Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Erosion & Sedimentation

In this Section:


Water – The Transporter

Water plays an important role in the transformation of the Canadian landscape by moving large amounts of soil, in the form of sediment. Sediment is eroded from the landscape, transported by river systems, and eventually deposited in a lake or the sea. For example, the Fraser River carries an average of 20 million tonnes of sediment a year into the marine environment.

The sediment cycle starts with the process of erosion, whereby particles or fragments are weathered from rock material. Action by water, wind, glaciers, and plant and animal activities all contribute to the erosion of the earth's surface. Fluvial sediment is the term used to describe the case where water is the key agent for erosion. Natural, or geologic, erosion takes place slowly, over centuries or millennia. Erosion that occurs as a result of human activity may take place much faster. It is important to understand the role of each when studying sediment transport.

Any material that can be dislodged is ready to be transported. The transportation process is initiated on the land surface when raindrops result in sheet erosion. Rills, gullies, streams, and rivers then act as conduits for sediment movement. The greater the discharge, or rate of flow, the higher the capacity there is for sediment transport.

The final process in the cycle is deposition. When there is not enough energy to transport the sediment, it comes to rest. Sinks, or depositional areas, can be visible as newly deposited material on a flood plain, bars and islands in a channel, and deltas. Considerable deposition occurs that may not be apparent, as on lake and river beds. A knowledge of sediment dynamics is an integral part of understanding the aquatic ecosystem.

Canada's waterways move many millions of tonnes of sediment annually in this never-ending cycle of erosion, transportation, and deposition. Sediment is measured and classified according to its dynamic characteristics:

  • suspended load (suspended in the water);
  • bed load (rolling or bouncing along the bottom);
  • bed material (stationary on the bed).

Why is Sediment Important?

Sediment carried in water has a variety of effects. What are they and why are they important?

Toxic chemicals

Sediment plays a major role in the transport and fate of pollutants and so is clearly a concern in water quality management. Toxic chemicals can become attached, or adsorbed, to sediment particles and then transported to and deposited in other areas. These pollutants may later be released into the environment. By studying the quantity, quality, and characteristics of sediment in the stream, scientists and engineers can determine the sources and evaluate the impact of the pollutants on the aquatic environment. Once the sources and impact are known, action can be taken to reduce the pollutants. The association of toxic chemicals with sediment is an issue of national importance.

Navigation

Deposition of sediment in rivers or lakes can decrease water depth, making navigation difficult or impossible. To ensure access, some of the sediment may be dredged from the stream or harbour, but this may release toxic chemicals into the environment. To determine how much dredging needs to be done and how often, water levels must be monitored, and the rates of sediment transport and deposition estimated. Sedimentation of navigation channels is a concern in the Fraser River (British Columbia), the Mackenzie River (Northwest Territories), and the Great Lakes - St. Lawrence system (Ontario and Quebec).

Fisheries/Aquatic habitat

Streamborne sediment directly affects fish populations in several ways:

  • Suspended sediment decreases the penetration of light into the water. This affects fish feeding and schooling practices, and can lead to reduced survival.
  • Suspended sediment in high concentrations irritates the gills of fish, and can cause death.
  • Sediment can destroy the protective mucous covering the eyes and scales of fish, making them more susceptible to infection and disease.
  • Sediment particles absorb warmth from the sun and thus increase water temperature. This can stress some species of fish.
  • Suspended sediment in high concentrations can dislodge plants, invertebrates, and insects in the stream bed. This affects the food source of fish, and can result in smaller and fewer fish.
  • Settling sediments can bury and suffocate fish eggs.
  • Sediment particles can carry toxic agricultural and industrial compounds. If these are released in the habitat they can cause abnormalities or death in the fish.

Forestry

Some forestry practices have negative impacts on the environment. Extensive tree cutting in an area may not only destroy habitat but increase natural water runoff and accelerate soil erosion. These can lead to increased flow and sediment loads in nearby streams. They can also release chemical substances occurring naturally in forest soils, and allow them to contaminate rivers or lakes. Both the chemicals and the additional sediment can harm fish and other organisms. Sediment problems resulting from forestry practices are prevalent in British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland.

