For the most part, waters that lie solely within a province's boundaries fall within the constitutional authority of that province. As far as Canada's three territories are concerned, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) has, as one of its functions in the north, the mandate to manage water resources in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. On April 1, 2003, responsibility for the management of water resources in Yukon was transferred from the federal government to the Government of the Yukon

Provincial legislative powers include, but are not restricted to, areas of

  • flow regulation
  • authorization of water use development
  • water supply
  • pollution control
  • thermal and hydroelectric power development

The following are links to water-related policy and legislation in Canada's provinces and territories.

Some of the following hyperlinks are to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Official Languages Act. The material found there is therefore in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

For information on provincial/territorial water policy and legislation available in French, see the French version of this page.

Map of Canada with the provinces and the territories indicatedYukon British Columbia Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Ontario Quebec New Brunswick Nova Scotia Prince Edward Island Newfoundland and Labrador Northwest Territories Nunavut