This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Improving the Great Lakes

Target 3.1: Freshwater quality – Complete federal actions to restore beneficial uses in Canadian Areas of Concern in the Great Lakes by 2020.

Target 3.2: Freshwater quality – Contribute to the restoration and protection of the Great Lakes by developing and gaining binational acceptance of objectives and strategies for the management of nutrients in the Great Lakes by 2015.

Environmental quality in Canada's Great Lakes Areas of Concern (AOCs) has improved since the restoration program began in 1987. Between 1987 and 2010, 3 out of 17 Canadian AOCs had their environmental conditions fully restored (Collingwood Harbour, Severn Sound, Wheatley Harbour) and 2 more areas are in recovery (Spanish Harbour and Jackfish Bay).

 

Phosphorus levels remain an issue in the open waters of three of the four Canadian Great Lakes.

Phosphorus levels in lakes Huron and Ontario and in Georgian Bay have declined below their water quality objectives, and the western and central basins of Lake Erie remain above their objectives.

Phosphorus levels in the middle of Lake Superior and in the eastern basin of Lake Erie currently meet their water quality objectives.

The Great Lakes provide the foundation for billions of dollars in economic activity and are a direct source of drinking water for millions of Canadians. However, the sustainability of the Great Lakes ecosystem is threatened from ongoing biological, physical and chemical stresses, as well as new and emerging challenges like invasive alien species, new chemical contaminants and the impacts of climate change.

In 1987, the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement (GLWQA) identified 43 Areas of Concern (AOC) across the Great Lakes. An Area of Concern is a region that has experienced environmental degradation. Twenty-six of these AOCs are entirely in U.S. waters, 12 entirely in Canadian waters and 5 are in the channels connecting the lakes and are shared by both countries; thus, Canada has 17 AOCs to address.

In 2012, the governments of Canada and the United States amended the GLWQA and committed to a shared vision of a healthy and prosperous Great Lakes region in which the waters of the Great Lakes, through their sound management, use and enjoyment, provide benefits to present and future generations. This amended agreement reaffirms the commitment of Canada and the U.S. to addressing harmful algae, toxic chemicals, discharges from vessels and the clean-up of AOCs while also containing new provisions dealing with the nearshore environment, aquatic invasive species, habitat degradation and the effects of climate change.

The amended GLWQA also contains several key commitments to address the issue of phosphorus in the Great Lakes, which is of particular concern in Lake Erie. The agreement commits to develop binational substance objectives for phosphorus concentrations, loadings and targets for Lake Erie by 2015, and to have reduction strategies and actions plans in place to meet those objectives by 2017.

Additionally, in 2012 the Government of Canada committed $16 million over four years to the Great Lakes Nutrient Initiative to address nearshore water quality and aquatic ecosystem health, and toxic and nuisance algae growth in the Great Lakes. The Great Lakes Nutrient Initiative is determining the current nutrient loadings from selected Canadian tributaries, setting out binational lake ecosystem objectives, phosphorus objectives and load reduction targets, developing policy options and strategies to meet those targets, and developing a nearshore assessment and management framework.

The government continues to implement its Comprehensive Approach to Clean Water through a number of concrete actions, including investments to clean up Canadian water bodies and a commitment of $48.9 million to clean-up contaminated sediment, a key source of toxics in AOCs. In addition, the government provides annual funding of $8 million a year to support the remediation of other AOCs. These investments have supported partner projects to clean up contaminated sediment, restore fish and wildlife habitats, and improve wastewater treatment systems, along with scientific research, monitoring and provision of expertise to these projects.

As well, in 2007, the government of Canada and Ontario signed a Memorandum of Understanding to establish a national marine conservation area in Lake Superior. Spanning more than 10 000 km2, it will become the largest freshwater marine protected area in the world. Final steps are being taken to designate the area under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act.

In addition, the government of Canada is collaborating with the Government of Ontario and other stakeholders to set standards and complete mapping and assessment requirements for the Great Lakes region.

For additional information on the implementation strategies and initiatives that support this target, please consult the following websites: Environment Canada, Natural Resources Canada and Parks Canada.

Progress Towards Target 3.1: Environmental quality in Canada's Great Lakes Areas of Concern

Environmental quality in Canada's Great Lakes AOCs has improved since the restoration program began in 1987. Between 1987 and 2012, 3 out of 17 Canadian AOCs had their environmental conditions fully restored (Collingwood Harbour, Severn Sound, Wheatley Harbour) and 2 more areas are in recovery (Spanish Harbour and Jackfish Bay). An AOC may be designated an Area in Recovery when all remedial actions for the AOC have been implemented and environmental monitoring confirms that recovery is progressing in accordance with the remedial action plan.