Water supply

Sediment can affect the delivery of water. When water is taken from streams and lakes for domestic, industrial, and agricultural uses, the presence of sediment in the water can wear out the pumps and turbines. As this increases maintenance costs, it is important to determine the amount of sediment in the stream so that the appropriate equipment can be chosen when designing a water supply plant.

Energy production

The amount of sediment transported affects both the size and the life expectancy of reservoirs created for power generation. A dam traps sediment that would normally be carried downstream, and that sediment decreases the size of the reservoir and thus its use for power generation. Therefore, it is necessary to know the amount of sediment to ensure the effective design of reservoirs for the long term.

Agriculture

Some farming practices increase soil erosion and add toxic chemicals to the environment. Thus, productive soil is lost to farms, sediment and pollutants are added to streams, and maintenance costs of irrigation systems are increased. Sediment data and information are necessary in the evaluation of cropping practices and their environmental effects. Sediment-related problems associated with agriculture occur across the country.


Dredging and can it do any Harm?

Dredging is the removal of sediments or earth from the bottom of water bodies using either a type of scoop or a suction apparatus. This material, often called spoils, is then deposited along the shore, formed into islands, or transported elsewhere away from the site. Dredging is usually done to increase the depth or width of water channels for navigation or to allow increased flow rates to accommodate larger volumes of water.

Dredging can disturb the natural ecological balance through the direct removal of aquatic life. For example, in estuaries (part of the river mouth where fresh water and seawater are mixed), oyster beds can be destroyed; in the freshwater environment, those bottom-dwelling organisms on which fish depend for food may be eliminated from the food chain. In addition, when spoils are deposited directly in a water system, they may smother the remaining organisms, and silt or sediments released from dredging activities can cover and destroy fish feeding and breeding habitats.

Furthermore, contaminants accumulate over long periods of time in the sediments. Some toxic substances which may reside in the sediment (e.g., mercury) can re-enter the water system when the sediments are dredged. Such contaminants then endanger the health of water users, particularly the organisms that live in the body of water. Nutrients are also released by dredging. These can cause eutrophication of the system, resulting in oxygen depletion and possibly the death of fish and other aquatic organisms.


How is Sediment Sampled?

Sediment quantity and quality are sampled in a variety of ways:

  • Specially designed suspended-sediment samplers are used to collect water/sediment samples that are analyzed for sediment quantity and sometimes quality.
  • Bed-load samples are usually taken by lowering a specially made sampler to the stream bed. Resting there, the sampler traps the material moving along the bottom.
  • Bed-material samples may be taken simply by hand from exposed bars or stream banks, or by samplers from the stream bed. Some samplers scoop sediment by simply digging into the bed, while other kinds extract a core from the bed.

Once collected, suspended-sediment samples are analyzed for concentration and particle size. This is usually done in a laboratory. The concentration is the ratio of sediment (dry weight) to the total water-sediment mixture, expressed as milligrams per litre (mg/L). The particle size is simply the size of the sediment particles. Depending on their size, they are classified as sand, silt, or clay.

To find out how much material is transported by a river, one can combine the concentration with the stream discharge, or flow. This gives the sediment load, which indicates the total amount of sediment transported over a certain time period, whether an hour, a day, month, or year. In such a way, it has been estimated that at Montreal the St. Lawrence River transports 2.3 million tonnes of sediment in suspension each year, or the equivalent of 230 000 truck-loads of soil.

Water, and more specifically the hydrologic cycle, plays a major role in driving the sediment life cycle. The amount of water and its distribution over time influence how and when sediment is sampled.

In Canada, sampling is usually for suspended-sediment data. Most of this sampling is done during high-flow conditions (spring, summer, and fall rainstorms), when most of the sediment is transported through the river system. However, a few samples may be taken at other times throughout the year, to better define the sediment regime. Bed-load sampling is typically undertaken in the spring, when high discharge mobilizes the stream bed. Bed-material may be sampled during the summer, when low-flow conditions may expose parts of the stream bed, making sampling easier.

Once the samples have been analyzed, the data on concentrations, particle sizes, or loads can be applied to engineering and environmental questions.


