu'elle s'adaptera aux nouvelles situations et préoccupations.

Politique fédérale relative aux eaux

La première du genre au Canada, la Politique a été rédigée après plusieurs années de vastes consultations, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur du gouvernement. Elle traite de la gestion des ressources hydriques, garantissant l'équilibre entre les utilisations de l'eau et les exigences des nombreuses interrelations au sein de l'écosystème.

L'objectif global de la Politique tient compte des besoins de l'ensemble des Canadiens :

  • encourager l'utilisation rationnelle et équitable de l'eau douce au Canada, de manière à satisfaire les besoins sociaux, économiques et environnementaux des générations actuelles et futures.

Afin de gérer les ressources en eau du Canada, le gouvernement fédéral a défini deux grands buts :

  • préserver et améliorer la qualité des eaux;
  • encourager la gestion et l'utilisation rationnelles et efficaces de l'eau.

La Politique insiste sur le fait que les gestes posés par le gouvernement ne suffisent pas. Tous les Canadiens doivent prendre conscience de la vraie valeur de l'eau dans leur vie quotidienne et l'utiliser judicieusement. Nous n'avons plus les moyens de continuer à sous-évaluer nos ressources hydriques et, par conséquent, de les gaspiller.

Le gouvernement fédéral a en place cinq stratégies afin d'atteindre ses buts. Celles-ci sont en fait des plans d'action plutôt généraux qui définissent pour le gouvernement un rôle de soutien flexible qui permet aux divers organismes fédéraux, aux autres paliers gouvernementaux et à l'industrie de faire face à des circonstances et à des défis particuliers. Cette approche tient compte de la structure du gouvernement et des réalités propres à un pays aussi vaste et hétérogène que le nôtre.


La gestion de l'eau au gouvernement fédéral

Même si le gouvernement fédéral est responsable de l'administration des questions liées à l'eau pour certains domaines, notamment la navigation, les pêches et les eaux limitrophes, et qu'il partage les responsabilités avec les provinces dans d'autres domaines, dont l'agriculture et la santé, il est également responsable de la gestion de l'eau au sein de ses propres installations. De plus, le gouvernement est responsable des biens fonciers fédéraux (p. ex. parcs nationaux), des installations fédérales (p. ex. immeubles de bureaux, laboratoires, pénitenciers, bases militaires), des réserves des Premières nations de même que du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Installations et biens fonciers fédéraux

Le gouvernement fédéral est le plus grand propriétaire foncier du Canada. Il possède ou loue plus de 25 000 propriétés dans l'ensemble du Canada, ce qui représente une superficie terrestre totale dépassant 30 millions d'hectares. Ces terrains comprennent des éléments comme les parcs nationaux, les fermes expérimentales et les réserves d'espèces sauvages. De plus, il existe environ 240 millions d'hectares de terres de la Couronne fédérale au Nunavut et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Le gouvernement fédéral possède plus de 30 millions de mètres carrés de surface de plancher dans plus de 46 000 bâtiments à travers les pays. Ces bâtiments varient grandement en taille allant de très petites structures, comme les points de passage frontalier à de grands complexes, notamment les bases militaires. Ils jouent également de nombreux rôles allant d'immeubles de bureaux, aux entrepôts, aux laboratoires et aux pénitenciers. Certaines installations n'ont aucun approvisionnement en eau, tandis que d'autres utilisent de grands volumes d'eau.

Pour s'acquitter de ses obligations en matière d'écologisation des opérations gouvernementales, le gouvernement fédéral s'est engagé à utiliser l'eau efficacement et à gérer ses eaux usées de façon appropriée. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ces activités, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants :

Santé Canada collabore avec d'autres ministères pour veiller à ce que les fonctionnaires fédéraux aient tous accès à de l'eau potable salubre en milieu de travail.

Nunavut et Territoires du Nord-Ouest

La Couronne fédérale est propriétaire des ressources hydriques des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) a le mandat de gérer ces ressources hydriques.

Visitez le site Web d'AINC pour en apprendre davantage sur la gestion de l'eau dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut.

Réserves des Premières nations

La gestion de l'eau potable et des eaux usées sur les réserves des Premières nations est une responsabilité partagée entre les Premières nations et le gouvernement fédéral. Les organismes suivants sont responsables de fournir des programmes et des services liés à l'approvisionnement d'une eau saine, salubre et sécuritaire sur les réserves : conseils de bande des Premières nations, Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) et Santé Canada, y compris Environnement Canada (rôle consultatif à AINC). On trouvera des précisions concernant les divers rôles et responsabilités sur le site d'AINC

Les programmes d'Infrastructure Canada offrent aussi des fonds aux infrastructures en eau dans les collectivités des Premières nations.

Si vous désirez obtenir des précisions sur les activités de Santé Canada dans le cadre de la Stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières nations, visitez la page «  Santé des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Autochtones » de son site Web.