The governments of Canada and Ontario have made significant achievements towards restoring beneficial uses in Canadian AOCs. As a result, many AOCs have improved to a degree that they no longer require significant attention. In May 2011, the Jackfish Bay AOC was designated an Area in Recovery. For Jackfish Bay, improvements in the local pulp and paper mill's effluent treatment and changes in industrial processes have achieved noted improvements in water and sediment quality. In 2012, the governments of Canada and Ontario announced their intention to support improvements to Hamilton Harbour.

Figure 3.5 shows the Great Lakes Area of Concern Indicator, noting the progress made towards restoring Canada's 17 AOCs. The indicator displays the number of beneficial uses that are either listed as "impaired" or "requires further assessment," and indicates whether the area is restored or in recovery. For each AOC, the decrease in the number of impaired beneficial uses shows progress toward restoration. For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 3.5: Progress on Great Lakes Areas of Concern 1987–2012

Progress on Great Lakes Areas of Concern 1987 - 2012

Long description

The figure shows the number of beneficial uses listed as “impaired” and as “requires further assessment” for the 17 Canadian Great Lakes Areas of Concern between 1988 and 2012. During that period, 3 Areas of Concern were considered fully restored, and 2 were considered Areas in Recovery.

Progress towards Target 3.2: Phosphorus levels in the Great Lakes

Phosphorus levels remain an issue in the open waters of three of the four Canadian Great Lakes.

Phosphorus levels in lakes Huron and Ontario and in Georgian Bay have declined below their water quality objectives, and the western and central bases of Lake Erie remain above objectives. Phosphorus levels in the middle of Lake Superior and in the eastern basin of Lake Erie currently meet their water quality objectives.

Phosphorus trends show that levels have not changed in Lake Superior or in the central basin of Lake Erie but are declining in other areas of the Great Lakes. An oversupply of phosphorus can cause nuisance plants and algae growth that can impair fish. Too little phosphorus can result in not enough plant growth to sustain fish.

Figure 3.6 shows the status and trends of phosphorus levels in the open water of the Canadian Great Lakes from 1970 to 2010. For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 3.6: Status and trends of phosphorus levels in the open waters of the Canadian Great Lakes, 1970 to 2010

Status and trends of phosphorus levels in the open waters of the Canadian Great Lakes, 1970 to 2010

Long description

The map presents the results of the comparison of average spring total phosphorus concentrations in the Canadian Great Lakes (Superior, Huron and Georgian Bay Ontario and the western, central and eastern basins of Erie) to their phosphorus water quality objectives to determine the status of phosphorus concentrations in offshore waters in each lake. Phosphorus levels in the middle of Lake Superior and the eastern basin of Lake Erie currently meet target levels and are classified as good. In Lakes Huron and Ontario and Georgian Bay, phosphorus levels are below target concentrations and are given a caution classification. Levels are above water quality objectives in the western and central basins of Lake Erie. Since 1970, phosphorus levels have declined in all the lakes, except Lake Superior and the central basin of Lake Erie, where they have remained stable.

 


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Améliorer les Grands Lacs

Cible 3.1 : Qualité de l'eau douce – Prendre les mesures fédérales afin de restaurer les utilisations bénéfiques dans les secteurs canadiens préoccupants des Grands Lacs d'ici 2020.

Cible 3.2 : Qualité de l'eau douce – Contribuer à la restauration et à la protection des Grands Lacs en élaborant des objectifs et des stratégies pour la gestion des éléments nutritifs dans les Grands Lacs d'ici 2015, et les faire accepter à l'échelle binationale.

La qualité environnementale dans les secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs du Canada s'est améliorée depuis le début du programme de restauration en 1987. Entre 1987 et 2010, les conditions environnementales de 3 secteurs préoccupants sur 17 se sont complètement restaurées (port de Collingwood, bras Severn, port de Wheatley) et 2 autres secteurs sont en voie de retablissement (port de Spanish et baie Jackfish)

 

Les concentrations de phosphore posent toujours problème dans les eaux libres de trois des quatre Grands Lacs du Canada.

Les concentrations de phosphore des bassins ouest et central du lac Érié demeurent au-dessus de leurs objectifs, tandis que les concentrations dans les lacs Huron et Ontario, ainsi que dans la baie Georgienne ont chuté en dessous de leurs objectifs de qualité de l'eau.

Les concentrations en phosphore dans le centre du lac Supérieur et le bassin est du lac Érié rencontrent actuellement leurs objectifs de qualité de l'eau.