Suspended Sediment Load in Select Canadian Rivers

Glaciers retreated 10 000 years ago, leaving large amounts of easily erodible material across much of western Canada. In mountainous areas (e.g., the Fraser, Peace, and upper Mackenzie rivers), steepness and abundant water supply enable large amounts of sediment to be carried away. In contrast, the flat and dry conditions of the Prairies result in much lower sediment loads. In eastern Canada, where much of the land is bedrock, there is a limited sediment supply and therefore smaller loads.

Average annual suspended sediment load for selected rivers in Canada


Sediment Data and Information

The measurement of sediments in streams in Canada dates back to 1948, in Saskatchewan. The federal government has conducted a national sediment program since 1961 in cooperation with the provinces, territories, and other interested agencies, such as hydroelectric companies. Data-collection techniques are standardized across the country to maintain data quality and comparability. Provincial governments also collect sediment data either as part of a regular sampling program or for specific studies. Consulting engineers and planners, as well as university researchers, also carry out sampling for site-specific projects.

These data have been used extensively to address reservoir sedimentation, environmental impact assessment, sediment-associated contaminant transport, and other concerns.

Sediment data and information are available from a variety of sources. A large amount of data is contained in a national computer data base operated by Environment Canada. The data base contains historical and current data for about 750 stations throughout the country, about 300 of which are currently monitored.

The types of data that are stored in the national computer data base are as follows:

  • suspended-sediment concentrations
  • suspended-sediment loads
  • suspended-sediment particle size
  • bed load
  • bed-load particle size
  • bed-material particle size
  • sediment quality

The data are published annually on CD-Rom and are available from the Water Survey of Canada

Erosion et sédimentation

Dans cette section :


L'eau – agent de transport

L'eau joue un rôle important dans la transformation du paysage canadien en déplaçant de grandes quantités de sol sous forme de sédiments. Ceux-ci sont arrachés par érosion au paysage, transportés par les réseaux hydrographiques, puis déposés dans un lac ou une mer. Ainsi, le fleuve Fraser transporte en moyenne par année 20 millions de tonnes de sédiments vers la mer.

Le cycle des sédiments débute par le processus d'érosion, par lequel des particules ou fragments sont arrachés aux matériaux rocheux sous l'action des agents d'érosion. L'action de l'eau, du vent et des glaciers ainsi que les activités des plantes et animaux contribuent à l'érosion de la surface terrestre. On parle de sédiments fluviaux dans le cas où l'eau constitue le principal agent. L'érosion naturelle, ou géologique, est un processus lent, qui s'étend parfois sur des siècles ou des millénaires. L'érosion résultant de l'activité humaine, dite anthropique, peut se produire beaucoup plus rapidement. Il est important de comprendre le rôle de chacun des agents avant d'étudier le transport des sédiments.

Tout matériau, une fois délogé, est prêt à être transporté. Le processus de transport débute à la surface terrestre lorsque des gouttes de pluie causent de l'érosion en nappe. Les rigoles, ravins, ruisseaux et rivières servent ensuite de couloir pour évacuer les sédiments. Plus le débit, ou taux d'écoulement, est important, plus la capacité de transport des sédiments est élevée.

Le cycle se termine avec l'accumulation. Lorsque l'énergie ne suffit plus pour déplacer les sédiments, ceux-ci s'immobilisent. Les bassins ou zones d'accumulation comprennent les matériaux nouvellement déposés d'une plaine d'inondation, les îles et bancs d'un chenal et les deltas. L'accumulation, même si elle est considérable, n'est pas nécessairement apparente; c'est le cas de celle qui se produit sur les lits fluviaux et lacustres. Pour comprendre l'écosystème aquatique, il faut absolument connaître la dynamique des sédiments.

Les voies d'eau du Canada déplacent de nombreux millions de tonnes de sédiments par année dans le cycle sans fin de l'érosion, du transport et de l'accumulation. Les sédiments sont mesurés et classés en fonction de leurs caractéristiques dynamiques :

  • débit des sédiments en suspension (en suspension dans l'eau);
  • charriage (roulage ou saltation au fond);
  • matériaux du lit (stationnaires).

L'importance des sédiments

Les sédiments transportés dans l'eau ont divers effets; quels sont-ils pourquoi sont-ils importants?

