This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

4. Performance measurement

Measuring performance is a good management practice, and both the private and public sectors do it to determine program and process effectiveness. Performance measurement provides fact-based information on which to measure progress that is an integral part of the collective management of the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS). It is the means to track and monitor the achievement of outcomes as expected. It also serves as an early warning that planned results are not being attained and, therefore, may require further investigation and remedial action.    

As described by the TBS Results-based Management Lexicon, performance measurement is the process and system of selection, development and on-going use of performance measures to guide decision-making and assess whether or not the government is meeting its requirements. 

In the case of the FSDS, performance measurement is the underpinning of the "Check" part of the "Plan, Do, Check and Improve" system, and it is used to track progress towards making environmental decision-making more transparent and accountable. Where appropriate, results of performance measurement will be included in FSDS progress reports.

4.1 Logic model

The outcomes the FSDS is trying to achieve are articulated in the form of a logic model that was produced using the guidelines for developing logic models published by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS). The FSDS logic model is a tool for reporting FSDS performance by providing the logical linkages among FSDS activities, outputs, and outcomes.

Developing and using a logic model is an effective way to help organize and systematize program planning, management, and evaluation functions regarding implementing the FSDS. Building on the "Plan, do, check, and improve" system, the FSDS Logic Model is the basis for identifying results, progress and performance on meeting the requirements of the Act.

The FSDS Logic Model describes activities, processes, tools, events, and actions that form part of implementing the FSDS including such examples as:

  • conducting research on best practices and emerging trends in sustainable development;
  • consulting with FSDS departments and agencies to develop the FSDS, the FSDS reporting strategy, and indicators to track progress;
  • consulting with Canadians and stakeholders on the FSDS;
  • providing guidance and expertise on developing Departmental Sustainable Development Strategies (DSDSs) and applying the Cabinet Directive on Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA); and
  • integrating environmental sustainability into corporate policies and procedures and increasing socio-economic considerations in the FSDS.

Outputs from those activities, used to bring about intended changes or results, include:

  • the FSDS and the Progress Report documents;
  • a consultation and synthesis report and other communication products and materials;
  • indicators with data sources and methods;
  • guidance to produce DSDSs and implement the Cabinet Directive on SEA;
  • DSDSs that are integrated into the planning and reporting processes;
  • tools to identify socio-economic initiatives with positive environmental sustainability outcomes; and
  • corporate guidelines, guidance, and directives that integrate environmental sustainability.

Immediate outcomes are the specific changes in the target audiences’ behavior with respect to, and knowledge of, FSDS activities and outputs over a 1–3 year period, while intermediate outcomes and ultimate outcomes should be achievable over the medium and long term. 

Ultimately the FSDS Logic Model identifies linkages between the activities and outputs of the FSDS and its immediate, intermediate and ultimate outcomes. It develops a chain of results connecting activities to the final outcomesFootnote [1] while at the same time identifying the linkages demonstrating progress toward achieving them.   

The FSDS Logic Model has been designed to highlight three key result areas based on the requirements of the Act. These include:

  1. Developing the FSDS
  2. Measuring and reporting on performance
  3. Putting sustainable development into practice

Immediate outcomes are divided into the three key result areas in support of the intermediate outcomes of increased awareness of federal environmental sustainability initiatives and integration into priorities and decision-making (see Table 2 below). The ultimate outcome flowing from the activities and outputs of the FSDS Logic Model is "environmental decision-making that is more transparent and accountable to Parliament". In the long-term, the activities and outputs supporting the requirements of the Act are expected to have a positive impact on the transparency of environmental decision-making that will undoubtedly affect the performance of the goals and targets included in the FSDS. The outputs in the FSDS Management Framework Logic Model have four possible target audiences, including Parliamentarians, stakeholders, Canadians and departments and agencies. 

Table 2: Outcomes
Ultimate outcomeEnvironmental decision-making that is more transparent and accountable to Parliament
Intermediate outcomesIncreased awareness of the breadth of federal government environmental sustainability initiatives
Increased awareness of socio-economic aspects of federal government environmental sustainability initiatives
Immediate outcomesIncreased interest in the FSDS
Increased recognition of improvements to the FSDS
Increased integration of sustainable development into planning and reporting
Increased relevance and coverage of indicators
Increased implementation of guidance material
Increased integration of social and economic considerations in the FSDS
Increased transparency of reporting on Strategic Environmental Assessments (SEAs) and other corporate policies and procedures that support integrating environmental sustainability in federal initiatives

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Treasury Board Secretariat Results-based Management Lexicon provides the definition for activities, outputs, immediate (short-term), intermediate (medium-term) and ultimate (long-term) outcomes. 

Return to footnote 1 referrer


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

4. Mesure du rendement     

La mesure du rendement est une bonne pratique de gestion, et les secteurs privé et public l’effectuent afin de déterminer l’efficacité des programmes et des processus. La mesure du rendement fournit des renseignements factuels qui servent à mesurer les progrès qui font partie intégrante de la gestion collective de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD). Il s’agit d’un moyen de suivi et de contrôle à l’atteinte des résultats attendus. De plus, dans les cas où les résultats prévus n’auront pas été obtenus, elle constitue un premier signal et elle indiquera que la situation exige un examen approfondi et des mesures correctives.

Selon la définition du Lexique de la gestion axée sur les résultats du Sécretariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT), la mesure du rendement désigne les processus ou systèmes de sélection, d’élaboration et d’utilisation continue des mesures de rendement [utilisés] pour guider le processus décisionnel et pour établir si le gouvernement respecte ses exigences.

