Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Shared Responsibility

In this Section:


Introduction

In Canada, the responsibility for water management is shared by the federal, provincial, and municipal governments, and in some instances, by the territories and by Aboriginal governments under self-government agreements. This shared responsibility necessitates close cooperation and collaboration among all levels of government, Aboriginal peoples, and the public.


Jurisdictional Responsibilities

Canada is a federation. As in many areas of Canadian life, this means different levels of government have different jurisdictional roles related to water management, while there are also many areas of shared commitment.

Canadian provinces and one of the territories have the primary jurisdiction over most areas of water management and protection. Most of those governments delegate certain authorities to municipalities, especially the drinking water treatment and distribution and wastewater treatment operations of urban areas. They may also delegate some water resource management functions to local authorities that may be responsible for a particular area or river basin. Most major uses of water in Canada are permitted or licensed under provincial water management authorities.

Federal jurisdiction applies to the conservation and protection of oceans and their resources, fisheries, navigation, and international relations, including responsibilities related to the management of boundary waters shared with the United States. The federal government also has responsibilities for managing water in its own "federal house," which includes federal lands (e.g., National Parks), federal facilities (e.g., office buildings, labs, penitentiaries, military bases), First Nation reserves, as well as two of Canada's three territories (Nunavut and Northwest Territories).

Shared federal-provincial responsibilities include:

  • agriculture;
  • significant national water issues; and
  • health.

In practice, all orders of government, communities, the private sector, and individual Canadians have responsibilities and make decisions every day that influence the health and sustainability of freshwater resources.


Domestic Arrangements

Canadian governments have created institutions to focus on specific water issues that have implications for more than one province or territory. For example, the Prairie Provinces Water Board manages an agreement for the equitable apportionment of eastward-flowing Prairie rivers and the consideration of water quality problems.

The Mackenzie River Basin Board helps to implement the Mackenzie River Basin Transboundary Waters Master Agreement. This forms the basis for cooperation in protecting and addressing the water quantity and quality of an aquatic ecosystem that covers one-fifth of Canada.

The Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME), while not a governance body, is an important collaborative institution through which the provinces, territories, and federal government discuss and act on common approaches to many environmental priorities.

CCME has become a vehicle for collaboration on national water priorities, including research, the development of science-policy linkages, acceleration of the development of water quality guidelines, and better linking of networks that monitor water quality across Canada.

Other federal-provincial-territorial ministerial councils (e.g., Forestry, Mines, and Agriculture) play important roles in environmental protection with impacts on water as part of their focus on the sustainable development of natural resources.

In much the same way, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (a non-governmental organization) effectively represents municipalities' interests. Among its many activities are efforts to identify water issues and best practices that municipalities are encouraged to take into account in their own strategies, policies, and practices.

Federal-provincial agreements

The Canada Water Act calls for joint consultation between the federal and provincial governments in matters relating to water resources. Joint projects involve the regulation, apportionment, monitoring or survey of water resources, and the pre-planning, planning or implementation of sustainable water resource programs.

Agreements for specific water programs provide for the participating governments to contribute funding, information and expertise in agreed ratios. For ongoing activities such as the water quantity survey agreements with each province, cost-sharing is in accordance with each party's need for the data. For study and planning agreements, it is usual for the federal government to meet half the costs and the provincial government the other half. The planning studies encompass interprovincial, international or other basins where federal interests are important. Implementation of planning recommendations occurs on a federal, provincial, and federal-provincial basis. Cost-sharing of the construction of works often includes a contribution from local governments.

A summary of recent agreements can be found in Appendix A of the Canada Water Act Annual Report.


Partnerships in Action

Protection of watersheds and ecosystems

Federal and provincial governments have jointly developed and implemented basin-wide action plans in collaboration with communities and other stakeholders. These action plans are designed to help resolve complex environmental issues, particularly deteriorating water quality that threatens human and ecosystem health.

During the late 1980s, the St. Lawrence River and Great Lakes basin was the focus of the first large action plans to clean up, restore, and protect ecosystems. In 1991, governments built on those experiences when they targeted the Fraser River and the Atlantic coastal area for remedial action. Each of these plans involved extensive collaborative actions at the community level to prevent pollution and to restore polluted ecosystems. While each plan was designed to meet specific regional needs and priorities, all were based on an ecosystem approach, promoting partnerships that involve all sectors, encouraging community involvement and ensuring a sound scientific basis for decision making.

For more information, visit the Ecosystem Initiatives section.

Water monitoring

Environment Canada and its counterparts in provincial and territorial governments have a successful 27-year collaborative agreement on water resource monitoring and data/information within Canada, which is focused on water quantity monitoring. This represents a model of international relevance to countries that share major watersheds.