Substances chimiques toxiques

La gestion de la qualité de l'eau doit tenir compte des sédiments car ceux-ci jouent un rôle important dans le transport et le devenir des matières polluantes. Les substances chimiques toxiques peuvent se fixer aux particules de sédiments ou être absorbées par celles-ci, puis transportées et déposées dans un autre milieu. Ces polluants peuvent plus tard être libérés dans l'environnement. Par l'étude de la quantité, de la qualité et des caractéristiques des sédiments dans les cours d'eau, les chercheurs et ingénieurs peuvent déterminer les sources et évaluer l'impact des polluants sur le milieu aquatique. Lorsque les sources et les répercussions sont connues, il est possible de prendre des mesures pour réduire les polluants. Des rapports entre substances chimiques toxiques et sédiments constituent en fait une question d'importance nationale.

Navigation

L'accumulation de sédiments dans des cours d'eau ou des lacs peut faire diminuer la profondeur de l'eau, ce qui rend la navigation difficile ou même impossible. Il se peut qu'il faille draguer une partie des sédiments pour assurer l'accès à un cours d'eau ou un port, ce qui peut libérer des substances chimiques toxiques dans l'environnement. Pour déterminer le volume et la fréquence du dragage nécessaire, il faut surveiller les niveaux d'eau et estimer les taux de transport et d'accumulation des sédiments. La sédimentation des chenaux de navigation est un problème dans le fleuve Fraser (Colombie-Britannique), le fleuve Mackenzie (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) et le réseau hydrographique Grands Lacs - Saint-Laurent (Ontario et Québec).

Pêches et habitats aquatiques

Les sédiments fluviaux ont plusieurs effets directs sur les populations de poissons :

  • La présence de sédiments en suspension réduit le taux de pénétration de la lumière dans l'eau, ce qui influe sur les pratiques d'alimentation et de rassemblement en bancs des poissons et peut faire baisser le taux de survie.
  • La présence de grandes concentrations de sédiments en suspension irrite les branchies des poissons et peut entraîner la mort de ceux-ci.
  • Les sédiments peuvent détruire la muqueuse protectrice couvrant les yeux et les écailles des poissons, ce qui rend ceux-ci plus vulnérables à l'infection et aux maladies.
  • Les particules sédimentaires absorbent la chaleur du soleil et font ainsi s'accroître la température de l'eau, d'où des répercussions possibles sur certaines espèces de poissons.
  • La présence de sédiments en suspension en grande concentration peut déloger les plantes, les invertébrés et les insectes du lit fluvial. Cette présence peut avoir un effet sur les sources d'aliments des poissons et réduire la taille et le nombre de ces derniers.
  • Les sédiments, en s'accumulant, peuvent enfouir et étouffer les oeufs de poisson.
  • Les particules de sédiments peuvent transporter des composés agricoles et industriels toxiques. Si ceux-ci sont relâchés dans l'habitat, ils peuvent entraîner des déformations chez les poissons ou la mort de ceux-ci.

Foresterie

Certaines pratiques d'exploitation forestière ont des répercussions néfastes sur l'environnement. Ainsi, le déboisement extensif d'une région peut non seulement détruire l'habitat, mais accroître le ruissellement naturel des eaux et accélérer l'érosion du sol. Ces activités peuvent entraîner un accroissement de l'écoulement et des charges de sédiments dans les cours d'eau environnants. Des substances chimiques naturelles peuvent également être libérées dans les sols des forêts et contaminer les cours d'eau ou les lacs. Tant les substances chimiques que les sédiments additionnels peuvent avoir un effet néfaste sur les poissons et autres organismes. Les problèmes de sédiments liés aux pratiques d'exploitation forestière sont répandus en Colombie-Britannique, en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick et à Terre-Neuve.

Approvisionnement en eau

La présence de sédiments peut avoir un effet sur la distribution de l'eau. Lorsque l'eau est prélevée dans des cours d'eau et des lacs à des fins domestiques, industrielles et agricoles, les sédiments présents dans l'eau peuvent user les pompes et turbines. Comme cela accroît les coûts d'entretien, il est important de déterminer la quantité de sédiments dans un cours d'eau de manière à pouvoir choisir un équipement approprié pour l'usine d'approvisionnement en eau.

