This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Understanding wise forest management

Target 7.3: Sustainable forest management – Improve the management of Canada’s forest ecosystems through the development and dissemination of knowledge.

Natural Resources Canada produced 224 peer-reviewed publications related to forest ecosystems between fiscal years 2009–2010 and 2011–2012.

Advice to governments and stakeholders rooted in science helps the competitiveness of Canada's forest sectors and the responsible stewardship of Canada's forests.

Using this research to understand the impact of forest management activities enables the government and the provinces to develop sound policies to: support the sustainability of forests, the continuous production of desired goods and services; effectively represent domestic issues in international negotiations; and help improve environmental quality for Canadians. Understanding the impact of forest management activities also helps governments predict trends, causes and the rate of change in ecosystems, and identify ecosystems at risk as a result of climate change. Since 2007, the Forest Communities Program has helped community-based partnerships adjust to the transition of the forest sector and take advantage of emerging forest-based opportunities at 11 sites across Canada.

Scientific research helps to uphold national and international standards by recognizing Canadian work in sustainable forest management. Science is used to certify forestry practices that, in turn, open international markets to Canadian goods. The annual State of Canada's Forest Report offers an objective assessment of Canada's forest resources and industry, and provides key facts and summaries of trends.

Research also enables the government to demonstrate that Canada's forest management is sustainable. This increases market access for Canada's forest products.

From 1996 to 2011, the government supported First Nations in managing forestry resources through the First Nations Forestry Program. This program promotes partnership projects on sustainable forest management, knowledge and technology transfer, business opportunity facilitation, and support for specialized forestry technical training and work experience. The program has helped over 2,400 forestry projects in First Nations communities across Canada. Over 200 publications about the results of these projects were developed in the course of the program, with seven published in fiscal year 2010–2011.

For additional information on the Implementation Strategies that support this target, please consult the following websites: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and Natural Resources Canada.

Progress towards Target 7.3: Number of peer-reviewed publications related to forest ecosystems

Natural Resources Canada produced 224 peer-reviewed publications related to forest ecosystems between fiscal years 2009–2010 and 2011–2012.

Generating and disseminating scientific knowledge related to forest ecosystems is based on publications that have been peer reviewed to ensure that the analysis is scientifically sound. This focus on science further informs policy decisions.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comprendre la gestion forestière judicieuse

Cible 7.3 : Gestion durable des forêts – Améliorer la gestion des écosystèmes forestiers du Canada grâce au développement et à la transmission des connaissances.

Ressources naturelles Canada a produit 224 publications en lien avec les écosystèmes forestiers et revues par des pairs entre les exercices 2009-2010 et 2011-2012.

Des conseils aux gouvernements et aux intervenants fondés sur la science contribuent à la compétitivité des secteurs forestiers du Canada et à assurer une intendance responsable des forêts du Canada.

Le fait d'utiliser cette recherche pour mieux comprendre les effets des activités de gestion forestière permet au gouvernement et aux provinces d'élaborer des politiques saines pour : appuyer la durabilité des forêts, la production continue des biens et services souhaités, représenter efficacement les enjeux nationaux aux négociations internationales, aider à améliorer la qualité de l'environnement pour les Canadiens. Le fait de comprendre l'incidence des activités de gestion forestière permet également aux gouvernements de prédire les tendances, les causes et le taux de changement dans les écosystèmes et d'identifier les écosystèmes en péril à cause des changements climatiques. Depuis 2007, le programme des communautés forestières a aidé aux partenariats communautaires à s'adapter à la transition du secteur forestier et à tirer profit des nouvelles possibilités forestières sur 11 sites à travers le Canada.

La recherche scientifique permet de respecter les normes nationales et internationales en reconnaissant le travail canadien en matière de gestion durable des forêts. La science est utilisée pour la certification des pratiques forestières qui, à leur tour, ont ouvert les marchés internationaux aux marchandises canadiennes. Le rapport annuel l'état des forêts au Canada offre une évaluation objective des ressources forestières du Canada et de l'industrie, et fournit des faits essentiels et des résumés des tendances.

La recherche permet également au gouvernement de démontrer que la gestion forestière du Canada est durable. Cela augmente l'accès au marché des produits forestiers du Canada.

De 1996 à 2011, le gouvernement a soutenu les Premières nations dans la gestion des ressources forestières par l'entremise du programme forestier des Premières nations. Ce programme promeut les projets de partenariat sur la gestion durable des forêts, le transfert des connaissances et de la technologie, la facilitation des possibilités d'affaires et soutient la formation technique et spécialisée sur la foresterie et l'expérience de travail. Le programme a aidé plus de 2 400 projets de foresterie dans les collectivités des Premières nations de tout le Canada. Plus de 200 publications sur les résultats de ces projets ont été élaborées dans le cadre du programme, sept ayant été publiées au cours de l'exercice 2010-2011.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, et Ressources naturelles Canada

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 7.3 : Nombre de publications revues par des pairs sur les écosystèmes forestiers

Ressources naturelles Canada a produit 224 publications en lien avec les écosystèmes forestiers et revues par des pairs entre les exercices 2009-2010 et 2011-2012.

La production et la diffusion des connaissances scientifiques sur les écosystèmes forestiers sont fondées sur des publications qui ont été examinées par des pairs afin de garantir que l'analyse est rigoureusement scientifique. L'accent mis davantage sur les sciences appuie les décisions stratégiques.


Date de modification :