This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Planning for a Sustainable Future:
A Federal Sustainable Development Strategy for Canada

Sustainable Development Office
Environment Canada

October 2010


Chapter 1: Context

Why sustainable development matters

In the 21st century, the world faces tremendous challenges, including economic crises, global warming, air pollution, poverty, poor health, and loss of biodiversity. For more than two decades, sustainable development has been advanced as a means of reconciling human development with the earth’s ecological systems. The journey toward truly sustainable development and decision-making has become a key goal of public policy in Canada and around the world. Development that is not sustainable will inevitably lead to negative economic, environmental, and social repercussions. Advancing sustainable development is about safeguarding our future and improving the quality of life in Canada and for the global community.

The sustainable development concept emphasizes the importance of maintaining and improving the quality of life by ensuring that decisions made today take into consideration social, economic, and environmental consequences. It integrates the social, economic, and environmental objectives of society in order to maximize human well-being in the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs (OECD, 2001).

The history of sustainable development strategies

In 1972, the delegates of the United Nations Conference on the Human Environment recognized the interconnection of economic development and the environment.  Some 15 years later, the World Commission on Environment and Development took this concept further when it defined sustainable development as “development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.” (WCED, 1987).

That definition has helped shape public policy, business strategies, and individual choices for nearly a quarter century. It envisions a world where all decisions – what we produce, what we buy, where we live, what we value – are informed by the need to take better care of the planet. Rather than looking at policy issues in terms of two pillars – economic and social, with environmental considerations as part of the economic pillar – the concept of sustainable development sees the three pillars as equal and mutually reinforcing.

A truly sustainable economy would require that environmental considerations inform every decision made – by governments, by businesses and organizations, and by individuals. In the past four decades, we can point to anecdotal evidence that this transformation is happening. We recycle. Our homes and vehicles are more energy efficient. We find innovative ways to reduce carbon dioxide emissions and pollution. We protect wilderness areas and rehabilitate rivers and lakes. The world has changed considerably since 1972. But it is not enough. We are still searching for a way to incorporate environmental considerations into everything we do – to promote the consideration of environmental factors in decisions in the same way we consider economic and social factors.

Around the world, many countries have taken steps to promote sustainable development, and there is much to learn from what has worked elsewhere, and what has not. A study by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) found that where governments have attempted to move too quickly and on too many simultaneous fronts to achieve sustainable development the governance systems became overloaded and paralyzed, and little progress was made (OECD, 2001).

Other countries have taken modest, achievable first steps, and built upon early successes to expand into new areas. In these countries, environmental considerations have been better integrated into economic and social policy over time (OECD, 2006). The key to success is to focus on a few priorities early on and, in this way, lay the groundwork for longer-term institutional change.

Canada’s approach – Addressing past limitations

How did Canada handle sustainable development? While some countries have chosen to develop national-level strategies, Canada’s federal system of governance required an approach that acknowledged that many of the levers for promoting sustainable development are controlled by different levels of governments (e.g. municipalities, provinces, and territories). But within the federal government itself, Canada’s efforts had been piecemeal and it did not deliver major results.

These results led to the 1995 amendments to the Auditor General Act that required departments and agencies to develop their own sustainable development strategies. The office of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development (CESD) was also created with a mandate to monitor the extent to which departments met the objectives of their sustainable development strategies.

This decentralized approach was a beginning but, in the years since then, many observers, including the Commissioner himself, have noted that the system is not truly setting Canada on the path toward a sustainable future. The Commissioner has published annual reports on this subject since 1998. Consistently, those reports have highlighted the following points:

  • The absence of an over-arching sustainable development strategy has meant there is neither central direction nor a longer-term focus.
  • Inadequate performance measurement, monitoring, and reporting have resulted in a lack of information about whether initiatives are working or how they should be adjusted over time – there is no cycle of “plan, do, check, improve.”
  • Performance indicators have not been accurate enough, comprehensive enough, or given in a timely enough manner to influence decision-making.
  • Goals and targets at the departmental level have been so vague and unfocused that, even when they were met, they failed to make any real difference.
  • Sustainable development planning and reporting have been separate from, rather than integrated with, core government planning and reporting.

In 2007, these findings culminated in the Commissioner tabling a review of the Government of Canada’s previous 10 years of sustainable development planning and reporting (CESD, 2007). It then became obvious that the government needed to change its approach.

