Great Lakes Sustainability Fund Photo Stories

St. Lawrence River Area of Concern

Lake St. Francis/St. Lawrence River Tributary Restoration Project

$545,000 Total; $121,000 provided by the Great Lakes Sustainability Fund

In 2010, the tributaries of the St. Lawrence River and Lake St. Francis became the focus of a large scale environmental improvement program focusing on water quality and fish habitat rehabilitation. Projects to be undertaken within this program will aim to reduce nutrient and bacteria loadings, sedimentation, channelization and habitat loss. Specific projects to be carried out in the 2010 fiscal year include providing assistance to landowners in establishing riparian habitat areas through the planting of up to 30,000 trees, and the establishment of programs to reduce contamination levels in agricultural runoff through the improved maintenance of manure storage facilities and the restriction of cattle from waterways. In addition to these programs, significant public outreach and stewardship initiatives will be implemented to reduce phosphorus, bacteria and other contaminant loadings on the tributaries.

 

image of a farm with outdoor manure storage facilities
Poor manure storage practices in streams
Source: Raisin Region Conservation Authority

image of a dirty pool of water
Water quality impairment cause by cattle access in streams
Source: Raisin Region Conservation Authority

Niagara River Area of Concern

Niagara River Area of Concern Fish Barrier Mitigation Project

$157,600 Total; $45,000 provided by the Great Lakes Sustainability Fund

In 2010, the Niagara River Area of Concern (AOC) Fish Barrier Mitigation project came to a successful completion with three final projects. Conducted over 10 years, the project now opens up over 500 km of potential fish habitat. In total, 29 barriers to fish migration in the Welland River portion of the AOC were removed. The project has been recognized by the Niagara River Remedial Action Plan as a major accomplishment towards improving fish habitat in the Niagara River AOC.

image of a human-made barrier in a river
Before remediation of barrier 103
Source: Niagara Restoration Council

image of the same river without the barrier
After remediation of barrier (pre-installation of bridge)
Source: Niagara Restoration Council

Thunder Bay Area of Concern

Thunder Bay North Harbour Sediment Management Project

$375,836 Total; $180,000 provided by the Great Lakes Sustainability Fund

In 2009, the Thunder Bay North Harbour Sediment Project was developed to assess mercury and organic (wood fibres/pulp) contaminated sediments in the northern portion of Thunder Bay Harbour. Impairments in Thunder Bay North Harbour caused by these contaminated sediments include restrictions on fish consumption, degradation of fish populations, degradation of benthos, restrictions on dredging activities and loss of fish habitat. This project was implemented to analyze sediment in North Harbour in order to assess the feasibility of various sediment management options and to develop an effective sediment management strategy.

backhoe removing sample from water bed
Sampling with backhoe
(Geotech Inv Nov. 2009)

Source: Environment Canada

organic waste in a container
Organic Waste Sample
Source: Environment Canada

Date modified:

Reportages photographiques du Fonds de durabilité des Grands Lacs

Secteur préoccupant du fleuve Saint-Laurent

Projet de restauration des tributaires du lac Saint-François et du Saint-Laurent

Total de 545 000 $, dont 121 000 $ du Fonds de durabilité des Grands Lacs

En 2010, les tributaires du fleuve Saint-Laurent et du lac Saint-François étaient visés par un programme d’amélioration environnementale à grande échelle se concentrant sur la qualité de l’eau et le rétablissement de l’habitat des poissons. Les projets qui seront entrepris dans le cadre de ce programme viseront à réduire les charges en éléments nutritifs et en bactéries, la sédimentation, la canalisation et la perte d’habitat. Les projets particuliers qui seront réalisés au cours de l’exercice financier de 2010 comprendront la prestation d’une aide aux propriétaires fonciers pour l’établissement des secteurs d’habitat riverain grâce à la plantation de près de 30 000 arbres, et la mise sur pied de programmes visant à réduire les niveaux de contamination du lessivage des terres cultivées grâce à un entretien amélioré des installations d’entreposage du fumier et à la restriction des bovins aux voies d’eau. En plus de ces programmes, des initiatives importantes d’information du public et de gérance seront mises en œuvre afin de réduire le phosphore, les bactéries et autres charges en contaminants dans les tributaires.

l'image d'une ferme avec du fumier de l'extérieur
Mauvaises pratiques d’entreposage du fumier
Source : Office de protection de la nature de la région de Raisin

image d'un bassin d'eau sale
Dégradation de la qualité de l’eau causée par l’accès des bovins aux cours d’eau
Source : Office de protection de la nature de la région de Raisin

Secteur préoccupant de la rivière Niagara

Projet de retrait des obstacles dans les passes migratoires du secteur préoccupant de la rivière Niagara

Total de 157 600 $, dont 45 000 $ du Fonds de durabilité des Grands Lacs

En 2010, le projet de retrait des obstacles dans les passes migratoires du secteur préoccupant de la rivière Niagara a été réalisé avec succès grâce à la réalisation de trois projets. Le projet, entrepris sur une période de dix ans, offre maintenant plus de 500 km d’habitat potentiel pour le poisson. Au total, 29 obstacles à la migration des poissons dans la portion de la rivière Welland River du secteur préoccupant ont été retirés. Le projet a été reconnu par le Niagara River Remedial Action Plan (Plan d’assainissement de la rivière Niagara) à titre de réalisation majeure dans le but d’améliorer l’habitat des poissons dans le secteur préoccupant de la rivière Niagara.

une image d'une barrière dans une rivière
Avant le retrait de l’obstacle no 103
Source : Conseil de restauration rivière Niagara

une image d'une rivière, sans barrière
Après le retrait de l’obstacle (avant l’installation d’un
pont)
Source : Conseil de restauration rivière Niagara

Secteur préoccupant de Thunder Bay

Projet de gestion des sédiments de Thunder Bay (North Harbour)

Total de 375 836 $, dont 180 000 $ du Fonds de durabilité des Grands Lacs

En 2009, le projet de gestion des sédiments de Thunder Bay (North Harbour) a été élaboré pour évaluer les sédiments contaminés par le mercure et les déchets organiques (fibre et pulpe de bois) dans la partie nord du port de Thunder Bay. Les détériorations causées par ces sédiments contaminés dans la partie nord du port de Thunder Bay comprennent les restrictions sur la consommation de poisson, la dégradation des populations de poissons, la dégradation du benthos, les restrictions sur les travaux de dragage et la perte d’habitat pour les poissons. Ce projet a été mis en œuvre pour analyser les sédiments dans la partie nord du port afin d’évaluer la faisabilité des diverses options pour la gestion des sédiments et d’élaborer une stratégie de gestion des sédiments efficace.

l'image d'une pelle rétrocaveuse creusant
Échantillonnage avec une pelle rétrocaveuse
(Geotech Inv, novembre 2009)

Source : Environnement Canada

l'image d'un échantillon de sol
Échantillonnage de déchets organiques
Source : Environnement Canada


Date de modification :