Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canada Water Act Annual Report for April 2010 to March 2011


Foreword

The Canada Water Act, proclaimed on September 30, 1970, provides the framework for cooperation with the provinces and territories in the conservation, development and use of Canada's water resources. Section 38 requires that a report on operations under the Act be laid before Parliament after the end of each fiscal year. This annual report covers progress on these activities from April 1, 2010, to March 31, 2011.

The report describes a wide range of federal activities conducted under the authority of the Act, including participation in federal–provincial/territorial agreements and undertakings, significant water research, and public information programs. A map depicting Canada's major drainage areas and drainage flows is provided in Figure 1.


Provisions of the Canada Water Act

The following is a summary of the major provisions of the Act:

Part I, section 4, provides for the establishment of federal–provincial arrangements for water resource matters. Sections 5, 6 and 8 provide the vehicle for cooperative agreements with the provinces to develop and implement plans for the management of water resources. Section 7 enables the Minister, either directly or in cooperation with any provincial government, institution or person, to conduct research, collect data and establish inventories associated with water resources.

Part II provides for federal–provincial management agreements where water quality has become a matter of urgent national concern. It permits the joint establishment and use of federal or provincial incorporated agencies to plan and implement approved water-quality management programs. The application of alternative cooperative approaches and programs has resulted in Part II never having been used.

Part III, which provided for regulating the concentration of nutrients in cleaning agents and water conditioners, has been repealed. It was incorporated into the Canadian Environmental Protection Act in 1988 and later into sections 116–119 (Part VII, Division I) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, which came into force on March 31, 2000. (See the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 annual reports to Parliament.)

Part IV contains provisions for the general administration of the Act, including annual reporting to Parliament. In addition, Part IV provides for inspection and enforcement, allows the Minister to establish advisory committees, and permits the Minister, either directly or in cooperation with any government, institution or person, to undertake public information programs.

Figure 1: Major drainage areas and drainage flows in Canada

Figure 1. Major Drainage Areas and Drainage Flows in Canada : Pacific Ocean, Arctic Ocean, Hudson Bay, Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic Ocean

Foreword

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada : Rapport annuel d'avril 2010 à mars 2011

(PDF), 1 Mo


Avant-propos

La Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada, promulguée le 30 septembre 1970, établit le cadre de coopération avec les provinces et les territoires en vue de la conservation, du développement et de l'utilisation des ressources en eau du Canada. L'article 38 exige le dépôt au Parlement d'un rapport sur les activités menées en vertu de la Loi après chaque exercice. Ce rapport annuel a trait aux progrès réalisés dans ces activités du 1er avril 2010 au 31 mars 2011.

Il décrit un large éventail des activités fédérales menées en vertu de la Loi, notamment la participation à diverses ententes et initiatives fédérales-provinciales et fédérales-territoriales, les recherches importantes sur l'eau et les programmes d'information au public. La figure 1 présente une carte illustrant les principaux bassins hydrographiques et l'écoulement des principaux cours d'eau du Canada.

Dispositions de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada

Voici un résumé des principales dispositions de la Loi.

L'article 4 de la partie I prévoit la conclusion d'ententes entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces sur les questions de ressources en eau. Les articles 5, 6 et 8 prévoient la conclusion d'ententes de coopération avec les provinces en vue d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des plans de gestion des ressources en eau. L'article 7 autorise le ministre, directement ou en collaboration avec un gouvernement provincial, une institution ou un particulier, à effectuer des recherches, à recueillir des données et à dresser des inventaires associés aux ressources en eau.

La partie II prévoit des ententes de gestion entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces lorsque la qualité de l'eau devient une question urgente d'intérêt national. Elle permet la création et l'utilisation conjointes d'organismes fédéraux ou provinciaux constitués en société pour établir et mettre en œuvre des programmes approuvés de gestion de la qualité de l'eau. Comme elle a recours à des approches et à des programmes de collaboration différents, il n'a jamais été nécessaire de mettre à exécution la partie II.

La partie III, qui a permis la réglementation de la concentration des éléments nutritifs dans les produits de nettoyage et les adoucisseurs d'eau, a été abrogée. Elle a été intégrée à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement en 1988 et ultérieurement dans les articles 116 à 119 (partie VII, section I) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), qui est entrée en vigueur le 31 mars 2000. [Consultez les rapports annuels au Parlement sur la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).]

La partie IV comprend des dispositions générales relatives à l'administration de la Loi, dont la production d'un rapport annuel à déposer au Parlement. En outre, la partie IV, qui prévoit des inspections et des mesures pour assurer l'application de la loi, autorise le ministre à créer des comités consultatifs et elle lui permet de mettre en œuvre, directement ou en collaboration avec une administration, une institution ou un particulier, des programmes d'information au public.

Figure 1. Principaux bassins hydrographiques et écoulement des principaux cours d'eau du Canada

Carte géographique démontrant les principaux bassins hydrographiques et écoulement des principaux cours d'eau du Canada.

 
Avant-propos
Date de modification :