Cleaning Up Lake Winnipeg

Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative

The Government of Canada is committed to the long-term sustainability of Canada's lakes and waterways to ensure that there is clean water for all Canadians, both for this, and future, generations. To this end, on August 2nd, 2012, the Government of Canada announced the launch of Phase II of the Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative (LWBI) with a five-year (2012-2017), $18 million investment through the Action Plan for Clean Water that will focus on improving water quality for people living in the region, as well as for fish and wildlife in and surrounding Lake Winnipeg.

The Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative aims to restore the ecological health of Lake Winnipeg, reduce pollution from sources such as agriculture, industry and wastewater, and improve water quality for fisheries and recreation. The Lake Winnipeg ecosystem supports an annual freshwater fishery of $50 million and a $110 million recreation and tourism industry.

Phase II (2012-2017) of the LWBI will build on the scientific accomplishments of Phase I (2008-2012) and move towards taking greater action to address water quality issues, including:

  • Targeting the stewardship program on actions and areas, that have the best possible impact on water quality;
  • Implementing greater watershed research and monitoring; and
  • Increasing emphasis on collaborative work with other governments within the watershed

In the first phase of the LWBI (2008-2012), the Government of Canada invested $17.7 million for three types of activities: scientific research ($12.1 million), community stewardship programs ($3.7 million); and collaboration on watershed governance ($1.9 million).

During Phase I, Environment and Climate Change Canada researchers took a strong, science-based approach to investigating water quality issues within the lake and its watershed. Through these efforts, the initiative was able to fill important gaps in research, data collection and monitoring of the lake's ecology and the sources and movement of nutrients that contribute to the formation of the large and persistent algae blooms seen in recent years.

In addition, the Government of Canada is also providing support for community based projects through the Lake Winnipeg Basin Stewardship Fund - part of the Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative and administered through Environment and Climate Change Canada's Lake Winnipeg Basin Office. The fund is cleaning up Lake Winnipeg by providing support to action-oriented water stewardship projects led by communities, conservation authorities, non-profit organizations and academic institutions.

Interactive map of Lake Winnipeg Basin Stewardship Fund project locations

In addition, Phase I established a formal agreement between the Government of Canada and the Province of Manitoba through a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) that ensured long-term collaboration to improve the health of Lake Winnipeg. Following the establishment of this MoU, the Province of Manitoba also launched its own Save Lake Winnipeg Act (2011) and has invested over $100 million in efforts to improve the health of the lake over the past decade.

Below is a map showing the Lake Winnipeg watershed, which is almost one million square kilometres in size.  In Canada, the watershed covers parts of Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario, as well as, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota and Minnesota in the U.S.A.

Map of Lake Winnipeg Watershed
Photo: © Environment and Climate Change Canada
Date modified:

Assainissement du lac Winnipeg

Initiative du bassin du lac Winnipeg

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à favoriser la durabilité à long terme des lacs et cours d'eau du Canada afin de faire en sorte que tous les Canadiens aient accès à de l'eau propre, dès maintenant et pour l'avenir. à cette fin, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé le 2 août 2012 le lancement de la phase II de l'Initiative du bassin du lac Winnipeg grâce à un investissement de 18 millions de dollars sur cinq ans (2012-2017) par l'entremise du Plan d'action pour l'assainissement de l'eau. L'accent sera mis sur l'amélioration de la qualité de l'eau pour les personnes vivant dans la région, ainsi que pour la faune aquatique et terrestre du lac Winnipeg et de ses environs.

L'Initiative du bassin du lac Winnipeg vise à restaurer la santé écologique du lac Winnipeg, à réduire la pollution causée par des sources comme l'agriculture, l'industrie et les eaux usées, et à améliorer la qualité de l'eau pour les pêches et les loisirs. L'écosystème du lac Winnipeg est à l'origine de revenus annuels de 50 millions de dollars issus de la pêche en eau douce et de 110 millions de dollars pour l'industrie du tourisme et des loisirs.

La phase II (2012-2017) de l'Initiative du bassin du lac Winnipeg s'appuiera sur les réalisations de la phase I (2008-2012) et mènera à la prise de mesures de plus grande envergure pour faire face aux problèmes de qualité de l'eau, notamment :

  • la concentration du programme d'intendance sur des mesures et des domaines qui ont le plus possible de répercussions positives sur la qualité de l'eau;
  • la mise en œuvre de recherches et d'une surveillance accrues portant sur le bassin versant;
  • l'augmentation de l'accent mis sur le travail de collaboration avec les autres gouvernements du bassin versant.

Au cours de la première phase de l'Initiative (2008-2012), le gouvernement du Canada a consacré 17,7 millions de dollars à trois types d'activités : recherche scientifique (12,1 millions de dollars), programmes d'intendance communautaire (3,7 millions de dollars) et collaboration en matière de gouvernance du bassin versant (1,9 million de dollars).

Au cours de la phase I, les chercheurs d'Environnement Canada ont adopté une approche scientifique rigoureuse pour enquêter sur les problèmes de qualité de l'eau dans le lac et ses bassins versants. Grâce à ces efforts, l'initiative a permis de combler d'importantes lacunes en matière de recherche, de collecte de données et de surveillance de l'écologie du lac, ainsi que des sources et des déplacements des nutriments qui s'y trouvent et contribuent aux proliférations d'algues importantes et persistantes observées ces dernières années.

De plus, le gouvernement du Canada offre également un soutien aux projets communautaires par l'intermédiaire du Fonds d'intendance du bassin du lac Winnipeg, qui fait partie de l'Initiative du bassin du lac Winnipeg et est géré par le Bureau du bassin du lac Winnipeg d'Environnement Canada. Ce fonds permet l'assainissement du lac Winnipeg en soutenant les projets d'intendance de l'eau axés sur l'action menés par des collectivités, des offices de protection de la nature, des organisations à but non lucratif et des établissements d'enseignement.

Pour voir la carte interactive montrant les locations des projets financés du Fonds d'intendance du bassin du lac Winnipeg, cliquez ici.

En outre, la phase I a permis de conclure un accord officiel entre le gouvernement du Canada et la province du Manitoba, par la signature d'un protocole d'entente qui a assuré une collaboration à long terme en vue d'améliorer l'état de santé du lac Winnipeg. à la suite de l'établissement de ce protocole d'entente, la province du Manitoba a aussi établi sa propre Loi sur la protection du lac Winnipeg (2011) et a investi 100 millions de dollars dans le but d'améliorer l'état de santé du lac au cours de la dernière décennie.

Ci-dessous est une carte montrant le bassin hydrographique du lac Winnipeg, qui est presque un million de kilomètres carrés.  Au Canada, le bassin versant couvre une partie de l'Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba et Ontario, ainsi que, Montana, Dakota du Nord, Dakota du Sud et Minnesota aux Etats-Unis.

map du lac Winnipeg

Date de modification :