This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Reducing alien species invasions

Target 6.4: Managing threats to ecosystems – Threats of new alien invasive species entering Canada are understood and reduced by 2015.

Canada has taken action to manage risks to ecosystems from invasive alien species. From 2005–2010, it committed $85 million to implement an Invasive Alien Species Strategy for Canada. This strategy emphasizes preventing the entry of new alien species by air, land and water, and responding quickly to prevent the establishment of those species that have arrived. The government addresses key pathways associated with trade and travel, and expands and refines programs related to risk assessment, regulatory development, border inspections, outreach and education.

Invasive species such as Asian carp have the potential to profoundly alter the Great Lakes and other freshwater ecosystems across Canada, as they compete with native fishes for food, space and spawning habitat. Possession of live Asian carp is prohibited in Ontario, and the governments of Canada and Ontario have significantly increased the number of border inspections of live fish destined for Ontario food markets.

In May 2012, the government announced new funding totalling $17.5 million over five years to protect Canada's Great Lakes from the threat of Asian carp. The funding will support education, development of an early warning and monitoring system with United States, and rapid response planning.

Recent amendments to the Fisheries Act provide explicit regulation making authorities to address the threat of aquatic invasive species. The federal government is currently working with provinces and territories to develop a national aquatic invasive species regulatory proposal for prohibiting possession, transport and import of aquatic invasive species, and establishing authorities for control and eradication activities.

In the past, some invasive non-native species have entered Canadian waters through the exchange of ballast water from ships arriving in Canada from overseas locations. In 2004, the International convention for the Control and Management of Ship's Ballast Water and Sediments was adopted. This convention, in conjunction with a binational inspection program between Canada and the U.S. established in 2006, helped to prevent ships from overseas locations that enter the Great Lakes from releasing any ballast water that may contain invasive non-native species into the waters of the Great Lakes. Since these programs have been in place, no new invasive non-native species attributable to ballast water from ships have been reported in the Great Lakes.

Since these programs have been in place, no new nonnative species attributable to ship ballast have been reported in the Great Lakes.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following websites: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Canada Border Services Agency, Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Natural Resources Canada and Transport Canada.

Progress towards Target 6.4: Invasive species

Options for an invasive alien species indicator(s) have been identified and are being assessed. Information for this indicator will be available on the CESI website at a later date.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réduire l'invasion par des espèces exotiques

Cible 6.4 : Gestion des menaces pour les écosystèmes –Les menaces posées par l'entrée ou Canada de nouvelles espèces exotiques envahissantes sont comprises et réduites d'ici 2015

Le Canada a pris des mesures pour gérer les risques pour les écosystèmes provenant des espèces exotiques envahissantes. De 2005 à 2010, il a investi 85 millions de dollars pour mettre en œuvre une stratégie nationale sur les espèces exotiques envahissantes. Cette stratégie met l'accent sur la prévention de l'entrée de nouvelles espèces exotiques par l'air, le sol et l'eau, et à intervenir rapidement pour empêcher l'établissement des espèces qui sont arrivées. Le gouvernement traite les principales voies d'exposition associées au commerce et aux voyages, et élargit et précise les programmes relatifs à l'évaluation des risques, à l'élaboration de règlements, aux inspections à la frontière, à l'éducation et à la sensibilisation.

Les espèces envahissantes telles que la carpe d'Asie ont le potentiel d'altérer profondément l'écosystème des Grands Lacs et d'autres écosystèmes d'eau douce partout au Canada, étant donné qu'elles font concurrence aux espèces indigènes de poissons pour la nourriture, l'espace et l'habitat de frai. La possession de carpes asiatiques vivantes est interdite en Ontario, et le gouvernement du Canada et la province de l'Ontario ont considérablement accru le nombre d'inspections à la frontière des poissons vivants destinés aux marchés d'alimentation de l'Ontario.

En mai 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé un nouveau financement totalisant 17,5 millions de dollars sur cinq ans afin de protéger les Grands Lacs du Canada contre la menace de carpes asiatiques. Le financement appuiera l'éducation, le développement d'un système d'alerte rapide et de surveillance avec les États-Unis, et la planification d'une intervention rapide.

Les modifications récemment apportées à la Loi sur les pêches donnent des pouvoirs explicites de réglementation pour contrer la menace des espèces envahissantes aquatiques. Le gouvernement fédéral travaille actuellement avec les provinces et les territoires afin d'élaborer une proposition de réglementation des espèces aquatiques envahissantes interdisant la possession, le transport et l'importation d'espèces aquatiques envahissantes et définissant les autorités pour les activités de contrôle et d'éradication.

Dans le passé, certaines espèces envahissantes non indigènes ont atteint les eaux canadiennes par l'échange d'eaux de lest des bateaux venant de l'étranger et arrivant au Canada. En 2004, la Convention internationale sur le contrôle et la gestion des eaux de ballast et des dépôts des navires a été adoptée. Cette Convention, conjointement avec un programme binational d'inspection entre le Canada et les États-Unis établi en 2006, a permis d'empêcher les navires venant de l'étranger et pénétrant dans l'écosystème des Grands Lacs de diffuser toute l'eau de ballast pouvant contenir des espèces non indigènes envahissantes dans les eaux des Grands Lacs. Étant donné que ces programmes ont été mis en place, aucune nouvelle espèce exotique envahissante attribuable au ballast des navires n'a été signalée dans le bassin des Grands Lacs.

Étant donné que ces programmes ont été mis en place, aucune nouvelle espèce exotique attribuable au ballast des navires n'a été signalée dans le bassin des Grands Lacs.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants : Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada et Transports Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 6.4 : Espèces envahissantes

Les options pour un indicateur des espèces exotiques envahissantes ont été déterminées et sont en cours d'évaluation. L'information relative à cet indicateur sera disponible sur le site Web des ICDEà une date ultérieure.


Date de modification :