This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Increasing sustainability of aquaculture

Target 7.2: Sustainable aquaculture – To promote the conservation and optimum use of marine resources and the aquatic environment through improved aquaculture management by 2014.

The government provides science advice and proposes risk management options related to oceans. For example, the government has research programming to support regulatory work for aquaculture and ecosystembased environmental decision-making.

A complementary federal and provincial regulatory regime structure is being established to coordinate federal and provincial regulatory management measures, and to set appropriate standards of environmental protection.

In 2010, the new Pacific Aquaculture Regulations came into effect, governing activities such as licensing for fish cultivation in British Columbia. This licensing regime is consistent with the regime for other fisheries managed by the federal government, but is tailor-made to address the uniqueness of the aquaculture sector in this province.

For additional information on the Implementation Strategies that support this target, please consult the following website: Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Progress towards Target 7.2: Percentage of aquaculture managed under a science-base environmental regulatory framework

The government is proposing the release of aquaculture substances regulations to authorize specified aquaculture activities under the Fisheries Act. At the same time, a complementary federal and provincial regulatory regime structure is being established to coordinate federal and provincial regulatory management measures, and to set appropriate standards of environmental protection. The new federal regulatory regime would ensure that regulatory measures are integrated across several pieces of federal and provincial legislation and regulation.

Information for this indicator will be available on the CESI website at a later date.

Progress towards Target 7.2: Percentage of Canadian aquaculture producers certified environmentally sustainable or positioned to implement certification

Through the Aquaculture Sustainability Reporting Initiative, technical experts from the shellfish, marine finfish and freshwater fish sectors have identified certification as a key issue for sustainability reporting. They will provide advice on the development of this national certification indicator.

There are a number of existing provincial, Aboriginal and industry certification programs, and the government is currently developing a national indicator on aquaculture certification in Canada.

Information for this indicator will be available on the CESI website at a later date.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Augmenter la durabilité de l'aquaculture

Cible 7.2 : Aquaculture durable – Promouvoir la conservation et l'utilisation optimale des ressources marines et du milieu aquatique par une gestion améliorée de l'aquaculture d'ici 2014.

Le gouvernement fournit des conseils scientifiques et propose des options de gestion des risques liés aux océans. Par exemple, le gouvernement a des programmes de recherche afin de soutenir le travail de réglementation pour l'aquaculture et la prise de décisions environnementales fondées sur les écosystèmes.

Un régime de réglementation fédérale et provinciale complémentaire est en train d'être développé pour coordonner les mesures de gestion fédérales et provinciales en matière de règlements, et pour établir des normes appropriées en matière de protection de l'environnement. 

En 2010, le nouveau Règlement sur l'aquaculture de la région du Pacifique est entré en vigueur, régissant les activités telles que la délivrance de permis pour la culture de poissons en Colombie-Britannique. Ce régime de délivrance des permis est cohérent avec le régime des autres pêches gérées par le gouvernement fédéral, mais il est fait sur mesure pour respecter le caractère unique du secteur de l'aquaculture dans cette province.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter le site Web suivant : Pêches et Océans Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 7.2 : Pourcentage d'aquaculture gérée par le cadre réglementaire environnemental fondé sur la science

Le gouvernement propose que la publication du Règlement sur les substances de l'aquaculture autorise certaines activités d'aquaculture en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches. En même temps, un régime de réglementation fédérale et provinciale complémentaire est créé pour coordonner les mesures de gestion fédérales et provinciales en matière de règlements, et pour établir des normes appropriées en matière de protection de l'environnement. Le nouveau régime fédéral de réglementation permettrait de s'assurer que les mesures réglementaires sont intégrées dans toutes les lois et réglementations fédérales et provinciales.

L'information relative à cet indicateur sera disponible sur le ICDE à une date ultérieure.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 7.2 : Pourcentage de producteurs canadiens de l'aquaculture certifiés durables sur le plan écologique ou bien placés pour mettre en œuvre la certification

Grâce à l'Initiative de rapports sur la durabilité de l'aquaculture, des experts techniques en mollusques, en poissons marins et en poissons d'eau douce ont déterminé la certification comme un enjeu clé pour la production de rapports sur la durabilité. Ils fourniront des conseils sur l'élaboration de cet indicateur national de certification.

Il existe un certain nombre de programmes de certification provinciaux, autochtones et de l'industrie et le gouvernement est actuellement en train d'élaborer un indicateur national sur la certification de l'aquaculture au Canada.

L'information relative à cet indicateur sera disponible sur le site Web ICDE à une date ultérieure.


Date de modification :