Les Grands Lacs sont à la base d'une activité économique de plusieurs milliards de dollars et constituent une source directe d'eau potable pour des millions de Canadiens. Toutefois, la durabilité de l'écosystème des Grands Lacs est menacée par les facteurs de stress biologiques, physiques et chimiques, ainsi que de nouveaux défis émergents, tels que les espèces exotiques envahissantes, les nouveaux contaminants chimiques et les répercussions des changements climatiques.

En 1987, l'Accord Canada–États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs (AQEGL) a permis de déterminer 43 secteurs préoccupants dans les Grands Lacs. Un secteur préoccupant est une région qui a connu une dégradation de l'environnement. Vingt-six de ces secteurs préoccupants se trouvent entièrement dans les eaux américaines, douze entièrement dans les eaux canadiennes et cinq se trouvent dans les canaux reliant les lacs et sont partagés par les deux pays; par conséquent, le Canada doit gérer dix-sept secteurs préoccupants.

En 2012, les gouvernements du Canada et des États-Unis ont amendé l'AQEGL et se sont engagés à avoir une même vision de ce qui constitue une santé bonne et prospère de la région des Grands Lacs, où les eaux des Grands Lacs, grâce à leur bonne gestion, leur utilisation et leur jouissance, pourront bénéficier aux générations présentes et futures. Cet accord modifié réaffirme l'engagement du Canada et des États-Unis de voir au problème des algues nuisibles, des produits chimiques toxiques, des rejets des navires et à l'assainissement des secteurs préoccupants. L'accord contient également des nouvelles dispositions traitant de l'environnement du littoral, des espèces aquatiques envahissantes, de la dégradation de l'habitat et des effets du changement climatique.

L'Accord modifié contient plusieurs engagements clés afin de traiter la question des rejets de phosphore dans les Grands Lacs qui est particulièrement préoccupante dans le lac Érié. Les parties de cet accord s'engagent à élaborer des objectifs binationaux relatifs aux substances, concernant les concentrations, les charges et les cibles de phosphore pour le lac Érié d'ici 2015, et à élaborer des stratégies et des plans d'action de réduction pour atteindre ces objectifs d'ici 2017.

De plus, en 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a consacré 16 millions de dollars sur quatre ans à l'Initiative sur les éléments nutritifs des Grands Lacs afin de régler les problèmes de qualité des eaux littorales et de santé de l'écosystème aquatique, ainsi que les problèmes de croissance des algues toxiques et nuisibles dans les Grands Lacs. Cette Initiative sur les éléments nutritifs des Grands Lacs vise à déterminer les charges en éléments nutritifs provenant d'affluents canadiens sélectionnés, à énoncer des objectifs binationaux pour l'écosystème lacustre, les objectifs et les cibles de réduction des charges de phosphore, à élaborer des stratégies et des options relatives aux politiques pour atteindre ces cibles, et à élaborer un cadre d'évaluation et de gestion des zones littorales.

Le gouvernement continue de mettre en œuvre son approche globale à l'égard de l'assainissement de l'eau grâce à un certain nombre de mesures concrètes, qui comprennent des investissements pour nettoyer les plans d'eau canadiens et un engagement de 48,9 millions de dollars pour nettoyer les sédiments contaminés, l'une des principales sources de substances toxiques dans les secteurs préoccupants. En outre, le gouvernement fournit un financement annuel de 8 millions de dollars par an pour appuyer l'assainissement des autres secteurs préoccupants. Ces investissements ont appuyé les projets de partenaires pour nettoyer les sédiments contaminés, restaurer les habitats des poissons et de la faune et améliorer les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées, et ont apporté une recherche scientifique, une surveillance et la prestation d'un savoir-faire à ces projets.

Ainsi, en 2007, le gouvernement du Canada et la province de l'Ontario ont signé un protocole d'entente pour établir une aire marine nationale de conservation du lac Supérieur. Sa superficie s'étendant sur plus de 10 000 km2, elle deviendra la plus grande aire marine protégée en eau douce au monde. Des mesures finales sont en cours d'être prises pour désigner cette aire en vertu de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

De plus, le gouvernement du Canada collabore avec le gouvernement de l'Ontario et d'autres intervenants en vue d'établir des normes et des exigences en matière d'évaluation de la cartographie complète pour la région des Grands Lacs.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la mise en œuvre des stratégies et des initiatives à l'appui de cet objectif, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants : Environnement Canada, Ressources naturelles Canada et Parcs Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 3.1 : Qualité de l'environnement dans les secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs au Canada

La qualité environnementale dans les secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs du Canada s'est améliorée depuis le début du programme de restauration en 1987. Entre 1987 et 2012, les conditions environnementales de trois secteurs préoccupants sur 17 se sont complètement restaurées (port de Collingwood, bras Severn, port de Wheatley) et deux autres secteurs sont en voie de rétablissement (port de Spanish et baie Jackfish). Un secteur préoccupant peut être désigné un secteur de restauration lorsque toutes les actions correctives pour le secteur préoccupant ont été mises en œuvre et lorsque la surveillance de l'environnement confirme que le rétablissement progresse conformément au plan de mesures correctives.

