This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Reducing wastewater pollution

Target 3.7: Freshwater quality – Reduce risks associated with wastewater effluent by 2020 in collaboration with provinces and territories (Note: risk reduction for wastewater effluent relates both to freshwater and marine).

The percentage of Canadians on municipal sewers with secondary wastewater treatment or better has improved from 40% in 1983 to 69% in 2009.

Beginning in 2013, the loading of Biological Oxygen Demand matter and suspended solids for all wastewater systems subject to the Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations will be tracked, and a baseline for reporting will be established in 2015.

The federal government has worked with all levels of government and through the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment to finalize the Wastewater Systems Effluent Regulations (WSER) in 2012. The regulations will phase out the release of untreated and undertreated sewage into waterways, and align Canadian standards with those of the United States and the European Union. It is expected that about 75% of existing wastewater systems already meet the minimum secondary wastewater treatment standards in the regulations. Communities and municipalities, including First Nations, that meet the standards will not need to make upgrades to their systems. The other 25% will have to upgrade to at least secondary wastewater treatment. Wastewater systems requiring upgrades will have until the end of 2020, 2030 or 2040, based on risk, to achieve the effluent quality standards.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following website: Environment Canada.

Progress towards Target 3.7: Municipal wastewater treatment (interim indicator)

The percentage of Canadians on municipal sewers with secondary wastewater treatment or better has improved from 40% in 1983 to 69% in 2009, as shown by Figure 3.9. This leaves approximately 18% of Canadians who rely on primary treatment or less, and another 13% of Canadians using household septic systems to treat their sewage.

For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 3.9: Wastewater treatment levels, Canada, 1983 to 2009

Wastewater treatment levels, Canada, 1983 to 2009

Long description

The bar chart shows the percentage of the Canadian population with different levels of municipal wastewater treatment between 1983 and 2009. There are five treatment categories: no treatment, primary treatment, secondary treatment, tertiary treatment and septic systems or haulage. The percentage of Canadians on municipal sewers with secondary treatment or better has improved from 40% in 1983 to 69% in 2009, leaving approximately 18% with primary treatment or less and another 13% of Canadians using household septic systems to treat their sewage. No data is available for 2001 as there were not enough respondents to produce meaningful results.

Future indicators

By 2015, those wastewater systems achieving and not achieving the effluent quality standards will be tracked through an online, electronic reporting system.

Beginning in 2013, the loading of Biological Oxygen Demand matter and suspended solids for all wastewater systems subject to the WSER will be tracked through an online, electronic reporting system. The baseline for reporting on this indicator (and the indicator above) will be established in 2015. Information for these indicators will be available on the CESI website at a later date.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réduire la pollution des eaux usées

Cible 3.7 : Qualité de l'eau douce – Réduire les risques associés aux effluents des eaux usées d'ici 2020 en collaboration avec les provinces et les territoires. (Remarque : La réduction des risques liés aux effluents des eaux usées concerne aussi bien l'eau douce que l'eau de mer).

Le pourcentage de la population canadienne liée à un réseau d'égouts municipaux avec traitement secondaire ou supérieur a augmenté, passant de 40 % en 1983 à 69 % en 2009.

À compter de 2013, la charge de matières exerçant une demande biologique en oxygène et de matières en suspension pour tous les réseaux d'assainissement assujettis au Règlement sur les effluents des systèmes d'assainissement des eaux usées fera l'objet d'un suivi, et une base de référence pour la production de rapports sera créée en 2015.

Le gouvernement fédéral a travaillé avec tous les ordres de gouvernement et par l'intermédiaire du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'Environnement afin de finaliser le Règlement sur les effluents des systèmes d'assainissement des eaux usées (RESAEU) en 2012. Ce règlement éliminera progressivement le rejet des effluents non traités ou insuffisamment traités d'eaux usées dans les voies d'eau, et harmonisera les normes canadiennes avec celles des États-Unis et de l'Union européenne. On estime qu'environ 75 % des systèmes d'assainissement des eaux usées existants respectent déjà les normes minimales de traitement secondaire des eaux usées mentionnées dans le règlement. Les collectivités et les municipalités, y compris les Premières nations, qui respectent les normes n'auront pas besoin de mettre à niveau leurs systèmes. Les 25 % restants seront mis à niveau pour avoir au moins un traitement secondaire des eaux usées. Les systèmes d'assainissement ayant besoin d'être mis à niveau auront jusqu'à la fin de 2020, 2030 ou 2040 en fonction du risque, pour respecter les normes sur la qualité des effluents.

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter le site Web à l'adresse suivante : Environnement Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 3.7 : Traitement des eaux usées municipales [Indicateur provisoire]

Le pourcentage de la population canadienne liée à un réseau d'égouts municipaux avec traitement secondaire ou supérieur des eaux usées a augmenté, passant de 40 % en 1983 à 69 % en 2009, comme le montre la figure 3.9. Ce qui laisse environ 18 % des Canadiens qui dépendent d'un traitement primaire ou inférieur, et 13 % des Canadiens qui utilisent des fosses septiques pour traiter leurs eaux usées.

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 3.9 : Niveaux de traitement des eaux usées au Canada, de 1983 à 2009

Niveaux de traitement des eaux usées au Canada, de 1983 à 2009

Description longue

Le diagramme à barres montre le pourcentage de la population canadienne en fonction du niveau de traitement des eaux usées municipales entre 1983 et 2009. On différencie cinq catégories de traitement : aucun traitement, traitement primaire, traitement secondaire, traitement tertiaire et système septique ou chargements. Le pourcentage de Canadiens desservis par un traitement secondaire ou mieux est passé de 40 % en 1983 à 69 % en 2009, laissant approximativement 18 % de la population desservie par un traitement primaire ou moins et 13 % de la population servie par un système septique privé. Aucune donnée n'est disponible pour 2001 en raison du nombre insuffisant de répondants pour produire des résultats significatifs.

Indicateurs à venir

D'ici 2015, les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées qui respectent ou non les normes sur la qualité des effluents feront l'objet d'un suivi par l'entremise d'un système de déclaration électronique en ligne.

À compter de 2013, la charge de matières exerçant une demande biologique en oxygène et de matières solides en suspension pour tous les systèmes d'assainissement assujettis au Règlement sur les effluents des systèmes d'assainissement des eaux usées (RESAEU) fera l'objet d'un suivi par l'entremise d'un système de déclaration électronique en ligne. La référence régissant la production de rapports sur cet indicateur (et l'indicateur ci-dessus) sera établie en 2015. Les renseignements sur ces indicateurs seront disponibles sur le site Web des à une date ultérieure.



Date de modification :