Production d'énergie

La quantité de sédiments transportés a un effet à la fois sur la taille et sur la durée de vie d'un réservoir créé pour la production d'énergie. Ainsi, un barrage emprisonne des sédiments qui seraient normalement entraînés vers l'aval et ces sédiments font décroître la taille du réservoir, donc sa capacité de production d'énergie. Il est nécessaire de connaître la quantité de sédiments pour concevoir efficacement et à long terme les réservoirs.

Agriculture

Certaines pratiques agricoles accroissent l'érosion du sol et ajoutent des substances chimiques toxiques à l'environnement. Du sol productif est donc perdu pour les entreprises agricoles, des sédiments et des polluants entrent dans les cours d'eau et les coûts d'entretien des systèmes d'irrigation s'accroissent. Il faut posséder de l'information et des données sur les sédiments pour évaluer les pratiques agricoles et les effets de celles-ci sur l'environnement. Des problèmes de sédimentation associés à l'agriculture s'observent un peu partout au pays.


Qu'est-ce que le dragage et peut-il entraîner des dommages?

Le dragage est l'opération par laquelle les sédiments ou la terre du fond sont extraits des étendues d'eau au moyen d'un appareil qui ressemble à une pelle ou d'un aspirateur. Le matériel dragué (les « débris » comme on l'appelle souvent) est déposé sur la rive, entassé pour former des îles ou transporté ailleurs. Le dragage est habituellement effectué pour approfondir ou élargir les canaux utilisés pour la navigation ou pour permettre l'augmentation de débits adaptés à de plus grands volumes d'eau.

Le dragage peut perturber l'équilibre écologique naturel par la destruction de la vie aquatique. Par exemple, on peut éliminer de la chaîne alimentaire les colonies d'huîtres dans les estuaires (partie de l'embouchure d'un cours d'eau où l'eau douce se mélange à l'eau de mer) ou les organismes qui vivent au fond de l'eau, en eau douce, et dont se nourrissent les poissons. En déchargeant les débris directement dans l'eau, on peut tuer les organismes survivants, tandis que le limon ou les sédiments soulevés par le dragage peuvent ensevelir les endroits où se nourrissent et se reproduisent les poissons.

De plus, les contaminants s'accumulent lentement dans les sédiments. Ceux-ci pourraient contenir certaines substances toxiques (p. ex., le mercure) qui peuvent recontaminer l'eau au moment du dragage. Ces substances peuvent menacer la santé de ceux qui utilisent l'eau, notamment celle des organismes aquatiques. Le dragage peut aussi libérer des éléments nutritifs qui favoriseront l'eutrophisation du système, d'où l'appauvrissement de la teneur en oxygène et éventuellement la mort des poissons et des autres organismes aquatiques.


Comment se fait l'échantillonnage des sédiments?

La qualité et la quantité sont échantillonnés de diverses façons :

  • Des échantillonneurs de sédiments en suspension spécialement conçus servent à prélever les échantillons d'eau ou de sédiments qui sont ensuite analysés. On détermine la quantité de sédiments présents et parfois la qualité.
  • Des échantillons du charriage sont généralement prélevés au moyen d'une trappe à sédiments, qui est déposée sur le lit du cours d'eau; y sont emprisonnés les matériaux qui y entrent.
  • On peut prélever sur des bancs exposés ou des rives des cours d'eau, tout simplement à la main, ou au moyen d'échantillonneurs déposés sur les lits des cours d'eau, des échantillons des matériaux du lit. Certains échantillonneurs permettent de prélever des sédiments par creusage dans le lit, alors que d'autres en extraient une carotte.

On analyse généralement en laboratoire les échantillons de sédiments en suspension, une fois ceux-ci prélevés, pour déterminer la concentration et la taille des particules. La concentration est le rapport entre les sédiments (poids sec) et le mélange total eau-sédiments exprimé en milligrammes par litre (mg/L). La granulométrie est une mesure de la taille des particules de sédiments; on distingue les sables, les limons et l'argile.

