This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Prohibition of Bulk Water Removal

In this Section:


Background Information - What does it all mean?

Inter-basin transfers or diversions broadly refer to large-scale or bulk removals of water by man-made diversions, such as canals, tanker ships or trucks, or pipelines. The water is not necessarily exported out of the province or country, but is transferred from its basin of origin. Water export refers to taking water and shipping it to other countries for profit, whether by tanker or pipeline, or by diverting rivers and building canals. However, it does not include small-scale water removal, such as water in small portable containers, water used in a product or bottled water.

Under the International Boundary Waters Treaty Act (IBWTA), Canada has protections in place to prohibit the bulk removal of water from boundary waters, such as the Great Lakes.  The prohibition is an environmental measure designed to preserve the integrity of boundary waters ecosystems.

The Transboundary Waters Protection Act

On May 13, 2010, the Minister of Foreign Affairs tabled an Act to Amend the International Boundary Waters Treaty Act (Transboundary Waters Protection Act), Bill C-26. The purpose of the bill is to strengthen the prohibition against the bulk removal of water outside of Canada.

The full text of the Act can be viewed on the Parliament of Canada Web site.

  • The Government of Canada is standing up for Canadians by protecting our water supply.
  • The Transboundary Waters Protection Act will protect Canada's water from bulk removal outside of Canada.
  • The bill creates new powers for inspection and enforcement and introduces tough new penalties for violations, including fines of up to $6 million for corporate violations.
  • Rivers and streams that cross the border will now fall under the same protection that was already in place for waters that straddle the border, like the Great Lakes.
  • The strengthened provisions found in this bill are complementary to existing regimes at both the federal and provincial level.  The Government will continue to work with provincial and territorial governments to ensure that Canadian freshwater is protected. 
  • This bill has strengthened enforcement provisions that provide new powers for inspections in order to verify compliance with the Act.  These new provisions will allow the Minister to designate persons to enforce the Act and gives these persons important inspection powers.

For more information, visit the departmental Web site of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

News Releases

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L’interdiction de prélèvements massifs d’eau

Dans cette section :


Renseignements généraux - de quoi s'agit-il?

Les transferts entre bassins ou diversions font généralement référence aux prélèvements massifs ou à grande échelle d’eau grâce à des diversions créées par l’homme, telles que des canaux, des navires ou camions citernes ou des pipelines. L’eau n’est pas nécessairement exportée hors de la province ou du pays; elle peut être uniquement transférée à l’extérieur de son bassin d’origine. L’exportation de l’eau consiste à prendre l’eau et à l’exporter dans d’autres pays pour en tirer des profits, que ce soit par citerne ou par pipeline, ou à dévier des rivières et construire des canaux. Cependant, elle ne comprend pas le prélèvement de l’eau à petite échelle, comme l’eau transportée dans de petits contenants portatifs, l’eau utilisée dans un produit ou l’eau embouteillée.

En vertu de la Loi du traité des eaux limitrophes internationales, le Canada a mis des protections en place pour interdire le prélèvement massif d’eau des eaux internationales, comme les Grands Lacs. Cette interdiction est une mesure environnementale conçue pour préserver l’intégrité des écosystèmes des eaux limitrophes.


La Loi sur la protection des eaux limitrophes internationales

Le 13 mai 2010, le ministre des Affaires étrangères a déposé une Loi pour modifier la Loi du traité des eaux limitrophes internationales (Loi sur la protection des eaux limitrophes internationales), projet de loi C-26. L’objectif de ce projet de loi est de renforcer l’interdiction à l’endroit du prélèvement massif d’eau à l’extérieur du Canada.

Pour accéder à la version intégrale de la Loi, visitez le site Web du Parliament du Canada.

  • Le gouvernement du Canada défend les intérêts des Canadiens en protégeant notre approvisionnement en eau.
  • Le projet de loi sur la protection des eaux limitrophes internationales renforce davantage les interdictions qui protègent les prélèvements massifs d’eau canadienne par des pays étrangers.
  • Le projet de loi crée de nouveaux pouvoirs d'inspection et d'application et introduit de nouvelles peines sévères pour les violations, y compris des amendes pouvant aller jusqu'à 6 millions $ pour des violations faites par des entreprises.
  • Les rivières et les ruisseaux qui traversent la frontière ont désormais la même protection que celle déjà en place pour les eaux qui chevauchent la frontière, comme les Grands Lacs.
  • Le renforcement des dispositions dans ce projet de loi sont complémentaires aux régimes existants, tant au niveau fédéral et provincial. Le gouvernement continuera de travailler avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux pour s'assurer que l'eau douce du Canada est protégée.
  • Ce projet de loi a renforcé les dispositions d'exécution qui confèrent de nouveaux pouvoirs d'inspection afin de vérifier la conformité avec la Loi. Ces nouvelles dispositions permettront au ministre de désigner des personnes pour appliquer la Loi et donne à ces personnes des pouvoirs d'inspection importants.

Veuillez consulter le site web d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.


Communiqués

Date de modification :