Canada’s new approach – Planning for a sustainable future

To improve the federal government’s performance in putting sustainability at the heart of its policies and programs, a range of options, including legislation and a review of global best practices was examined.

Building upon this research, Parliament developed and passed the Federal Sustainable Development Act (FSDA) in 2008. The FSDA requires the Government of Canada to develop a comprehensive Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) that is “to provide the legal framework for developing and implementing a Federal Sustainable Development Strategy that will make environmental decision-making more transparent and accountable to Parliament”.

This first FSDS has been designed to respond to the limitations of the previous approach to sustainable development planning and reporting. It creates an environmental decision-making system that is transparent and accountable and supports the continuous improvement of the management of sustainable development. It conveys a strong commitment to addressing the environmental and sustainable development priorities of Canadians and establishes environmental sustainability as a long-term, government-wide priority across federal departmental mandates.

The FSDS clearly articulates the Government of Canada’s long-term vision, goals, and targets, including its plans for reducing the federal government’s environmental footprint.  It will raise the profile of environmental issues in federal government priority-setting and decision-making, placing them firmly on the same playing field as the country’s economic and social priorities.

This FSDS does not promise an overnight fix – that would be neither responsible nor sustainable. Rather, it ensures that Canadians and Parliamentarians are aware of what the federal government has done and intends to do regarding sustainable development, and makes three key improvements to environmental decision-making.

The FSDS provides the reporting and the transparency that was lacking in the previous approach to sustainable development, and will drive progress over time. It is a mechanism that will help the Government of Canada to be more deliberate in its decision-making and better understand what the trade-offs are and when and where they may need to be made.

Stakeholder consultations

The Federal Sustainable Development Act requires a draft of the FSDS to be submitted for public consultation for a period of not less than 120 days before the final FSDS is tabled in Parliament. Holding public consultations on the draft FSDS is also consistent with the Government of Canada’s commitment to involve Canadians in decision-making processes and has helped to increase the transparency and accountability of the FSDS. Public consultations were undertaken by the Sustainable Development Office at Environment Canada from March 15, 2010 to July 12, 2010. The comments and views from Canadians have helped shape the first FSDS.

The feedback was received from stakeholders including the CESD, Parliamentarians, non-governmental organizations and citizens. It acknowledged that the FSDS is on track in terms of addressing long-standing concerns. Stakeholders supported the major components of the FSDS which are outlined in more detail throughout this report and, which include:

  • Adopting a whole-of-government approach;
  • Linking sustainable development to the Government of Canada’s planning and reporting processes through the Expenditure Management System;
  • Focusing on transparency of decision-making outcomes rather than process;
  • Using environmental indicators to measure and report on progress in the FSDS; and,
  • Using SMART (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-bound) criteria to establish the targets in the FSDS.

The CESD completed its legal requirement to review the draft FSDS. The Commissioner found that the FSDS “represents an important opportunity to correct a long-standing weakness in the federal government’s approach to sustainable development” – namely, the absence of a single or overarching strategy (CESD, 2010). 

This FSDS incorporates stakeholder comments by:

  • Providing more clarity and detail on concepts such as transparency, accountability, and integration into the Expenditure Management System;
  • Highlighting the significance of the sustainable development principles;
  • Clarifying how the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) will be used to measure progress;
  • Adding additional targets and a broader range of departmental programs and initiatives;
  • Improving the quality and measurability of the goals, targets, and implementation strategies;
  • Providing additional information on the role of federal departments; and,
  • Integrating the economic and social dimensions of sustainable development.

The FSDS with its broad goals, targets and implementation strategies makes transparent how key environmental themes will contribute to the overall vision for Canada that:

  • Builds the jobs and industries of the future by investing in Canadians’ skills and education, keeping taxes low, opening markets to Canadian goods and services, and creating the conditions for continued success of industries that are the foundation of Canada’s prosperity;
  • Makes Canada the best place for families to provide for their children, to contribute to the local community, and to live in a safe and secure country;
  • Stands up for what is right in the world including global security, human rights, maternal and child health, financial market regulation and international climate change; and,
  • Strengthens a united Canada in a changing world by pursuing democratic reforms, further strengthening Canada’s Francophone identity, improving the immigration and refugee systems, helping the North realize its vast potential, and protecting and preserving our natural environment (Canada, 2010).