Afin de déterminer le volume de matériaux transportés par un cours d'eau, on peut combiner les renseignements sur la concentration et sur le débit ou écoulement du cours d'eau. On obtient alors le débit solide, qui correspond à la quantité totale de sédiments transportés pour une période donnée (heure, jour, mois, année). On a estimé de cette manière que le Saint-Laurent transportait, en face de Montréal, 2,3 millions de tonnes de sédiments en suspension par année, soit l'équivalent de 230 000 camions de terre.

L'eau, plus précisément le cycle hydrologique, joue un rôle important dans la dynamique du cycle de vie des sédiments. La quantité d'eau et la distribution du débit en fonction du temps ont un effet sur le moment de l'échantillonnage et sur la technique utilisée.

Au Canada, l'échantillonnage sert généralement à obtenir des données sur les sédiments en suspension. La majeure partie de l'échantillonnage est effectuée lors des périodes à débit élevé (tempêtes de pluie du printemps, de l'été et de l'automne) au moment où la plus grande partie des sédiments sont transportés dans le réseau hydrographique. Toutefois, on peut prélever des échantillons durant le reste de l'année afin d'être mieux en mesure de définir le régime sédimentaire. L'échantillonnage du charriage se fait généralement au printemps, lorsque le lit fluvial est recouvert sous l'effet d'un débit élevé. Les matériaux du lit peuvent être échantillonnés en été, là où certaines portions du lit sont exposées parce que l'écoulement est faible; l'échantillonnage est alors plus facile.

Une fois les échantillons analysés, les données portant sur les concentrations, la taille des particules ou les débits peuvent être appliquées à des questions techniques ou environnementales.


Débit des sédiments en suspension dans certains cours d'eau du Canada

Les glaciers se sont retirés il ya 10 000 ans, laissant derrière eux, ands la majeure partie de l'Ouest canadien, de vastes quantités de matériaux facilement érodables. En région montagneuse (p. ex., fleuve Fraser, rivière de la Paix et cours supérieur du Mackenzie), de grands volumes de sédiments sont arrachés parce que les versants sont abrupts et les quantités d'eau abondantes. Au contraire, les débits solides sont beaucoup plus faibles dans les Prairies, là où le terrain est plat et le climat sec. Dans l'est du Canada, où la majorité du terrain est constituée de roche en place, l'approvisionnement en sédiments est limité et les débits sont donc plus faibles. 

Débit moyen annuel des sédiments en suspension dans certains cours d'eau du Canada


Information et données sur les sédiments

C'est en 1948, en Saskatchewan, qu'ont été réalisées les premières mesures sur des sédiments fluviaux. Depuis 1961, le gouvernement fédéral dirige un programme national sur les sédiments en collaboration avec les provinces, les territoires et d'autres organismes intéressés, comme les entreprises hydroélectriques. On a normalisé les techniques de collecte de données à l'échelle du pays dans le but de préserver la qualité et la comparabilité des données. Les gouvernements provinciaux amassent aussi des données sur les sédiments tant dans le cadre d'un programme régulier d'échantillonnage que pour des études précises. Les aménagistes et ingénieurs-conseils, ainsi que les chercheurs universitaires, prélèvent aussi des échantillons pour des projets ponctuels.

Ces données ont beaucoup servi à réaliser des étude de la sédimentation des réservoirs, du transport de contaminants associés aux sédiments et d'autres questions et à effectuer des évaluations des incidences environnementales.

L'information et les données sur les sédiments sont disponibles auprès de diverses sources. Ainsi, une base nationale de données informatisées, exploitée par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, renferme un grand nombre de données sur les sédiments. Il s'agit de données historiques et actuelles pour environ 750 stations réparties dans tout le pays, dont près de 300 font présentement l'objet de surveillance.

Voici les types de données emmagasinées dans cette base :

  • concentrations de sédiments en suspension,
  • débits de sédiments en suspension,
  • granulométrie des sédiments en suspension,
  • charriage,
  • granulométrie du charriage,
  • granulométrie des matériaux du lit,
  • qualité des sédiments.

Ces données sont publiées annuellement sur CD-Rom et sont disponibles auprés de Relevés hydrométriques du Canada 

Date de modification :