All jurisdictions conduct monitoring programs to assess water quality and to measure impacts of point and nonpoint sources of pollution. Many of these programs are designed to meet the specific priorities and circumstances of individual jurisdictions. Currently, provinces, territories, and the federal government are collaborating on developing a data referencing system under the auspices of the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. This will facilitate linking water quality monitoring networks across the country to provide more complete information on water quality and trends.

In addition, Health Canada along with provincial and territorial health departments and public health organizations collect and synthesize data on waterborne disease under the National Enteric Surveillance Program. These data are used in outbreak identification and response and are useful in identifying trends and communities or regions at risk.

Infrastructure

All jurisdictions in Canada are actively addressing challenges related to aging or inadequate drinking water and wastewater treatment infrastructure. The federal, provincial, and territorial governments have established funding programs that support collaboration with municipalities in improving the quality of infrastructure, with funding for water and wastewater and water supply utilities as a significant focus of these programs.

Similar large-scale investments are addressing the need for improved water and wastewater treatment facilities to meet the health and environmental needs of First Nations and Inuit communities.

Les responsabilités partagées

Dans cette section :


Introduction

Au Canada, le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces, les administrations municipales, et, dans certains cas, les territoires et les gouvernements autochtones dans le cadre d'ententes d'autonomie gouvernementale, se partagent la gestion des eaux. Vu le partage des responsabilités en matière d'eau douce au Canada, il est essentiel que tous les niveaux de gouvernement, les peuples autochtones et la population coopèrent et collaborent étroitement.


Champs de compétence

Le Canada est une fédération. Comme dans bien des domaines de la vie canadienne, c'est donc dire que différents paliers de gouvernement ont différents rôles à assumer concernant la gestion de l'eau alors qu'il existe également de nombreux domaines où les engagements sont partagés.

Les provinces et un des territoires canadiens exercent la responsabilité première dans la plupart des domaines liés à la gestion et à la protection de l'eau. La plupart de ces gouvernements délèguent certains pouvoirs aux municipalités, particulièrement les services de traitement et de distribution de l'eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées dans les zones urbaines. Ils peuvent également déléguer certaines fonctions de gestion des ressources en eau aux administrations locales qui sont peut-être responsables d'un secteur en particulier ou d'un bassin fluvial donné. La plupart des utilisations importantes de l'eau au Canada sont autorisées au moyen de licences ou de permis délivrés par les autorités provinciales de gestion de l'eau.

La compétence fédérale s'applique à la conservation et à la protection des océans et de leurs ressources, aux pêches, à la navigation et aux relations internationales, y compris les responsabilités liées à la gestion des eaux limitrophes partagées avec les États-Unis. Le gouvernement du Canada est également responsable de la gestion de l'eau dans la « grande maison fédérale », ce qui englobe les terres fédérales (p. ex. les parcs nationaux), les installations fédérales (p. ex. les immeubles de bureaux, les laboratoires, les établissements pénitenciers, les bases militaires), les réserves des Premières nations, ainsi que deux des trois territoires canadiens (Nunavut et Territoires du Nord-Ouest).

Les responsabilités provinciales-fédérales incluent :

  • l'agriculture;
  • les problèmes nationaux importants liés à l'eau;
  • la santé.

En pratique, tous les paliers de gouvernement, les collectivités, le secteur privé et les citoyens ont des responsabilités à assumer et prennent chaque jour des décisions qui influent sur la salubrité et la durabilité de l'eau douce.


Ententes internes

Les gouvernements au Canada ont créé des institutions chargées de se pencher sur des questions précises liées à l'eau, qui ont des incidences dans plus d'une province ou d'un territoire. Par exemple, la Régie des eaux des provinces des Prairies administre une entente pour la répartition équitable des ressources des rivières des Prairies qui coulent vers l'est et l'étude des problèmes entourant la qualité de l'eau.

Le Conseil du bassin du Mackenzie aide à la mise en oeuvre de l'Entente-cadre sur les eaux transfrontalières du bassin du Mackenzie, ce qui constitue la base d'une collaboration visant à protéger et à étudier la quantité et la qualité des ressources en eau d'un écosystème aquatique qui recouvre un cinquième de la superficie du Canada.

Le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME), même s'il ne s'avère pas un organisme de gouvernance, est une institution de collaboration importante par l'intermédiaire de laquelle les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux tiennent des discussions et prennent des mesures relatives à des approches communes à l'égard de nombreuses priorités environnementales.

Le CCME est devenu un mécanisme de collaboration au sujet de priorités nationales relatives à l'eau, y compris la recherche, la création de liens entre les sciences et les politiques, l'accélération de l'élaboration de recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau et l'amélioration des liens entre les réseaux qui assurent la surveillance de la qualité de l'eau partout au Canada.

D'autres conseils ministériels fédéraux-provinciaux-territoriaux (p. ex., sur les forêts, les mines et l'agriculture) jouent un rôle important dans la protection de l'environnement, les incidences sur l'eau étant au coeur de leurs préoccupations sur le développement durable des ressources naturelles.

