Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Additional Achievements in the St. Lawrence

In addition to the most noteworthy achievements in the St. Lawrence, here are some additional initiatives from the Government of Canada for cleaning up the St. Lawrence. 

Creating 14 ZIP (Zones d’intervention prioritaire – Areas of prime concern) committees on almost all St. Lawrence territory in order to bring together the main users of the St. Lawrence and to promote joint action to resolve problems affecting the ecosystems of the river and their uses of it.

These committees:

  • Carried out, along with other community organizations, almost 400 projects within the framework of the Community Interaction Program: bank clean-up and stabilization, wildlife habitat development and St. Lawrence access site enhancement projects
  • Disseminated environmental statements on biological, physicochemical, socioeconomic and human health aspects, prepared by the St. Lawrence Centre in collaboration with scientists from several departments and private organizations.

Monitoring the St. Lawrence, which includes namely:  

  • Developing an integrated environmental modeling and observation system for aquatic environments
  • Creating the Monitoring the State of the St. Lawrence program: aimed at understanding the evolution of the ecosystem and taking an overall picture to be updated regularly (based on the monitoring of 21 environmental indicators)
  • Developing the St. Lawrence Global Observatory: offering integrated access to data and information from a network of federal, provincial, university and industrial organizations, for the sustainable development of the St. Lawrence ecosystem
  • 104 organizations taking part in the Biosphère's ObservAction Network: schools, municipalities and NGOs that take part in collecting data on water quality and fish communities, in the river and various watercourses
  • Creating a lower St. Lawrence marine mammal observation network(in French only): collecting data on the whales and seals of the estuary and gulf with the collaboration of ecotourism and maritime transportation companies
  • Completing some 50 epidemiological studies and surveys on risks linked to the consumption of drinking water and aquatic products as well as activities involving contact with the water: confirming that riverside populations are exposed to the chemical and microbiological contaminants present in the St. Lawrence
  • Bringing into force of regulations requiring vessels and pleasure craft to discharge their used water into wharf facilities: a fleet of 200 000 pleasure craft will produce, in summer, a volume of untreated water equivalent to a population of 32 000 people

Publishing numerous documents, namely:

Restoring the St. Lawrence:

  • Restoring approximately 50 wharfs and other federal government maritime infrastructures, notably under the program to dispose of surplus marine facilities
  • Completing eight facilities to promote access to fishing sites in cooperation with municipalities: access ramps, breakwaters, dredging, etc.
  • Funding community projects through the following programs: Community Interaction Program, EcoAction Community Funding Program and Environmental Damages Fund

Autres réalisations sur le Saint-Laurent

En plus des réalisations les plus marquantes sur le Saint-Laurent, voici des initiatives supplémentaires du gouvernement du Canada en vue d’assainir le Saint-Laurent. 

La création de 14 comités ZIP (zones d’intervention prioritaire) sur presque tout le territoire du Saint-Laurent afin de regrouper les principaux usagers du Saint-Laurent et de favoriser leur concertation en vue de résoudre les problèmes touchant les écosystèmes fluviaux et leurs usages. Ces comités ont :

  • Réalisé, avec d’autres organismes communautaires, près de 400 projets dans le cadre du programme Interactions communautaires : nettoyage et stabilisation de berges, aménagement d’habitats fauniques et mise en valeur de sites d’accès au Saint-Laurent
  • Diffusé des bilans environnementaux sur les aspects biologiques, physicochimiques, socioéconomiques et sur la santé humaine, produits par le Centre Saint-Laurent en collaboration avec des scientifiques de plusieurs ministères et organismes privés.

Le suivi de l’état du Saint-Laurent, lequel consiste entre autres :  

  • À développer un système de modélisation et d’observation environnementale intégré pour les environnements aquatiques
  • À créer le programme Suivi de l’état du Saint-Laurent : destiné à comprendre l’évolution de l’écosystème et à en tirer un portrait global mis à jour régulièrement. Fondé sur le suivi de 21 indicateurs environnementaux
  • À élaborer l’Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent : offrir un accès intégré aux données et à l’information issues d’un réseau d’organismes fédéraux, provinciaux, universitaires et industriels, en vue d’une gestion durable de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent
  • En 104 organismes prenant part au Réseau ObservAction de la Biosphère : écoles, municipalités et ONG prennent part à une collecte de données sur la qualité de l’eau et sur les communautés de poissons, dans le fleuve et différents cours d’eau
  • À créer le réseau d’observation des mammifères marins du Bas-Saint-Laurent : recueillir des données sur les baleines et les phoques de l’estuaire et du golfe grâce à la collaboration d’entreprises éco touristiques et de transporteurs maritimes
  • À réaliser une cinquantaine d’études et enquêtes épidémiologiques sur les risques liés à la consommation d’eau potable et de produits aquatiques ainsi qu’à la pratique d’activités de contact avec l’eau, confirmant que les populations riveraines sont exposées aux contaminants chimiques et microbiologiques présents dans le Saint-Laurent
  • À mettre en vigueur un règlement obligeant les navires et les embarcations de plaisance à rejeter leurs eaux usées dans des équipements à quai : une flotte de 200 000 embarcations de plaisance produirait, en été, un volume d’eaux usées non traitées équivalant à une population de 32 000 habitants.

La publication de nombreux documents, notamment :

La restauration du Saint-Laurent :

  • Restauration d’une cinquantaine de quais et autres infrastructures maritimes du gouvernement fédéral, notamment dans le cadre du Programme de disposition de structures maritimes excédentaires
  • Réalisation de huit aménagements pour favoriser l’accès à des sites de pêche, en collaboration avec les municipalités : rampes d’accès, brise-lames, dragage, etc.

Le financement de projets communautaires par l’entremise des programmes suivants : programme Interactions communautaires, programme de financement communautaire ÉcoAction et Fonds pour dommages à l’environnement