Les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario ont réalisé d'importants accomplissements en matière de restauration des utilisations bénéfiques dans les secteurs préoccupants au Canada. Par conséquent, un grand nombre de secteurs préoccupants ont été améliorés à un niveau tel qu'ils ne nécessitent plus une attention particulière. En mai 2011, les secteurs préoccupants de la baie Jackfish a été désigné secteur de restauration. En ce qui concerne la baie de Jackfish, les améliorations apportées à la façon de traiter des effluents et les changements apportés dans les procédés industriels de l'usine locale de pâtes et papier ont atteint des améliorations importantes dans la qualité de l'eau et les sédiments. En 2012, les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario ont annoncé leur intention de soutenir les améliorations apportées au port de Hamilton.

La figure 3.5 présente l'indicateur des secteurs préoccupants des Grands Lacs, en notant les progrès effectués par rapport à la restauration des 17 secteurs préoccupants du Canada. L'indicateur affiche le nombre d'utilisations bénéfiques qui sont inscrites comme « Utilisation altérée » ou « Nécessite une évaluation approfondie », et indique si le secteur est restauré ou en voie de rétablissement. Pour chaque secteur préoccupant, la diminution du nombre d'utilisations bénéfiques altérées montre les progrès effectués vers la restauration.

Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cette indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 3.5 : Progrès relatifs aux secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs, 1987 à 2012

Progrès relatifs aux secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs, 1987 à 2012

Description longue

Cette figure présente le nombre d’utilisations bénéfiques désignées comme « altérée » ou « nécessite une évaluation plus approfondie » pour les 17 secteurs préoccupants canadiens des Grands Lacs entre 1988 et 2012. Pendant cette période, les conditions environnementales de 3 secteurs préoccupants se sont complètement rétablies et 2 secteurs sont en voie de rétablissement.

 

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 3.2 : Concentrations de phosphore dans les Grands Lacs

Les concentrations de phosphore posent toujours problème dans les eaux libres de trois des quatre Grands Lacs du Canada.

Les concentrations de phosphore dans les lacs Huron et Ontario, ainsi que dans la baie Georgienne, ont diminué en deçà de leurs objectifs de qualité de l'eau, tandis que les teneurs des bassins ouest et central du lac Érié demeurent au-dessus de leurs objectifs. Les teneurs en phosphore dans le milieu du lac Supérieur et le bassin est du lac Érié rencontrent actuellement leurs objectifs de qualité de l'eau.

Les tendances montrent que les concentrations de phosphore dans le lac Supérieur ou dans le bassin central du lac Érié n'ont pas changé, mais sont en déclin dans d'autres zones de la région des Grands Lacs. Toutefois, un apport excessif de phosphore peut entraîner la prolifération d'algues et de plantes nuisibles qui peuvent nuire à l'habitat des poissons. Une quantité trop faible de phosphore peut entraîner une croissance insuffisante des plantes pour maintenir les poissons.

La figure 3.6 montre l'état et les tendances des concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux libres des Grands Lacs canadiens, de 1970 à 2010. Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 3.6 : État et tendances des concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux libres des Grands Lacs du Canada, 1970 à 2010

État et tendances des concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux libres des Grands Lacs du Canada, 1970 à 2010

Description longue

La carte présente les résultats de la comparaison des moyennes de concentrations totales de phosphore relevées au printemps dans les Grands Lacs canadiens (lac Supérieur, lac Huron, baie Georgienne et lac Ontario ainsi que les bassins ouest, central et est du lac Érié) à leurs objectifs de qualité de l'eau relatifs au phosphore pour déterminer l'état des concentrations de phosphore dans les eaux du large de chaque lac. Les teneurs en phosphore dans le centre du lac Supérieur et le bassin est du lac Érié atteignent actuellement les concentrations cibles et donc ceux-ci ont été catégorisés comme « bon ». Dans le lac Huron, le lac Ontario et la baie Georgienne, les teneurs en phosphores sont inférieures aux concentrations cibles et donc ceux-ci ont été catégorisés comme « acceptable avec prudence ». Dans les bassins ouest et central du lac Érié, les concentrations sont supérieures aux objectifs de qualité de l'eau. Depuis 1970, les concentrations de phosphore ont diminué dans tous les lacs, à l'exception du lac Supérieur et du bassin central du lac Érié, où elles sont restées stables.

 


Date de modification :