This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Planning for a Sustainable Future:
A Federal Sustainable Development Strategy for Canada
2013–2016

Sustainable Development Office
Environment Canada

November 2013


Message from the Minister

Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of the Environment, Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency and Minister for the Arctic CouncilI am pleased to present to Canadians "Planning for a Sustainable Future: A Federal Sustainable Development Strategy for Canada 2013–2016". As Canada’s second Federal Sustainable Development Strategy, it builds on progress already achieved, further advancing our objectives of making environmental decision making more transparent and accountable and ensuring Canada is on a path to environmental sustainability.    

In 2010, the government took a decisive step toward greater transparency and accountability by tabling Canada’s first Federal Sustainable Development Strategy. It marked the beginning of a new sustainable development approach for the Government of Canada, making three key improvements over what was done in the past. It provided a whole-of-government view of federal actions to achieve environmental sustainability, linked sustainable development with core federal planning and reporting processes, and provided effective measurement, monitoring and reporting systems to ensure Canadians have the information they need to track the government’s environmental progress.

The second three-year Federal Sustainable Development Strategy builds on past achievements, providing long-term goals, medium-term targets, and concrete actions in four priority themes of importance to the government and Canadians: Addressing climate change and air quality, Maintaining water quality and availability, Protecting nature and Canadians, and Shrinking the environmental footprint – beginning with government.

Canada’s second Federal Sustainable Development Strategy updates and expands on what the first strategy presented in 2010. It reflects current policies and programs such as the Air Quality Management System and the government’s partnership with Alberta to conduct Joint Oil Sands Monitoring. It reflects federal actions to increase Canada’s resilience to the unavoidable impacts of climate change by including a target on climate change adaptation, an issue of particular significance to Canada’s North. It also includes a new target on sustainable agriculture, underscoring the importance of Canada’s working landscapes for protecting biodiversity and promoting sustainable development.

Stakeholder input has played an important role in shaping the 2013–2016 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy. Canadians responded to the release of the strategy’s public consultation draft with valuable suggestions for strengthening it as well as comments reaffirming the importance of the environmental sustainability issues that we face. This final version of the strategy reflects public and stakeholder input by, for example, providing clearer, more measurable and more specific targets; providing more comprehensive coverage of environmental issues and government priorities; and clarifying the social and economic dimensions of the strategy’s environmental sustainability goals and targets.

Significant progress has been made since the 2010–2013 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy was released. Going forward, the government is committed to continuous improvement in our efforts to achieve environmental sustainability. Rigorous monitoring and reporting of progress over the course of this three-year cycle, along with feedback from Canadians, will drive further improvements in the next Federal Sustainable Development Strategy and beyond.

Minister's signature
Leona Aglukkaq

Minister of the Environment,
Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency and
Minister for the Arctic Council


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Planifier un avenir durable :
Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada
2013-2016


Bureau du développement durable
Environnement Canada

Novembre 2013


Mot de la ministre

Leona Aglukkaq  Ministre de l'Environnement, ministre de l'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord et ministre du Conseil de l'ArctiqueJ’ai le plaisir de présenter aux Canadiens « Planifier un avenir durable : Une Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada 2013-2016 ».
Deuxième Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada, la Stratégie 2013-2016 s’inspire des progrès déjà accomplis, en renforçant nos objectifs d’une gouvernance environnementale plus transparente et plus responsable et d’un Canada sur la voie de l’environnement durable.    

En 2010, le gouvernement a franchi une étape décisive vers une plus grande transparence et une plus grande responsabilisation en présentant la première Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada. Cette Stratégie a marqué le début d'une nouvelle approche du développement durable pour le gouvernement du Canada, apportant trois améliorations clés à ce qui a été fait dans le passé. Elle a donné une vue d’ensemble des mesures en place à l’échelle fédérale pour réaliser la durabilité de l'environnement, a lié le développement durable aux processus principaux de planification et de production de rapports fédéraux, et a fourni des systèmes de mesure, de surveillance et de production de rapports efficaces afin que les Canadiens disposent des informations nécessaires pour suivre les progrès du gouvernement en matière d’environnement.

La deuxième Stratégie triennale fédérale de développement durable met à profit les réalisations passées, en fournissant des objectifs à long et moyen terme ainsi que des plans d’action concrets dans quatre thématiques prioritaires d'importance pour le gouvernement et les Canadiens regroupés sous les titres suivants : « Relever les défis des changements climatiques et de la qualité de l'air », « Maintenir la qualité et la disponibilité de l’eau », « Protéger la nature et les Canadiens » et « Réduire l'empreinte environnementale - en commençant par le gouvernement ».

La deuxième Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada met à jour et élargit la première stratégie présentée en 2010. Elle rend compte des politiques et des programmes actuels, tels que le Système de gestion de la qualité de l'air et le partenariat du gouvernement avec l'Alberta pour la réalisation d’une surveillance conjointe des sables bitumineux. Elle indique les mesures fédérales servant à accroître la résilience du Canada aux effets inévitables des changements climatiques en ajoutant une cible en matière d’adaptation aux changements climatiques, un enjeu d'une importance particulière pour le Nord canadien. Elle comprend en outre une nouvelle cible pour l'agriculture durable, mettant en évidence l'importance des paysages de travail du Canada pour protéger la biodiversité et promouvoir le développement durable.

La contribution des différents acteurs a joué un rôle important dans l'élaboration de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable 2013-2016. Les Canadiens ont réagi à la publication de l’ébauche de la consultation publique sur la Stratégie en formulant des suggestions utiles pour la renforcer, ainsi que des observations réaffirmant l'importance des enjeux auxquels nous sommes confrontés en matière de durabilité de l’environnement. Cette version finale de la Stratégie tient compte de la contribution du public et des différents acteurs en fournissant notamment des cibles plus claires, plus mesurables et plus précises, en faisant une couverture plus exhaustive des enjeux environnementaux et des priorités du gouvernement et en précisant les dimensions sociales et économiques des objectifs et des cibles de la stratégie en matière de durabilité de l’environnement.

Des progrès significatifs ont été accomplis depuis la publication de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable de 2010-2013. Dans l’avenir, le gouvernement s’est engagé à améliorer de façon continue nos efforts pour réaliser la durabilité de l’environnement. Un suivi rigoureux et la production de rapports sur les progrès accomplis au cours de ce cycle triennal, conjugués aux observations des Canadiens, entraîneront d’autres améliorations dans la prochaine Stratégie fédérale de développement durable et après.

Signature de la ministre
Leona Aglukkaq

Ministre de l'Environnement,
ministre de l'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord
et ministre du Conseil de l'Arctique


Date de modification :