D'une façon tout aussi similaire, la Fédération canadienne des municipalités (une organisation non gouvernementale) représente efficacement les intérêts des municipalités. Parmi ses nombreuses activités se trouvent les efforts qu'elle déploie pour cerner les questions liées à l'eau et les pratiques exemplaires que les municipalités sont encouragées à adopter dans leurs propres stratégies, politiques et pratiques.

Accords fédéraux-provinciaux

La Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada prévoit la réalisation d'un processus de consultation des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux pour toute question relative aux ressources en eau. Les projets conjoints concernent les projets de régularisation, de répartition, de surveillance ou de relevé des ressources en eau, de même que des phases d'étude préliminaire, de planification et d'application des programmes pour le développement durable des ressources en eau.

Les accords conclus pour chaque programme précisent la part que chaque gouvernement a accepté de contribuer pour ce qui est du financement, des informations et du savoir-faire. En ce qui a trait aux activités permanentes, comme les accords sur les relevés hydrométriques, le partage des frais se fait en fonction des besoins en données de chaque partie. Dans le cas des accords de programmes d'étude et de planification, le gouvernement fédéral assume généralement la moitié des frais et la province, le reste. Les études de planification portent sur les bassins interprovinciaux, internationaux et autres, où les intérêts fédéraux sont importants. La mise en oeuvre des recommandations issues des études de planification s'effectue aux niveaux provincial, fédéral et fédéral-provincial. Les administrations locales participent souvent aux frais de construction des ouvrages.

On peut trouver un sommaire des ententes récentes dans l'Annexe A du Rapport annuel de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada.


Partenariats en action

Protection des bassins hydrographiques et des écosystèmes

Les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux ont conjointement élaboré et mis en oeuvre des plans d'action pour l'ensemble du bassin en collaboration avec les collectivités et d'autres intervenants. Ces plans d'action sont conçus pour aider à résoudre des questions environnementales complexes, particulièrement la détérioration de la qualité de l'eau, qui menace la santé des humains et celle des écosystèmes.

Vers la fin des années 1980, le bassin des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent a fait l'objet des premiers grands plans d'action conçus pour nettoyer, remettre en état et protéger les écosystèmes. En 1991, les gouvernements ont tablé sur ces expériences lorsqu'ils ont ciblé le fleuve Fraser et les zones côtières de l'Atlantique pour la mise en oeuvre de mesures correctrices. Chacun de ces plans comprenait d'importantes mesures de collaboration au niveau de la collectivité pour prévenir la pollution et remettre en état les écosystèmes pollués. Bien que chacun des plans ait été conçu pour donner suite à des priorités et à des besoins régionaux précis, tous étaient fondés sur une approche écosystémique, faisant la promotion des partenariats avec l'ensemble des secteurs, encourageant la participation de la collectivité et assurant une assise scientifique valable pour la prise de décisions.

Pour obtenir de plus amples de renseignements, consultez la section sur les initiatives axées sur l'écosystème

Surveillance de l'eau

Environnement Canada et ses pendants provinciaux et territoriaux disposent depuis 27 ans d'une entente de collaboration réussie sur la surveillance et sur l'information ou les données relatives aux ressources en eau au Canada, laquelle est axée sur la surveillance quantitative. L'entente représente un modèle d'intérêt mondial pour les pays qui partagent des bassins hydrographiques importants.

Tous les gouvernements mènent des programmes de surveillance pour évaluer la qualité de l'eau et mesurer les incidences des sources ponctuelles et diffuses de pollution. Bon nombre de ces programmes sont conçus pour s'adapter aux priorités et aux circonstances propres à des administrations en particulier. Actuellement, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux collaborent à l'élaboration d'un système de référencement des données sous les auspices du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement. Cette mesure facilitera la création de liens entre les réseaux de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau partout au pays afin de fournir une information plus exhaustive sur les tendances et la qualité de l'eau.

De plus, Santé Canada, conjointement avec les ministères provinciaux et territoriaux de la santé et des organisations publiques de santé, recueillent et synthétisent les données sur les maladies d'origine hydrique dans le cadre du Programme national de surveillance des maladies entériques. Ces données servent à déterminer les cas d'éclosion et à intervenir; elles sont également utiles pour cerner les tendances et les collectivités ou les régions à risque.

Infrastructure

Toutes les instances au Canada relèvent activement des défis liés aux infrastructures vieillissantes ou inappropriées pour le traitement de l'eau potable et des eaux usées. Les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont mis en place des programmes de financement qui appuient la collaboration avec les municipalités pour améliorer la qualité de l'infrastructure et qui ont comme principal objectif l'affectation de ressources aux services d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées.

Des investissements similaires importants permettent de fournir de meilleures installations de traitement de l'eau et des eaux usées afin de répondre aux besoins en santé et en environnement des Premières nations et des collectivités inuites.