This vision will continue to evolve over time as Canada moves closer to a more sustainable future. Continued involvement with stakeholders in future rounds of the FSDS will help drive improvements.


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Planifier un avenir durable – 
Stratégie fédérale de développement durable pour le Canada

Bureau du développement durable
Environnement Canada

Octobre 2010


Chapitre 1 : Contexte

Pourquoi le développement durable est-il important

Au XXIe siècle, le monde est confronté à d'énormes défis, notamment des crises économiques, le réchauffement planétaire, la pollution atmosphérique, la pauvreté, la mauvaise santé et la perte de biodiversité. Depuis plus de deux décennies, le développement durable est avancé comme un moyen de réconciliation du développement humain avec les systèmes écologiques de la planète. L'exploration d'un développement et d'un processus décisionnel réellement durables est aujourd'hui un objectif majeur de la politique publique au Canada et à travers le monde. Le développement non durable aura inévitablement des répercussions économiques, environnementales et sociales négatives. Faire avancer le développement durable vise à sauvegarder notre avenir et à améliorer la qualité de vie au Canada et de la collectivité mondiale.

Le concept du développement durable met l'accent sur l'importance de conserver et d'améliorer la qualité de vie en garantissant que les décisions prises aujourd'hui prennent en compte les conséquences sociales, économiques et environnementales de demain. Il intègre les objectifs sociaux, économiques et environnementaux de la société afin d'optimiser le bien-être actuel de l’humain sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures à satisfaire leurs propres besoins (OCDE, 2001).

Historique des stratégies de développement durable

En 1972, les délégués de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'environnement humain ont reconnu les liens entre le développement économique et l'environnement. Quinze ans plus tard, la Commission mondiale sur l'environnement et le développement a poussé ce concept plus loin en définissant le développement durable comme « un développement qui répond aux besoins actuels sans nuire à la capacité des générations futures de répondre aux leurs » (CMED, 1987).

Cette définition a contribué à façonner les politiques publiques, les stratégies opérationnelles et les choix individuels pour près d'un quart de siècle. Elle présente un monde où toutes les décisions prises – ce que nous produisons, ce que nous achetons, l'endroit où nous vivons, ce que nous valorisons – tiennent compte du bien-être de la planète. Plutôt que d'examiner les enjeux politiques à partir de deux piliers – économique et social, les considérations environnementales relevant du pilier économique – le concept de développement durable considère l'existence de trois piliers égaux qui se renforcent les uns les autres et qui doivent tous être égaux.

Dans une économie vraiment durable, toute décision prise par les gouvernements, les entreprises et les organismes, ainsi que par les personnes, doit tenir compte des aspects environnementaux. Dans les quatre dernières décennies, certains renseignements anectotiques nous prouvent l'existence de cette transformation : nous recyclons; nos maisons et nos véhicules ont un meilleur rendement énergétique; nous trouvons des façons novatrices de réduire les émissions de dioxyde de carbone et la pollution; nous protégeons les zones naturelles et réhabilitons les rivières et les lacs. Le monde a changé de façon considérable depuis 1972. Ce n'est toutefois pas assez. Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de façons d'incorporer les considérations environnementales à tout ce que nous faisons, pour promouvoir l'intégration des facteurs environnementaux aux décisions, à l'instar des facteurs économiques et sociaux.

Dans le monde entier, de nombreux pays ont pris des mesures pour favoriser le développement durable, et il y a beaucoup à apprendre en observant ce qui a fonctionné et ce qui n'a pas fonctionné ailleurs. Une étude de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) a révélé que, lorsque les gouvernements tentent d'agir trop vite et sur trop de fronts en même temps pour assurer le développement durable, les systèmes de gouvernance deviennent surchargés et paralysés, et peu de progrès est accompli (OCDE, 2001).

D'autres pays ont pris des mesures plus modestes et réalisables comme premier pas et ont misé sur les premiers succès pour poursuivre dans de nouveaux domaines. Dans ces pays, les considérations environnementales ont mieux été intégrées à la politique économique et sociale au fil du temps (OCDE, 2006). La clé du succès est de mettre l'accent sur quelques priorités dès le début et, de cette façon, d'établir les bases d'un changement institutionnel à long terme.

