This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Reducing nutrient pollution to the St. Lawrence River

Target 3.3: Freshwater quality – Complete federal actions to reduce pollutants and restore beneficial uses in hot spots in the St. Lawrence River by 2016.

Phosphorus levels at six of nine water quality monitoring stations along the St. Lawrence River consistently exceeded water quality guidelines from 2008 to 2011. Higher phosphorus levels are found in agricultural areas on the south shore of Lake Saint-Pierre.

Through the St. Lawrence Action Plan, the governments of Canada and Quebec have reduced pollutants in the St. Lawrence River. Since 1988, the first 24 years of the Plan resulted in:

  • A 96% reduction in toxic effluent discharges by 50 priority industrial points;
  • The establishment of the Saguenay-St. Laurent Marine Park;
  • Protection of over 100,000 hectares (ha) of natural habitat; and,
  • An improvement to approximately 50 wharfs and other marine infrastructures.

In 2011, the Government of Canada signed a 15-year agreement with the Government of Quebec to continue their collaboration to protect and restore the health of the St. Lawrence River ecosystem by renewing the St. Lawrence Action Plan until 2026. The action plan will support conservation and enhancement of the St. Lawrence River, maintain and develop science-based monitoring and prediction programs, and establish grounds for the integrated governance of the ecosystem.

The government regularly provides information to Canadians on the progress being made in the St. Lawrence River through reports and detailed fact sheets on environmental indicators showing the levels of pollutants in the St. Lawrence River.

For additional information on the implementation strategies that support this target, please consult the following website: Environment Canada.

Progress towards Target 3.3: Phosphorus levels in the St. Lawrence River

As the above actions indicate, the governments of Canada and Quebec continue to work on reducing pollutants in the St. Lawrence River. The challenge is significant and continued efforts are required. Phosphorus levels at six of nine water quality monitoring stations along the St. Lawrence River consistently exceeded water quality guidelines from 2008 to 2011. Higher phosphorus levels are found in agricultural areas on the south shore of Lake Saint-Pierre.

Figure 3.7 shows phosphorus levels in the St. Lawrence River for 2008 to 2011. For the most up-to-date information on this indicator, please visit CESI.

Figure 3.7: Phosphorus levels in the St. Lawrence River for 2008–2011

Phosphorus levels in the St. Lawrence River for 2008- 2011

Long description

The map presents the status of phosphorus levels at nine water quality monitoring stations along the St. Lawrence River. The status for each station for 2008 to 2011 is determined by comparing measured phosphorus levels to water quality guidelines at each station. The phosphorus status for the station at Carillon is good and is poor for the stations at Lavaltrie, Richelieu, Yamaska, Satin-Francois, Nicolet and Becancour. The stations at Quebec City and Saint-Maurice have a caution status.

 


Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réduire la pollution par les éléments nutritifs dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent

Cible 3.3 : Qualité de l'eau douce – Prendre les mesures fédérales pour réduire les polluants et rétablir les utilisations bénéfiques dans les zones sensibles du fleuve Saint-Laurent d'ici 2016.

Les concentrations de phosphore dans six sur neuf des stations de surveillance de qualité de l'eau le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent dépassaient les valeurs recommandées pour la qualité de l'eau entre 2008 et 2011. On retrouve des concentrations plus élevées de phosphore dans des zones agricoles de la rive sud du lac Saint-Pierre.

Grâce au Plan d'action du Saint-Laurent, les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec ont réduit les polluants dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Depuis 1988, les 24 premières années du Plan ont donné les résultats suivants :

  • Une réduction de 96 % dans les rejets d'effluents toxiques prioritaires par 50 usines industrielles.
  • L'établissement du parc marin du Saguenay – Saint-Laurent.
  • La protection de plus de 100 000 hectares (ha) d'habitat naturel.
  • Une amélioration apportée à environ 50 ponts, quais et autres infrastructures maritimes.

En 2011, le gouvernement du Canada a signé une entente sur 15 ans avec le gouvernement du Québec, afin de poursuivre la collaboration visant à protéger et à restaurer la santé de l'écosystème du fleuve Saint-Laurent par le renouvellement du Plan d'action Saint-Laurent, jusqu'à 2026. Ce plan d'action permettra d'appuyer la conservation et l'amélioration du fleuve Saint-Laurent, d'entretenir et d'élaborer les programmes de prévisions et de surveillance scientifique, et d'établir les motifs de la gouvernance intégrée de l'écosystème.

Le gouvernement présente régulièrement l'information aux Canadiens sur les progrès réalisés dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent dans des rapports et des feuillets de renseignements détaillés sur les indicateurs environnementaux qui illustrent les niveaux de polluants dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les stratégies de mise en œuvre qui appuient cette cible, veuillez consulter le site Web à l'adresse suivante : Environnement Canada.

Progrès réalisés en vue d'atteindre la cible 3.3 : Concentrations de phosphore dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent

Comme l'indiquent les mesures ci-dessus, les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec continuent à travailler sur la réduction des polluants dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Le défi est important et des efforts constants sont nécessaires. Les concentrations de phosphore dans six sur neuf des stations de surveillance de qualité de l'eau le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent dépassaient systématiquement les valeurs recommandées pour la qualité de l'eau entre 2008 et 2011. On retrouve des concentrations plus élevées de phosphore dans des zones agricoles de la rive sud du lac Saint-Pierre.

La figure 3.7 montre les concentrations de phosphore dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent pour la période de 2008 à 2011. Pour obtenir les renseignements les plus récents sur cet indicateur, veuillez consulter le site Web des ICDE.

Figure 3.7 : Concentrations de phosphore dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, 2008 à 2011

Concentrations de phosphore dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, 2008 à 2011

Description longue

La carte présente l'état des concentrations de phosphore dans les stations de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau situées le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent. L'état de chaque station de 2008 à 2011 est déterminé en comparant les concentrations de phosphore mesurées aux lignes directrices pour la qualité de l'eau à chaque station. L'état du phosphore est considéré « bon » dans la station de Carillon et « mauvais » dans les stations de Lavaltrie, Richelieu, Yamaska, Saint-François, Nicolet et Bécancour. Les stations de la ville de Québec et de Saint-Maurice ont été désignées comme « acceptables avec prudence ».

 


Date de modification :