Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Dams & Diversions

In this Section:


Introduction

Overall, Canada is blessed with freshwater resources. But their availability varies considerably from season to season and year to year, and from one region to another. Faced with floods, droughts, and other problems of water supply, engineers have stretched available resources by means of structures: dams, which hold back flows for release when they are more useful or less destructive, and diversions, which redirect the resource to where it is more useful. In fact, dams and diversions often go together: water is stored in a reservoir formed behind a dam, and then withdrawn by ditch, canal, or pipeline from its natural course for transfer elsewhere.


Dams

Generally, rivers are dammed to create reservoirs for power production, downstream flood control, recreation, or irrigation. Canada ranks as one of the world's top ten dam builders. Although the Canadian Dam Association's register of dams (2003) reports 933 large dams*, there are many thousands of small dams.

Number of large dams in Canada

Source: Canadian Dam Association's register of dams (2003)

In Canada, large dams are used primarily for hydroelectric power generation (596 dams), but are also used for the following purposes:

  • multi-purposes (86 dams)
  • tailings (82 dams)
  • water supply (57 dams)
  • irrigation (51 dams)
  • flood control (19 dams)
  • recreation (7 dams)
  • other purposes (35 dams)

When a dam is constructed it can have an effect on the water quality of a river system. The land behind it is flooded which may mean the loss of valuable wildlife habitat, farmland, forests, or town sites. Accumulation of sediments in the reservoir can have a detrimental effect on water quality by creating increased concentrations of harmful metal and organic compounds in the reservoir. If vegetation is not removed behind the dam before flooding, other problems can occur. For example, the eutrophication process may occur at a faster rate and adversely affect the water quality.

* A large dam is defined as being higher than 15 metres or, under certain conditions, higher than 10 meters.


Diversions

In the past, diverting flow from one basin to another has been primarily based on economic development through energy generation, irrigation, and industrial output. In Canada, major diversion projects have been developed by power utilities to increase flows for hydroelectric production, especially in northern projects such as the Churchill-Nelson region in Manitoba and in the James Bay region in Quebec. Projects have also been constructed for irrigation purposes and industrial development such as aluminum production.

Interbasin diversions can have undesirable social and environmental consequences. For example, the amount of water being removed in relation to the amount of water available, existing water demand and uses, quality of water being transferred, including the potential for the introduction of undesirable non-native species and pathogens, can all have significant impacts. The implication of introducing non-native species is particularly significant when major drainage basins are involved.

Social structures may also be affected. Sometimes communities are flooded out or people are forced to change their livelihood or otherwise modify their traditional way of life.

While, in the past, major diversions and transfers have been used to fulfill water resource and economic development objectives, it is widely recognized that we have moved away from the era of large scale diversions and transfers in Canada and the United States. Environmental and social considerations are making these transfers of water a less desirable option. Present approaches now favour reducing the demand on water uses.

Barrages et dérivations

Dans cette section :


Introduction

En grande partie, le Canada a de l’eau douce en abondance. Par contre, la disponibilité varie considérablement de saison en saison, d’année en année et d’une région à une autre. Face aux inondations, aux sécheresses et à d’autres problèmes d’approvisionnement, les ingénieurs se débrouillent avec les ressources disponibles par le moyen de structures différentes : des barrages, pour retenir les eaux jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient nécessaires ou moins destructives; et des dérivations, pour rediriger la ressource à un endroit plus utile.  En effet, les barrages et les dérivations travaillent souvent ensemble : l’eau est stockée dans un réservoir derrière un barrage, et elle est retirée par la suite de son cours naturel par un fossé, un canal ou un pipeline, pour transfert à un autre endroit.


Barrages

En général, on construit un barrage pour créer un réservoir et produire de l'énergie, assurer une protection contre les crues en aval, permettre certains loisirs ou l'irrigation. Le Canada se classe présentement parmi les dix plus grands constructeurs de barrages au monde. Bien que le « registre des barrages » (2003) de l'Association canadienne des barrages dénombre 933 grands barrages* au Canada, il en existe des milliers d'autres de moindre envergure.

Nombre de grands barrages du Canada

Source : Registre des barrages de 2003 de l'Association canadienne des barrages.

Au Canada, les grands barrages servent surtout à la production d'énergie hydroélectrique (596). Cependant, on dénombre plusieurs autres fins, dont les suivantes :

  • usages multiples (86 barrages)
  • stériles (82 barrages)
  • distribution d'eau (57 barrages)
  • irrigation (51 barrages)
  • protection contre les crues (19 barrages)
  • loisirs (7 barrages)
  • divers (35 barrages)

Lorsqu’un barrage est construit, il peut modifier la qualité de l’eau d’un réseau hydrographique.  Les terres en amont seront cependant inondées, ce qui peut se traduire par la perte d'un habitat faunique important, de terres arables, de forêts, voire la destruction d'une ville. L'accumulation des sédiments dans le réservoir peut aussi réduire la qualité de l'eau en y augmentant la concentration de métaux et de composés organiques dangereux. Si les végétaux ne sont pas retirés des eaux derrière le barrage avant l'irrigation par inondation, d'autres problèmes peuvent apparaître. Le processus d'eutrophisation, par exemple, peut se produire plus rapidement et entraîner la dégradation de la qualité de l'eau.

* On entend par grand barrage tout barrage de plus de 15 mètres de hauteur et, dans certaines conditions, de plus de 10 mètres de hauteur.


Dérivations

Autrefois, l'eau était détournée entre deux bassins surtout pour des raisons de développement économique par la production d'électricité, l'irrigation et l'industrialisation. Au Canada, des projets de dérivation importants ont été réalisés par les entreprises productrices d'électricité afin d'accroître le débit des cours d'eau pour la production d'hydroélectricité, particulièrement dans le cas de projets nordiques, tels le projet de la région du Churchill et du Nelson au Manitoba et celui dans la région de la baie James au Québec. Certains projets ont aussi été réalisés à des fins d'irrigation et de développement industriel, par exemple pour la production d'aluminium.

Les dérivations entre bassins peuvent cependant poser des inconvénients indésirables sur les plans social et environnemental. Par exemple, la quantité d'eau prélevée par rapport à celle disponible, les besoins en eau et les utilisations de la ressource, la qualité de l'eau faisant l'objet du transfert (y compris l'introduction possible d'espèces non indigènes et d'agents pathogènes indésirables) peuvent tous avoir des répercussions majeures. Les conséquences de l'introduction d'espèces non indigènes sont particulièrement importantes lorsque de grands bassins hydrographiques sont en cause.

Les structures sociales peuvent aussi être modifiées. Il arrive que des villages entiers soient engloutis ou que les habitants soient contraints à trouver de nouveaux moyens de subsistance ou à changer leur mode de vie ancestral.

Même si, autrefois, les grands projets de dérivation et de transfert ont servi à atteindre des objectifs de mise en valeur des ressources en eau et de développement économique, il est généralement reconnu que l'ère des dérivations et des transferts à grande échelle au Canada et aux États-Unis est révolue. Ces transferts d'eau sont maintenant perçus comme une option moins souhaitable en raison des considérations d'ordre environnemental et social. On favorise actuellement la réduction de la demande d'eau.

Date de modification :