Approche du Canada – Dépasser les limites du passé

De quelle manière le Canada a-t-il géré le développement durable? Tandis que certains pays ont choisi d'élaborer des stratégies à l'échelle nationale, le système de gouvernance fédéral du Canada exigeait une approche reconnaissant que bon nombre des leviers permettant d'encourager le développement durable sont contrôlés par différents niveaux du gouvernement (p. ex., les municipalités, les provinces et les territoires). Mais au sein du gouvernement fédéral lui-même, les efforts du Canada ont été morcelés et n'ont permis d'aboutir à aucun résultat majeur.

Ces résultats ont mené aux modifications apportées à la Loi sur le vérificateur général en 1995 qui exigeait des ministères et des organismes qu'ils élaborent leur propre stratégie de développement durable. Le bureau du Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable (CEDD) a également été créé avec le mandat de surveiller le respect des objectifs définis par les ministères dans leur stratégie de développement durable.

Cette approche décentralisée était un début. Mais depuis, bon nombre d'observateurs, y compris le Commissaire lui-même, ont noté que le système ne permettait pas vraiment au Canada d'assurer un futur durable. Le Commissaire publie des rapports annuels sur le sujet depuis 1998. Systématiquement, ces vérifications ont permis de relever les points suivants :

  • L'absence d'une stratégie générale de développement durable a empêché le développement d'une orientation centrale et d'une approche à long terme.
  • Le caractère inadéquat de la mesure du rendement, des activités de surveillance et de la production de rapports n'a pas permis de générer de l'information pour déterminer si les initiatives fonctionnaient ou si elles devaient être modifiées au fil du temps : il n'y a pas de cycle « planification, exécution, contrôle, amélioration ».
  • Les indicateurs de rendement n'étaient pas assez précis, exhaustifs ou livrés en temps opportun pour influencer le processus décisionnel.
  • Les objectifs et les cibles au niveau ministériel étaient tellement vagues et non ciblés que, même lorsqu'ils étaient atteints, ils n'ont pas permis de changer les choses.
  • La planification et la production de rapports en matière de développement durable ont été séparées, plutôt qu'intégrées, avec la planification et de la production de rapports de base du gouvernement.

Suite à ces résultats, le commissaire à présenté en 2007 examen des 10 années précédentes de planification et de production de rapports en matière de développement durable du gouvernement du Canada (CEDD, 2007). Il est alors apparu évident que le gouvernement devait modifier son approche.

Nouvelle approche du Canada – Planifier un avenir durable

Afin d'améliorer le rendement du gouvernement fédéral à placer la durabilité au centre de ses politiques et programmes, une gamme d'options, y compris des lois et un examen des meilleures pratiques internationales, ont été examinées.

S'inspirant de ces recherches, le Parlement a élaboré et adopté la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable en 2008. La Loi exige du gouvernement du Canada qu'il élabore une Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) complète qui vise à « définir le cadre juridique pour l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'une Stratégie fédérale de développement durable qui rend le processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement plus transparent et fait en sorte qu'on soit tenu d'en rendre compte devant le Parlement ».

Cette première Stratégie fédérale de développement durable a été conçue pour dépasser les limites de l'approche précédente portant sur la planification et la production de rapports en matière de développement durable. Elle crée un processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement qui est transparent et responsable et qui appuie l'amélioration continue de la gestion du développement durable. Elle manifeste un solide engagement à traiter des priorités portant sur l'environnement et le développement durable de la population canadienne et établit la durabilité environnementale comme une priorité à long terme dans l'ensemble du gouvernement parmi les mandats ministériels fédéraux.

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable définit clairement la vision, les objectifs et les cibles à long terme du gouvernement du Canada, y compris ses plans visant à réduire l'empreinte environnementale du gouvernement fédéral. Elle s'occupera de mieux faire connaître les enjeux environnementaux dans les processus décisionnels et l'établissement des priorités du gouvernement fédéral, en les plaçant sur le même plan que les priorités économiques et sociales du pays.

Cette Stratégie fédérale de développement durable ne promet pas de solution miracle; cela ne serait ni responsable, ni durable. Elle permet plutôt de s'assurer que la population canadienne et les parlementaires sont conscients de ce qu'a réalisé le gouvernement fédéral et de ce qu'il a l’intention de faire concernant le développement durable; par ailleurs, elle réalise trois améliorations clés relatives au processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement.

