Skip booklet index and go to page content

2011-2012 - Annual Report to Parliament - Access to Information Act

The Access to Information Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. A-1) came into force on July 1, 1983. The Act grants Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and persons residing in Canada the right to access information in records held by the federal government, except for types of information falling under the exemptions or exclusions. Section 72 of the Act requires every head of a federal government institution to submit a report to Parliament on the administration of the Act within their institution during the fiscal year.

This report is submitted in accordance with section 72 of the Act. It presents an overview of access to information activities carried out within Environment Canada during the reporting period April 1, 2011 to March 31, 2012.

The Department of the Environment was established by the Government Reorganization Act (1970-71-72, c. 42) on June 10, 1971. A number of acts and regulations provide the Department with its mandate and allow it to carry out its programs. Under the Department of the Environment Act, the powers, duties and functions of the Minister of the Environment extend to and include matters relating to:

  • the preservation and enhancement of the quality of the natural environment, including water, air and soil quality;
  • renewable resources, including migratory birds and other non-domestic flora and fauna;
  • water;
  • meteorology;
  • the enforcement of any rules or regulations made by the International Joint Commission relating to boundary waters; and
  • the coordination of the policies and programs of the Government of Canada respecting the preservation and enhancement of the quality of the natural environment.
 
Introduction
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

2011-2012 - Rapport annuel au Parlement - Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Introduction

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information (L.R.C. 1985, ch. A-1) est entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 1983. Elle accorde aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et aux personnes qui résident au Canada le droit de consulter l’information contenue dans les documents du gouvernement fédéral, sauf pour les types de renseignements faisant l’objet d’exceptions ou d’exclusions. L’article 72 de la Loi exige que le responsable de chaque institution fédérale présente au Parlement un rapport sur l’administration de la Loi au sein de son institution au cours de l’exercice financier.

Ce rapport est présenté conformément à l’article 72 de la Loi. Il donne un aperçu des activités menées par Environnement Canada en matière d’accès à l’information pendant la période du 1er avril 2011 au 31 mars 2012.

Le ministère de l’Environnement a été constitué le 10 juin 1971 par la Loi de 1970 sur l’organisation du gouvernement (S.C. 1970-71-72. ch. 42).  Un certain nombre de lois et de règlements décrivent la mission du Ministère et lui permettent de mener ses programmes à bien. Dans l’application de la Loi sur le ministère de l’Environnement, les pouvoirs, les tâches et les fonctions du ministre de l’Environnement s’étendent aux questions qui ont trait :

  • à la conservation et à l’amélioration de la qualité de l’environnement naturel, notamment celle de l’eau, de l’air et du sol;
  • aux ressources naturelles renouvelables, notamment les oiseaux migrateurs et la flore et la faune sauvages en général;
  • à l'eau;
  • à la météorologie;
  • à l’application des règles ou des règlements mis en place par la Commission mixte internationale au sujet des eaux limitrophes;
  • à la coordination des plans et des programmes du gouvernement du Canada en matière de conservation et d’amélioration de la qualité de l’environnement naturel.
 
Introduction
Date de modification :