Dans le cas de la SFDD, la mesure du rendement est le pilier du volet « contrôle » du système « planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration » et permet d’effectuer un suivi des progrès vers l’amélioration de la transparence et de la responsabilisation du processus décisionnel en matière d’environnement. Lorsque cela convient, les résultats de la mesure du rendement seront inclus dans les rapports d’étape de la SFDD.

4.1 Modèle logique

Les résultats que tente d’obtenir la SFDD sont présentés sous forme d’un modèle logique qui a été produit à l'aide des lignes directrices pour l'élaboration de modèles logiques publié par le SCT. Le modèle de la SFDD est un outil qui permet d’établir des rapports sur le rendement de la SFDD en fournissant les liens logiques entre les activités, les extrants et les résultats de la SFDD.

L’élaboration et l’utilisation d’un modèle logique sont une façon efficace d’aider à organiser et à systématiser les fonctions de planification, de gestion et d’évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la SFDD par les programmes. En prenant appui sur le système de « planification, exécution, contrôle et amélioration », le modèle logique de la SFDD constitue le fondement de la définition des résultats, des progrès et du rendement en fonction des exigences de la LFDD.

Le modèle logique de la SFDD décrit les activités, les processus, les outils, les événements et les mesures qui font partie de la mise en œuvre de la SFDD, notamment comme ce qui suit :

  • mener des recherches sur les meilleures practiques et les tendences émergentes en developpement durable;
  • consulter les minsitères et et des organismes faisant partie de la SFDD pour élaborer des objectifs, des cibles, des stratégies de mise en œuvre et des indicateurs pour suivre le progrès;
  • consultater les Canadiens et les intervenants sur la SFDD;
  • fournir des conseils et de l'expertise sur le développement de stratégies ministérielles de développement durable et l'application de la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale stratégique;
  • integration de la durabilité environementale aux politiques et procédures ministérielles, ainsi que d’integrer davantage les considerations socio-économiques à la SFDD.

Les extrants de ces activités, qui permettent d’apporter des changements prévus ou d’obtenir des résultats souhaités, notamment ce qui suit :

  • documents comme la SFDD et Rapport d'étape;
  • une consultation et un rapport de synthèse et des autres produits et des  matériels de communication;
  • des indicateurs, avec des sources des données et des méthodes;
  • des documents d’orientation pour produire et mettre en œuvre les SMDD et la Directive du Cabinet sur ​​l'EES;
  • des SMDD annuels integrées dans le processus de planification et de production des rapports;
  • des outils pour déterminer les initiatives socio-économiques qui obtiennent des résultats positifs en matière de durabilité;
  • des lignes directrices, des documents d’orietation et des directives ministériels, qui intègrent la durabilité environnementale. 

Les résultats immédiats sont les changements particuliers aux comportements et aux connaissances des publics cibles relatifs aux activités et aux résultats de la SFDD au cours d’une période d’un à trois ans, alors que les résultats intermédiaires et finaux devraient pouvoir être atteints à moyen et à long terme.

Au bout du compte, le modèle logique de la SFDD définit les liens entre les activités et les extrants de la SFDD et ses résultats immédiats, intermédiaires et finaux Note de bas de page [1]. Il établit un enchaînement de résultats, mettant en relation les activités avec les résultats finaux et définissant les liens qui démontrent les progrès réalisés en vue de l’atteinte de ces résultats.

Le modèle logique de la SFDD a été élaboré pour mettre en valeur trois secteurs clés de résultats définis en fonction des exigences de la Loi :

  1. Développement de la SFDD
  2. Mesure du rendement et rapports sur le rendement
  3. Mise en œuvre du développement durable

Les résultats immédiats sont répartis en trois secteurs clés de résultats à l'appui des résultats intermédiaires sur la sensibilisation accrue à la portée des initiatives de durabilité environnementale du gouvernement fédéral et l'intégration au processus décisionnel (voir le tableau 2 ci-dessous). Le résultat final qui découle des activités et extrants du modèle logique de la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable est une SFDD qui « rend le processus décisionnel en matière d’environnement plus transparent et fait en sorte qu’on soit tenu d’en rendre compte devant le Parlement ». À long terme, les activités et extrants qui appuient les exigences de la Loi devraient avoir un effet positif sur la transparence du processus décisionnel en matière d’environnement qui influera sans doute sur le rendement des objectifs et des cibles inclus dans la SFDD. Les extrants prévus dans le modèle logique du cadre de gestion de la SFDD ont quatre publics cibles possibles, y compris les parlementaires, les intervenants, les Canadiens et les ministères et organismes.

Tableau 2 – Résultats
Résultat finalLe processus décisionnel en matière d'environnement est plus transparent et fait en sorte qu'on soit tenu d'en rendre compte devant le Parlement
Résultats intermédiairesUne sensibilisation accrue à la portée des initiatives de durabilité environnementale du gouvernement fédéral
Une sensibilisation accrue aux aspects socio-économiques dans les initiatives de durabilité environnementale du gouvernement fédéral
Résultats immédiatsUn intérêt accru pour la SFDD
Une reconnaissance accrue des améliorations à la SFDD
Une intégration  accrue du développement durable dans la planification et  l'établissement de rapports
Une pertinence et un champ d'application accrus des indicateurs
Une mise en œuvre accrue de documents d'orientation
Une meilleure intégration des considérations sociales et économiques à la SFDD
Une sensibilisation accrue à l'établissement de rapports sur les évaluations environnementales stratégiques (EES) et d'autres politiques et procédures ministérielles qui appuient la durabilité de l'environnement dans des initiatives environnementales

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le Lexique de la gestion axée sur les résultats du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor contient la définition des termes « activité », « extrant », « résultat immédiat » (à court terme), « résultat intermédiaire » (à moyen terme) et « résultat final » (à long terme).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1


Date de modification :