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable propose la production de rapports et la transparence qui lui manquait dans l'approche précédente portant sur le développement durable et entraînera des progrès au fil du temps. Il s'agit d'un mécanisme qui permettra au gouvernement du Canada d'être plus délibéré dans sa prise de décisions et de mieux comprendre les compromis, la façon et le moment d'en faire usage.

Consultations auprès des intervenants

La Loi fédérale sur le développement durable stipule qu'une ébauche de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable doit être soumise à une consultation publique pendant une période d'au moins 120 jours avant que la version finale ne soit déposée au Parlement. La tenue de consultations publiques sur l'ébauche de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable est également cohérente avec l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada d'impliquer la population canadienne dans les processus décisionnels et a permis d'augmenter la transparence et la reddition de compte de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. Les consultations ont été entreprises par le Bureau du développement durable à Environnement Canada du 15 mars au 12 juillet 2010. Les commentaires et points de vue des Canadiennes et Canadiens ont permis de façonner la première Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Les intervenants ont envoyé leurs commentaires y compris le Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable, des parlementaires, des organisations non gouvernementales et des citoyens. Cette rétroaction a permis de confirmer que la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable est sur la voie d'examiner des préoccupations de longue date. Les intervenants ont appuyé les éléments principaux de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, décrits plus en détail dans le présent rapport, notamment :

  • Adopter une approche pangouvernementale;
  • Établir un lien entre le développement durable et les processus de planification et de production de rapports du gouvernement du Canada par l'intermédiaire du système de gestion des dépenses;
  • Mettre l'accent sur la transparence des résultats de la prise de décisions plutôt que sur le processus;
  • Utiliser des indicateurs environnementaux pour mesurer les progrès dans la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable et produire des rapports d’étapes.
  • Utiliser les critères SMART (précis, mesurable, réalisable, pertinent et limité dans le temps) pour établir les cibles dans la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Le Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable a respecté son exigence légale qui consistait à examiner l'ébauche de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable. Le Commissaire a considéré que la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable « constitue une occasion importante de corriger une faiblesse de longue date dans l'approche du gouvernement fédéral en ce qui concerne le développement durable », c'est-à-dire l'absence de stratégie unique et globale (CEDD, 2010a).

Cette Stratégie fédérale de développement durable intègre les commentaires des intervenants en :

  • Clarifiant et en détaillant les concepts tels que la transparence, la reddition de compte et l'intégration dans le système de gestion des dépenses;
  • Soulignant l'importance des principes de développement durable;
  • Clarifiant la manière dont les Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l'environnement (ICDE) seront utilisés pour mesurer les progrès;
  • Ajoutant des cibles supplémentaires et une gamme élargie de programmes et initiatives ministériels;
  • Améliorant la qualité et le caractère mesurable des objectifs, cibles et stratégies de mise en œuvre;
  • Fournissant des renseignements supplémentaires sur le rôle des ministères fédéraux;
  • Intégrant les dimensions économiques et sociales du développement durable.

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable, avec ses objectifs, cibles et stratégies de mise en œuvre, donne de la transparence à la manière dont les thèmes environnementaux majeurs contribueront à la vision globale pour le Canada :

  • Créer les emplois et les industries de l'avenir en investissant dans les compétences et l'éducation des Canadiens, en s'assurant de maintenir les taux d'imposition bas, en ouvrant les marchés aux produits et services canadiens et en créant les conditions nécessaires pour assurer le succès des industries qui sont à la base de la prospérité du Canada;
  • Faire du Canada un lieu privilégié pour les familles qui peuvent subvenir aux besoins de leurs enfants, contribuer à la collectivité locale et vivre dans un pays sûr et sécuritaire;
  • Défendre ce qui est juste dans le monde, y compris la sécurité internationale, les droits de l'homme, la santé maternelle et infantile, la réglementation des marchés financiers et les changements climatiques à l'échelle internationale;
  • Renforcer un Canada uni dans un monde en évolution en poursuivant les réformes démocratiques, en renforçant davantage l'identité francophone du Canada, en améliorant les systèmes d'immigration et d'octroi de l'asile, en aidant le Nord à atteindre son immense potentiel, et en protégeant et préservant notre environnement naturel (Canada, 2010).

Cette vision continuera d'évoluer au fil du temps à mesure que le Canada se rapprochera d'un avenir plus durable. L'implication continue des intervenants lors des futurs cycles de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable permettra d'aboutir à des améliorations.


Date de modification :