Protected Areas Permits

Protected areas managed by Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) include Migratory Bird Sanctuaries and National Wildlife Areas. A wide variety of species rely on the habitat found within protected areas including many species of threatened or endangered plants or animals and migratory birds. Certain activities are prohibited within protected areas and access to these areas may be restricted in order to ensure that these unique and rare habitats are protected and conserved for present and future generations.

To learn more about prohibited activities and access restrictions in protected areas, please see:

Permit Applications

Under certain conditions, authorization to undertake prohibited activities may be granted through a permit issued by the Minister of ECCC. Permitting procedures for Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) permits are guided by the Migratory Bird Sanctuary Regulations. Permitting procedures for National Wildlife Area (NWA) permits are guided by the Wildlife Area Regulations.

To apply for a MBS or a NWA permit, please contact the appropriate Canadian Wildlife Service regional office to obtain the necessary application forms as well as instructions on how to complete and submit your application.

Permitting for Northern Protected Areas

Please note that, in the case of protected areas located in Nunavut or the Northwest Territories, applicants should expect longer processing timelines when applying for MBS and NWA permits because of additional review procedures mandated by various land claims agreements. In addition to evaluation by the Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS), MBS and NWA permit applications for protected areas in Nunavut or the Northwest Territories may require additional reviews by territorial and/or aboriginal review boards and consultations with local communities before a permit can be issued.

Additionally, MBS and NWA permit applications for protected areas located in the Nunavut Settlement Area will need to be translated (by the applicant) into Inuktitut and/or Inuinnaqtun and the application will need to be submitted before the applicable deadline.

For more information about permit applications for protected areas in Nunavut and the Northwest Territories, please visit the ECCC Frequently Asked Questions page (Coming soon). For enquiries related to permitting in Nunavut or the Northwest Territories please contact:

Date modified:

Les permis pour les aires protégées

Les aires protégées qui sont protégées par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) incluent les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs et les réserves nationales de faune. Plusieurs espèces de plantes, d’animaux et d’oiseaux migrateurs comptent sur l’habitat qui se trouve dans ces aires protégées dont des espèces qui sont menacés ou en voie de disparition. Certaines activités sont interdites à l’intérieur des aires protégées et l’accès peut être restreint afin d’assurer la protection de ces habitats rares et uniques pour les générations actuelles et futures.

Pour apprendre d’avantage au sujet des activités prohibées et les restrictions d’accès, veuillez consulter :

Demandes de permis

Sous certaines conditions, la ministre de l’ECCC peut autoriser une personne à entreprendre des activités prohibées par le biais d’un permis. La procédure d’octroi de permis pour les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) est guidée par le règlement sur les refuges d’oiseaux migrateurs. La procédure d’octroi de permis pour les réserves nationales de faune (RFN) est guidée par le règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages.

Pour faire une demande pour un permis ROM ou RFN, veuillez contact le bureau régional du service canadien de la faune approprié pour obtenir les formulaires nécessaires ainsi que des instructions par rapport à comment compléter et soumettre votre demande.

Les permis pour les aires protégées du nord

SVP notez que, lorsqu’une demande est faite pour un permis ROM ou RFN, les requérants devrait s’attendre à des délais de traitement plus longs lorsque l’aire protégée se trouve dans les territoires du nord-ouest ou au Nunavut en raison des procédures de révisions supplémentaires qui sont exigées par divers accords sur les revendications territoriales. En plus de l’évaluation réalisée par le service canadien de la faune (SCF), les demandes pour des permis ROM et RFN pour des aires protégées qui se trouvent dans les territoires du nord-ouest ou au Nunavut pourraient nécessiter une révision supplémentaire par une commission d’évaluation territoriale et/ou autochtone et des consultations avec les communautés locales avant qu’un permis puisse être délivré.

En outre, les demandes de permis ROM et RFN pour des aires protégées qui se trouvent dans la région du Nunavut doivent être traduit (par le demandeur) dans la langue Inuktitut et/ou Inuinnaqtun et la demande doit être soumise avant la date d’échéance applicable.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet des aires protégées dans les territoires du nord-ouest et au Nunavut, veuillez consulter la foire aux questions (à venir). Pour toute question concernant les demandes de permis pour les aires protégées dans les territoires du nord-ouest ou au Nunavut, veuillez communiquer avec :

Date de modification :