This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Protecting Canadians' drinking water

Target 3.11: Drinking water quality – Help protect the health of Canadians by developing health-based water guidelines.

Four guidelines/guidance documents pertaining to drinking water quality have been approved by the federal/provincial/territorial Committee on Health and the Environment. These were guidelines on: Protozoa; E. coli; Total Coliform; and, guidance for Heterotrophic Plate Count.

Since 1968, guidelines and guidance documents on drinking water have been developed and published. While provinces and territories help set priorities, provide exposure data, and approve and apply guidelines, federal leadership in the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality ensures national consistency and economy of scale, with the scientific expertise required for health assessments. The federal/provincial/ territorial Committee on Health and the Environment provides policy approval from their respective jurisdictions.

The guidelines provide the foundation of every drinking water regulation and requirement in Canada, and provide health-based limits and guidance for over 80 microbiological, chemical and radiological contaminants in drinking water. Through the development of new guidelines and the updating of older ones, the system keeps up with new scientific developments, as well as emerging contaminants of concern.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following websites: Environment Canada and Health Canada.

Progress towards Target 3.11: Health-based water guidelines

Four guidelines/guidance documents pertaining to drinking water quality have been approved by the federal/provincial/territorial Committee on Health and the Environment. These were guidelines on: protozoa, E. coli, total coliform and guidance for heterotrophic plate count.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Protéger l'eau potable des Canadiens

Cible 3.11 : Qualité de l'eau potable – Aider à protéger la santé des Canadiens en établissant des lignes directrices sur l'eau axées sur la santé.

Quatre lignes directrices ou documents d'orientation portant sur la qualité de l'eau potable ont été approuvés par le Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la santé et l'environnement. Les lignes directrices traitent des protozoaires, de la bactérie E. coli et du nombre total de coliformes, et le document d'orientation concerne la numération sur plaque des bactéries hétérotrophes.

Depuis 1968, des lignes directrices et des documents d'orientation sur l'eau potable ont été élaborés et publiés. Alors que les provinces et les territoires permettent d'établir les priorités, de fournir des données sur l'exposition et d'approuver et d'appliquer les lignes directrices, le leadership fédéral dans les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada assure la cohérence à l'échelle nationale et les économies d'échelle, grâce à l'expertise scientifique requise pour les évaluations de la santé. Les compétences respectives du Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la santé et l'environnement donnent leur approbation de la politique.

Les lignes directrices fournissent le fondement de toutes les exigences et de la réglementation de l'eau potable au Canada, et offrent une orientation et des limites axées sur la santé pour plus de 80 contaminants chimiques, microbiologiques et radiologiques dans l'eau potable. Grâce à l'élaboration de nouvelles lignes directrices et à la mise à jour des anciennes, le système suit les nouveaux développements scientifiques ainsi que les nouveaux contaminants préoccupants.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants : Environnement Canada et Santé Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 3.11 : Lignes directrices relatives à l'eau axées sur la santé

Quatre lignes directrices ou documents d'orientation portant sur la qualité de l'eau potable ont été approuvés par le Comité fédéral-provincial-territorial sur la santé et l'environnement. Les lignes directrices traitent des protozoaires, de la bactérie E. coli et du nombre total de coliformes, et le document d'orientation concerne la numération sur plaque des bactéries hétérotrophes.


Date de modification :